<span class="highlight">Hiclone</span> Performance

Submitted: Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 11:59
ThreadID: 74329 Views:5466 Replies:18 FollowUps:15
I have a 2007 Falcon 6 cyl Ute which I tow a caravan of approx 2000kg's, while the vehicle has sufficient power I am looking for something to improve the fuel economy, Would any of you caravanners out there have any suggestions for me please. Also has any one had any experience with a Hiclone and how did it perform?
Puttingdave

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 12:18

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 12:18
Do a site search on Hiclone or Fitch and save your money.

AnswerID: 394603

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 12:32

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 12:32
Hi there. I am not going to comment on the Hiclone. Except to say that many others on this site have been less than enthusiastic.
In general, I really cannot over-emphasise the difference speed has made to our fuel economy. We have a Prado towing a 1.5 tonne caravan. Headwinds are, of course, a disaster!! But the saving in fuel from cutting back from around 90 to about 85 or 80 is major. And, on those occasions where I plant the foot, to make up time, the effect of 100 compared to 85 is huge (like an extra 3+ litres per 100km).
We have a low profile Pop Top, and I suspect the effect of speed is even greater with a full height caravan.
Incidentally, for us, the consumption in hilly country isn't too bad, and we just change down and keep the revs up, and the consumption does not seem to fall off much. But that will vary between vehicles, I imagine.
AnswerID: 394606

Follow Up By: Puttingdave00 - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:56

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:56
Thanks Chris and all the other people who contributed, there is a lot of doubt about the Hiclone and it's performance , so I will probably look at an improved exhaust system. As my wife is disabled the Falcon is about the only vehicle she can get into (all 4 x 4's are to high for her) so I have very few options with tow vehicles.
Thanks and Best Wishes
Puttingdave
FollowupID: 663344

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 13:36

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 13:36
Forget the Hiclone.
Go and get the Falcon chipped.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 394612

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 13:40

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 13:40
Yep I would support the comments made above by Chris 100%. The difference in fuel used per 100 Ks towing our van with a loaded weight of about 1800 Kg at 80 to 85 KMH compared to 95 to 100 KMH equates to a saving of about 3 Litres per Ks.

Increase in travel time between destinations is insignificant & you enjoy the trip more. We keep an eye out the back and allow every opportunity for faster moving traffic to get past us and it is rare when opportunities don't present themselves to give this courtesy to other road users,particularly trucks.
AnswerID: 394613

Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 13:46

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 13:46
Forget the hiclone, but extactors and a high flow exhaust works a treat on falcons. If you do not use the extra power you will get better economy.
AnswerID: 394616

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 13:49

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 13:49
My old landcruiser 3F engine had a hiclown in it when I bought it.
I tested it for 3 months with and 3 months without and it showed no difference in fuel consumption.

These and many other fuel saver gadgets have been well and truly debunked by many experts.

Mercedes spent a hundred million to get one of their engines to increase its efficiency by 1% and Hiclown claims they can get 10-15% for $100 LOL

Its about time the govt forced these companies to live up to their claims or shut them down
AnswerID: 394617

Follow Up By: racinrob - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:32

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:32
Couldn't agree more with your comments ross. I keep a log of fuel/kilometres, I fitted a Hiclown (sic) made absolutely no difference.

Rob
FollowupID: 662963

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:04

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:04
I have the Hiclone running on my Holden Ute with the Peter Brock Energy Polarizer and she goes really hard mate, really hard..!
AnswerID: 394623

Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 16:42

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 16:42
I bet your ute is red as well... lol
FollowupID: 662979

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 16:56

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 16:56
"I have the Hiclone running on my Holden Ute with the Peter Brock Energy Polarizer"

You shouldn't do that - if you don't syphon fuel out of the tank regularly it will overflow - and that's a fire hazard !.
FollowupID: 662980

Reply By: Secret Mens Business - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:10

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:10
whiteman: Ausfish Gold Member

Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts Re: Hiclone # Do #They # work????

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My mate sells Hiclones and he refused to put one on my Tribby as it would end our friendship. Read what you like into this.
AnswerID: 394624

Reply By: ozjohn0 - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:19

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:19
They sound just like another "Snake Oil" remedy.
With the worlds vehicle manufactures spending multi millions of dollars each year looking to reduce consumption and increase power. Why would they bother if they could just buy a little gizzmo off the shelf.
Don't buy one and you'll save money, slow down and you'll save some more.
ozjohn
AnswerID: 394625

Reply By: DarcyNavara - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:24

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 14:24
I have tested the Hiclone on the dyno and made absolutely no difference,
I can justify their theories with the vortex effect, but it will only work in a straight portion of tube. Once it enters the manifold or plenum, the air flow is quickly broken and split, and then only rely's on the vacuum produced from the engine itself. (with that its totally up to the design of the port shape and venturie speed that does the work) not some product in the intake tube.......

I have also tried the Fitch........................um,!
I had tried the unit for 4mths....as Mr Bill, wanted me to become an agent. So I wanted to test the product, before taking this on.
I Didn't get any benifit from the unit,no improvement in fuel economy or power, it did actually reduce smoke, and they tell you it reduces emissions...
My theory to that is: it seems to restrict the fuel flow, especially on diesels, thats why there is less smoke.
The other testimonials all come from the Qld, where uses did notice gains..
But the same old story, If fuel quality is below par your not going to get good performance or economy.
So if you buy good fuel, you will always get benifits, you buy crap you will pay the price.

Regards Reedy
AnswerID: 394627

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 15:32

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 15:32
Try this one.

Bundy HiclownNew to the Australian market - the Bundy HiClown!

Guaranteed* to give you:

~ 40% - 90% power increase
~ 15% - 28% displacement increase
~ 7.5% - 31% less fuel consumption
~ will find your lost remote controls and car keys
~ walks your dog when you're too exhausted
~ friendly, child-safe design
~ bus stop conversation start with hot chicks (or blokes, if that's your thing)
~ doubles as a romantic candle lit dinner holder
~ comes in a range of sizes

Buy now! Only $187.24 a set - or three monthly payments of only $99.95

Add $72.34 for postage/handing/insurance (sharp edges, puts the insurance price up).

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

* Depending on your application (vehicle type, NA/turbo induction, number of wheels, your mental condition and level of guillability) results may vary.
When placing an ordering, please specify where your rego papers and spare keys are stored - our development pool is running low.
By placing an order you indemnify us from responsibility for any or all of the following: paper cuts, public transport inconvenience, irrational fear of beards, unexpected results and/or damages to your vehicle.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 394633

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 15:40

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 15:40
I hope ya patented that before putting it out into the 'Public Domain'.......

Now you've let the cat outa the bag, every-one's gunna want one........

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 662971

Reply By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:04

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:04
So if the Hicolne doesnt give you better fuel economy or anything what does it actually do and why do people buy them?
AnswerID: 394649

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:09

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:09
It's called marketing and a sucker born every day......
FollowupID: 662989

Follow Up By: Time - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:13

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:13
Why do Nigerian email/letter scams work? Anyone want to join in the bail out of Firepower!!

This site is worth a read.

FollowupID: 662991

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:23

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:23
You should get a benefit from a Hiclone as it will lighten your wallet thereby

giving better consumption

An alternative would be to get some Firepower pills Will save you pulling the car to bits.

Will give the same result.

FollowupID: 662995

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:23

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:23
And no one will ever really admit to being a sucker, Take apart the air intake pre filter on most vehicles and you will find a fan shaped object similar to a hyclone ,NOTE PRE FILTER , post air filter does absolutly nothing.
FollowupID: 662996

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:18

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:18
How would a PRE air filter fan object be any more beneficial then POST air filter? I thought the reason behind this type of object was to get the air to swirl in the combustion chamber, the filter would disable this effect i would think.

Its like everything i suppose these days, Electric Rust Protection, Fuel Additives, Engine Flush's, Shu Roos, they all claim to have results but there is alot of debate to just exactly how much if any is achieved. Unlike things like computer chips compared to standard and spotlights compared to headlights, the benefit is not noticeable and sometimes its all in the head.
FollowupID: 663013

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:01

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:01
Alloy

'And no one will ever really admit to being a sucker, Take apart the air intake pre filter on most vehicles and you will find a fan shaped object similar to a hyclone ,NOTE PRE FILTER , post air filter does absolutly nothing.'

The thing inside the filter is to disperse dust particles to the outside where it is trapped.
FollowupID: 663026

Reply By: Paul G K (vic) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:51

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:51
Maybe look at a good injected LPG system will make towing a lot cheeper.
With the rebate can be fitted fairly at a good price
Regards Paul
AnswerID: 394655

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:35

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:35
Paul,

Your contribution is without any shadow of doubt the most sensible and constructive reply.

FollowupID: 663016

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 19:14

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 19:14
Hi Are you sure the falcon ute can legally tow 2000 kgs.
My 2006 BF one tonner is only good for 1600 kgs according to the towbar manufactures. As to the Hiclone I tried one in an older ford ute and did'nt notice much ,if any difference

Cheeers Teza
AnswerID: 394660

Follow Up By: Mark Howlett - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 13:38

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 13:38
I think the basic Falcon tow pack can tow 1600kgs and you can option them up with a better towbar and HD suspension to tow 2300kgs.

Mark.
FollowupID: 663102

Reply By: Fatso - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 19:18

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 19:18
I wouldn't worry too much about your fuel economy Dave.
The way I see it. There are 2 reasons to make your vehicle more fuel efficiant.
ONE IS TO SAVE MONEY
If you can get an improvement of 2 L/100 it is only going to save you $40 on a trip between Brisbane & Cairns. Spread over a 3 week trip that is less about $2/day. Thats not much. You will save much more by shopping wisely for your beer. A much more important purchase than fuel.
THE SECOND ONE IS BRAGGING RIGHTS
This is the one that realy counts.
All you gotta do is wait until everyone else in the van park has been stupid enough to lay their cards on the table & bull bleep to them that you are getting way better fuel economy. Works every time mate.
Everyone is doing it but where you will succeed is that not many people are towing with Falcons, so it is hard for 4x4 drivers to dispute.
You are sitting on a virtual GOLD MINE there mate.
You will be the envy of everyone. A true legend.
King of the park.
Just don't brag too much around Falcon drivers & you will be right.
AnswerID: 394662

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:27

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:27
ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 663032

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:25

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:25
Best way to get better fuel consumption is to keep the weight down and keep your foot off a bit..

AnswerID: 394667

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:04

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:04
The good thing about this thread is,that after many years and many posts,there is no one actually arguing for thse fuel saver gadgets.
Maybe the word is finally getting out or maybe the world has run out of suckers,probably the former
AnswerID: 394675

Reply By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:12

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:12
Every 6 months [read 2 years] I wash one of my vehicles. It always seems to drive much better after that!
AnswerID: 394679

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:00

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:00
If you come and wash mine I will tell you if it's going better or not.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 663045