Howling <span class="highlight">dogs</span> in the night !

Submitted: Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 11:03
ThreadID: 86444 Views:3168 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
G'day all

I though it might be of interest ~ at approximately 04:05 this morning the town of Newman a moving exerience ~ an Earth tremor in fact.

I could feel the ground ripple as the "event" moved its way through the earth, it was an eerie moment in time, all the neighbourhood dogs went beserk, howling and barking at the night.

The tremor sounded (to me) like a road train passing by ~ hauling ten trailers !!

Safe travels :

Reply By: snoopyone - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 11:11

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 11:11
Well if you believe certain people the world is due to end today starting with massive earthquakes.

Maybe you have had an early warning LOL
AnswerID: 455028

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 12:16

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 12:16
The world is coming to an end, For Sure, The news from Newman W A sound like Australia will be first in line. Thanks for the early warning. I have decided to pack everything up and move. Being on the road will be the only way to outrun this thing. I am heading to Chinchilla in Qld. They have had their fare share of devastation and I think it would be the safest place around at the moment.

FollowupID: 727940

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 12:20

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 12:20
Turkey is vieing to be the first also as they had a 5.9 this morning as well
FollowupID: 727942

Follow Up By: PradOz - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 20:33

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 20:33
no i heard QATAR has paid bribes to be the first and only to have the world ending
FollowupID: 728008

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 17:52

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 17:52
Dog have proved themselves for early warning of volcanic activity so earthquakes would be much the same.

Newman Earthquake

AnswerID: 455049

Reply By: Bigfish - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 18:29

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 18:29
According to the religious freaks the world ended today.
I am speaking from the other side!!
Hope you have a good time!

ps...the other side is very similar to yesterday!!!!!
AnswerID: 455051

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 19:19

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 19:19
lol, and they obviously have internet there too
FollowupID: 727989

Reply By: nicholas h - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 20:06

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 20:06
Were they blasting at the mine at all?
AnswerID: 455063

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 00:20

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 00:20
G'day Nicholas.

The thought did cross my mind at the time, but not even BHP would pull a dumb move like that ~ at that hour, not yet anyway !!!!

Please don't give them any ideas ~ OK.

It was a 4.3 Richter scale event and it was a genuine eerie moment in time to hear and feel the earth ripple from around 16000 metres deep.

The end of the World scenario is happening every day ~ to someone some where !!

Safe travels:
FollowupID: 728028

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:32

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:32
Wow that would have been a crazy feeling i remember Newman i worked on a iron ore upgrade there with Macmahon as a concreter have spent 10 years up north in between working back here in the city of perth .How long you at Newman for i hope you have gone to Karijini National park what a beautiful place that is .Do they still have the motorcross track there i remember riding my dirtbike there after work or on my rdos.Anyway take care mate good experience you just had with the earthquake at least we are still here.
FollowupID: 728067

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 14:36

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 14:36
G'day Nicholas

I also spent around three years with Macca's on the north wall push back ~ from 2003 to 2006 ~ but I live and have lived in Newman since 1989.

The moto~cross track/culb is quite strong membership wise, I have the pleasure of their event noise every time the arc up.

Karijini is definately a top place to wander around in and seeing its only a couple of hours away from Newman, it's all too easy ~ but at the risk of being moderated ~ Karijini N/P actually pales in scenic grandure to the less "flogged" inland Pilbara, but I am very biased in this view, only because I am a remote region tour operator.
I trust your memories of Newman go beyond working?

Safe travels:
FollowupID: 728260

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 18:48

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 18:48
Mate i really enjoyed Newman as a town i thought it was really organised and i still remember the nice green grass at the footy oval .People were always very nice i have done a fair bit of exploring up there but i must admit the nicest place i ever saw was at a camp we were at on rgp5 it was between port hedland and newman just off the highway and the camp was in the base of these gorges well not gorges but mountains it was one beautiful place we wre building the bridges it was really very special i used to grab my 4wdrive with some of the boys and drive about 5 ks from the camp and watch the sun go down never in my life have i seen a more beautiful and special place .I cant for the life of me think of the name of that place but it was about 130 ks north east of hedland and we stayed at a camp were there was a working mine but it was small mayby it was a magnesium mine i cant remember but the stuff they pulled out of the ground but it used to go in mobile phones.As for that area id really like to take my wife up there and show her these places as she has only seen a couple of places you live in a beautiful place.
FollowupID: 728278

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 19:54

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 19:54
Now i remember wadginup but were we were i had this place i used to go to and watch the sun go down it was spectacular even though the place was not that special the way it used to reflect of the sides of the gorge further away from the camp i still do not forget it i think of it once a week still
FollowupID: 728290