Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Roachie in 4WD Monthly....

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 12:01

Jimbo (WA)

Hey Roachie,

Nice article on your 'trol mate. I was reading it last night and was noticing stuff like "air horn", "inside/outside temp guage", "switches for disabling ABS" , "3ltr air tank" - and at that point I thought that's one of the cars on ExploOz.

Anyway, nice vehicle and looks well set up.

By the way, where I come from, getting your dial in print means you pay up a carton; any of your mates collected yet?
Anne Beadell Hwy near Yamarna
Click Image to Enlarge
Cheers, Jim

"Lead, Follow.....or get out of the way!!"
Advertisement
ThreadID: 17527 Replies: 9
Views: 1045 FollowUps: 18
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 82888   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 13:05

Glenn (VIC) replied:

Hi Roachie,

Missed you on the weekend....can't wait to get home and read the article tonight. Am I correct in recalling Pestys vehicle will be in the same mag soon?

Reply 1 of 9
AnswerID: 82889   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 13:07

Member - Pesty (SA) replied:

Not yet jombo, but stand by for collecting big time, as my Toyota had to tow him in and out of the Flinders for the photo shoot !!! LOL

Click Image to Enlarge
Pic 1 Mad Max Hill Silverton
Pic 2 Camped on beach at Tiddy Widdy

Happiest Cruiser-in Oz !!
Reply 2 of 9
FollowupID: 341916   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 14:45

Andy posted:

What issue, have'nt got the latest in NZ yet.
Andy
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 341917   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 15:31

Member - Pesty (SA) posted:

On back page of 73 and article in 74

Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 341922   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 16:11

Squizzy posted:

Hey Pesty, you may be right about the towing, because I did see him hitch hiking in Wirrabara Forest last weekend.......
Where was the beast?

Geoff.
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 341953   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 20:48

Bonz (Vic) posted:

ON THE BLOODY COVER TOO and not a mention of EO .... shame Roachie shame

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 342066   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 16:15

Member - Roachie (SA) posted:

Inya dreams Pesty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In fact I'm sure the only photos in existence of our 2 vehicles being "linked" are when YOU were bogged at Coffin Bay and the might TROL had to rescue you before the briny came in and swamped the yota!!

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 82898   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 15:39

Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) replied:

I heard that the great man is crook - probably a cold....... with a head that size it would catch everything going around....

....only joking...... he is really a very humble fella.

Yes - Luke's got a bigger one than me
Click Image to Enlarge
2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
Reply 3 of 9
FollowupID: 342065   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 16:12

.................and some would say I have a lot to be humble about......LOL

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 82911   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 18:26

Member - Andrew R (VIC) replied:

Well done Roachie,

I have seen the article also. Looks very swanky. Pitty its not a Toyota though. Lol.

Hooroo
Reply 4 of 9
Activities Index
Gold Coast/Springbrook - Beach & Rainforest Gold Coast/Springbrook - Beach & Rainfore
Brisbane - QLD
Think beach, cafes and bustling Surfers Paradise followed by the ultimate in lush rainforest beauty
Yarra Valley Private Charter for 2 Yarra Valley Private Charter for 2
Melbourne - VIC
Experience the best the Yarra Valley has to offer including spectacular scenery, premium Australian
Sunset River Cruise in Paradise Sunset River Cruise in Paradise
Gold Coast - QLD
See Surfers Paradise by twilight during this spectacular 90min pre-dinner sunset river cruise.
Rally Driving in a Suburu WRX - Full Day (NSW) Rally Driving in a Suburu WRX - Full Day (NSW
Hunter Valley - NSW
It takes around 10 years to reach the top in rallying and this is the first step!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 82914   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 19:08

Member - Jeff M (WA) replied:

Hey Roachie, just a question mate, I've got a 2L air tank now kitted up to the Blue tounge and I've got a spare ARB Air Locker Solinoid. I have not tried it out as yet for running my air horns but am concerned that the Air Locker Solinoid will not let enough volume through to make the trupets "scream" as it only has a small hole it it.

What did you use for yours? Or have you just got truck horns that came with a 12v Solinoid built in?

Click Image to Enlarge
#1 - I'm not telling :-)
#2 Yellowdine National Park
#3 Powerline Trek - Saywers Valley
#4 Near Hyden WA
#5 Pinjar Pines
Reply 5 of 9
FollowupID: 342037   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 13:54

G'day Jeff,
These horns I have are called Grande Vittesse (spelling??). I've had them for about 10 years. Each trumpet has it's own solenoid. That's how they came. The place that sold them was in SA but no longer operates. They used to adverise in the back pages of 4x4 Australia back in the 90's.
I've often wondered whether the ARB locker's solenoid would be up to the task.....all I can suggest is that you give it a go. I don't see that you could harm anything; they get hit with a 100psi blast of air when they're used for their intended purpose. Otherwise you might be able to pick up a solenoid from a specialist air supply place.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 342040   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 13:59

Member - Jeff M (WA) posted:

No worries, I've had trouble finding 12v Air Solinoids around Perth, nobody seems to sell them except ARB. The ARB one will supply the pressure no worries, I'm just worried about volume as there is only a pin hole that it let's the air through.
I'll give it a go on my holidays (as soon as the bub comes out, where the hell is she!!!) LOL
She's 4 days over due, c'mon bubby, get out! :-)
I'll let you know how it goes!

Click Image to Enlarge
#1 - I'm not telling :-)
#2 Yellowdine National Park
#3 Powerline Trek - Saywers Valley
#4 Near Hyden WA
#5 Pinjar Pines
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 82933   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:01

Wayne (NSW) replied:

Roachie,
Enjoy the attention while you can, for next month you will be on top of the stack of magazines under the coffee table.
I have yet to see the magazine and the article. Is it worth the $8.00 or should I wait until I go to the barber shop in 6 months time and read it there?

Canning Stock Route 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Good - Better - Best
Never Let It Rest
Till Your Good Is Better
And Your Better Best

VKS Mobile 2292
Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 82941   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:15

Member - 'Lucy' replied:

Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh! Roachie Baby

What more can I say other than I am 'gobsmacked' nup! 'p$ssed and amazed' would be a better description.

And as for that good for nothing plant exterminating mate of yours who never mentioned a 'dickie bird' about this at Robe on the weekend, may his chickens turn into emus and kick the sh$t out of his chook house.

Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaate! I am impressed. Hadn't opened the mag up until I saw this post and rushed out and ripped it open. I'll read it in depth tomorrow and save it for your autograph when next we meet. (collectors item).

As someone else mentioned - always remember today the Rooster, tomorrow the feather duster.

Who cares, this is 'cheque book' journalism at its penultimate, so make hay while the sun shines I say.

This will start a competitive trend you know - imagine a dedicated 4WD Monthly 'Mr EX-OZ segment'.

I can see it now : Nov 04 winner the Peterborough Pirate ( Willem) - Runner up the Monash Adonis (Eric).

As if you haven't guessed - been out to dinner that included a number (UNDISCLOSED) of chard'ys.

Bye

It's not pretty
Click Image to Enlarge
Marriage, One mans insane desire to feed and clothe another mans daughter

Reply 7 of 9
FollowupID: 341972   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:23

Very good LUCY I did mention it but you werent listening at the time obviously and it was also in the back of the last issue, open eyes wider LOL, and guess who also had a shoot while there towing the trol LOL

Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 341973   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:25

PS hows the Jeep ???

Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 342000   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:28

Member - 'Lucy' posted:

Shuuuuuuuuush! Pesty

I told you not to mention the Jeep.
It's not pretty
Click Image to Enlarge
Marriage, One mans insane desire to feed and clothe another mans daughter

FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 83006   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:01

Member - Roachie (SA) replied:

G'day Jimbo and all you "others"........
Swelled head ol' fart is home with a bad cold at present. Trol is sitting forlornely in the carport dreaming of past exploits to Cape York and other fun-to-be places. Camper is sitting out the front, anxiously awaiting the arrival of a new Engel upright fridge to replace the 3 way unit which I pulled out a few days ago. New one is in town and is due to be delivered to me this arvo.
Thanks for all the kind words blokes....
Cya in the bush....
PS Pesty; forget the slab.....

Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 8 of 9
FollowupID: 342068   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 17:08

Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) posted:

Some free advice.........
Sit at home, hot lemon drink and honey, a couple of Panadol, a soothing lullaby from Annette and just sit back and sign all the autographs.
Click Image to Enlarge
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 342156   Submitted: Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:50

Member - John (Vic) posted:

Andrew did you get Roachies medicare number for that advise ?.
Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 83008   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:10

Member - Robb (NSW) replied:

Did someone say slab?? Story came up alright I reckon... So who's next from EO to be on the cover of the mag? :)
Reply 9 of 9
FollowupID: 342047   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:24

Hey Robb,
Thanks for all your efforts with the article; it came up a treat for sure.
Annette just asked me to ask you ....do you have a new family member to tell us about yet?
Cya mate

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 342070   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 17:10

Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) posted:

I assume you are Photographer Robb who did the article - how much did you 'airbrush' off Roachie's girth??
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 342132   Submitted: Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 08:26

Member - Robb (NSW) posted:

Hahahaha, no airbrush needed mate, he was looking pretty sharp when i was there (you can direct deposit that money Roachie).... Yes Roachie we do have a new, very loud female family member, Tahlia Evelyn born 8th Oct, weighed 8 pounds 5 ounces.. Was an awesome experience, almost as good as my 3 days in SA earlier this year :) Will be coming down again soon when we can muster up some worthy vehicles.... Any takers?
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 342148   Submitted: Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 10:08

G'day Robb,
Congratulations on the birth of your daughter.......now you'll know what the rest of us had to go through; getting ready for a short "day trip" is no longer a 5 minute job, eh??
Cheers mate....

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 342161   Submitted: Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:12

Member - Robb (NSW) posted:

Yeah mate youre spot on there, we are going water skiing this weekend and its very involved, almost like a military manouvre... But its all fun :)
FollowUp 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website