Hilux Seats

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 02, 2011 at 18:05
ThreadID: 84727 Views:7936 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
Hi, I have a 2003 2.7L dual cab Toyota Hilux which has 2 bucket seats in the front. Is it possible to remove the passengers seat / center console & possibly drivers seat & install a bench seat??. We are already five in the family & with the addition of another child soon I need to convert this ute into a 6 seater. Any info or assistance will be appreciated. I would prefer to keep the drivers bucket & install a 3/4 seat usually found in other Toyota utes. I'm from Perth

Reply By: Gobumpy - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2011 at 20:34

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2011 at 20:34
Hey mate

Try a place called VANQUIP I thinks its welshpool area from memory you can see the rear of the building from leach hwy they used to deal in seating for buses vans and modified vehicles give em a call may be able to help

Scott
AnswerID: 447138

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2011 at 21:01

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2011 at 21:01
I'd expect you could source a bench seat/seat belts from a base model single cab but doubt the appropiate nuts would be in the right places to mount it & then you would have issues getting it engineered, registered & insured as a 6 seater.
Good luck with your project.
Cheers Craig.................
AnswerID: 447144

Reply By: Ronald M - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 20:05

Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 20:05
Gday. we have a 98 hilux that has a bench (1 3/4) seat from a single cab (ex wreckers) that was installed by Wiltshire Motor Trimmers in Adelaide. this was in 2005. Now I am looking to upgrade to a newer model and have to do it again. unfortunatly the newer single cab seats are not as comfortable as the older ones. the middle seat has shrunk - must have a very small backside to use it. there is the issue of the hand brake. my current ute has an under dash hand brake that has now moved.

it is possible - talk to a motor trimmer who may be able to fit a seat from a single cab or build one from the bucket seat.

good luck. the finished product is well worth the effort.

R.
AnswerID: 447412

Reply By: Snoopyone - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 21:29

Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 21:29
Be aware that in some states it is illegal to put a childs car seat in the front seat of a ute.

That is assuming you were going to.

AnswerID: 447417