Opening a <span class="highlight">beer</span> without bottle opener

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:16
ThreadID: 90714 Views:2904 Replies:19 FollowUps:9
G'day, I was stuck without a bottle opener today and a few non twist tops.
I got them opened but was a real pain & chipped the glass on one..

Anyone got some tips ?

Reply By: Mark C - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:30

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:30
Obviously not a child of the 50s or 60s Block of wood, ciggie lighter, spanner almost anything works, its easy if you grew up pre twist tops and ring pulls.

AnswerID: 472827

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 03:10

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 03:10
That's the one !
Amazing how many "young'en's" get caught

Us old farts are good for something !
And just remember, the older we get, the better we were

FollowupID: 747676

Reply By: Kazza055 - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:33

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:33
The lock on EH Holden door always worked for me.

Alternatively, all you need is something flat like a knife blade hold the bottle close to the cap and use you hand as a fulcrum to lever them of.

AnswerID: 472828

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:36

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:36
A wife with a full set of teeth will do the job! LOL

FollowupID: 747657

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:39

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:39
Eyelid

FollowupID: 747658

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:21

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:21
A Wife with NO teeth will do the job!...lol.

Axle,
FollowupID: 747665

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:42

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 21:42
no a wife with no teeth used to do the job
FollowupID: 747666

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:17

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:17
No wife = you wouldn't need to be hitting the turps.
FollowupID: 747685

Reply By: mark4 - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:39

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:39
Howdy a lot of the seat belt buckles the male end works fine, designed for the job obviously the passenger side.
AnswerID: 472829

Reply By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:40

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:40
As has been said, anything with a hard flat edge, even used a bench with the heel of palm. I had a cousin who used his teeth, used to make my skin crawl watching him.
Rob Mac
AnswerID: 472830

Follow Up By: landseka - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:24

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:24
I often opened Long Necks with my teeth, don't have that tooth anymore :-(
FollowupID: 747673

Reply By: equinox - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:48

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:48
I knew a guy who could do it with his teeth, Waxhead we used to call him!!!

AnswerID: 472833

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:50

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:50
Watch this and decide which method you prefer LOL LOL

AnswerID: 472834

Reply By: Road Warrior - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:02

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:02
I keep one of those flat credit card bottle openers in my wallet for such emergencies as this ;-D
AnswerID: 472839

Reply By: lancie49 - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:21

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 22:21
and if you have a sheet of paper handy..............
AnswerID: 472841

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:36

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:36
You could die of thirst waiting for him to fold the paper!

FollowupID: 747674

Reply By: 93 Navara - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:16

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:16
"Reef" thongs have them built into the soles!
AnswerID: 472851

Reply By: caseh - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 07:13

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 07:13
SS==SS.
You obviously don't know my son in WA, otherwise you would never have posted this question.
According to Simon and Garfunkel There must be 50 ways to leave your lover. but ways to open beerbottles? endless.

case, Tauranga, New Zealand.
AnswerID: 472862

Reply By: Member - GeeTee (NT) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:08

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:08
I remember on a footy trip away many years ago we left a country town in WA with a full crate of big bottles of beer. We forgot to take a opener so one of our number sat in the back of the bus and opened the whole lot with his teeth !!

He had a bit of a sore mouth by the time he finished but everyone had their beer.

How things have changed.

AnswerID: 472870

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:21

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:21
G'Day ss--ss,
Do you have Roadside assist?

Fab.
AnswerID: 472875

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 12:05

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 12:05
Geez ss--ss

Belt Buckle / Spoon / Fork / Knife ect.

Fence Post /Edge of a Tow Bar / Bit of Wood.

Use your imagination mate.

Next time buy Cans with a Rip Tops, WHAT A BIG GIRLS BLOUSE lol lol lol.

AnswerID: 472894

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:21

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:21
My first car was an FJ Holden with aftermarket seat belts and they were the best things.

At the end of the day you can use almost any tool you can find and lever it against your top knuckle, some of them leave dents in your hands so a big flat cane knife is better than a screw driver.

I can understand your stress, we all need a drink.

AnswerID: 472915

Reply By: aboutfivebucks (Pilbara) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:19

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:19
got an iphone - get one of these cases!!

enjoy
AnswerID: 472930

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:36

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:36
An ordinary pair of pliers; just place the jaw over cap and lever off. Also good for pulling broken teeth!

AnswerID: 472933

Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 23:35

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 23:35
as stated earlier...ciggie lighter in one hand, hold beer in the other and lever the base of the ciggie lighter under the lid off of your finger, and the lid pops straight off.
AnswerID: 472946

Follow Up By: Old_Bob - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 10:20

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 10:20
We found the cheap disposable lighters we used to get in Malaysia were only good for about 50 beers before you wore a hole through them and the gas escaped. Pretty funny when both driver and passenger had lit ciggys at the time.
FollowupID: 748433

Reply By: lancie49 - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 00:45

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 00:45
Hey, someone mentioned the iPhones........

Maybe there's an App.

iOpen
AnswerID: 472950

Reply By: petengail - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 08:37

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 08:37
You use the top of your baccy tin. Hold it with finger and thumb and prise off the top. Always drink directly from the bottle. Tastes better. lol
AnswerID: 472964