<span class="highlight">Shonkymaps</span> with OziExplorer

Submitted: Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 21:18
ThreadID: 48250 Views:6237 Replies:2 FollowUps:17
Evening All,

Following on from a recent thread, I downloaded the Shonkymaps file as they seemed to get some good feedback for the price. I can't import them to OziExplorer (they are a .img file). Is there a way of doing this or I have I wasted my time with a 340 Mb download?

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 21:28

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 21:28
The shonky maps are vector based and not suitable for Ozi.

Conversion is possible but difficult and messy - better to use free GPSMap edit program which views vector maps directly.

AnswerID: 255126

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 21:37

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 21:37
Thanks Robin.
FollowupID: 516320

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 23:15

Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 23:15
Matt M,

they only work with Garmin Map type GPS
FollowupID: 516703

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 21:55

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 21:55
Are they the ones with the "bug" that opens up after X amount of start-ups and commences to re arrange your hard drive for you
AnswerID: 255133

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 22:08

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 22:08
Shhhhhhhhhhhhh
Lol
FollowupID: 516325

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 22:16

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 22:16
Yeh, that's why they call'em "Shonkymaps".....hahaha
FollowupID: 516326

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 22:10

Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 22:10
Lucy you're yhinking of the "Yota" version of shonkymaps

FollowupID: 516698

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 23:07

Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 23:07
Yeah! those ones that do 'things' whilst in a 'Yota 80'
FollowupID: 516702

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 23:18

Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 23:18
Roachie, have you got your new Nuvi 660 yet
FollowupID: 516704

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 00:32

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 00:32
Que'

Roachie going to aquire a NEW Nuvi 660.???????????

C'mon you chitting us or is this true.

Please God, let him say its true. (ROFLMAO)

FollowupID: 516714

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 17:21

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 17:21
They are a great unit Roachie I am sure you will have a lot of fun with it. I am told you can program into it locations of broken down Toyota's and it will beep when it nears one. Most owners turn off that feature due to the constant din

FollowupID: 516811

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 17:27

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 17:27
I am just sitting here quietly waiting.
FollowupID: 516815

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 17:29

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 17:29
HaAHAHAHAHAH Quietly??? NOT!

FollowupID: 516816

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 18:26

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 18:26
I have now mastered the black art of uploading maps to the Garmin Nuvi 660.

There are a few places where the map shows "Nissbro" which I can only assume means the road is blocked with broken Nissans as it seems to want to Auto-Route around those areas.

There also seems to be some highway no-go stretches marked "Chevoil". These are up to 2km long in places and seem mostly to occur in the Southern Flinders area.

Roachie has indeed acquired his 660 unit and has passed it immediately to his more technical son Nick who will apparantly demonstrate how to turn the unit ON and other advanced features.

I have used mine a few times now and they are a great unit. I achieved the upload of ShonkyMaps to an SD card using free software called IMG2GPS (which can be used with most Garmin mapping GPS's). This is in the absence of any sort of Mapsource software supplied in the box with the 660. (City Navigator is included but only as a preload on the unit - no CD). IMG2GPS is free and available on the net (Google is your friend here).

I have not used ShonkyMaps while driving as yet but just having a look at the maps in the unit it looks like there is much better detail for rural areas than City Navigator, though I am very amazed at just how detailed City Navigator is in riral areas in terms of tracks to stations and so-on.

ShonkyMaps adds a lot more topographical info and it is pretty easy to switch between the two mapsets so you can get best coverage depending on where you are.

Will report more after next rural trip!

Muddy
FollowupID: 516837

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 20:30

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 20:30
You are something else Roachie.

Were you aware that Nuvi is German for Newbee and that 660 was a typo which they found out about way too late to fix. It should have been 666.

Yep! thats right. A Newbee sporting the Devils Number as a model number.

Anyway the Minister for anything and everything has given you a nice tip about the Recovery menu No. 1 option - Can find broken down Toyota's to rescue.

What he failed to tell you and point out to all and sundry was option No. 2 which is the Broken down Nissan locating option that you immediately go to when you can't find any broken down Toyota's, which is 99.9% of the times you try option 1.

Don't be too disappointed though as if I was you I would be more concerned that the Newbee 666 does not have any bells, sirens, buzzers etc on startup to warn your goodself that Chit is about to happen.

Oh! if you see something like this - ON - then thats the startup/go thingy.
FollowupID: 516851

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 20:36

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 20:36
Hey Lucy,

We are just off down to Bunnings to buy a Brickies trowel to send over to you.

Just to see if you can't lay it on a little thicker!!!

Muddy
FollowupID: 516854

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:08

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:08
Had to mate, to counter-act that Terang Toad (LOL)
FollowupID: 516858

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 22:46

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 22:46
Now listen here to me Mr Lucky from vic-bloody-toria..... (by the way; luv the name of your new premier.....sorta matches everything else in your state.....brummy!!!!! hahaha)

Now, I will NEVER get lost ever again. (In fact, as I've said on many previous occasions, I've never been lost anyway.......I just prefer to take the scenic route whenever time permits!)

This Nuvi 660 gizmo is just tooooo good. It only has one button; and YES, I do know how to use that (to turn it "ON"). Everything else is done via poking one's finger at a little picture on the screen. So even I can do it without looking at the instruction book. In fact I don't think it even has an instruction book......it has a CD, but I couldn't get THAT bloody thing to fit into the SD card slot (so I'm not sure why they bothered.......bloody Japs dunno chit from clay!!!!)

All I need now is for you to divulge to me what your bleeding address is and I will enter such details into "New Vee8" (that's it's nickname), and I'll be on your doorstep before you can lock-up your beer supply!!!!

Bonz, how DO you put up with that bloody krettin???
;-)))
FollowupID: 516880

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 08:00

Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 08:00
Roachie, I have the address in Question, but it is available online anyway. All you need to do is Google "Victoria" and "Nissan Patrol Exclusion Zone" ("Nissan Exclusion Zone" wont work as there is often a Nissan parked out the front) and Google Maps will return, with pinpoint accuracy, the centre of excellence of CT design Known as "Lucky Park". Poor Dierdre, I fear it is not only us goodle EO'ers who must endure Lucky's perils hahahaha and 3am fabrications in the shed.

FollowupID: 516913