<span class="highlight">Beer</span> Frig Static electricity !!

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:24
ThreadID: 47741 Views:1741 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
OT but I have my beer frig here in the office near the computer & Iam fond of a stubby or six. But everytime I open the frig I get a boot of static electricity big enough to start a jumbo jet. The wife thinks it's funny as she says they use electrical shocks to cure all sorts of bad habits.
Any clues how to open the frig without approaching it as if it has some sort of nasty disease ? Only ridgy dig answers please, I 've had enough smart a** from my wife.

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:30

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:30
Electric shocks also keep cockroaches out as well.

But seriously I'd get the fridge checked as it is likely that the earth connection is faulty.

AnswerID: 252558

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:56

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:56
Thanks Kev, but the earth connection is OK. It's static caused by cold dry air & only happens in the winter time. I'am now beginning to understand why your wife locked you outside. Did she thow the key away?
FollowupID: 513630

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:23

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:23
Barry,

The key is securely in her possession and the rolling pin is getting closer each time she throws it at me ha ha ha

Kev

FollowupID: 513633

Reply By: MintabiePete (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:28

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:28
There is a possibility that when you are sitting down at the computer , and getting up from the chair , your pants might be causing static electricity and when you open the fridge , you get zapped . I had a HJ holden , whenever I used to get out and shut the gate , the simple act of sliding on the carseat , wearing the synthetic type pants , used to zap me every time as soon as I touched the gate , unless I made a concious effort to ground myself first :)
AnswerID: 252569

Follow Up By: obee - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:01

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:01
Yep, the fridge is earthed but your pants are not!

owen
FollowupID: 513638

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:08

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:08
Hi there i have just spoken to a friend who happens to be a sparky and this is what he says so hope it helps.

it sounds like there is a earthing problem, maybe not at the plug but elsewhere possibly a rusted earth lug

solve it is in 3 ways

number 1 get a new fridge

2 open it with a dry towel and or wear rubber sole shoes

3 get a fridgy guy out to check the earthing

good luck
AnswerID: 252575

Reply By: madfisher - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:35

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:35
Goodday barry,
mate if you know anyone closeby that does electrical testing and tagging you could get it checked by them their testing machine should tell you if it has a problem.
Does it zap the wife? Sounds like it has a problem to me and I do electical testing as one of my many occupations.
What area of the state do you live in?
AnswerID: 252599

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:15

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:15
I agree madfisher, but it doesnt necessarily mean the earthing prob is at the fridge. If the fridge tests OK it could be in the power point or further.
Id be a bit concerned though if it was my fridge?
FollowupID: 513673

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 07:13

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 07:13
The Kimberley air has finally got dry enough to have the dry season static rear its head. Discovered this in an unfortunate manner with a handrail I bumped while on the phone the other night.....the handrail was just below waist height......neally dropped me to my knees!

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 252663

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 08:12

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 08:12
firstly....does it only happen once....eg if you touched the fridge immediately after you have "discharged" do you get another shock? if YES get the fridge checked

if the answer is no.. touch the fridge with your whole hand and not just the fingers..this helps but does not stop it

actually if your look very closely you might be able to see the spark

as she finds it amusing, tell her you have placed a suprise for her inside the fridge ....when she touches the fridge to open it, let her have it (ZAP) by touching her backside! This should stop her from laughing at you
AnswerID: 252666

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 11:32

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 11:32
Thanks everybody for your advice. It is static electricity, doesn't do it to my wife & only zaps me the once, second grab of the handle all is OK. This sort of thing happens to me with all sorts of metal objects, the car, back screen door etc this time of the year.

Maybe if I switched to a stronger brand of beer or drank more of the current mid strength stuff it would deaden the pain & I would not have to mentally prepare myself I go to open the blasted thing.
FollowupID: 513738

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:35

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:35
Barry,

Sounds like we now need to call you "Homer Simpson" LOL

FollowupID: 513752

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 14:33

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 14:33
pst..it will get swmbo if you do as said...hahahaha...must be on the butt but...tis a lot funnier then
FollowupID: 513775

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 17:52

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 17:52
Thats good Barry, dont want to see a fellow Jack owner going up in smoke.lol
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 513808