Project TONI update

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 19:34
ThreadID: 59870 Views:7972 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Project TONI part 2
This is an update to Project TONI re-thread 59542.

The electrical engineer is working on it at this moment and the exhaust system is being made, in fact nearly done. The prop shafts are now ready and the intercooler is going in this week, and the selector linkages are close to being ready, so next week will be start up time, and the job finished before month end, with luck. Can't wait to drive it, it's been nearly 9 weeks so far.
Colin.

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 21:23

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 21:23
The whole project seems to be bigger than Ben Hur. I was wondering where all those Govt surplus funds are ending up...I rekkon you'll need every cent !
AnswerID: 315820

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 07:39

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 07:39
G'day footy
yeah it's costing plenty mate, but still cheaper than buying another car. This way I get to keep all my goodies AND have a motor & automatic gearbox that will last the life of the car. Best of both worlds IMHO.

Also thanks to the supportive comments from you all.

Steve, I will invite you and Gramps to come out and play when I get it sorted out, if we can afford the fuel that is.

Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 582070

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 07:49

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 07:49
Col,

Bewdy! Looking forward to it.

FollowupID: 582073

Follow Up By: TD100 - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 17:49

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 17:49
You hope it will last the life of the car--- i am a little dissapointed with mine at the moment as it doesnt sound too good. it looks like the flywheel has broken off the crankshaft,hopefully thats all,if the crank is buggered i will have to do a bottom half rebuild also.sad for a quality car at 61K so NOT HAPPY JAN!!!
FollowupID: 582151

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 19:48

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 19:48
TD100
I bleed with you brother, yes that should not happen in any car.

I would like to think that is a rarity as opposed to the Nissan ZD30 norm.

Hope all goes as well as possible for you. It is still under warranty I would think.

Good luck, Colin.
FollowupID: 582168

Follow Up By: TD100 - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 20:41

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 20:41
i wish it was still under warranty, it has only 61K on the clock but she is just over 5 years old so no warranty, already been down that road. Paul
FollowupID: 582181

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 21:53

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 21:53
Hi Col, hanging to see the final outcome. Reckon it will be fantastic, best of both worlds. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 315829

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 22:19

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 22:19
Thats Great Colin.
Keep up the good work - a very interesting conversion.
AnswerID: 315836

Reply By: GU5STS06 - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:43

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:43
Hey Colin,

Saw it in the flesh on Tuesday , looking good so far mate the Engine sits in it quite well indeed......... I will be there hopefully when its started as i know the " Mechanic " well as he services my Rig " H20PRF"

Daz
AnswerID: 315849

Reply By: Member - Graeme (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 14:18

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 14:18
On Patrol
You will, with the people working on this project have a wealth of knowledge that will make a future engine/transmission swap like this very straight forward and certainly feasible for those folk so inclined, rather than going the Chevvy route.
Please let us know at the end a ballpark figure of the costs involved.
AnswerID: 315900

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 19:55

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 19:55
Yes Graeme
I will post the info with the last update of "Project TONI"
Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 582169