Upgrade nissan turbo

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:10
ThreadID: 39722 Views:3635 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
Has anyone done the turbo upgrade on the nissan 4.2td ...... I am thinking about doing it early next year i got the 2005 patrol wagon 4.2td and so far place a 3"exhaust +3" dump pipe and 2x Hyclones and so far it has been good but been reading in the 4wd mag about how they can increase the power by 40% but dont know at what cost to the Engine

Gotta beat my mates 3.0td on take off then be happy .......lol

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:01

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:01
Ring United Fuel Injection.
The are out along the Great Eastern Highway, near A.V. Trucks.
Wea are planning on doing the Turbo/Exhaust upgrade with them early next year, when our Patrol has a few thousand k's on the clock.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 206620

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:15

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:15
Mike Vine's turbo's in Brissy gets good figures from their upgrades. I have in excess of 80000km on a stage 2 MTQ upgrade and 200000 before that on a stage 1 upgrade so make that 285000km in total and no engine reliability probs to speak of. 4.2's tend to run hot when pushed and the upgrade didn't change this on my truck.

You will look back, but only to see where your mate is lol!!!!
Regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 206626

Follow Up By: Hard Yaka - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:06

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:06
Trev
thx for the info also i was looking at one of your photo's with the pillar pod think it is a good idea do u know if places like ARB or something sell them wouldnt mind getting one in perth next when we go on holidays in dec ..... lol people leave the city to go on a holiday but we go to the city for holiday ....no sense in that
FollowupID: 466614

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 14:01

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 14:01
sounds like jnr has given plenty of good advice but I will add, I got my pillar pod from northside 4x4 in Caboolture qld. 100 bucks.

The MTQ upgrade changes your power curve dramatically, it tends to bring most of it's power in late in the rev range. I am sure you don't lose anything down low but you will gain plenty up high. I have my dyno chart on my rig photo's if you want to see what I mean. Do your homework as I have found better results lower in the rev range from other sources than MTQ but that is not saying MTQ is bad setup by any stretch.

Also the pillar pod is not deep enough to bolt VDO gauges straight in so expect some mucking around.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 466673

Reply By: Junior - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 01:47

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 01:47
You'll probably find that most of that claimed increase is in a larger exhaust.
I have not had the turbo modified, but have put on a 3" exhaust and dump like you, but also increased boost and upped fuel to match.
I found the greatest difference was buy far in the new, larger exhaust.
I have been considering getting Turbo changed by Denco or modded by MTQ, but have not come across anyone who has changed exhaust and run with that for a while, and then had turbo modded to see if the turbo mod any discernable difference. Personally, I think I would spend money next on intercooling for the next level of power (not that it's really needed!) before friggin around with a perfectly good factory turbo. (Unless I can be convinced otherwise).

Denco, what can you tell me about the turbo changeover for the mitsu unit vs power increase- but seperate from any other mods like exhaust??? (I am keen to know- ie: bang for buck?)
AnswerID: 206644

Follow Up By: Junior - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 01:49

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 01:49
PS: I kick my mates 3.0litres' but!!!
FollowupID: 466611

Follow Up By: Hard Yaka - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:05

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:05
Junior
Thx for the post im curious about what you said about just increasing the boost on the original turbo sounds like a plan i think. You wouldnt know what the factory settings are and what they are capable of...

The wife doesnt aprove of spending money on the upgrade after all it's only done 18,000km

Thanks for all the info so far Guys
FollowupID: 466613

Follow Up By: Junior - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:19

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:19
HK, gees I guess I'm not alone on the night-owl thing!

Can't remember what factory was, from memory I dialled her up to 12psi max boost (I know a lot of guys running 15psi on tourers (ie: not race rigs) happily with no probs). Denco from memory only recommends 9psi? but would say this is very conservative. Anyway, upped fuel till I was getting a bit of black smoke (unburnt fuel), then backed off a smidge (had a very experienced mate help on this). Best to get a pyro, just to make sure you're not running hot and away you go!

PS: what sort of km's are you getting- the very best I can get if doing long distance country km's of open highway, nothing on roof and driving conservatively from both tanks full to both tanks dry is 850km!
FollowupID: 466616

Follow Up By: Hard Yaka - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:10

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:10
Hi Junior
Thx for the input i will ring perth today to find out if they can increase the boost ....... In regards to fuel cunsumption if i travel from parabudoo to canarvon towing a caravan windup van with nothing else on the trip is fairly flat i get 700kms out of the tanks if i dont tow i get 780km out of them sitting on 110kmh befor the exhuast upgade i use to get 670km towing with the fuel light on but was told the once the patrol gets some km's on it it it suppose to loosen up a bit and get better fuel but dont know how that works...
FollowupID: 466649

Follow Up By: Junior - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:27

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:27
Good to hear on fuel econ- I was worried mine was really bad- offroad in high country, I get half that! I might be quicker than mates 3.0l (not heaps though), but my god he gets a bleep load better fuel economy- around 1100-1200km's from both tanks of highway driving from memory! Yikes!

PS: you can get those pillar pods through TJM- they have a store here:

PERTH - O'CONNOR
Cnr South & Pritchard Street
O'CONNOR 6163

Ph: (08) 9331 2788
Fax: (08) 9337 3037

But you'll have to order in- and they may take some convincing that they actually have such a product available!!!
Expect around $125 from memory.

FollowupID: 466653

Follow Up By: Hard Yaka - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:00

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:00
Not wrong 3 phone calls so far saying they dont have anything like it but he is still looking also seen on another site so should be good to get it

Site Link
FollowupID: 466662

Reply By: Hard Yaka - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:47

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:47
well rang United fuel today they said $1700 to upgrade the turbo (stage 1 upgrade ) fitted where they just change the propeler and leave the compressor side of things

also ask MTQ they quoted $1300 for the stage 1 upgrade exchange only or stage 2 for $1500 exchange and have to fit it myself he also metioned that the stage 2 only gives 5% more than the stage 1

all of the above only includes the turbo no exhaust

anyone know what is involved in removing old one and bolt on the new one ( can a Dummy do it ......lol)

any Suggestions would me good
AnswerID: 206701

Reply By: ADM - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 14:21

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 14:21
I have done some research into an upgrade for the 4.2 and you would be better spending more money and getting a roller bearing turbo. These spool up a lot quicker than normal turbos and you get better low down response.

The problem I believe with some of the original turbos is when they machine the exhaust housing to accept the larger size wheels they can crack after time. Not sure if this is a common thing but have been told this has happened.

There are plenty of companies out there that do 3" exhaust kits which are easily fitted. The time consuming part is replacing the dump pipe, there isn't a lot of room to swing the spanner.

If you upgrade the exhaust and then have it tuned make sure they adjust the fuel boost compensator to give more full at low boost, this will also help with better low down power.
AnswerID: 206709

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:39

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:39
I went down the track of fitting the Denco kit (Schwitzer turbo, about half as big again that the undersized original Nissan 4.2turbo).

This was bolted up to the 3" mandrel-bent exhaust which I already had fitted before. Goes really well and I'm so glad I didn't go down the track of getting the guts bored-out of the original turbo.

Cost about $2,500-.

All academic now anyway, as I am gunna sell the Patrol soon due to having just arranged to buy a Patrol dual cab conversion with 6.5 Chev donk.
AnswerID: 206715

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 17:17

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 17:17
it weighed that much you got more for it as scrap metal eh?
FollowupID: 466698

Follow Up By: Junior - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 18:51

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 18:51
Hi Roachie, I noticed a BIG difference when I did the exhaust (and not as big a diff when I upped boost and fuel). Did you get as good an increase with the Denco turbo as when you did the exhaust?
FollowupID: 466708

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 23:12

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 23:12
G'day Junior,

Yes mate, the new turbo made as much difference again as the 3" system made originally.

However, must bear in mind that the new turbo runs 15psi and the fuel pump was adjusted to optimum output to match as well. That said, the fuel economy didn't change either way as far as my records indicate.

EGT's are also very similar before and after the new turbo fitment.

The only downside I noticed with the new turbo, was a very slight hesitation for about 1 second when I stuck the slipper in from idle. It seemed just a little bit less responsive, but once it did respond (literally just a second), it came on much stronger.
FollowupID: 466751

Follow Up By: Junior - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 03:03

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 03:03
Wow, that's great to hear Roachie- good to get some 'real world' feedback, thanx again.

PS: Actually, no, come to think of it- you're a bit of a mongrel 'cause I think you may have just cost me $2500!!! ;-)
FollowupID: 466780