Diesel fuel in the <span class="highlight">radiator</span>

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 22:37
ThreadID: 85328 Views:2867 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
Hi all. My friend tells me he has diesel fuel in the radiator. I am not mechanically minded & whilst he will probably consult a mechanic can anyone suggest a diagnosis & prognosis to his problem? His vehicle is a 2003 T/D Jackaroo. Thanks for any info.

Reply By: Member - daz (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:00

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:00
What day of What month is it on Friday ???????
AnswerID: 449775

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:28

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 23:28
Bit early for a leg pull I would have thought Daz ;O)))

Cheers - Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

FollowupID: 722188

Reply By: Member - GRANDPA MAC S.A - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 00:17

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 00:17
head gasket
AnswerID: 449789

Follow Up By: Member - GRANDPA MAC S.A - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 15:55

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 15:55
yes i agree it is probably oil and still stand by blown head gasket
FollowupID: 722246

Reply By: skmaint (WA) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:13

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:13
Have been a heavy duty fitter for 24 years and never heard of this one.
Even if the head gasket was gone or cracked head the cylinder will still fire and burn the fuel, if it is that bad that the fuel is going straight into the water jacket the motor would be running like a bucket of s*#t.

Simon.
AnswerID: 449795

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:46

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:46
reckon hes just got it a bit wrong and has oil in the radiator - which is very bad

from memory i think the jacks run a very light oil so could look like diesal
AnswerID: 449798

Follow Up By: skmaint (WA) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 11:33

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 11:33
Yes I agree, would say it is oil and he has a headgasket gone or a cracked head.

Simon.
FollowupID: 722229

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 08:27

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 08:27
G'day oj, it is the beginning of a blown headgasket (or cracked head), fill the radiator to the very top & with the engine running watch for bubbles in the coolant - that will confirm it for you
hoo roo
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 449813

Reply By: ob - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 16:09

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 16:09
Might want to check if he has water in the engine oil as well

ob
AnswerID: 449859

Reply By: OREJAP - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 18:12

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 18:12
Hi everyone & thanks for the replies. Diesel mechanic has just informed my friend that it appears a cracked head encroaching on the fuel gallery. Holden dealer has quoted $5000 for head and between $1500 & $2000 to fix!!! Thanks again. Monty
AnswerID: 449884

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 19:17

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 19:17
I would be looking at a second hand head , or exchange from a head re builder.

FollowupID: 722274

Reply By: Ruffy-Dan - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 21:09

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 21:09
I had only read the first sentence and knew it was a Jackaroo...
They are extremely common for cracking cylinder heads. There is a fuel rail built into the cylinder head, it gets stress crack and high pressure fuel is forced into the cooling system galleries in the head.
Unfortunately you friend has not many options. Repairs are sometimes possible but not usually warranted.
There are aftermarket head castings available that may be cheaper than genuine.

DAN
AnswerID: 449911

Reply By: Pouchey - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 21:18

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 21:18
His vehicle is a 2003 T/D Jackaroo.
There lies the problem
AnswerID: 449912

Reply By: jeffl - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 10:15

Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 10:15
Hi, I haven't had any first hand experience with this problem, but I have read a bit about it. Your friend will probably have coolant in his diesel as well.
These engines have a sleeve around the injectors which are sealed against the head with orings. If these orings leak this is the problem that can occur. Apparently Holden did a recall over this issue on this engine. It might be worth checking this before your mate shells out for a new head.

Jeff
AnswerID: 449952

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 11:55

Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 11:55
Thanks again everyone for your opinions & advice much appreciated. He will be looking at the seals around the injectors before the head gasket or cracked head situation.
FollowupID: 722378