Project TONI Update.

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 13:36
ThreadID: 61007 Views:3714 Replies:11 FollowUps:25
Today I had a full test drive, 1.5hrs of most ON ROAD conditions, as a result of that drive to any that want to buy it, the price will have to go UP, deal or no deal. HeHeHe.

Boy does it gooooo!!!!

The torque it develops nearly turned the car over (would you believe almost, well would you believe changes the attitude of the car???)

Just a few minor adjustments to be made, put all the "extras" back into place and weighbridge it, get the RTA to change the rego papers based on the engineers blue slip and the patient can come home, at last.

A full report will come when I have used it "in anger".

Thanks to all of you that have given me the support & encouragement to see this difficult project through, thank you one and all.

And a "big raspberry" to the one and only negative reply.

TONI lives!!!!!!!!!

Cheers Colin.

Reply By: westozal - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:07

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:07
Hello Colin,
As an owner of a series 3 man 2004 3.0 ltr i have folowed your project with interest. Well done on getting it going. How does it compare to the 3.0 ltr which I find annoyingly sluggish personally.
Could you give an approximate cost overall of the conversion?
Thanks Alan.
AnswerID: 321833

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:27

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:27
It responds to pedal input very well indeed, it should do concidering the torque and power difference over the Nissan

ZD30------- 113kw & 314Nm
1HD-FTE-- 150KW & 430Nm
Chalk & Cheese.

Alan I have still to do the sums yet as the project is still to be finalised, but I would guess at around $21000-22000 TOTAL.

Thats everything from towing to engineers report and weighbridge and everything between, still cheaper than the V8 Chevy option by $2000 or so.

I now have a car that everything, and more, than the much touted 80Sr LC (concidered by many to be the best 4wd wagon) and many years younger.

The full report, when done, will give a full account of costs.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 588744

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:33

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:33
As a reminder if you did not notice in earlier posts that also includes the 5speed LC auto gearbox and transfer case.
FollowupID: 588746

Follow Up By: westozal - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:02

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:02
Hi Colin,
Yes I did notice you used the landcruiser box as well. I sold my trusty 1996 80series Pet/gas to buy the Nissan, being honest I don't think I should have.
I generally like the Patrol but have had occassion to lament the instant get up n go of the 80, usually at the most inopportune moments when I get caught in second at low speed or third etc( (I know this is my lazy driving fault) and try to accelerate quickly into traffic etc.
Thanks for reply.
Regards Alan
FollowupID: 588762

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:15

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:15
Ok lets take a trip down memory lane......look back about 13 years.....if you concentrate real hard you will remember it......DAD CAN I BORROW THE CAR!!!

Shame I could not be there this morning, but looking forward to a drive of it during the week.

Congrats to you and Mum on your new child....Me and Sis know who you love more!!!!

Stefan
AnswerID: 321835

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:29

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:29
We know the answer to that one Stefan, but cannot say on the grounds that it WILL incriminate us.
FollowupID: 588745

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:35

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:35
Hi Ya Stefan, well I dont like your chances of "dad can I borrow the car" anymore. I reckon your mum will have a hard enough time getting your dad out of it just to have his dinner LOL, he'll be pulling up to the local pub and ringing them from inside the patrol,cruiser ??? ok, TONI then, and will request them to bring it out to him take away style cause he wont want to get out of it.

Hi Colin, glad to hear its all systems go. Hopefully there wont be any issues and will have all been worth it which Im sure it will be. Will be one beast I reckon & as I have said to you before the best of both worlds. All the best to your wife who I am sure has been very very very patient with you over the last few months BUT, I would be real nice to her I think she deserves some flowers Im sure of it LOL. Mmmm not sure who is the Finance director in your house but I would have had to do some real serious crawling to do what you have done for my wife to give me the $$$. Have fun !!!! Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 588747

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:47

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:47
"Hi Ya Stefan, well I dont like your chances of "dad can I borrow the car" anymore"

Didn't work 13 years ago....so don't think the odds have improved since then!! LOL
FollowupID: 588748

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:53

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 14:53
Thanks Stephen,
I had a good loud laugh at you "Ford ad" style comments, you may have something there!!!!!

You know that as soon as the car is proven, I will be putting a one day members gathering on, for us all to go out and PLAY. Maybe up Mt Airlie (Jurassic Pk), that's where I was heading to when this all started, and I would love to finish that trip.

Stephen, when you get to the 35+ years together, money issues between us seem to fade away, Yeah like hell they do.

Renate, in all honesty, wanted this conversion just as much as I did, she never was fussed on the Chevy option, so permission was never an issue, as it is her car anyway.
Colin.
FollowupID: 588749

Follow Up By: BoldJack ( Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 15:33

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 15:33
Maybe Colin will let his favourite son in-law borrow the car,
Just to make it really appealing ,he gets the honour to drive "The Jackaroo" in exchange. LOL
I'm really curious as to how it will perform too, maybe we can come along on its first real run ...you know, just in case :-)

Cheers Bert
FollowupID: 588759

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 15:59

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 15:59
Bert
No disputing it, you are rightly my favourite Son In Law (as well as being my only one) BUT what advantage would "I" have in driving the Pack-a-poo over TONI???? now that I have more Kw's and Torque.
See ya later, mate.
Your favourite Father In Law.
FollowupID: 588761

Follow Up By: BoldJack ( Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:13

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:13
Hi Dad,
In reference to trips down memory lane.How about you take another one to about 20 years or so back when a comment was made "I will never buy another nissan!!!" If you had of taken your own advice you would have been about $20000 richer.
Love your loving daughter
Michelle
FollowupID: 588765

Follow Up By: BoldJack ( Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:18

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:18
And actually your KW's are still less then the Jackaroo's which has not been genetically half breed LOL.
Bert
FollowupID: 588767

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:24

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:24
Yeah, well thats a whole other story aint it. At least then the only thing lost was a few days in Sale Vic with a boat and no way to launch it, at least Nissan, then, were good for warranty.

For the rest of you, we, the family, were coming home from Melbourne, towing a 3m boat behind a then new Bluebird wagon when the Torque converter parted company from the crank shaft and just about took the bell housing with it. We were flat towed into nearby Sale and dropped off at the CV pk on New Years eve and spent 4days in stinking heat waiting for the car, a nice river nearby and no car to launch the boat with. Bugga.

I am obviously a slow learner.
Thanks for reminding me Michelle.
Dad.
FollowupID: 588768

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:25

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:25
Colin,

Good to see the family does'nt let you get too carried away LOL

FollowupID: 588769

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:34

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:34
Oh Michelle,
even IF I was $20000 richer, I would make sure it was spent before I depart this mortal coil.

Where there's a will, there's a relative.

Love you.
FollowupID: 588773

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:43

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:43
Hey Gramps,
you will NEVER catch Renate on "the hill" on Windsor Rd now mate, in fact I reckon the coppers would no even get near her now before Bella Vista.
Colin.
FollowupID: 588774

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:48

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:48
Hahahahahaha I could'nt get near her before. Now she'll just be a blur :)))

FollowupID: 588775

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:49

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:49
speaking of wills, changed it yet to make sure the car is taken care of and loved???

FollowupID: 588777

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:28

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:28
Yes Stefan, we willed it to Jason's wife, she will love it and Jason will care for it, as it is his creation.

He He He.
FollowupID: 588784

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:04

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 20:04
Geez Colin I hope this 100 series of yours,oops sorry patrol doesnt let you down in ANY way cause boy are you going to cop it, from by the sounds of it both sides of the family LOL. I think I would just leave the patrol to both and let them sort it out (hopefully thats not for a long long time yet). Stefan, Mate I think you need to be having a word to Jason, I know he's a top bloke but I think there must have been some $$$ handed back to the old man to bribe him to give it to Jasons wife !!!! Anyway no need to worry bout any of that the old man will out last the patrol/cruiser, cruiser/ patrol. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 588815

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 15:58

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 15:58
Well done Colin. I have no doubt it would be a whole new ball game from the drivers seat. So much more torque and power from so much lower in the rev range. I reckon there would be a few "project" ZD30's being considered by so many more people now you have pulled off this miraculous transplant.

In your final report could I ask that the engineer and mechanic doing the work be included. I know I could go looking for it in previous posts but if it is all together in the last rundown it will be so much easier for future reference. (Not that I will need it for a while as another worked 4.2 GU will reside in my driveway as of next Friday. This one only has 150 on the clock so should be good for another couple of years yet "fingers crossed".) PLEASE!!

Thanks for your forsight, dedication and big kahunas to give this project a go.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 321851

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:14

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:14
Trevor,
mate I will shout it from the mountain tops, when I get there, that Jason Dymock at Total Care 4wd Seven Hills NSW was the true genius behind this conversion, as for the engineer, the only reason he was consulted was to please the powers that be in NSW, but credit where due he was fair and understanding (within the law) of what we were trying to do.

Jimmy the electrical engineer was the silent partner in all of this and got it right "first" go, I will get Jason to give me Jimmy's details for the final report as this man is a wizard at what he does, he is the shy genius that brought this all together, without Jimmy this would NOT have happened.

Back to you, why the new 4.2, what was wrong with the old one? I thought you had just got that to where you wanted it?

Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 588766

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:30

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:30
With mine, I have had fun with it. It has been in it's current state of tune for some time now but with 365000 km on the clock and things starting to show signs of "old age" from a pretty hard life I thought I will retire it to "local" work and the new one will do the running around up and down the east coast. New one was my uncle's, has 150 on the clock and he has done a lot of the same performance work I done to mine so it is pretty handy on the dyno but still a fair bit under mine.....until the gas goes in hehehe about a week after I buy it.

This way both should serve me reliably for many a year to come. I reckon well looked after 4.2's will be hard to source as time goes by and this meticulous one come up so I couldn't say no.

Good luck with the rest of the formalities down there and I look forward to catching up with you to throw my eyes over your handy work, just bring a chamois to wipe away my drool from your front guard LOL!!!

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 588786

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:16

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 16:16
Congatulations Colin, well done. It would be a big relief to know that it's all good, and you'll sleep easy at night knowing that the motor won't let you down in the middle of no where on a trip.
I look forward to the full report when you post it.

Rob
AnswerID: 321853

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:29

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 17:29
Fantastic Colin,
Hope you get much enjoyment from it
AnswerID: 321862

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 18:45

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 18:45
Good to hear Colin.
I think you have taken the bull by the horns and undertaken something that a few others may well follow suit with.

I look forward to the pictures in the final report.
Well done.

AnswerID: 321872

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 22:38

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 22:38
Hi Colin,

Great to hear its all going well and easy to see you are very happy with it. You have a genuine one of a kind, but sounds like others like the results - you may have some siblings down the track!

Looking at your power / torque comments above (113kw & 314Nm), where did you get the ZD30 figures from? I am pretty sure that the 2003 figures are 118Kw & 354Nm - and add a Dtronic and they go to 134Kw & 420Nm.

But having driven a 100 series 4.2TD with figures of 150KW & 430Nm, it goes a lot stronger than the Dtronic equipped ZD30, even though on paper it should be closer. But a good thing you didn't drive a 200 TTD with 195Kw and 650Nm, otherwise you may have had the nightmare of shoehorning that into the GU!!!

AnswerID: 321896

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 11:48

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 11:48

I did look at the Tojo V8 TD but it would not fit into the engine bay, Bugger, I think I would have had a hard time finding one so soon after release. But I did give it some thought though.

Maybe someone else might want to try that one. I know just the man to help them.

I think I mixed up the Navara ZD30 figures rather than the Patrol.
They seem to be OK in the Navara, or does someone know if I am wrong about that. Maybe the slight detune may be the secret to their longevity????

Cheers Colin
FollowupID: 588873

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 23:44

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 23:44
Hi Colin,
Congratulations. I have followed your updates with a great deal of interest and I certainly appreciate you sharing this experience with us. I look forward to reading the full report. Any chance you could post some photo's?

Of course you know that you must now embark on a trip around Oz to let us all have a drive.

Hugh
AnswerID: 321909

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 11:21

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 11:21
Yeah Hugh
That trip might be a good idea, all I have to do is save up some money, cos i'm broke just now, He He He.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 588869

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 03:50

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 03:50
Well done Colin

Will look forward to reading more reports, including your Dyno figures.

By the way had the new Patrol (for me, anyway) out in the mud and really wet paddocks yesterday..... No tractor about to drag me out, any where nearby either

Impressed with the way she just did it, and did not even have to get out and let the tyres down, bonus.
Fox go away too.

Next thing to do is to get rid of those oversized Cooper St's, and put on some standard BFG's... probably help in the economy stakes too.

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 321920

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 11:30

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 11:30
Bucky,
The reason I did not just throw the towel in and go for something else is the very same reason you mention about the paddocks, the Patrol is IMHO a very capable vehicle and now I have dumped that ZD30 boat anchor, I hope to realise the full potential of that running gear underneath the car.

Not too sure about those BFG's over the Coopers though, oh well I will just have to go to the Waeco and get a cold beer, and feel for those poor souls with warm beer from that other fridge.LOL
FollowupID: 588870

Reply By: Member - Glenn G (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 19:47

Sunday, Aug 24, 2008 at 19:47
Onpatrol

I still recon that you should be a part of the Cross Breed 4WD club! but seriously , good on you for sticking it to the ney sayers and makin work !

Giffo
AnswerID: 322023

Reply By: ingo57 - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 15:03

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 15:03
G'day Colin

Very Interesting what your doing here mate and like most, looking forward to a full report when all is done and dusted.
Curious though as to the creature comforts such as the AC and cruise control. Are these part of what your doing now, or to come later?
Also what manufacture power steer pump are you using

AnswerID: 322128

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 18:07

Monday, Aug 25, 2008 at 18:07
ingo
ALL accessories are toyota powered, AC, Alt, Power steer,
etc. They all had to me adapted to match the Nissan components they power.

The only thing i gave up, was the after market Cruise Control that I never used anyway.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 589114