Update on the '<span class="highlight">Grenade</span>'

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:37
ThreadID: 63033 Views:3593 Replies:15 FollowUps:24
Just got a phone call off Craig, the car is going to some bloke in Wollongong for a week (atleast he reckons) who gets cars when noone else can figure out their problems and he is going to sort it out and we are not getting it back until it is fixed. He will give us a commadore or something in the mean time. I need to write a report on when the problems have been happening etc so he can try and sort it out.....and what mechanics its been to etc and what they have done...

Im not happy but will do this and see what happens! Nath will be the calm one through this - Im ready to through the thing!

Lucky for insurance is all i can say! (woops, did I write that!!)

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:41

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:41
Sell it as soon as you get it back if Craig wont take it back.

You could use the baby bonus from the quads to pay for a decent 4wd then ;)

AnswerID: 332594

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:51

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:51
its a thought but Im going to fight this one....just see what this bloke does for the week or so....depends what nathans says too!
FollowupID: 600443

Reply By: Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:44

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:44
Best of luck with it Laura...Hope it all gets sorted out for you....I dont know this Craig fella , but if he is anything like most of car salesmen i dont like your chances of getting your money back...Hopefully im wrong....

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 332595

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:52

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:52
so far he's alright....as for cash back...i really hoped (i think hope is fading fast with a new mechanic on the scene) but the next thing is another car same value...etc

FollowupID: 600444

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:47

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:47
No offence, but what you need is a 6mtr X 6mtr X6mtr.........

" Hole in the ground" .......lol.

Hope all works out.

AnswerID: 332596

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:50

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:50
its already started to be dug!
FollowupID: 600442

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:56

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:56
I thought "Craig" agreed to take it back and refund your money if any problems developed??

This is not looking good and they are worming their way out me thinks :-(

AnswerID: 332598

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:01

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:01
Hmmm,

Agreeing with you twice in two days. What is the world coming to LOL

I'm no lawyer, but I doubt he has any requirement to do a refund. I would imagine he has to provide some form of statutory warranty and repair faults during this period. To my untrained eye it would seem he is doing as required.

Ultimately, he may well be able to go back on the suggestion of a refund.

FollowupID: 600445

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:01

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:01
I think its going to be a waiting game for a bit....Im going to wait till Nathan gets up this arvo before I go troppo over it!

Just makes me wonder why this guy in wollongong is so good, if 4 cannt figure it out and fix it then how come he can????

FollowupID: 600446

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:03

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:03
Your prob right Jim....cos there is warrenty on it for 12 months so he's prob doing what he has to do seeing that we told him that we wouldnt be paying a cent even if warrenty didnt cover the issues.....
FollowupID: 600447

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:20

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:20
Laura did he put the refund assurances in writing or was it a friendly "Yep will refund ya with no problems if you have any problems with the car" type thing just to get you to buy the thing?

Isn't "Craig" a mate or just a general good bloke?

From previous postings we know that Nissan dealers can't diagnose the problems with these things.
So the likelihood of some bloke in Wollongong doing any better is pretty well zip and all they are doing is stuffing you around long enough with the hope you will just go away.

FollowupID: 600448

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:30

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:30
It was "we will get our money back Craig, this is a joke"...he agreed if it couldnt be sorted out....now he's gone and got 5th mechanic....

he is a work mate...his business has an account with Nathan for work and have bought cars off him before....the only reason why we go back to him is that he has a good name in town and isnt like the ones working for toyota or nissan....

yeah my thoughts exactly about the guy in wollo....but we arent going away!
FollowupID: 600451

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:31

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:31
Hi Laura

Just as a precaution, get the Dealer to Give you Written Agreement
of Intention of Repair to the said Vehicle, or other words get
some thing in writing, saying that they acknowledge the fact that
the said vehicle is not Mechanically Sound, and what they propose to
do, re: Repairs to your Satisfaction, or Change Over Vehicle to
Equivalent Purchase Price, and Rego ect,
You could cover your Self, by requesting this in Writing, and getting
a J P to witness this letter, this will help cover you, if things turn
Pear Shape, and they dont want to cooperate.
Hope things go well for you, this is the last thing you need at the
moment with new Babies on the way.

Daza
AnswerID: 332603

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:36

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:36
Laura
"Nath will be the calm one through this " - good cop / bad cop often a good strategy. Good luck with it!! cheers JD
AnswerID: 332604

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:44

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:44
Especially with kids LOL

FollowupID: 600452

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:25

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:25
I lost it once at him....and can do it again when needed...he gets all technical talking with nathan about car stuff (I use the other phone and listen in...hehehehe!0...I must be the 'blonde bimbo wife' that thinks the dip stick in somewhere on the tyres!
FollowupID: 600499

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 22:00

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 22:00
Kiwi, in most cases the dip stick is behind the wheel

FollowupID: 600624

Reply By: Member - Porl - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:54

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:54
Hi Laura

Contemporaneous and witnessed evidence is as better than anything signed by a JP so print this forum page out and we are your witnesses that you recorded what was said on the phone when the conversation was fresh.

I don't mean to offend the JP suggestion but JP's only witness what was said not the verification or accuracy of what was said, so in lieu of anything in writing from the dealer then a true record of the conversation as you have just stated is the best evidence you will get, if you are believed and there is no reason to suggest otherwise.
AnswerID: 332605

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:18

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:18
Hi Porl
I agree with what you said, but in some cases a written request
signed / dated by a JP and a copy kept for future problems if any,
shows that a person has made some attempt to communicate,
other than with the verbal form.
FollowupID: 600456

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:23

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:23
I wonder if it is going to the guys at Berrima--they know their stuff and sound like the type of mechanics you would take this type of problem to???
AnswerID: 332609

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:25

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:25
he said wollo, so doubt it but who knows...just home and there is a missed called form a wollongong number so could have been the mech.
FollowupID: 600461

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:41

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:41
Daryl...a bloke in Fairy meadow....
FollowupID: 600471

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 12:32

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 12:32
Hi Laura,

You have my sympathy too, not much help I guess.
I agree with the comments above about documentation.

Some years ago I bought a second hand Merc..from a 'reputable dealer' -and an 'honest man' so I thought.

The Merc developed some weird problems and it became a long and drawn out process to get it fixed. Problem was that the dealer had the option of who he took it to to get it fixed......and of course he took the cheapest option.

We were unfortunate to live in the country and a couple of hours from town and the salesperson just tried to fob us off with all sorts of vague excuses. The loan car he gave us was a heap of chit too..

Promises, promises and more promises were the order of the day and it took some months to get things fixed to my satisfaction.

Best advice is to record every single detail and make sure that the salesman knows that too.... and persevere, hassle hassle hassle.......however I would imagine that you will/have/are doing this already.

Best of luck
Michael

AnswerID: 332611

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:27

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:27
it certainly isnt the first time this has happened.

Im about to ring Craig back and just ask him about this mechanic, who he is etc and what will happen,,,just thinking of how to say things and what to ask cos all I want to do is drive it through his gates!
FollowupID: 600462

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 14:27

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 14:27
Well it is a Nissan Patrol , what you need is a 96 GXL .... Sorry I said that.

AnswerID: 332645

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 14:29

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 14:29
hehehehehe!!!

i know what ya gettin at there Doug!!! Your good!!
FollowupID: 600481

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:18

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:18
How's about these for a starting point of a list of reasonable questions to ask "Craig'

1. Who is the mechanic in Wollongong and what is his business name?
2. Why do you have faith in him over the factory trained Nissan mechanics?
3. What experience does he have in this model of Nissan?
4. I am absolutely clear you Craig are paying for this mechanics services, are you clear on that Craig?
5. Is the mechanic clear that you Craig are paying him and we are not paying for anything?
6. Can I ring the mechanic and ask him these questions?
7. What is your (Craig's) next step in the process if this mechanic fails to diagnose the fault?

Hope that helps,

AnswerID: 332660

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:28

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:28
ok...answer...
1. business name - didnt ask but he is in fairy meadow, name is Daryl...he did say that the name was something like...what ever...phone was on the blink when he rang....

2. he is one of 2 mechnics nation wide that deal with specific type of cars....sounded jibbereish and switched off to him for a moment!!

3. dunno....will get nath to ask

4.Yes..it is clear...there is no cost on our part what so ever, please leave warrenty stuff in there so that if anything can be covered by that it can be done so...

5.yes....we have not spoken to mechanic (yet)....all organising is done through craig not us

6. will be getting number this arvo...dont worry (or 2mrw...if nathan gets up too late to talk to craig himself)

7. "you wil not get this car back until the problem is fixed laura, dont stress, we dont want this problem either and want it sorted out to"

very helpful thanks and will make for a good conversation 2mrw I think with the mechanic....
FollowupID: 600492

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:57

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:57
ok....his name is Daryl....he is the owner of "Screamin' Performance'....will give a ring in the morning I think....
FollowupID: 600495

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:35

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:35
Hi Laura,
Sounds to me like you are covering your bases!

Me personally, I'd make absolutely certain the mechanic knows you aren't paying and all bills are to go to Craig.

Not that I don't trust your mate Craig but sometimes these things get lost in the conversation.

Good luck with it,

FollowupID: 600617

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:46

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:46
Are the repairs being done under the statuatory warranty or an 'aftermarket' warranty/insurance policy?
AnswerID: 332665

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:49

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:49
aftermarket stuff....goes for 12 months but in this case it doesnt matter how long the warrenty goes for cos for as long as we have the car as long as we continually get issues Craig will be dealing with it....!!

not sure who the warrenty is through...the typical caryard business...
FollowupID: 600494

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:01

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:01
anyone wanting to do a dummy call to see if we can be told different stories about how good he is by all means go ahead....of course dont pretend to be me or Nath if you do.....

02 42848520

AnswerID: 332669

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:28

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:28
I really feel for you here Laura. Just something more for you to worry about, SORRY, but this after market warranty is between you and that company, not the car seller I am afraid.
But if the problem happened with in three months of purchase then it is a statuary warranty which the car seller has to sort.
I had a claim with a warranty company with a blown turbo, they said it was my fault and were not going to pay anything of the $2000 cost I proved it was not my fault but these happened to all the turbos on that model car, I ended up getting back only $600...Hope it goes your way

Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 600501

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:54

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:54
It started on 10 day of owning the car and Craig was told on day 16ish....after e got into Bourke after Innamincka....

So he has known sincethe beginning of the problems - and they are continuing....I told him if warrenty wont pay for it then he would be as the problem has been since we bought it.....he understood that and so far its ok...
FollowupID: 600510

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:19

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:19
Thanks for clearing that up for me Laura, if he does not look after you we may have to have a "gathering" in his car yard heheheheh.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 600528

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 04:44

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 04:44
Laura
In chatting to John next door ( retired machanic .and grenade owner )

One of the things he said was to go over every switch, join and earthing point. As a lot of vehicles have problems getting good earths. ( especially Nissans )
Think of it this way, one dodgy earth, or maybe a couple, and the vehicle will detect a problem, and go into "limp mode"

I know that the main earth on out Navara (to the inner guard), was not doing it's job, and I had to get a new battery. Fair enuf I thought !
Vehicle was 4 years old, after all. Did not fix the problem.
I spat it finally after 1 week of jumping it off the 2nd battery, with the new battery.

Just another earth battery, to rocker gasket bolt, and voila! all go again.

I was happy and a mate got a tractor battery for $50 (rats)

Just my 2 bob's worth

AnswerID: 332961

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 04:48

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 04:48
Another thing I would suggest is that when Nathan pumped the sub-tank, full of stale fuel,, into it the first time ( unknowingly )
And the grenade Schyte itself,,,,,,,Did someone not do up a wire tight enuf, or maybe not earthed out a strap somewhere ?

Just a thought

FollowupID: 600812

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 00:25

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 00:25
Hi Laura,
How's the trip to the "Super Mechanic" shaping up?

AnswerID: 333090