<span class="highlight">Tarcoola</span>

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:58
ThreadID: 71072 Views:2624 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
Has anybody camped in or around Tarcoola or Kingoonya ?
I am looking for a spot to hole up for the night as we pass through.
Are there any spots in between ?

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:09

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:09
Hi Harry
Tarcoola is now virtually a ghost town now. We camped about twenty minutes drive further west, great little spot of the road and lots of wood for the camp fire.

AnswerID: 376756

Follow Up By: Harry - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:30

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:30
Thanks for that info Stephen,I'll put that in the notes "spot to camp"
FollowupID: 644159

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 23:09

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 23:09
Harry
If you use a GPS and are familiar with waypoints, here is the lat/long for the camp spot:-

S30 42' 24.7689" E134 25' 24.5640"

Will be on you left hand side heading west.

FollowupID: 644164

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 23:10

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 23:10
Harry, made a boo boo, below is now correct

If you use a GPS and are familiar with waypoints, here is the lat/long for the camp spot:-

S30 42' 24.7689" E134 25' 24.5640"

Will be on you right hand side heading west.

FollowupID: 644165

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 23:10

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 23:10
There is a wonderful new public dunny at Kingoonya but other than that it is pretty bleak as far as services and people go.

We have previously camped along the road the side of the road between Kingoonya and Tarcoola on our way to the top of Googs Track (great drive) and there are plenty of good bush spots with oodles of firewood between the road and the railway line. Pretty much just pull off anywhere along there.

Don't be surprised if it sounds like a train is rumbling through your tent though! It is a pretty busy line there.

Muddy
AnswerID: 376763

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 00:00

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 00:00
You remember that Muddy, has a good horn doesnt it hahaha

Pesty
FollowupID: 644171

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 08:52

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 08:52
Gday Muddie,

Hope its not that bleak! A group of us are booked in for lunch at Kingoonya pub in 2 weeks time! Also I gather you can buy fuel there now with a credit card and a PIN.

FollowupID: 644189

Follow Up By: Member - Steve M (SA) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:30

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:30
Hi Phil

I was there for a drink 2 weeks ago and the locals were very friendly. We were planning on "camping" at the hotel but in the end made a run for Glendambo (raining). On the way back to Adelaide after Head of Bight & Goog's.

Main reason for departing was because they had a power problem with the diesel pumps and so no fuel was available that day. They were going to fix the next day.

FollowupID: 644217

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:29

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:29
I remember the ol Kingoonya. Worked on Twins Stn Via Kingoonya in the late '50s before joining the army.

Ran a stick into my right bicep (how it happened is another story). Mirakata (Woomera Tracking Station) suggested to the boss that they put a couple of band-aids across it. Boss got on radio next morning and organised for me to catch the flying doctor down to Pt Augusta. Cessna something or other. Scared the living daylights out of me when the pilot changed fuel tanks in mid air. Left the station around midday and all stitched up with arm in a sling by 5pm. Caught the train (about 7pm) to Kingoonya arriving about 2am. Walked across to the pub and down the corridor twisting doorknobs until I found a vacant room. Up in the morning, had brekky and booked it all up to the boss. Walked over to the General Store and found a 'tourist' in a little camper (something like a VW Kombi but more like a Commer??) who was going through to Alice Springs. Bummed a lift with him back to the station. When he started, he was doing about 20mph on the corrugation. After turning it sideways a couple of times, I suggested he may want to try putting his foot down a bit so we ride over the top of the corrugations. Much smoother (if you could call it that) at the faster speed. Arrived back at the station around midday.

Quite an experience for a young 19 year old in 24 hours. ;-)

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 376813