Another <span class="highlight">grenade</span> explodes

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 21:30
ThreadID: 74281 Views:4172 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
The 2000 Patrol came to a halt the other day in a cloud of smoke,109,000 Klms.Thought I had fixed everything boost guage, pyrometer ,egr valve, catch can etc. had just checked temp 500 degrees thought ok to 650 deg. next minute rattle and smoke everywhere.
Nissan will not supply new short motor but possibly new pistons liners etc. so wait and see at the moment.

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 21:37

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 21:37
Were you towing Ronnie and what was the outside temp. Was the vehicle going up a gradient?

AnswerID: 394289

Follow Up By: ronnie - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 22:23

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 22:23
No not towing,yes up a gradient usually hold the speed limit on this hill 110kph in Tassie so not hot 17 or 18 deg
FollowupID: 662518

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 21:57

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 21:57
ronnie

I really feel for you. Been there, done that with a 2005 GUIV. Blimey! 650 degrees. I thought 550 was pushing it. I always changed down a gear (auto - take out of O/D) to bring the revs up and eased off until back under 500.

Nissan said no to rebuilding mine but I kept pushing them. In the end they repaid me for the 3rd party engine rebuild kit. I rebuilt the motor myself. The engine has to be removed from the vehicle. If you need any further advice just PM me.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 394292

Follow Up By: ronnie - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 22:33

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 22:33
Thanks Malcolm got the 650deg from some research usually sits around 500 550 on hills.I will keep at Nissan if they won't come to the party it looks like I'll have to settle for 6.5 Chev.Will contact you if I require any advice
FollowupID: 662521

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 00:06

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 00:06
Is your EGT probe before or after the turbo? There is around a 150 degree drop in temp thru the turbo and this why some quote 500 or 650 as "safe" limits.

FollowupID: 662542

Follow Up By: ronnie - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:32

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:32
Hi Captain the probe is just behind the turbo,sounds like that I have been getting incorrect reading.
FollowupID: 662554

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:50

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:50
Ronnie

This is where I mounted mine.

I also had to blast a hole through the heat shield.

This is NOT an example of where to mount the sender unit.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 662562

Follow Up By: ronnie - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 18:29

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 18:29
Malcolm mate mig welded mine roughly in the same place,just offset of the bolt.It's a good exercise getting the hole in the shield in the right place also getting shield out and back in.
Cheers Ronnie
FollowupID: 662660

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:00

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:00
Hey Ronnie

I became an expert at taking that thing off and putting it back on. ;-)

Here's the instructions:

1. Crack a XXXX

2. Look at problem

3. Repeat step 1

4. Pickup Heat Shield

5. Repeat Step 1

etc ....

Step 25. Heat Shield is now mallable and can fit any position or angle. Insert first bolt.

26. Go to bed.

27. Next morning things seem to have aligned themself. Insert remaining bolts.

Instructions are NOT repeatable all the time.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 662683

Follow Up By: ronnie - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:15

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:15
Malcolm
Mate I did exactly the same,stubby or two does wonders.
cheers Ronnie
FollowupID: 662690

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 00:02

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 00:02
Darn (to paraphrase in a printable manner) - sorry to hear that Ronnie. What was the boost showing, and what did it normal travel on?

AnswerID: 394314

Follow Up By: ronnie - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:35

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:35
Have adjusted boost to spike at 14psi,normally around 10.
FollowupID: 662555

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 08:44

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 08:44
My condolences.

Had to do an engine rebuild on the pajero last year too, when I thought every was going well.

Hope you won't cost you the full amount of the rebuild.
AnswerID: 394334

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 10:38

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 10:38
G'day Ronnie, sorry to read of your dramas.

I am wondering whether you had done any other alterations to the engine....EG: had you blocked off the EGR valve and had you fitted an oil catch can on the PCV valve? These are 2 other things that have often been mentioned on the Patrol4x4.com.au forum.

There is a wealth of knowledge on that forum (if you can get past all the petty back-biting that certain 3 litre owners go on with....they refuse to believe that thier beloved 3 litre motor is anymore prone to hassles than other motors).

As for your idea of converting to a Chev 6.5 V8 diesel....... as the owner of one of these rigs, may I just say this..... Whilst I am very happy with my rig, it is certainly not the be-all and end-all of the options you have available to you. I could never have justified (to either myself or my wife) the cost of converting my 2000 4.2TD GU (which was and still is running perfectly well), over to a 6.5 V8. But, like the big kid that I am, I always wanted one ever since I heard one rumble past me several years ago. So, when one came up on ebay (of all places!!!), for an effective changeover price of $15K AND it had been converted to a dual cab; well I couldn't resist.

However, if I was in your predicament, I would seriously be considering following the path that has been blazed by Member Colin and his "Project TONI"..... as in TOyota and NIssan combined. There is a good write-up on this forum (search is your friend). He fitted a Toyota 1HD-FTE (I think that's the code) 4.2TDi engine into his blown 3 litre Patrol and he couldn't be happier. I reckon he'd have more power than my 6.5 (which is naturally aspirated) and probably just about the same amount of torque. BUT, his fuel economy is probably quite a lot better than mine (I use about 17L/100) and parts would be easier to get.

Good luck...... I wouldn't waste too much time chasing Nissan for the blown engine; they are a total waste of space!!!

AnswerID: 394350

Follow Up By: ronnie - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 12:06

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 12:06
Hi Roachie
Yes EGR Valve blocked and catch can fitted, yes 6.5 v8 conversion very expensive about $27,000. I'm a bit like you in regard to the v8 rumble as I have 2 others, Torana S/LR500 and Holden 308 in FJ 45 cruiser, brother inlaw has the 6.5 Chev in 100 series cruiser.
Might have to have a look at project Toni also as the vehicle itself is as new only 109,000 klms and I have everthing imaginable fitted for touring which was its main use,.
At the moment I will wait and see if Nissan comes to the party,the next submission is for them to supply the parts pistons sleeves etc.
I am very lucky that it happened in my home State 30 klms from home and not somewhere up north towing the van.
Probably start something here but I would not buy a new TDI of any make as I believe they all have their problems at the moment, regarding emission laws.
Why don't they keep it simple,dealer had it for 4 days trying to find why it had no power,1000 klms later bang.
Regards Ronnie
FollowupID: 662591

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:28

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:28
Hi Bill, you took of quietly from StGeorge.

Ronnie, If you want any help understanding my conversion I will be only too pleased to help.

The sound is just like a chandelier tinkling isn't it, sickening feeling, that I went through 18 mths ago now.

Email: rencol(at)bigpond.net.au for any help mate.
Cheers Colin.

PS my blog "Project TONI" explains what I did in detail.
FollowupID: 662675

Follow Up By: ronnie - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:47

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:47
Thanks Colin I will take you up on the offer if I can not work anything out with Nissan,have to see local service manager tomorrow regarding Nissan supplying a rebuild kit and go from there. When you first approach them they make out they do not know of it happening,when I went back after working out what was wrong and telling him, he could tell me what caused it and which piston and what they do to fix the problem.Will keep you posted.
Regards Ronnie
FollowupID: 662677

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:02

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:02
Cheers Ronnie, good luck mate.

FollowupID: 662684

Follow Up By: whitiepatrol4x4 - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:24

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:24
Now now Roachie, you know we only bite when continually baited by certain members.. :)
FollowupID: 662693

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 22:07

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 22:07
Quote: "Now now Roachie, you know we only bite when continually baited by certain members.. :)"

hahahahaha....you're spot on Whitie..... hahahaha
FollowupID: 662705

Reply By: PatrolBen - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 12:43

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 12:43
You said a max of 14psi and towing, you melted it pure and simple in my opinion.

When these mods are done the limits are held to around 16-18psi and 550C.

As far as I was aware the accepted design EGT for these engines is 600C post turbo.

As for Nissan supplying a new motor, youve got to be kidding, 9 years old and heavily modded......
AnswerID: 394365

Reply By: ronnie - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 18:18

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 18:18
Looks like Nissan coming to the party and supply rebuild kit ,have to see local dealer service manager tomorrow to see where I go from here.
Cheers Ronnie
AnswerID: 394410

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:08

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:08
ronnie

Make sure you refer them to this post on the forum.

Amazing what reaction you will get when they know the whole world is listening.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 662688

Follow Up By: whitiepatrol4x4 - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:29

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:29
Well done Ronnie, that is a pretty good result under the circumstances, let us know how it plays out for you.

Whitie
FollowupID: 662695

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 18:38

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 18:38
I was reliably told that the difference between after and before turbo temps is about 200deg.

Never run mine over 500deg and the sensor is in the side of the dump pipe

about 4 ins below turbo in a 100ser

As long as you didnt alter the lead from the sensor to the gauge it should read correctly.

If you did it could alter it dramatically.
AnswerID: 394413