Emergency Phone Numbers – Sat Phone

Hello
I have had a search around but can not seem to find anything current. Is there any suggested Emergency Phone Numbers i should have saved in my Iridium 9575 Sat Phone for when the need may arise ?
Currently the phone uses the iridium /Telstra Mobile Satellite $35month plan.
Thanks in advance
Matthew

Reply By: veight - Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 22:17

Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 22:17
Sorry should add i live in the NT & frequent the top of WA.
AnswerID: 551658

Reply By: Bigfish - Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 22:23

Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 22:23
I would have the local police station numbers for the areas you expect to travel. Ambulance as well (St. John in the Nt). Immediate family. NTAA or equivalent. 000 or the sat phone equivalent number(unsure what is now that I got rid of my sat phone).

I would also have them written down and the numbers stored with the phone. Also ensure anyone travelling with you actually knows how to use a sat phone and the idiosyncrasies of it.

AnswerID: 551659

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 22:44

Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 22:44
I have a large PDF file that I use to make a list of numbers applicable for where I am going and then print then and store them with the phone.

Not a good idea to just store them in the phone. What if someone else has to make the call and you are unable to show them how to find the stored numbers.

However I need an email address to send it to you. Or has someone else got another idea?

AnswerID: 551661

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 23:37

Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 23:37
Another point. We don't use a pin number. Again if I am unconscious and you want to make a call !!!!

I tried to attach the PDF file to a blog - fail!
FollowupID: 837136

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 00:34

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 00:34
I don't think we had the option not to have a PIN vk1dx; I would rather not have to remember one and my husband wouldn't. I had it written on the brochure for the phone.

FollowupID: 837139

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 08:14

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 08:14
Don't you just hate all the passwords and pins. Between the two of us, we have three passwords and two pins and that's for everything. And number generators for the important accounts.

Catchya
FollowupID: 837141

Follow Up By: Steve in Kakadu - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 10:28

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 10:28
If you ring 000 or 112 on a sat phone blocked with a pin, it will over ride and make the call, I know this from experience.

I attended a fatal a few years ago on my way to Darwin, I didn't have my sat phone but a coach turned up, he had a sat phone but he didn't know the pin number so I dialled 000 and got through straight away.
FollowupID: 837199

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 12:21

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 12:21
Thanks for the good news Steve; I hope it works for all satellite phones.

FollowupID: 837210

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 13:21

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 13:21
Yes - 000 etc override the pin.

However what if someone needs to call a different number like the servo at Birdsville to get a recovery or some fuel or water. Just as would a passenger if wanting basic first aid help with just a bad cut etc. Stupid to get the Army, Navy or Air Force out with 000. I hate the pins anyway.

Our mobile has no pin but it's a pre paid with only a few dollars in it so who cares. No big loss and one less thing to remember.

I guess the difference is why you have the phone. Ours is purely for an emergency or to get help for a recovery etc. A minimum prepaid account only. So it is not important enough to have a pin.

Not interested in calling home. They are adults and can look after things until we "surface". Freedom !!!!!
FollowupID: 837213

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 13:24

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 13:24
I have used ours a couple of times to 'check in' at home, just to tell the eldest "We are still alive but delayed out of range and will get back to you as soon as we are back in civilisation". She then tells the others, and no-ones worries.

FollowupID: 837214

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 23:19

Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 23:19
000 works for emergencies. I have a printable card sized list of RFDS numbers to share.

As said, ensure everyone on your group, even children, know how to use the satellite phone, know the PIN, and knows if +61 is needed as a prefix to the numbers on your network. We did not need to put the international prefix when using our satellite phone on the Iridium network.

RAC for each state have the same: 131111. 131444 calls Police in all states except Victoria where they do not have a 13xxxx number. 132500 for SES in each state.

AnswerID: 551664

Reply By: garrycol - Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 23:57

Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 23:57
If you ring 000 from a sat phone where does the call actually go??

There have been incidences with normal landlines where 000 calls have gone to another state and help has been sent to the correct address but in the wrong state.

Garry
AnswerID: 551665

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 09:56

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 09:56
According to Kiwi's ACMA link below:

When you call 000, your address details that are stored in the Integrated Public Number Database will automatically appear on the operator’s screen and be passed on to the emergency service organisation you request. Therefore if you call 000 from a fixed service, your location is automatically known to the operator, although you may still be asked to confirm what town and state you are calling from.

FollowupID: 837148

Follow Up By: Zippo - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 14:21

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 14:21
Expanding on the ACMA info, as I have spent a fair bit of time working on/with the 000 system and have a fair bit of knowledge of the inner workings. Ignore the below if it isn't of interest ...

Telstra/Sensis have the contract to provide the 000 service. Once upon a time Telstra had 000 operators in each state as a part of their normal service desk setup (directory assistance etc etc), but they "rationalised" and reduced this to two permanently manned 000 centres - one in Windsor and the other location I don't recall. Their task is to identify the caller (landlines will automatically be matched to the IPND data), ask which service you require (Police/Fire/Ambulance - you can ONLY elect one) and then pass the call to that service in hopefully the relevant state. In parallel with switching the voice call to the ESO, the IPND lookup data (if any - and therein lies one problem) is transferred via a separate data link (used to be an X-25 circuit - a separate dedicated landline on that data network into each ESO where a data interface ("NTU" - basically a modem) presents the data to the ESO's computer system) so the ESO interceptor has that same info on his screen.

The problems that have occurred and resulted in fatalities have been due to at least two distinct shortcomings:

. a bushwalker who was not able to identify his "nearest street corner/junction" to the ESO interceptor's satisfaction, and died from dehydration.

. a cardiac arrest on the "Mt Barker golf course", called in on a mobile. This was routed to Ambulance in the wrong state, as the caller was unaware of the ambiguity of Mt Barker (WA & SA). This may be the instance Garry referred to - SJAA in WA certainly know all about it.

FollowupID: 837163

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 14:44

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 14:44
And this is why I use a "local" authorities (police, RFDS, Rangers). I will ring these first before any "000" calls.

At the very top of my phone user guide I have the following words in bold lettering: "Tell them you are in the Australian OUTBACK". Hopefully this will set the scene properly that we are in the bush and to be careful with your location.
FollowupID: 837165

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 15:04

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 15:04
Back to my original question - when you ring 000 on a Satphone where does the call go? One of the call centres that Zippo mentioned or somewhere else??

Garry
FollowupID: 837166

Follow Up By: Zippo - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 15:32

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 15:32
It *should* go to one of the Telstra 000-response call centres - the call routing should be region-aware. If you are using Iridium/Telstra it will. For other satellite system operators I don't know - you would need to contact their Aussie outlets to obtain a definitive answer.
FollowupID: 837167

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 17:42

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 17:42
Thanks Zippo
FollowupID: 837169

Follow Up By: dean ( SA ) - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 18:14

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 18:14
To your question Garry..where does the call go...does it matter ?
The main thing is that their service is outstanding and with today's technology they could do the job from the moon.

If you have a read of my post below you'll see that 000/112 is the only number to call in a medical emergency in the bush.

FollowupID: 837171

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 18:23

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 18:23
Well yes - on the basis of past experience the operators can get confused as they do not have a clue where you are and the caller may not as well (maybe changed as Zippo has mentioned) - hence it is wise to also carry direct local numbers for police, ambulances etc.

I guess I do still do not have the warm and fuzzies that a 000 call made on a satphone will always get the help required - if it deserves a 000 call on a satphone then probably deserves a PLB activation to accompany the call.

Garry
FollowupID: 837172

Reply By: dean ( SA ) - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 08:31

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 08:31
Yep 000/112 is all you need for an emergency.

I have a few vital local numbers attached to the phone with instructions on use.

We had to use 000 once for an medical emergency from outback SA and the service was excellent.
AnswerID: 551668

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi_In_Aussie(Wagga) - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 08:44

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 08:44
I would check the validity of using the 112 number on a sat phone- my understanding it only works on the GSM network (and must have 'some' network connection) and/or fixed lines - not satelitte
FollowupID: 837143

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 11:29

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 11:29
000 is the preferred number for calls to emergency services from any number. There is no advantage now in using 112 from a GSM phone.

Pleasing to hear it worked well for you Dean. Regardless of location or type of phone, if you are not on a street corner in a town, it can be hard to explain where you are.

FollowupID: 837153

Follow Up By: dean ( SA ) - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 13:18

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 13:18
Hey Kiwi at the time we were with Iridium re-seller TR Telecom ( about 8 years ago ). It was one of these systems where all calls were made as an international call.

At the time the way it was set up you had to dial 112 as 000 wasn't available, don't ask me how and why, that's just the way it was. And yes I did write 000 above but we did call 112.

I'm pretty sure something is different now and with TRT you can dial 000. Don't care now as I've been on the Telstra $10 plan for the last few years.

MH, yes you are correct and need to know your location and in an emergency you can lose your cool real quick.
We came across a motorcycle rider who was busted up. We were still using paper maps and keeping notes on distances from track intersections etc. With our very basic but reliable navigation the call operator was able to pin point us on her screen and send help. Within minutes we had the RFDS and Royal Adelaide on the phone checking on his situation and organising transport. He was road transported to somewhere and flown to Adelaide we presume.
It's really nice to know that when the .... hits the fan we have an amazing emergency, rescue and medical organisation out there.

FollowupID: 837160

Reply By: Member - Kiwi_In_Aussie(Wagga) - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 08:48

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 08:48
I asked my mate Google and he says look here:

http://www.acma.gov.au/theACMA/emergency-call-service-faq-i-acma

First section seems to say what I thought:

"What is the emergency service number in Australia?

Triple Zero (000) is Australia's primary emergency service number and should be used if urgent emergency assistance is required from either police, fire, or ambulance services.

Australia also has two secondary emergency service numbers that only work with particular technologies:
112 is the GSM international standard emergency number which can only be dialled on a digital mobile phone.
"
AnswerID: 551669

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 09:52

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 09:52
We are supposed to have "000" on the Isatphone, but I haven't tried it!!! And really don't want to.
FollowupID: 837147

Follow Up By: Member - Robert R1 (SA) - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 23:11

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 23:11
vk1dx,

I have tried it and it works.

FollowupID: 837183

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 09:01

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 09:01
Sorry Robert it doesn't.

Have a look at my post number 837190 below and there is a world of difference. It is easy to read and I make a new one for each trip just like it only with "localised" and trip specific numbers etc.

Just so people understand my skills - And without shouting or going crook at anyone at all;

I have been using both text and word editors and publishers with varied copying, cut and paste facilities since 1980 at work and then later in since 1983 when I got my first computer. I do know computers, both home desktops and main frames. But not all the "toys" like smart phones, iphones and tablets etc. We both are not interested in them and don't want one.

Simply put,

I have tried all that and was looking for a file drop box or the like with similar interests to the users of this forum, where I could deposit a "read only" copy of the file and make it available to all.
FollowupID: 837193

Follow Up By: Member - Robert R1 (SA) - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 10:19

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 10:19
vk1dx,

My wonderful writing skills have created confusion again. I meant I have dialled 000 from my isatphone pro and it works. I appreciate what you are trying to do with your list of numbers.

FollowupID: 837198

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 13:11

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 13:11
Good one Boris. No worries Robert.

FollowupID: 837212

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 12:25

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 12:25
There was a list in the 'Members File Swap' on the ExplorOz site but I cannot now locate it. In any case it was only accessible to Members.
(Anyone know how to access it? Michelle??)

Below is a list I have filed on my computer (it may be the list referred to above).
I do have a more comprehensive list in my Troopy but she has gone travelling with my son. Googling 'Outback emergency phone numbers' does bring up a few lists.

Anyway, for what it is worth, here is a list:

Alice Springs-Tanami Track-Halls Creek (NT/WA)
Alice Springs Police 08 8922 3232
Aust National 4WD Radio Network 08 8287 6222
Balgo 08 9168 8978
Billiluna 08 9168 8988
Halls Creek Roadhouse 08 9168 6060
Halls Creek Shire Council 08 9168 6007
NT Auto Association 08 8952 1087
NT Road Report 1800 246 199
Oasis Air (Bungle Flights - Halls Creek) 08 9168 6462
Rabbit Flat Roadhouse 08 8956 8744
RFDS Alice Springs 08 8952 1033
RFDS Perth 08 9414 1300
RFDS Port Hedland 08 9173 1360
Tilmouth Well Roadhouse 08 8956 8777
WA Main Roads - Outback Roads 1800 013 314
Yuendumu 08 8956 4006
Gunbarrel Hwy - Great Central Road (NT/WA)
Carnegie Station 08 9981 2991
CSR Desert Guidebooks - Eric Gard 08 9341 2524
Docker River Store 08 8956 7373
Giles/Warakurna Roadhouse 08 8956 7344
Glen Ayle Station (CSR Bypass) 08 9881 2989
Granite Peak Station (CSR Bypass) 08 9981 2983
Kalgoorlie Police 08 9091 7022
NT Auto Association 08 8952 1087
RFDS Derby 08 9191 1211
RFDS Kalgoorlie 08 9093 1500
RFDS Meekatharra 08 9981 1107
RFDS Perth 08 9414 1300
Tjukayirla Roadhouse 08 9037 1108
Warburton Roadhouse 08 8956 7656
Wiluna General Store 08 9981 7034
Wiluna Police 08 9981 7024
Wiluna Shire 08 9981 7010
Flinders Ranges - North Eastern South Australia
Arkaroola Resort 1800 676 042
Blinman North Hotel 08 8648 4867
Camerons Corner Store 08 8091 3872
Flinders Ranges Council - Quorn 08 8648 6031
Hawker Motors (RAA/Road Info) 08 8648 4014
Hawker Police 08 8648 4028
Leigh Creek Police 08 8675 2004
Maree Police 08 8675 8346
Mt Dare Station 08 8670 7835
RFDS Broken Hill 08 8080 1777
RFDS Port Augusta 08 8642 5555
Road Traffic Authority, (Broken Hill, Menindee to
Queensland)
08 8082 6660
SA Parks Info - Far Northern Roads 1800 816 078
SA Parks Info - Outback districts 08 8648 5300
SA Transport - Northern Roads Hotline 1300 361 033
Wilpena Resort 08 8648 0004
Woomera Joint Defence (Woomera area Access) 08 8674 3211
Yunta Police 08 8650 5004
Marree-Oodnadatta Track-Coober Pedy - Lake Eyre -
Alice Springs - Simpson Desert
Alice Springs-Finke NP Ranger 08 8956 7401
Andamooka Police 08 8672 7072
Camerons Corner Store 08 8670 7835
Coober Pedy Police 08 8672 5056
Finke 08 8956 0966
Marla Police 08 8670 7020
Marree Police 08 8675 8346
Maryvale Station 08 8956 0989
Mt Dare Station 08 8670 7835
New Crown Station 08 8956 0969
Oodnadatta Pink Roadhouse 08 8670 7822
Oodnadatta Police 08 8670 7805
Roxby Downs Police 08 8671 0370
Tarcoola Police 08 8672 2045
SA Parks info - Far Northern roads 1800 816 078
William Creek Hotel 08 8670 7880
William Creek - Lake Eyre Flights 08 8670 7962
William Creek Store 08 8670 7746
Woomera Police 08 8673 7244
Innaminka-Birdsville Track - South West Queensland
Bedourie Police 07 4746 1220
Birdsville Police 07 4656 3220
Birdsville Shell Auto Service 07 4656 3226
Boulia Police 07 4746 3120
Boulia Shire Council 07 4746 3188
Camerons Corner Store 08 8670 7835
Carnarvon Gorge 07 4984 4505
Diamantina Shire Council-Bedourie 07 4746 1202
Hungerford Police 07 4655 4088
Innaminka Police 08 8675 2004
Innaminka Ranger 08 8675 9909
Innaminka Trading Post 08 8675 9900
Marree Police 08 8675 8346
Mungerannie Hotel & Roadhouse 08 8675 8317
Queensland NPWS, Birdsville 07 4656 3272
Queensland)
08 8082 6660
Thargomindah Police 07 4655 3200
Windorah Police 07 4656 3133
Woomera Joint Defence (Woomera area Access) 08 8674 3211
Victoria
Parks Victoria 13 19 63
Victoria Association of 4WD Clubs 03 9857 5209
Central North Western Australia
Balgo 08 9168 8978
Capricorn Roadhouse - Newman (CSR Fuel - Well 23) 08 9175 1535
Carnarvon Shire - Road Conditions 08 9941 0777
Carnarvon Tourist Info 08 9941 1146
Karatha Tourist Info 08 9144 4600
Kunawarritji Store (CSR Fuel -Well 33) 08 9176 9040
Newman Tourist Info 08 9175 2888
Onslow Tourist Info 08 9184 6644
Pt Hedland Tourist Info 08 9173 1711
RFDS Derby 08 9191 1211
RFDS Meekatharra 08 9981 1107
Roebourne Tourist Info 08 9182 1060
Shark Bay - Road Conditions 08 9948 1253
Shire of Exmouth area - Road Conditions 08 9949 1399
Tom Price Tourist Info 08 9188 1112
Nullabour and Southern WA
Forrest 08 9022 6403
Rawlinna - Mine 08 9022 6495
Tarcoola - Wilgena Hotel 08 8672 2042
Cape York-Northern Queensland
Archer River Roadhouse 070 603 266
Bamaga Police 070 693 156
Bizant NP Ranger 070 603 258
Burke Shire Council - Burketown 07 4745 5100
Burketown-Escott Lodge 07 4748 5577
Cape Tribulation NP Ranger 070 980 052
Carpentaria Shire Council - Normanton 07 4745 1268
Chillagoe NP Ranger 070 947 163
Cloncurry Police 07 4746 1200
Coen Police 070 601 150
Cooktown Police 070 695 320
Croydon General Store and Service Station 07 4745 6163
Croydon Shire Council - Croydon 07 4745 6185
Hells Gate Roadhouse 07 4745 8258
Iron Range NP Ranger - Lockhart River 070 607 170
Jardine River NP Ranger - Heathlands 070 603 241
Jardine River-Peddells Ferry 070 691 551
Lakefield NP Ranger 070 603 271
Laura Police 070 602 126
Laura-Quinkin NP Ranger 070 603 255
Lawn Hill National Park 07 4748 5572
Mt Isa Police 07 4744 1111
New Laura NP Ranger 070 603 260
Normanton to Croydon Rail Service - Normanton 07 4745 1391
RACQ Road Info 07 4033 6711
RFDS Cairns 07 4053 1952
RFDS Mt Isa 07 4743 2800
Rokeby NP Ranger 070 603 256
Weipa - River Safaris 07 4069 7597
Weipa Police 070 697 119
Alice Springs-Mt Isa (NT/QLD)
Alparra Store 08 8956 9910
Alpurrurulum 07 4748 4800
Ammaroo Station 08 8956 9899
Bedourie Shire Council 07 4746 3188
Boulia Police 07 4746 3120
Dajarra Police 07 4748 4866
Harts Range Store 08 8956 9773
Jervois Station 08 8956 6307
Mt Isa Police 07 4744 1111
Mt Isa Shell Truckport 07 4743 2488
NPWS Birdsville 07 4656 3272
RFDS Charleville 07 4654 1233
RFDS Mt Isa 07 4743 2800
Tobermorey Station 07 4748 4996
Urandangi Hotel 07 4748 4988
Western New South Wales
Corner Country Adventure Tours 08 8087 5142
Mungo National Park (Buronga) 03 5023 1278
Mutawintji, Kinchega National Park 08 8088 5933
(Broken Hill)
RAA-NRMA Road Service/Info 08 8087 2643
Broken Hill
RFDS Broken Hill 08 8080 1777
RFDS Charleville 07 4654 1233
Queensland)
08 8082 6660
Sturt and Tibooburra National Park 08 8091 3308
Tibooburra Roadhouse 08 8091 3333
SA Parks info - Far Northern roads 1800 816 078
Coorong Access - South East South Australia
SA Dept. of Natural Resources -
Meningee 08 8575 1200
Salt Creek 08 8575 7014

AnswerID: 551675

Follow Up By: Zippo - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 13:59

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 13:59
Gee, Allan, in a medical emergency you could die before you'd find the required entry in that list ;-)

Seriously though, that is a great piece of work and - with your approval - I will cut and paste into my embryonic list. Thank you!
FollowupID: 837162

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 14:24

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 14:24
By all means Zippo. Although it was never mine to grant approval.
It is not comprehensive but is a start.
The zone headings did not carry over distinctively but can be perceived as showing no phone number at the end of the line.
Of course, I cannot vouch for the authenticity of the numbers.

FollowupID: 837164

Follow Up By: Zippo - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 15:37

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 15:37
Thanks. I meant to say "in a real emergency" but the lack of a post-post-edit caught me out.
FollowupID: 837168

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 08:43

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 08:43
Exactly my problem Allan.

The Members Swap File thing is what I was after.

Zippo look below. Do you see what I mean. Neat, tidy and put into states and categories in each state so that you would fine the number before you would die.

Nothing to do wit not having an editor on this forum. I know you weren't talking about that in your post number 837168. I am just showing that you can't get the same thing without a full word processor or publisher etc. And why I wanted a file drop bin or function for other users to get full file access to.

FollowupID: 837191

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 15:50

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 15:50
EO David has just advised that the Members File Swap feature has been discontinued.

FollowupID: 837329

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 19:50

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 19:50
I would like to say this . It is a mixture of the above.

I don't think that I would dare call "000" if all I needed was a few litres offuel or oil or a tow. But for a life threatening situations then, by all means, "000" etc are appropriate.

I do believe there is a bit of horses for courses here. Not every injury is an emergency.

However we are not just talking about life threatening emergencies. A broken axle or engine is an emergency in the middle of the desert so you would call someone like the RAC or the local recovery organisation.

That's why I take appropriate local numbers. For example for the Simpson Desert I am taking, among others, the Birdsville servo and Mt Dare numbers because they do the recoveries for the area.

I think that it was Allan who had the big list. It reminds me of the one that I have. Both appear to be organised and lose their structure and formatting in the copy and paste process.Mine is actually organised by state and service required with numbers in red so that they stand out. But I am not able to paste it here as it loses all structure and looks a bloody confusing mess.

Anyone got any ideas how to store it in a drop box? I don't feel like retyping it into a blog. It's a PDF file.

Back after the footy.
AnswerID: 551682

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 20:19

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 20:19
VK1DX
Highlight the text by dragging you mouse over it,it will change color.
On the keyboard press command c on a Mac or alt c on a microsoft keyboard.
Open a word processing page and click on it to start a cursor.
Then on the keyboard command v or alt v there you should have Allan's list to print or save to wherever you wish.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 837178

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 20:50

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 20:50
It doesn't work. As said before, the formatting and style disappear and it all compresses up and looks a mess.

Thanks - I know the control keys. Used them all since back in the 80's when they first came out. Most are still available.

I was after a way of dropping the whole PDF or Word file in a cloud drop box so that everyone had access to it. I don't use the cloud apart from Youtube and Photobucket. It doesn't work there.

If you want to send me your email address in a PM and I will send you the file. You can have a play with it.

Thanks Pinko
FollowupID: 837179

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 08:37

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 08:37
This is what happens. The image is from the initial PDF file. Nice and neat and easy to find a number. Then I copied and pasted to the forum. A big mess compared to the initial file that I wouldn't give to anyone to find a number. Please remember that the initial file is also many pages long.

Now the text as copied and pasted here.

National Contacts:
Emergency Contact Number:
For all Emergency 000 or 112
Rescue Coordination Centre (RCC) - Australia
24 Hour Emergency Contact Numbers
1800 641 792 (Maritime) 1800 815 257 (Aviation / Land) or +612 6230 6811 (Maritime)
+612 6230 6899 (Aviation / Land)
Road side vehicle Assistance
National Road side assistance 13 11 11
National Directory
FollowupID: 837190

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 08:46

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 08:46
If anyone wants a copy they are welcome to send me their email in a PM and I will send it back by email. That will keep email addresses out of the public eye.
FollowupID: 837192

Follow Up By: Zippo - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 14:08

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 14:08
VK1DX, only members can msg you.

Best all round is for any such files/list being offered to be parked at a file-sharing site which handles non-graphic formats. There are several, Dropbox being one. That way ALL ExplorOzers can access that info, which may one day save a life.
FollowupID: 837216

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 14:39

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 14:39
That's what I was after way back at the top of this thread

Just had a look at Dropbox and it wants all my personal info and if I want to continue past the try it now free period then I have to pay. Sorry nope.

I suggest that non members send an email to vk1dx@bigpond.net.au and I will send them a copy via return email.

FollowupID: 837217

Reply By: K&FT - Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 20:08

Friday, Mar 27, 2015 at 20:08
If the handset you have complies with ACMA regs then you should be able to dial 000 without using the PIN to unlock it first

In Australia it is an ACMA requirement that EVERY connected telephone handset MUST be able to call 000 whether there is an active service or not.

frank
AnswerID: 551683

Reply By: veight - Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 12:55

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 at 12:55
Thank you to everyone that replied.
I have just started to make a information page with pictures on how to use the phone including how to turn it on etc. Sim / pin etc is written on the phone. I will add contacts into the phone and with the instructions on how to use the phone. I try my instructions with family members to see if they can follow. ( I think adding pictures arrows etc will help)
Thanks again for all suggestions.
Matthew
AnswerID: 551703

Reply By: Lukas (Int) - Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 at 20:35

Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 at 20:35
g'day all,

may i drop in a question as i am not yet familiar with the usage of a sat phone.
i understand that any phone number i would dial on my sat phone would have to follow the international pattern like
[country code][area code][subscriber number].

Example taken from the list of phone numbers earlier in this thread:
Bamaga Police: 07 4090 4500 -> +61 7 4090 4500

in that same list there are phone numbers of a different pattern i.e. of only nine digits:
Bizant NP Ranger: 070 603 258

is it still correct to assume that this number would look like this in international format?
+61 70 603 258 ?

your advice is appreciated - cheers - lukas
AnswerID: 551762

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 at 23:25

Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 at 23:25
Lukas, You have the eyes of an eagle!

That number for Bamaga Police is missing a digit. The correct number is 07 4069 3156.
Similarly the number for Bizant NP Ranger is short of a digit but I cannot ascertain the correct number.
It is possible that there are other errors.

In the case of an Iridium phone which connects to Australian subscriber numbers via the Telstra network, no International dialling prefixes are required. It is only necessary to us the Australian area code, 02, 07 etc.
With other satellite carriers it can be necessary to use an international dialling prefix. I will let users of those providers comment on that.

FollowupID: 837279

Follow Up By: dean ( SA ) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 10:25

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 10:25
Heh Allan,
If you are using the Iridium network through Iridium re-seller TR Telecom you still need to dial the international number from within Oz to call Oz :)

FollowupID: 837307

Follow Up By: Zippo - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 17:01

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 17:01
Dean/Allan,

Minor nitpick with Allan's statement "In the case of an Iridium phone which connects to Australian subscriber numbers via the Telstra network, no International dialling prefixes are required." I suspect all traffic from the Iridium gateway (ground station) enters Australia via the Telstra network. Maybe the best way to clarify is to say:

"In the case of an Iridium phone which connects to Australian subscriber numbers using a validated Telstra SIM, no International dialling prefixes are required." (For what constitutes validation, see further down.)

The distinction is made at the Iridium gateway when the handset is registering. There are two separate databases there - one "home" and one "visitor". (Each has a three-letter-acronym which I can't locate ATM).

Iridium reseller pre-paid SIMs (red?) or post-paid account SIMs (green?) will be placed in the Home db on first registration, and found there thereafter. Handsets equipped with these SIMs will require the international prefix to call into Oz from anywhere.

In the case of a Telstra SIM, on first registration attempt the Iridium gateway identifies the SIM issuer and looks the SIM up in Telstra's gateway. If valid for Iridium billing purposes (i.e. a current post-paid account with int'l roaming enabled) it is stored in the Visitor db. These do not require the "+61" prefix in place of the domestic "0" prefix.

[Pre-post edit: Why cant I get that plus sign to appear?]

If a Telstra SIM fails validation, registration is denied and game over.

Sorry for dragging it out.
FollowupID: 837332

Follow Up By: TomH - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 17:21

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 17:21
Basically its like this If you use a Telstra sim with a number starting with 4 As in 0409 999 999

it will register as a normal cellular phone an you can just dial a number as you would if the sim is in your mobile
FollowupID: 837334

Follow Up By: Zippo - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 17:58

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 17:58
Tom, that's an oversimplification, like saying only on days ending in "y". They ALL have their second digit as a 4 unless something has changed in the world of SIMs, but they won't all work. As I and others have mentioned many times, the SIM still has to meet Iridium's validation requirements - post-paid and I/R enabled i.e. billable.
FollowupID: 837337

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 18:56

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 18:56
Geez Zippo, If that was a "minor nitpick", I'd hate to read a MAJOR nitpick!!! lol

What I was trying to convey is that if you are using an Iridium phone with a Telstra postpay Plan and SIM on roaming then you will not need to use International dialling prefixes.

Understanding the how-and-why of it makes my head hurt!

FollowupID: 837340

Follow Up By: TomH - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 19:10

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 19:10
Very sorry Zippo for missing that bit but as it has been posted more times than I care to remember since I bought my Satfone in 2008 I though it was generally known.

If a search was done on the subject this thread would not be necessary as there at least 100 that describe the process on all the different networks and suppliers in the past
FollowupID: 837342

Follow Up By: Zippo - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 19:14

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 19:14
Apologies, Alllan - no headaches intended {:-(}

I realise that many ppl thinking of getting into satphones do a fair bit of searching around (as I did before committing $$) and threads on EO are a big part of the resources they can find. I have also seen a number of people come unstuck trying to use the "wrong" Telstra SIM and/or failing to have I/R activated.

The rest was to hopefully explain the how/why of registration within Iridium and why that creates two groups of Iridium users - those who need to use the int'l prefix and those who don't.
FollowupID: 837343

Reply By: Member - Kelvo - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 00:54

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 00:54
For those interested I have uploaded vk1dx's list to dropbox.

Click on the link, and then select 'Download'. There is no need to 'sign up' if you only want to download.

Emergency Contact Number List

Thanks to vk1dx for the information.
AnswerID: 551841

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 02:11

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 02:11

You can insert pdf files to a post for others to download using the forums "Insert Images & Files" function ...no need for cutting/pasting/dropbox etc...

FollowupID: 837355