Electric Supercharger???

Submitted: Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 09:49
ThreadID: 49780 Views:3504 Replies:4 FollowUps:13
A mate emailed a couple of links to me regarding an electrically powered "supercharger". It apparently just bolts on to the air inlet and reputedly increases horsepower by 30HP (when used in conjunction with their chip.http://www.electricchargers.com

Sounds like an electric Hiclone to me.

Anyone heard of these?

Reply By: Olcoolone- Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 10:14

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 10:14
Roll up, roll up, roll up.......come see the most amazing thing known to man kind.....it dices, it slices, it minces bla bla bla...

One of the performance car mags did a test about 3 years ago with them and the found when stationary it increases power by about 2% (ram air effect).

But when driving it decreased power, don't know how much but it wasn't a big amount.

They said it was the biggest waste of $300.00 anyone could spend.

They suggested getting a cold air intake for less money and getting bigger gains in power when driving.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 262634

Follow Up By: Olcoolone- Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 10:20

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 10:20
Just had a look at there web site under customer feed back.

This is what one person said
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Why would anyone spend the time and thousands of dollars on a traditional supercharger when your product does the same thing?"

Chris Ingler
Walnut Creek, CA
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SURE IT DOES!

Big differance between a said 20 to 30 HP gain compared to a gaureteed 100 HP gain....I know what I would sooner have.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 524105

Reply By: ross - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 10:17

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 10:17
They work but I wouldnt guarantee 30 hp. Compressing air takes a lot energy ,so to have a high output electric supercharger you need a good power supply.
On that particular type its hard to say whats going to give the extra power,the rechip or the blower

You could do it on the cheap with an inverter plugged into the cig lighter powering a garden blower pumping air into the filter: )
AnswerID: 262635

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 10:34

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 10:34
Did have a look at those and read various reports as seems
interesting and science is good.

It has two issues first being that it only operates for
30 secs or so before having to be such down due to heat.

Second is that it claims only 1 psi boost and hence around
5-7 % power increase.

I have no doubt that it would deliver an increase based on
air pressure increase which while it sounds small is about
5 times that of ram air effect and its a fairly straight
forward and uncontroversial fact that more fuel/Air equals more power.

There are subtle things though that make for real differences in practise that are generally not taken into account in surface gloss we see on brochures etc.

I suspect that when your pushing up a steep sand hill, low
on speed and revs , that this device would work quite well
as its pushing air in at an effectivly higher rate than
advertised as its electric drive power output is const and determined by the battery volts, not engine speed.

AnswerID: 262639

Reply By:- Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 13:42

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 13:42
Definitely BS. Nothing wrong about using electricity to drive supercharger, just number does not stack properly. It takes a lot of power to compress air, typical numbers around 15 KW at medium boost for smaller engines. 15 KW (about 20 HP, 4 times bigger then good winch!!!) will require more then 1000A at 13.5V. And typical alternator give 80A (and indeed some of then required to run car, use light etc). If we assume realistic numbers (say 10A, thus 0.135 KW @ 100% efficiency) we finish with ridiculously small boost. IMHO waste of money, time and energy.
AnswerID: 262666

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 14:05

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 14:05
your summing up "IMHO waste of money, time and energy" is right...when it comes to those things...its just that the preceding info is based upon what? BS i reckon......."1000a @13.5 volt is the requirement to give a decent boost"....did you make this up
explain yourself...it wouldnt take a 1000a to drive a positive displacement rotor to provide a positive boost pressure of say 7-10lb intake pressure......

my 998 mini deluxe would'nt have been able to drive a 1000a genny...but with blower was able to take on cooper s's of the day with a 7lb boost...at 10 lb+ it could smoke up the wheels in 4th....

oh and second gear didnt last long but.......

and lets tell all the story by not just quoting kW....tell us all about the whopping increase in torque one gets.........
FollowupID: 524154

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 14:05

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 14:05
your summing up "IMHO waste of money, time and energy" is right...when it comes to those things...its just that the preceding info is based upon what? BS i reckon......."1000a @13.5 volt is the requirement to give a decent boost"....did you make this up
explain yourself...it wouldnt take a 1000a to drive a positive displacement rotor to provide a positive boost pressure of say 7-10lb intake pressure......

my 998 mini deluxe would'nt have been able to drive a 1000a genny...but with blower was able to take on cooper s's of the day with a 7lb boost...at 10 lb+ it could smoke up the wheels in 4th....

oh and second gear didnt last long but.......

and lets tell all the story by not just quoting kW....tell us all about the whopping increase in torque one gets.........
FollowupID: 524155

Follow Up By:- Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 14:22

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 14:22
I have read this "typical number of 15 KW" somewhere a while back and now do not remember where. My gut feeling is that about to be right, I can easy accept difference in two times, but definitely not 10. Initial curiosity arouse from fact that they use serious belt set-up to drive compressor. If I would have time I will try to support this numbers by physics at evening. And 1000A came from dividing 15000 per 13.5 (actually it is 1,111.1(1) ).
FollowupID: 524160

Follow Up By: cwalkin - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 19:54

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 19:54
"Definitely BS. Nothing wrong about using electricity to drive supercharger, just number does not stack properly. It takes a lot of power to compress air, typical numbers around 15 KW at medium boost for smaller engines. 15 KW (about 20 HP, 4 times bigger then good winch!!!) will require more then 1000A at 13.5V. And typical alternator give 80A (and indeed some of then required to run car, use light etc). If we assume realistic numbers (say 10A, thus 0.135 KW @ 100% efficiency) we finish with ridiculously small boost. IMHO waste of money, time and energy.
"

Mate ,,,where did these figures come from,?

Big difference trying to turn 2 screws in a large blower with all that centrifigel mass.(15kw loss ok).....compared to a little shaded pole motor spinning plastic blade(find out how many watts your aircon motor is) how many litres a second it can move ! what static pressure it will create! ,,,,,maybe a gain wouldnt be to far out of reach,
FollowupID: 524224

Follow Up By:- Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 12:27

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 12:27
G'day All!
Using this reference http://www.efunda.com/forum/show_message.cfm?start=1&thread=17208&id=17213 and following assumption:
1. Specific heat ratio is 1.4
2. Molecular weight 29
3. 18 degree of Celsius
4. 14.7 PSI ambient pressure
5. 3000 RPM for 4.2L engine
I calculated that it would require around 6KW of power to make boost of 10 PSI. This is theoretical figure for ideal gas compressed by ideal compressor without any heat exchange. Any heat exchange or real-life compressor makes this figure only worst. 6KW of electrical power at 13.5 Volts translates into 6000/13.5=444.4(4) Amps (i.e. like very powerful winch). From another hand ideal 10 Amps electrical motor produced 0.135KW power using ideal compressor and compressing ideal gas will give me boost of 0.2 PSI for my engine. Would I bother? No freaking way!
FollowupID: 524385

Follow Up By: cwalkin - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:48

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:48
In electrical Terms

6KW = 6000watts
6000watts / 12volt DC = 500amps

1kw = 1.34 hp

I still think that in theory is should work,,,i dont think it would be plug and play like they suggest,

One would have to work out complete volume with manifold and each cylinder to get any benifit,,,,As previously stated, ON IDLE
FollowupID: 524425

Follow Up By:- Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 08:58

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 08:58
Hi cwalkin!
It is 13.5, not 12V, but it does not make any difference (actually it makes it even worse). I personally do not need any extra volume of air at idle, but do need it at high load. 4.2L engine displace 4.2L for two rotation (4 stock), and thus displace 2.1L per revolution so it became 6300L per minute @ 3000RPM or 105L per second. This volume need to be compressed *EACH AND EVERY SECOND* almost twice to achieve 10PSI boost. Do you believe that pocket blower can do it? As I said it first replay – total waste of money, energy and efforts.
FollowupID: 524486

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 09:16

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 09:16
not sure that i agree
isnt it only a 1/4 of the engine capacity ...the inlet valve is only open during the fuel intake stage

also we only need to keep the manifold above atmospehric (10psi?) so that we push the fuel air mixture into the cylinder rather than let the down stroke suck it in....we are not neccessarily pressurising the cylinder to 10 psi...just the manifold

a lot of unkowns in here i reckon, making it hard to work out just how much power is required to drive the "charger"...but no doubt someone on here can work it out...i'm not smart enough
FollowupID: 524489

Follow Up By:- Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 11:19

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 11:19
Hi no 1!
Stroke down for intake, stroke up to compress, stroke down to make work and stroke up to exhaust. Total 4 strokes per two revolutions. Thus for two revolutions each cylinder suck in 4.2L/6=0.7L air (in diesel case) or fuel mixture (if petrol). Yes, you right that in case of normally aspirated engine it would be a bit less then 0.7 (actually it would be exact 0.7, but a bit less pressure). 0.7L per 2 revolutions means 0.7*3000/2=1050L for each cylinder foe a minute at 3000RPM. Multiply per 6 cylinders give as 1050*6=6300L. And again you right that inside cylinder it would be a bit less then 10PSI boost (in case precisely 10 PSI maintained in manifold), but this discrepancy will be absolutely invisible in traction (mechanical as well as aerodynamic) loss and furthermore would be in some kind of proportion to boost. I.e. “garden blower” will suffer from the same problem. Again I simply state that it require *A LOT* of power to compress air in rate of 105L per second for 10 additional PSI. Try those formulas by yourself.
FollowupID: 524519

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 11:33

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 11:33
me try the formulae...not likley....i'll need a computer to do that thanks
FollowupID: 524522

Follow Up By: cwalkin - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 15:54

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 15:54
ok then,,,,lets not get to involved as im no Automotive Electrical Engineer,

But! from what im trying to say IS,
From what i believe , and i dont know if i have lost track of what we actually set out to reply to , Is that ,
A mechanical blower(Twin screw supercharger) will consume alot more power ,AS STATED 15KW
A little centrifigul blower(like capa) will consume less than a twin screw eaton blower,'

But having a, e.g 50mm diameter plastic supercharger ,that could achieve large RPM,
achieving desired static pressure i.e 10psi , Would be more economicly (if acheivable) than robbing as you stated 15KW from the motor,and

Am i wrong?

But if it did consume 444 amps/ph as stated, then you would need to have a battery/electrical system that was capable of supply that sort of current,
And weight may over throw advantage.

I'm sure the power that would need to be consumed from a plastic blower to get reasonable power figures would be ALOT less thank you think..

I MAY BE WRONG

FollowupID: 524554

Follow Up By:- Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 10:06

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 10:06
Can you use small SLA battery to drive winch? If it idle probably it makes a rotation or two, but it is about it. What is wrong? It supplies the same 12V as your car battery does it? Same here. It *WILL* spin, just effect will be negligible. It is require about 6KW theoretical power to supply 10PSI boost, and nothing can be done about it, otherwise we would use “perpetum mobile” 100 year ago. And practical device will require only more power. Small plastic propeller will not generate even static 10PSI – ABSOLUTELY NO WAY! Otherwise why I would not use high volume pump (what I using to pump my airmattresses) to pump my tyres?
FollowupID: 524697