Project TONI

Submitted: Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:03
ThreadID: 59031 Views:9897 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Hi just an update for those interested.

The motor & gearbox are now IN THE CAR and waiting for mounts to be made.

Front mounts will be 75sr and the rear transmission mount will be the Nissan cross bar with a Toyota mount plate welded to it so as to accept the Toyota trans. mount.

The electrician has got both wiring harnesses and is making a suitable harness for my car to match the Nissan instrument cluster and the Toyota engine and transmission & ECU.

The rear axles and brake calipers (ex Petrol Patrol) have arrived that put the hand brake on the rear wheels rather than the tailshaft.

It's underway. If you think the motor sits a little low you are right, the eng. mounts will change this.

I can now tell you, the mechanic doing the conversion is Jason Dymock at Total Care 4WD Seven Hills NSW.

A very experienced 4WD modifier, he has built plenty of competion cars and specials, many of you in Sydney would know him or of him.
Colin.

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:18

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:18
Hey looks great mate! A real motor and gearbox for the Datto! You won't know yourself :) Should be a swell truck when it is done. Hope you don't get too many problems with the Engineers. The ones in Qld tend to get a bit carried away at times.
Can't wait to see the finished product friend, it will be a beauty.
Best of two worlds i guess....
Cheers, Udo
AnswerID: 311284

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:25

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:25
G'day Udo
The engineer is overseeing every stage and is happy with what we "plan" on doing, the trick now is, stay to plan!!!
Colin.
FollowupID: 577287

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:32

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:32
You doing it the right way Colin, I wish you luck with the conversion, its gonna be an awesome machine!
AnswerID: 311286

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:38

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:38
Lookin' good so far Colin. The workshop is only 5 minutes from my place............maybe I'll duck down and have a sticky beak next week. The anticipation must be killing you!!:)

Rob
AnswerID: 311287

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:02

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:02
Your invited to the funeral Rob LOL

I have attached a pic of the badgework planned for it. Exept the #Plate, I could not afford the money Iemma wants for that.Image Could Not Be Found
Colin
FollowupID: 577296

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:15

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:15
Colin!, If Toni is a huge success, which i have no doubt it will be!, Then you have turned this toyo nissan joint upside down .

HAHAHAHAHAHA!

AnswerID: 311294

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:17

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:17
put a 'hose out' defender interior in it, then I reckon it would be the PERFECT 4wd.

FollowupID: 577303

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:26

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:26
Now Ya making sense!!...lol.

FollowupID: 577307

Follow Up By: On Patrol (TONI) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 21:16

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 21:16
Axle (hope I got that right, not that other one)

And for the next trick we will put an XR8 motor into a Bommadore, or was that a V6 into a Foulcan, who cares????

This whole "us-them" stuff is fine as long as no one takes it, or, themselves too seriously.

Shyte I run Coopers and a Waeco fridge, without Hyclones fitted or even ShuRoos, soft floor campers suit me, as do pi55y little antennas on my UHF and a roof basket, and I'm still breathing, gasp cough choke. LOL

Colin.

PS Stefan, I will hose your interior out talking like that. If I did that then I would have to become smug and self righteous like most other LR owners, just kidding guys. LOL
FollowupID: 577321

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:34

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:34
Can the Nissan air filter be utilised so you keep your Snorkel?? Michael

AnswerID: 311298

Follow Up By: On Patrol (TONI) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 21:01

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 21:01
Yes Michael,
The Nissan airbox and snorkel stay and we plumb the air over the motor via a water cooled barrel intercooler.
Colin.
FollowupID: 577319

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 22:30

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 22:30
Hi Collin, I am going to see Jason next week to book in to get tappets adjusted/checked on prado (sure toyota would not have touched them) so will be having a sticky myself if you dont mind. Its gunna be one brilliant project. Hang on a sec, maybe I should wait till he has finished playing with yours so he pays attention to mine LOL only kidding. Jason doeas a great job and is committed to his work. He did a bit on my hilux as well. Top bloke. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 311314

Follow Up By: On Patrol (TONI) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 12:00

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 12:00
Stephen,
don't take up too much of Jason's time as I want the car back before Xmas, so just a quickie, OK. LOL.
Colin.
FollowupID: 577402

Reply By: Member -Signman - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 10:49

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 10:49
I'd better get busy with the decals.....

AnswerID: 311411

Follow Up By: On Patrol (TONI) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:56

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:56
My thoughts exactly David, as soon as I can find the right man for the job!!!!!!!LOL

Do you know anyone???
Colin.
FollowupID: 577401

Reply By: babs - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 10:34

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 10:34
Hi Colin,

mate it is looking good. you will have to come over to the Patrol4x4.com forum if you are not already a member.

Mate I have already put up a post on there looking for you as Jason asked me to track you down via the forums, here is a link http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?p=159300#post159300

If the link does not work then go to Patrol4x4.com

Jason has been trying to steer me this way for my GUIV 4.2TD, so mate your the guinea pig. I think I am just as excited as you would be to see the end result.

Oh and by the way I really love the new badge, very thoughtful!

Mark (Babs)
AnswerID: 311585

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 12:29

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 12:29
Hi Colin,

You've got the badge back to front mate.....

Should be To...Ni not Ni...To LOL

Great project mate and I hope you don't have to many dramas along the way.

Hope your auto sparky is a ripper cause most cringe at having to wire in a set of spotlights let alone try and do what your asking!!

FollowupID: 577570

Follow Up By: On Patrol (TONI) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 13:40

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 13:40
Hi Mark
I cannot register at the Patrol4x4.com, closed by administrator to new members??????

Jason sucked me in on this option, and then announced he had never done this conversion before, but was keen to do it and felt it would not be any worse or harder than doing an 80 or 75 Tojo. Getting the 1HD-FTE was not difficult or even expensive at this stage they are relitively cheap compared to the Chevy V8 etc.... The assembly from a wreckers yard was $11600 (25000km) for everything, Motor, Transmission (5spd auto), Transfer case, CPU & harness etc.. The total cost will be a little cheaper than the V8 even, and I feel, a better alternative.

Maybe the patrol4x4 forum don't want me due to brand pollution.

You must have spoken to Jason Friday afternoon or Saturday, because I only told him what I was doing re this forum on Friday pm.

You have the luxury of deciding whether or not to do yours, but I had to decide quickly as this is my wife's everyday drive and speed of getting it back on road is important to us.

The badge will possibly attract copyright attention from Toyota & Nissan, whats the worst they can do?? ask me to remove it!!!

Colin.
FollowupID: 577575

Follow Up By: babs - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 17:54

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 17:54
Colin, for copyright you would only have to worry about Toyota, Nissan would not have a leg to stand on since they are so pathetic putting those 3L motors in the Patrol.

Keep trying on the Patrol forum mate it will definitely be worth your while. I was originally from this forum until someone on here got me hooked on Patrol4x4.com.

look forward to seeing you on there.

FollowupID: 577601