<span class="highlight">Prodigy</span> 2 brake controller.. not working?

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:20
ThreadID: 83546 Views:4066 Replies:4 FollowUps:18
After a bit of a saga I am finally down to put in the wiring for the camper trailer then adjusting the brakes and hey presto the jobs compete.

But ,,,,, there is always a but.

The first thing I did was put the controller back in its cradle and plug in the wiring then turned on the ignition.

Nothing lit up, I'm sure I had a couple of green indicators light up even if the trailer was not connected.

Any thoughts on what I may have done wrong?

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:26

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:26
G'day Boo Boo. Mate, mine is hooked up directly to the battery via a relay. Doesn't go via the ignition switch.

Automatically activates as soon as I activate the brake pedal, and turns itself off after a few minutes if the brakes are not used, such as parking the vehicle.

Good luck mate.

Fred
AnswerID: 441248

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:34

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:34
G'day Fred and a Happy New Year too you.

I can't tell how it's connected, but it was done by an auto electrician many years ago.

It work worked up until a few months ago and only took it out until I got the mess fixed up,, and put it back in about an hour ago,,, the day was going so well up until then. LOL
FollowupID: 713224

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:52

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:52
Should have said auto-reset fuse instead of relay mate.

Have a look for a fuse in the black cable??

Black = Positive/battery

Red = Cold side of brake sw (mine is off the stop light cable)

White = Earth or Neg side of bttery

Blue = Brakes via trailer plug

FollowupID: 713226

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:57

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:57
Perhaps you could trace the wires.

They should be Black goes to battery via a fuse or circuit breaker
White is earth
Red is from the brake light circuit
Blue goes to pin 5 on a trailer plug preferably not via a towing loom.

When in idle mode should have two little lights for about 10 mins.

They are not normally run through an ignition circuit.

Best of luck.

AnswerID: 441252

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:59

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:59
Should have said that if the fault is in the trailer it normally shows NC on the display.

The manual says no lights = no power or no earth to unit

FollowupID: 713230

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:11

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:11
Have ya put size 11's on the brake pedal to activate the controller ??? :-))

(just a thought mate)

Fred
FollowupID: 713234

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:23

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:23
Graham

The wiring on the troopy is like a bunch of twisted string just behind the controller.

I might try and check the power side of the wiring from the battery back.

Then the earth.

FollowupID: 713237

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 16:58

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 16:58
OK

I checked the +ve, it goes to a circuit braker, then to 2nd battery. Looked OK.

Next I took the -ve cables off the 2nd battery, and even though they looked clean I touched them up with a bit of emery paper, and hey presto I now have two red dots on the controller.

I checked the # 5 pin and found it had power even though I did not have the brake on.

This does not seem right. I though power would only come on if I depressed the brake pedal.

Have I got another problem?

FollowupID: 713261

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:26

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:26
Boo Boo, looks like ya got it mate. When you push on the brake pedal, you should get power for about 15 mins to the controller, and then it goes to power saver mode, unless you are driving, and constantly using the brakes, in which case it will remain constantly powered up.

When you're on a long straight run, and not using brakes very often, it is quite normal for the lights to go out, but the instant you touch the brakes, or manual lever on the controller, the electric brakes will work and your red dots will be back.

Cheers mate, Fred.
FollowupID: 713270

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:37

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:37
Sorry mate, to further answer you Q re #5 pin, my understanding is that pedal pressure activating the pendulum in the controller varies the amount of current that flows to the brakes magnets, from light to heavy braking. Graham may have a thought on this.

If the readout is showing . . without triler connected, then thats normal.

With trailer connected it should show .c

Fred
FollowupID: 713273

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:51

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:51
Have just gone and tried mine Turned ign on got two lights Metered pin 5 and pin 3 earth and no voltage.

Looking at the socket on the rear of the car pin 5 is at 7 oclock and pin 3 is at

4 oclock

And yes thats how they work Is called proportionate braking

The harder you stop the more voltage and more braking at trailer.

You can make trailer come on first by activating the boost function to 1 and that starts braking off at 13% instead of zero

When hooked up it should show C and if boost is on will show .C. as in the little dots are also on.
If you have a fault in trailer it should show NC

When you turn it on it should show NC for 15 secs then go back to two dots.

Can scan you a copy of installation and manual if u like.

FollowupID: 713278

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 18:10

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 18:10
Yeah, I just checked mine as well, and pin 5 only powers up with brakes applied. ???????
FollowupID: 713283

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 18:19

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 18:19
OK

I still have a problem if I am getting power at pin 5 on a 7 in flat plug and the brake pedal is not depressed.

I am starting to think that the wrong wire is in number 5 on the vehicle 7 pin plug

Graham a installation manual would be great. Someone on this site did give me the codes etc, but I think I left it in my shed at Quirindi.

I will MM you my email address.

Thanks for the help fellas, very much qppreciated.
FollowupID: 713288

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 18:39

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 18:39
Try this put your meter across the pin at 2 oclock and the one at 10 oclock and see if you have power If not you may have the socket upside down It should be wired like this

The controller is easy Black to battery,

white to earth,

red to brake lights

Blue to pin 5 on socket which is at 7 0clock as you look at rear of car.

The bit that holds the pins has a bump on edge which should be at bottom of housing Otherwiswe pin 5 will be at 2 oclock and wont work.

It would then put pin 2 at 7oclock and would have power as thats the Aux feed

Make sense Hope so

FollowupID: 713292

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 19:30

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 19:30
Graham

Mine is a 7pin flat plug, but I can see what you are getting at.

I have a feeling that the trailer place have used the #2 pin instead of the number 5.

I'll have a look in the morning and change the wires and let you know the results.

FollowupID: 713300

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 19:36

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 19:36
The wiring is the same and if you look on the inside of the socket they are marked.

My spare flat one is in the van and its too wet to go over there tonight
FollowupID: 713302

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 21:28

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 21:28
Errr Graham

What do you mean too wet,,, I'm watering the lawn at the moment.

Its reasonable dry here in Scone at the moment.

FollowupID: 713315

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 21:30

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 21:30
It has been raining for about 3 days with few breaks here near Bribie. Expcted to last at least till next weekend.

FollowupID: 713316

Follow Up By: bjgard - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 22:41

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 22:41
Go to http://www.tekonsha.com/content/default.aspx and down load the instructions.

Barry G
FollowupID: 713332

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 04:58

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 04:58
Boo Boo
Sorry to hear that you are driven nuts, by your electric brakes. It happened to me too.

Just keep in mind that all I want to do is just feel the trailer, and not have the trailer stop the Patrol.
ie.... the trailer takes care of itself, and the braking distance of the Patrol does not increase

One thing I did was to replace the feed wires, I used a minimum of 50 amp multicore wire, from the rear of the controller, to the plug at the rear of my vehicle.
I want virtually no voltage drop.
Also from the plug to the brakes themselves I am sure that I used 30 amp multicore, again for the same reason, (no voltage drop).

Just trying to eliminate any problems

A heavy earth wire, was taken back to the same battery that powers the Prodigy.

Think I got it right !

And guess what after all that ?

Still weak as, !

As I have said in previous posts, eventually, with some education, and reading, everything worked well in the Navara.

Same Autolec used, when I swapped vehicles.
Same camper trailer, just 2 months later.

I took it back to the Autolec, and we even jacked up a wheel, I threw the lever and he could still turn the wheel..
That never happened with the Navara, and if anything I had to back everything off to a minimum, or else she would all lock up.

You go figure

The only thing left to do is replace or get original brake drums and magnets, or just go back to the Voyager

Hope you do not go thru the same frustrating things I have.

AnswerID: 441317

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:45

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:45
Well I think I have fixed the problem.

It was quite simple really. I cut the blue wire and connected a temporary wire and ran it back to the 7 pin plug.

Pressed the brake pedal and power came on at pin 5. Release the brake pedal and power went off.

I still don't know where the live wire that was in the 5 pin came from, so I'll tape it over for the time being and try and trace it when I have time.

I also cannot find where the blue wire has gone.

It will have to remain one of lifes little mysteries until I have some time to track the wires.

Thanks again for your help gentlemen your input actually triggered the idea of another wire.

AnswerID: 441397

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:08

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:08
What colour was the wire in pin 5 if Black should be in pin2 and is the Aux <aybe a rumpty sparky who joined it somewhere or its run through a towing loom with wrong colours.
FollowupID: 713427