The Nissan Curse

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:22
ThreadID: 62450 Views:4338 Replies:15 FollowUps:23
Left home this morning fine, about 5kms down the road I stop at the traffic lights and notice a bit of a miss.Within 2kms the exhaust is blowing greats amounts of black smoke and if I go over 2300rpm the engine starts to rattle badly.Got home at about 50kph and left it there,I guess I'm up for one of three things.
1 Project Toni 2
2 see if a common rail will fit
3 rebuild not a real option I'm sick of the uncertainy of getting home

foot note : serviced every 5000kms and have 142000 on the clock

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:27

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:27
Sorry to hear that Captain, hope it turns out better than it sounds.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 329345

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:16

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:16
I reckon he should put an Isuzu motor in it Trevor, get one of them 4 cylinder one at about 190hp out of the smaller trucks. Now how does NissaZu sound.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 596724

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:39

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:39
Option 4: 4.8 on LPG

Also invest 30 odd dollars and lodge a SCT case against Nissan if they refuse to come to the party.

AnswerID: 329348

Follow Up By: Member -Captain Chaos (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:49

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:49
Excuse my ignorance what is a SCT
FollowupID: 596714

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:53

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:53
Sorry,

Small Claims Tribunal.

If you want to know how to prepare a decent case give me a call on 0411 874406. It's not hard. I successfully sued Mitsubishi a few years ago in QLD for repairs to a well out of warranty car.

FollowupID: 596716

Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:39

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:39
what engine do, did you have............?

AnswerID: 329349

Follow Up By: Member -Captain Chaos (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:47

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 14:47
ZD3.0 lt 2000 model
FollowupID: 596713

Reply By: Grungle - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 15:27

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 15:27
Scrap all those other options and do a TD42T transplant. You already have the gearbox so just need a motor, some miscellaneous items and some wiring and hey presto - a indestructable combination. Also no need to engineer.

AnswerID: 329354

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 17:19

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 17:19
Hi Grungle, you say he already has the gearbox, does this mean a 3lt auto box will bolt up to a 4.2 as well as I wouldn't mind putting a 4.2 in mine like they had in the GQ,

Thanks Rossco.
FollowupID: 596738

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 15:48

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 15:48
I do feel sorry for you, but as the Nissan fans have done elsewhere.......
Oh what a feeling ! :)))
AnswerID: 329356

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:19

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:19
Any oil spread througout the engine bay?
AnswerID: 329358

Follow Up By: Member -Captain Chaos (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:25

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:25
no but it does have a bit of a burnt oil smell
FollowupID: 596729

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:33

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:33
When mine went bang there was heaps of oil spread around the engine bay. Made the exxon valdese look like a minor spill! Anyway it had holed one piston cracked the other 3 and destroyed the head.
Strange sensation! Kind like a bit of relief as I was worried about it happening at some stage and like you I was just down the road (10kms away).
Hope yours isn't as severe. Mine is also a 2000 and it happened at 195,000kms in November 2005.
FollowupID: 596731

Follow Up By: Member -Captain Chaos (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:35

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:35
What did you do replace or rebuild?
FollowupID: 596733

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:42

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:42
It was like a re-build. I looked at 2nd hand from wreckers but that was about 6-7000. I got the dealer to put in a rebuild kit which in my case was everything except the sump and rocker cover. It cost about 6000. I say about because while it was in pieces I got a new clutch, pump serviced by some crowd in Melbourne, radiator re-built and AC re gassed etc. So all up it was closer to 10000. The re-build price was forever changing to start with so it took a couple of weeks to sort that out. The day it happened, I basically towed it to the dealer, walked down the road and bought another vehicle and went back about 3 months later to get the Nissan! Had a fair bit of contact with the dealer and a little with Nissan but they offered little assistance so another manufacturer got the next lot of cash from me!
FollowupID: 596735

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:49

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:49
And also mine was rattling full on as you would expect with the damge to the engine that mine suffered. At idle, which after the implosion is all it really did and only for about 200 metres, it sounded like a bucket of bolts! Humourous now when I think back but at the time Jesus did I regret buying the thing. Sometimes I still do!
FollowupID: 596736

Reply By: Dan26aus (Gladstone - QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:27

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:27
Hi There Captain Chaos, might pay to double check the obvious first. Mine had same symptons on New yrs eve. Was travelling to Saphirre (qld) & all but 40k's there, when rattles & smoke ( i never seen so much black smoke like it). Anyway i pulled the plastic shrowd off intercooler & couldn't see anything wrong at first. But when i started looking again, the 3" hose from the turbo had split on the underside. Phew i thought i become another statistic with a blown piston. It was the decider to blocking off my EGR valve after that !!!!

Good luck & hope it's not the worst......

Dan
AnswerID: 329359

Follow Up By: Member -Captain Chaos (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:38

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:38
Thanks I will check it out and let you all know by the way did yours feel as if it had a miss in the engine?
FollowupID: 596734

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:53

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:53
Dan
Had a similar problem with the old trusty girl in our July rally. Hoses on the top of turbo came off and one NEW one split underside. We questioned why as the turbo was out of the vehicle to fix the dump valve that broke open on the Strz in April. Topped with that the radiator bleeped it self. Can tell you as the minister for money and war thought we were looking down the barrel of the money pit again I will have to make a statement but. We know of 5 Nissan packing it in all with the same mentioned motor. It doesn't matter which breed you drive they all are our pride and joys and can fail in one way or another.
Sharon
FollowupID: 597033

Reply By: ddr - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 17:09

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 17:09
5 - A 6.6lt Duramax implant, Heath on Outers has one producing 440HP.

Its got more HP at idle than my TD6i has at full noise.
AnswerID: 329362

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 17:41

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 17:41
So, are you saying that he's managed to fit the Duramax into a GU's engine bay? I thought they were simply too big?

Anyway, FWIW, I'm happy with my 6.5 V8 Chev diesel, but I couldn't justify the $22K price tag to have it done. I'm glad somebody else spent their hard-earned on it and then I've simply picked up the bargain...... hahaha

BTW, sorry to hear of your possible blow-up of the 3 litre mate; hopefully it will turn out to be something not quite so bad and you can replace the turbo hose or similar and be back on the road. If so, it'd be a good idea to fit a pyro gauge, a boost gauge and block off the EGR valve. Owners on the Patrol forum also talk about the benefits of fitting catch cans as well......

FollowupID: 596739

Follow Up By: Member -Captain Chaos (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:07

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:07
I have both gauges it showed the boost low and the exhaust temp up about 450 to 500c but have held off blocking the EGR.Also had the MAF motor replaced back in June this year,I do not skimp on the patrol as I do enjoy taking it out and using it what it was suppose to be built for.
FollowupID: 596742

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:14

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:14
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/phpBB2/ftopic144308-0-asc-60.php
C'mon Roachie, thought you were already hving yours done ;)
its also on patrol forum....

FollowupID: 596743

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 13:07

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 13:07
and will blow the transmission to pieces
unless you upgrade that dramatically.
I run a moderate tune on my Duramax at 400hp for towing
and that is as far as I am comfortable with my 6 speed Allison and
that is already in a different league of the Nissan box.
I wonder what he has done to the transmission.

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 596869

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 20:22

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 20:22
He is running the Alison 6sp auto...

all stock.
big thread
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/phpBB2/ftopic144308.php

Here he is on the 1/4 mile. doin 12's..

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=ITLPfMOLLO8
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=e-S51pmNDq4
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=nW4B-RUF3eQ
and another
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9wzOPq34pM
FollowupID: 596993

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:16

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:16
ahhhhh....... small motors big cars, the way of the future.

Small Claims IMWO, is a waste of time in this case, I cant see it getting any 3.0 owners any joy...

142,000... disappointing on any engine in any car. Just run in for a 4.2 :)
AnswerID: 329365

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:00

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:00
So how do you figure, im a nissan man but toyota have gone for a v8 and sounds as if they have done their home work. Would like to fit the v8 into the nissan, or even better the VW V10 diesal with something like 700 nm of tourgre. would be close to what i get from my super charged 4.2 patrol, hehe you wont know till you try. Col
FollowupID: 596772

Reply By: Dan26aus (Gladstone - QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 19:05

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 19:05
No miss at idle (not that i can remember anyway). Just burn't through the fuel like crazy for the last 40k's... Just the obvious no power at all with the camper in tow. But in the i was lucky, still.... gave me a grey hair or 2(hahaha)

Dan
AnswerID: 329371

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 20:03

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 20:03
Captain Chaos (QLD)
I take no joy whatsoever in your predicament, but I am not sure you have totally blown it.

I hope for your sake it's the intercooler or Turbo at fault here.

If you require ANY assistance or advice on the path I chose please feel free to MM me.

I do hope it's not as bad as it first appears mate.

Colin.
AnswerID: 329379

Reply By: Yagan42 - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 20:46

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 20:46
I have an Explorer with a similar problem on the Nullarbor.
Found the problem was lack of "fuel". Cure was duct tape.
On the firewall in front of the passenger is a switch hidden under the carpet. I pushed heavily on the carpet and hear a small cracking noise which I ignored as it didn't seem much. However, often after that the engine would cut out. We couldn't find anything obviously wrong and after a while the engine would start only to cut out anything from 5 to 150km later.
The RACV mechanic in Euston solved the problem. The switch is designed to cut off fuel in the event of a roll over. When I had pushed on the switch, it broke but stayed connected until someone moved their foot on the carpet and moved the carpet and the connection broke. Moving the foot and carpet again while searching for the problem restored the connection.
Duct tape and 20,000km without problem.
Maybe your problem is similar.
AnswerID: 329388

Reply By: kiwicol - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 20:51

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 20:51
looks like Cols NISYOTA is sounding the go.
foot note: nissan lost it going to the GU. Shame i have a 92 super charged 4.2 diesal 380,000ks and i drive it as if i hate it and have never had any problems. Col
AnswerID: 329391

Reply By: westozal - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 20:54

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 20:54
Hello Captain Chaos,
I'm sorry to hear of your motor's demise, I wonder if you read thread 62385 plenty of feeling re this motor on that thread.
I raised the thread, got somewhat taken to task for having done so and lo and behold not two days later you are another victim.
I wish you the best of luck with fixing your Patrol.
Regards Alan.
AnswerID: 329393

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 22:48

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 22:48
Bloody hell Alan, your'e not still sapping over my reply to your post are you????

If you go back and read my post again Alan you will notice that my point was not the fact that you raised the issue of the problems with the 3 litre Patrol motor ....

"Nissan should be brought to account for this motors poor reliability issues."

More the fact that i get annoyed with people continually repeating the above, and still no one attempts to do anything about it...
Read Jim, from Best Off Roads reply and follow ups above...

Not wanting to start another bloody war with you Allan , but am a little bleep that you obviously didn't read my other post properly...

Captain..sorry for bringing this up in your post mate, and i do honestly feel for you, and hope you get your problem sorted out real quick....

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 596797

Reply By: westozal - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:42

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:42
Gidday Borgy,
Did wonder if you would find this post and read it given I did advise you not to respond to these post for your piece of mind.
You'll have to try harder than that to upset me.
Oh by the way Alan only has one L.
See Ya Alan.
As above apologies to Captain Ghaos, not intending to hijack this thread.
AnswerID: 329497

Follow Up By: westozal - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:45

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:45
Sorry,
I cant spell either Peace I say not piece.
Alan.
FollowupID: 596886

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:49

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:49
You are a wanker ALAN ....like i said above read my post AGAIN PROPERLY
FollowupID: 596887

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:56

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:56
Oh and btw , going by your posts , i think you are the one seeking peace of mind....i dont own a 3 litre Patrol
FollowupID: 596891

Follow Up By: westozal - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:01

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:01
Borgy
What's your problem???
I havent resorted to questioning your parentage or masturbatory habits etc and take exception to your last post.
I really think you need to lightenup somewhat, at the end of the day it's not really about us, this issue ,more about those whom have suffered heavy finacial loss or hardship.
As someone else said there are worse things in life.
I did read your post again but it didnt make much difference to me. Maybe i'm missing something.
The reference to one L in Alan was intended to be humourous not a further needle to your sensetivities.
Regards Alan

FollowupID: 596893