Troopyman are you around?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 02:14
ThreadID: 72083 Views:3028 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
Anyone seen Troopyman lately??

Have a question or two about his Foxwing Awning.

Can't MM him as he's not a member :-((

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 07:08

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 07:08
John,

I had a really good look at it at the 4x4 show on Friday. Mate has just bought 2 of the Oztent RV5's so we were interested in the awning. A great unit. Rhino Rack were also plugging it at their stand. If it'd fit on the new ute (which is unlikely) I'd have one for sure.

AnswerID: 382226

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 08:29

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 08:29
Mick,
Don't buy a thing until you get the new vehicle! You are in the danger period where you might buy something thats great on a station wagon and useless on the traytop!

We don't bother with awnings - our lift up side doors provide the shade and shelter that we need 99% of the time. On the rare occasions we want an awning, we hang a 16foot x 8 foot tarp off the side - just hooks onto the top of my canopy and runs the length of the vehicle to the bullbar. Heaps of space.

phil
FollowupID: 649772

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 09:20

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 09:20
Thanks Phil,

believe me my hands are firmly in my pockets. Have to pay for the ute yet. I know that the awning will not fit on my planned configeration. Have a few concepts re canvasswork but only after I have the pods built.

Mick

FollowupID: 649775

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 11:47

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 11:47
Yeah thanks Mick.
I was at the show on Sunday and thought it was a very good show.

The Foxwing caught my eye also and after some research on here and elsewhere found out Troopyman has had one on his Troopy for a few months now.

He posted a photo Here back in May.
Just wanted to get some feedback from him after having owned one for a few months and particularly as its fitted to a Troopy.

FollowupID: 649781

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:49

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:49
John, I did a google search and it seems 'Troopyman' (same one??) is active on 4wd action forum, so perhaps try there. Cheers
AnswerID: 382320

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:55

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:55
Yeah thanks mate I did the same and saw that also.
I'm not a member of any other forum, was once a longtime ago but lost interest as most are so slow, also could not be bothered with all the crap associated with becoming signing up to be a member of other forums.

Was also worried that it may not be the same Troopyman.

FollowupID: 649863

Reply By: bazza bushman - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 23:42

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 23:42
troopys are very dangerous

they roll very easy

and you see people with tinny on roof racks make them any more

likely to roll

i roll one it was pretty bad
AnswerID: 382332

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 00:16

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 00:16
"troopys are very dangerous"

Yeah thanks mate, so is Powdered Milk and Cornflakes.

FollowupID: 649891

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:00

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:00
Stupid people are prone to doing stupid things.
FollowupID: 650043

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:40

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:40
unfortunately I'm familiar with the above poster from another forum (or two). He has a tendency to be a serial poster of off-topic semi-comprehensive drivel at times ... I would suggest you don't rise..
FollowupID: 650048

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 15:07

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 15:07
Silly Me
Caught
Should have known,
FollowupID: 650082

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:10

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:10
bazza, some gentle advice.
Serial off-topic posting of the style you use over in LPTT-Oz branch will not endear you to the regulars here. There's some fairly knowledgeable posters here. You'll probably find they wont be as tolerant as the crew over at Thorntree. Would suggest you try to research before you post.

AnswerID: 382493