How do you catch a few of those <span class="highlight">yabbies</span>?

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:56
ThreadID: 60648 Views:23567 Replies:8 FollowUps:8

We are soon to take off on a trip up the Darling for a couple of weeks, and hope to try our hand at catching yabbies.

We are from Scotland, and it's not something we've tried before. I've checked the archives, and read about various types of bait. We also bought a cheap hoop net today.

My question is really basic - what do you do with it???

I'm guessing lay in flat with some bait in the middle. What then? Do the yabbies come in to get the bait and just sit there waiting for us to lift the net?

I'm sorry if I'm asking the obvious, but it's a bit of a mystery to me.

Reply By: motor_head - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:09

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:09
Hi magic, leave the hoop net at home and buy opera house pots, put a small piece of steak in it, throw it in the water and check it every hour or two.
AnswerID: 319996

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:20

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:20
I think if you check the latest regs Opera house nets have been banned because they also trap Platapus, waterats, and turtles.
FollowupID: 586611

Follow Up By: bruce - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:38

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:38
Opera house nets are banned in NSW , if you get caught with them you will be in trouble...use drop nets and just check them every half hour or so...use soap , meat , dead fish..the smellier the better ..tie the bait in the middle ....and I think there is a limit of a 5 litre bucket per person per day(not sure of that) and do not forget your fishing license..never know when or where an inspector is likely to appear...and the license is not very expensive....could save you a lot of money...cheers
FollowupID: 586642

Follow Up By: motor_head - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:17

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:17
Oh ok, they are still legal in QLD.......sorry for the bum steer magic.
FollowupID: 586675

Follow Up By: A J - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:21

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:21
Madfisher - according to the DPI operas house yabbie nets which have a rigid opening can be used west of the Newell highway - except for three rivers down near the Murray. However if you live east of the Newell highway you are not allowed to be possession of the nets near a body of water in which they are illegal to be used.

A J
FollowupID: 586907

Reply By: Markymark - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:23

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:23
I've always used the basic hoop nets and they do the job. Tie your meat (scraps from the butcher are good) in the middle, make sure it lands flat when you toss it in and check every now and then, 10 mins, 20 mins? No magic number really.

Mark.
AnswerID: 320000

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:33

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:33
Not sure of the reg's but the opera use pots with the wire loop at the enterance are the way to go, turtles etc CAN'T get through the limited space. Take at least 5 pots, 20 cakes velvet soap,cut into two when using, a role a 4 mil nylon cord you can buy for $5 at bunnings. Tie of on a tree or stick you have pushed into the mud, leave over night.
Good Luck
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 586613

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:37

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:37
Of courseturtles can get in and do just not full size ones
always regular check your nets inturtle territory
FollowupID: 586701

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:29

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:29
I wouldnt have thought that 20 cakes of velvet soap would be the most enviromentaly friendly bait would it?

FollowupID: 586910

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:25

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:25
If the water is less then 60f the yabbies may be inactive. A couple of 20c days should get them going. When we where kids, we just tied a bit of meat on a string and tossed in the water. When a yabby had the meat the line would pull tight. use a net yo land them otherwise they let go at the last minute, great fun for kids big and small. Should be plenty of yellowbelly arround as well. Good bait are worms or shrimp.
AnswerID: 320001

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:27

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:27
Hi mate,
Tie your preferred bait inside the net, an old chop is good, then throw the net into the water.
Leave it for a while, give the yabbies time to come in for a feed.
When you pull it in, do so fairly quickly, so the yabbies can't escape.
We used to tie a chop to a piece of string when we were kids, you could feel the yabbies at the chop, a gentle retrieval and one yabby!
Dennis
AnswerID: 320002

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:41

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:41
opera house nets are avalable for less than 10 bucks from any tackle shop and are a bit better than the hoop nets which are more for crabs but will work.
bait can be anything from an old chop to a peice of sausage etc.
dry Cat food in a stcking makes an easy bait storage solution.
As has been said when the weather warms up is best and heck the regulaions as in SW western australia the regs are draconian with marron poachers (a type o fhuge yabby) being treated worse than Poedophiles)
AnswerID: 320050

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:45

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:45
OK read the thread above - scrap the opera house nets and just pull your hoop nets about every 20 min 1/2 hour not ast not slow just steady pull
- theres no real sience to catching yabbies
FollowupID: 586703

Reply By: Member - Warren R- Karratha WA - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:50

Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 22:50
Welcome to Oz Folks.Yabbies also love chook pellets. Sorry.. chook = chicken. A hand full of pellets tied in a piece of old stocking in the middle of the net. Or at night throw a hanfull of pellets in the shallow water on the edge of the bank and come back every 15 or 20 minutes with a torch and scoop them with a net.easy. Happy McTravels.
AnswerID: 320051

Reply By: Member - Magic (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 08:26

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 08:26
Cheers everyone for the useful info.

I feel a bit more confident now, and hopefully will have a bit of success.

Thanks again folks.

AnswerID: 320070

Reply By: unko - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 22:09

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 22:09
when I was a kid we would just use dog dry food in coke bottle with holes in the bottle and the dog food inside it. if useing a drop net type just make sore that the bait is in the middle if not the yabbie just let go when u pull the net out of the water and there is nothing underneath then so they just fall back in.

If i rember correctly if the water is murky (cloudy) it means they are active
AnswerID: 320344