15 amp lead AGAIN

Submitted: Monday, May 21, 2007 at 14:10
ThreadID: 45715 Views:3414 Replies:13 FollowUps:27
Hi People - the plots thickens!!

Sorry to bring this up again. Thanks for all your help with this last week.

Today in the mail I received my receipts and booking letter, which specifies the rules even further:

Rules are:
1. Electricity connection to a movable dwelling (yes tent does fit into this category) must only be by a single 15 amp lead, not less than 10 metres in length which has 15 amp connections fitted. Any lead longer than 10 metres must comply with Table 5.1 Maximum lengths of supplys leaders, of AS/NZS 3001:2001

2. In addition, no electricity will be supplied to a tent unless an earth leakage switch (RCD), providing not less than IPX4 degree of protection is fitted to the supply lead and/or to the portable outlet, and the RCD device is shown to the caretaker when checking in.

So then, I need a 10 metre 15 amp lead, that will plug into an RCD (that fits the above specifications), and to that hopefully I will be able to plug in regular 10 amp things like an electric frypan, hairdryer, or phone charger.

Have I got it right. Will I be able to plug regular 10 amp things into the RCD? Is it like a powerboard?

Just incase anyone is interested I'm staying at one of the Tweed Holiday parks http://www.tchp.com.au/, I think they all have the same rules.

I really don't need power for this trip, but I think if this is how caravan parks are becoming now, it is going to be wise for me to buy these things, so I can have them ready for future trips. So I just want to get it right.

Reply By: Notso - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 14:46

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 14:46
Yep, you can get all sorts of thingys like that but the operator will probably want a 15 amp RCD with the above said 15 amp outlet socket. Then you can plug other stuff into that. It looks like he cut and pasted it straight out of the Aust Standard??? Never seen anything like this before???
AnswerID: 241397

Reply By: Willem - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 14:57

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 14:57
Violetmay

I wouldn't worry about it too much. Most times nobody checks whether or not you have a 15Amp lead. They just assume everyone has one.

I have a 12 metre 15 Amp Power Lead and on the odd occasion where I need to stay in a Caravan Park this does me fine. It is always handy to have these things just in case you need them and they dont take up too much space. I use mine to power the fridge when 240v electricity is at hand. You can plug a 10Amp lead or electrical attachment into the 15Amp no worries.

You might get some more technical replies here than my unqualified account...lol

AnswerID: 241399

Follow Up By: deserter - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:30

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:30
Is that right ? You can plug a 10 amp into the park 15 amp outlet ?
FollowupID: 502366

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:47

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:47
Spit it out fella....just what do you want to say? Are you saying that Willem is wrong?

BTW i agree with Willem with regards to his statement :-)

FollowupID: 502373

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:49

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:49
What's your point?
FollowupID: 502376

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:25

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:25
I didn't read it that deserter was having a go, I think he genuinely didn't know and was surprised to see it. Maybe he should have asked why or asked a little differently..... Maybe he has never seen a 15 amp socket, or even know the difference......the problems that can occur with e-communications....
FollowupID: 502432

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:30

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:30
Good point D-Jack. Sorry if that was the case.

FollowupID: 502436

Follow Up By: deserter - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:04

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:04
Thanks D Jack. I was surprised. I might be getting confused over the 10A and 15A combined in one lead argument. Thats what I thought he was referring to. I guess he means 10A - but not to the van inlet ??? Or do I still have it wrong ??
FollowupID: 502556

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:24

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:24
Ummmm...lol

What I meant was that you can plug a 10Amp lead into a 15Amp lead in the instance where you don't have a caravan. Using a multiplug board with a power cut-out in between the two leads would be an advantage

FollowupID: 502562

Reply By: Nifty1 - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 15:40

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 15:40
The way I read that, the lead can't be less than 10m. I wonder what's the point of that?
AnswerID: 241403

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 15:51

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 15:51
So there's enough left loose to trip over when you go to the ablutions at 2.35 in the morning. :-)

It's people just covering themselves so they can't get sued.

FollowupID: 502344

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:33

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:33
so you don't need a shifty short lead with a 15am plug to reach your van.

Pedro
FollowupID: 502368

Reply By: Member - Raymond S (QLD) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 16:07

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 16:07
The next thing they will want is that the lead show a tag of when it was last tested & if not current within the last 12 mths refuse you to connect to their power source.

Regards Ray
AnswerID: 241406

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:34

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:34
goodday ray

some parks in vic are doing that now!!!!!!
doesnt worry me as a sparky with a tester within arms length but its also not a bad idea as leads get used for a lot of things off season an can be easily damaged
you can also buy some good rcd v(safety boards) clipsal put out a 4 gang 30ma trip 10amp will plug into a 15 amp lead and will save lives quite well and is a good idea these days in a camping situation

FollowupID: 502369

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:06

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:06
Quote: "leads get used for a lot of things off season an can be easily damaged"......

hahahaha....yeh, they certainly need re-certification after they've been used as a winch extension strap a few times.......
FollowupID: 502379

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 12:10

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 12:10
Come on Roachie. Surely you carry enough stuff that you've not needed to do that!

LMAO

FollowupID: 502777

Reply By: obee - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 16:57

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 16:57
I just looked at their rules AND regulations. It looks like a retired lawyer is in control (or out of).

I would just say if they cant provide legal power to my camper I aint staying.

Owen
AnswerID: 241411

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:32

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:32
I wonder if the owner of this site is related to the owner of a campsite we stayed in on the Eyre peninsula. They made us sit on shadecloth because our chairs were wearing out their grass!!
AnswerID: 241420

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:38

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:38
you're kidding of course
FollowupID: 502370

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:40

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:40
I kid you not.
They even supplied the shadecloth
AnswerID: 241422

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:28

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:28
If it's the one I'm thinking of at P.V. then that's the same one we weren't allowed to set up our soft floor CT on a caravan site because the edges of the tent section would be on the grass and not on the cement annex area!
FollowupID: 502433

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:29

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:29
oops I saw you mentioned Eyre Peninsula, not York Peninsula! Disregard
FollowupID: 502434

Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:15

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:15
15A caravan leads that comply to the standard you mentioned can be readily purchased from most bunnings stores, they also sell RCD protected adaptor leads 15A type that fit to most van park power poles supplied. If the caravan parks' power pole already has rcd protection incorperated to the pole the adaptor lead is not required.

Simple eh?
AnswerID: 241429

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:17

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:17
My favourite is the time I booked into a CP in NE Melbourne suburbs. Big sign "Your lead must be tagged". My lead is attached to the caravan and anyway they did not check.

But - they put me too far from the power box for the length of my lead, so I went to the office and asked if I could borrow a 15 amp lead. Sure they said and got someone to give me one.

Guess what - it was not tagged. I said nothing!

But back to your question - take Steve's advice (Gob & Denny) - copy out his last sentence and go into an electrical wholesaler and ask for the Clipsal board he describes, as well as a 15 amp lead. That way you know you will be properly and safely set up.

Max

AnswerID: 241431

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:07

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:07
It's all a matter of safety...yours. People have been electrocuted in caravan parks.
Also, if you don't have the appropriate gear and something does go wrong, it gives them a legal out from large compansation payouts etc.
AnswerID: 241461

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:20

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:20
ExplorOz - a home on the internet for people who know what's right for everyone else.

Got a query about fridges, tyres, generators, 240V leads in caravan parks...? Post a question to ExplorOz and have 2876 people give an opinion... what else could anyone ask...?

AnswerID: 241464

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:44

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:44
2877 :))))
FollowupID: 502419

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:47

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:47
what are you trying to say mike????????
FollowupID: 502421

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:52

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 20:52
That this forum is full of self appointed "experts" many of who have little idea of what they're talking about and that people who ask any kind of in-depth [technical and probably other] question here should be very cautious of the answers - was that so hard to deduce?

FollowupID: 502423

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:08

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:08
I hav'nt come across any self appointed "experts" Mike since i have been here,Just people trying their best to help others to there best knowlege ...

*was that so hard to deduce?*

Thats a bit rough Mike !

FollowupID: 502426

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:21

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:21
Mike, what answers were incorrect in this thread?

I haven't seen anyone imply that they were an expert in this thread, just opinions on what "they" would do, or what "it seems like"...... sounds like a normal forum if you ask me ;-)

It may be wiser just to remind the OP that some topics may not be as simple to answer as one would like due to the variety of members frequenting this site, and to take note of the warning on the forum page:

"Warning: This page is open to public comment. The accuracy and validity of comments within is undetermined."

FollowupID: 502431

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:31

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:31
Maybe Andrew a THOU ART FORUM would suffice !

FollowupID: 502437

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:42

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:42
Nah, i was never any good at art...i'll leave it to the experts.

FollowupID: 502440

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:17

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:17
just to let you know mike I AM AN EXPERT AT THE TESTING AND TAGGING ITS PART OF MY EVERY DAY JOB AS AN "E "GRADE ELECTRICIAN
i dont offer advice very often but this is a subject i do know about

FollowupID: 502534

Follow Up By: Andrew Main - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:35

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:35
Ah test and tag, I trained my pet gibbon to do that once, I can understand why only one as exulted as an "E" grade electrician would be allowed to carry out such a complex and mind boggling piece of technical work.
FollowupID: 502541

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:38

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:38
I agree; the "Test and Tag" thing is a joke. It's simply another manifestation of the power of the electricians union to scare the populous into believing they are "The Chosen Ones" when it comes to electricity. Makes me wonder why people bother to obtain a doctorate in electronics engineering and not be permitted to fix the oven in their kitchen? Maybe electricians know better...?

FollowupID: 502614

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:00

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:00
Got to laugh at the E grade electrician aka test and tag , get the license after a 3hr induction /open book test then go for it ,$3.50 per lead x 100/200 per average Kmart store , money for "nothing" , yeah my neighbour now does Test and Tag , and in reality knows jack about electricity 'DUH whats amps mean ? "
FollowupID: 502623

Reply By: Roktruk - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:00

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:00
in mid '93 we pulled into the caravan park on the lake at Kunanurra and paid for a powered site. We were directed to a bare patch of grass, park guy wanders over and plugs another double adaptor into the line of cords running from a single power pole about 30 metres from our site......we were number 7 on the line.
AnswerID: 241469

Reply By: equinox - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:28

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:28
mmm Interesting

Australian Standards are just a guide and not enforcable unless they are referred to in Legislation.

In Western Australia anyway, there is the OH&S Act and Regulations which states that all plant should be tested on a regular basis and the results recorded. So one posters comment about Caretakers requiring leads tested and tagged is a resonable request I think as they are an item of plant and are under control of the "Person in Control of a Workplace". Just go around when you get there and make sure all other items of plant on the property are also compliant eg. Washing Machines, Dryers, electric drills, coke machines, cash registers, lawn mower, reticulation controller - all items of plant.

If logs cannot be produced then Mr. Worksafe may just be interested.

Furthermore - The Caretaker should be supplying his own RCD protection to the outlet required by Tent campers. This is required by Reg 3.60 of the OH&S Regs. After you have shown the caretaker your RCD and he/she approves it perhaps you should then ask if you can see the record of his RCD tests which according to AS3760 should be a normal push button test every 3 months and a current injection test every two years.

As Mike says take this with a pinch of salt :)

AnswerID: 241485

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:31

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:31
Someone's going to be having a bit of fun next time he stays at a caravan park!
FollowupID: 502438