The Pin Has Been Pulled On The "<span class="highlight">Grenade</span>"

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 14:08
ThreadID: 65891 Views:4807 Replies:11 FollowUps:6
Well, this is the second ZD30td this car has had and im not keen on getting another.
Upon arrival to Melbourne from Bendigo I noticed white smoke from the exhaust, pulled over for a pit stop and upon re-start, constant smoking, called mechanic and he said lift the oil filler cap, so i did and smoky oil-splattered air was chugging out of the engine!! He advised me not to start it again and to organise a tow. So this leaves me with four choices.

OPTION 1- To replace the engine with another ZD30td and sell it cutting my losses at around $18000 (2in ome susp, ipf lights, r/r, s/steel b/bar, roof racks, dual batt, cargo barrier, CB, ect ect) including the $4-$5000 for the motor, fitted. And buy another car.

OPTION 2- TD42t Conversion costing around $13000, but so far are pretty hard to find motor under $8000.

OPTION 3- Chev 6.5lt V8 Diesel conversion, but with fuel consumption being an issue im afraid this will be the most expensive choice as far as short term and long term goes.

OPTION 3- To replace with ZD30td and keep on my trip around oz constantly thinking in the back of my mind what will go wrong or how long this one will last.

My budget is roughly $12000 any advice on any of these will be greatly appreciated, im lucky i have family in melbourne or we'd be up for accomodation too!

A very unhappy Mike

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 14:14

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 14:14
How many kms on the new motor??

Any chance of warranty for it??

AnswerID: 348593

Follow Up By: Mike GU - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 14:19

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 14:19
The one that just went had around 8000km 7300km of which i put on it, ill look into warrantys, just worried that an 07' zd30td would not be compatable with my 01 gu...?
FollowupID: 616784

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 21:28

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 21:28
Mike, is that a brand new or reco Motor?? Michael

FollowupID: 617038

Follow Up By: Mike GU - Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 16:29

Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 16:29
Really i would like to avoid another ZD30.unless im going to sell or trade in for a 4.2
FollowupID: 617125

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 15:14

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 15:14
Saw your add in the wanted section and gave your number to a mate. He will ring you and discuss options.
He has for sale 4.2td inter-cooled patrol engine complete with gearbox etc.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 348598

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 15:15

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 15:15
Sorry to hear about it.
If you really love the truck bite the bullet and put in a 4.2.
Maybe it would be cheaper to buy a 4.2 wreck to use as a donor vehicle. At least that way if something doesn't fit just take it off the other car.
Then sell all the left over bits on fleebay or the patrol forums and recoup some costs.
I doubt that you would pay anywhere near $12k for a wreck.
It wouldn't even have to be a wagon...maybe a ute?

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 348599

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 15:25

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 15:25
I don't think you'd find the 6.5 V8 as thirsty as you make out. However, you'd want to use high speed diffs so you are running less rpm at any given speed. Bearing in mind that my rig is raised 4" and has 35" tyres and weighs over 3500kg, I reckon I'm doing okay to be getting around 16 litres/100klm. If it was a normal GU wagon and weighed under 3000kg, I reckon it'd be down to around 14L/100klm.

Still it's a big $$$ outlay in the 1st place.

Sorry to read about your misfortune with the ZD30.

I suggest you get onto the www.patrol4x4.com.au forum too. Heaps of knowledgable blokes on there.
AnswerID: 348601

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 16:12

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 16:12
I heard Nissan Australia had TD4.2 motors for around $5000.00.
AnswerID: 348603

Reply By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 16:20

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 16:20
You left out one option- go park it permanently in Nissan Australia's Head Office :-)
AnswerID: 348605

Follow Up By: Angler - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 18:32

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 18:32
This is the option I would use. Even out the front of any Nissan dealer. Lock it up with signs on it and wait for action.

Pooley
FollowupID: 616820

Reply By: Malleerv - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 16:42

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 16:42
Have you thought about another make of motor. I have a 99 2.8ltr Patrol. Nothing wrong with the engine except the lack of power. After a long trip(7000km) towing a camper trailer, I started longing for more power. Mainly down low in the revs. This got me thinking, What options do I have. The vehicle is in excellent condition and suits our needs with 5 kids. I am hesitant to buy a Patrol with a 3ltr as we could only afford a 02-04 model.

I have for work a 03 Toyota Hilux with the 3TD not common rail. It goes well but when pushed just slightly it will use more fuel. Also the newer 4DID common rail 3ltr go very well and are good on fuel.

My Dad has a Ranger 3ltr common rail and that has heaps of torque and power and good on fuel.

Another is the 2.5ltr common rail out of a pathfinder. They have heaps of power and don't seem to give any trouble.

There are many options around. If the time comes and I do upgrade the engine I would probably use the gearbox that came from the vehicle the engine came from and changing the computer and wiring is not to hard. Have a look around at your options but don't limit yourself to what others have done or to just Nissan engines.
AnswerID: 348607

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 17:36

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 17:36
What about a 4.8 and put it on LPG.

Or for a real budget job a 4.5.

Disclaimer: LPG may be expensive and/or have limited availability in remote areas.

AnswerID: 348610

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 21:32

Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 21:32
I have to agree with general view of cutting your losses Mike and going for another car, transferring your acessories.

Really the fuel cost difference in going to a 4800/4500 as jim suggests ,even if not on gas , is small in terms of the cost of going 4.2 or any other option.

Go for it , it'll be cheaper in the long run , a lot quieter , and no issues with power.

FollowupID: 617167

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 17:53

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 17:53
sell it cutting my losses, honest mate that is the best option, thats the one I took and I've never looked back, that car is damned lemon that willnever change , its caused untold grief and its STILL going on,
incredible, no nothing to think about dump it big time get any but what youv'e got and NEVER buy another, join us mate , we're fast becoming an army,
regards and good luck to you,
AnswerID: 348613

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 10:13

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 10:13
I really feel for you in your situation. Stuffed 2 motors..... I would be very disappointed.

A mate of mine just picked up an 04 GU IV with the ZD30, despite my dire warnings. It is in mint condition with 60k on the clock and cost him $24k privately....a bargain in his mind. He reckons this era had had the problems rectified.............. I have since found several examples of this not being the case, but he doesn't want to listen. I wish him well with his purchase and keep my fingers crossed for him.

I think I have to agree with the "...cut your losses and get rid of it.." sentiment and buy something else.

Not that I want to start a Toy v Nis debate, but I bought the 105 series Toy because I know it would be reliable, but I do have to put up with it's lack of ooomph on the highway, particularly whilst towing. Those that have the 4.2 Nis would be in a similar situation and this is borne out by their very high purchase price now, even with loads of k's on the clock.

Whatever you decide, it would appear it's going to cost you dearly, however I would also suggest that a motor with 8000k after refit would have some sort of warranty, unless you got it second hand from a wrecker or something?

All the best.

AnswerID: 348700

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 12:15

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 12:15
Mark,
Please suggest to your mate that he visit the patrol4x4 website. There is a wealth of knowledge on there about the ZD30 and a number of preventative measures that blokes have taken to stop the "black box" from bringing on the premature demise of the motor.
It seems the computer gets "tricked" into ordering the variable vains on the turbo to up the ante with regard to boost levels due to faulty readings being provided by MAF sensor and various problems with the EGR valve etc etc.

The "fixed" vehicles have not suffered from any blow-ups as far as I'm aware.

These blokes install gauges for EGT and Boost. They install Dawes blow-off valaves, they block-off the EGR system, they fit an intercooler fan and they fit an oil catch can on the PCV system. I think these are the main areas they fix.... (but it would be nice if they didn't have to do these things)

FollowupID: 616940

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 21:51

Sunday, Feb 15, 2009 at 21:51
See my blog on the ZD30, costs about the same as the Chev 6.5 option and is more powerful & lighter without changing diffs.
Cheers, Good Luck, Colin.
AnswerID: 349287