Do subarus go offroad

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 06:29
ThreadID: 17655 Views:5037 Replies:22 FollowUps:25
Of course they do

I have been reading a few posts over quite a few months where people actually
slag the Forester etc as not being capable offroad,well of course this is a load of rubbish and its generally the uninformed who make such statements

I have seen or taken a subaru to lots of places even the so called big boys fear to tread so in general its funny to read claims that these cars dont cut it.

And before you slag me as not knowing what i am talking about i have been driving offroad in bigger rigs since i was a 10yo in 1966 and am an Army trained driver ex instructor and have driven overseas particularily in the New Guinea highlands and have criss crossed Aussie in all manner of transport on tracks that were real tracks back in the early 70's including doing the cape in an EH holden in 75,no ferries across the Jardine then.

Just thought i'd throw some food for thought and some material for debate to the so called big boys
:~)

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 07:52

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 07:52
Ther's another chap on this forum, Colin, who has one and agrees whole heartedly. He's done the CSR and many other places.

From all accounts a superb vehicle.

AnswerID: 83615

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:06

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:06
A friends parents crossed the simpson in one. Only big problem they had afaik was sand in the bell housing destroying the clutch.

I'd like to see one drive around Landcruiser Park though.
AnswerID: 83617

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:07

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:07
OffRoadSubarus

Interesting turn of phrase "slag". Most here just express an opinion. They are not always right though but "slag".
Harsh words.

JMHO.

regards.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 83618

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:40

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:40
You are right they do go 4 wheel driving ( I don't like the term off road ), but as you would know they have, like all 4 wheel drive vehicles and drivers have there limitations. Pushing a vehicle past this point is stupid and this is where things go pear shape. Going to the Cape in a EH, and crossing Jardine that is stupid. The vehicle was not designed to do that but being a "Army trained driver ex instructor" you would know that!!!!
With a Sabaru that has had a lot of extra work done to it, it will go further than a "off the show room floor"vehicle but to say that they will go where the "big boys go"is pushing it a lot. They just do not have the low gearing, the clearance and the wheel travel.
Don't get me wrong they are a great vehicle for what they are designed for but that is it.

AnswerID: 83619

Follow Up By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:16

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:16
The first vehicle to travel the cape was an Austin 7 ( or something like it ) in the 1920's. It is a matter of how adventuresome you are and how resourseful. there is a book on their journey and the trip in the EH would have been a walk in the park by comparison. On interesting point of the first trip was that the aboriginal "support crew" walked and would catch up to the two intrepid englishman at night!!!

Graham

FollowupID: 342551

Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:42

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:42
Friend of mine has a Forester , that surprised us , even before he put the bigger tyres and lift in it.

Quite a capable machine within its limits

What concerns me , is how they go long term given they weren't really designed to follow the "big boys".
AnswerID: 83620

Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:43

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:43
Someone got out of the wrong side of the bed this morning!!

Cheer's Paul (so called big boy?)
AnswerID: 83623

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:50

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 08:50
Given all your driving experience it's no wonder you can drive a Subaru thru places where the big boys fair to tread. With my experience I have trouble getting them over a speed hump :)

I had a brumby many years ago, fantastic in the sand but would have liked some more clearance.
AnswerID: 83625

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:05

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:05
It will go where the Big Boys fear to tread because most of the Big Boys (shopping trolleys) fear to go off the bitumen lol.

Touring is one thing but where I take my Rodeo (which I wouldn't call a Big Boy either) there is no way a Subaru would get there. Geez half the time I'm taking chicken tracks due to clearance issues.
FollowupID: 342541

Reply By: D110V8D - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:38

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:38
Lets face it, if you really want to you can get a car of any sort to anywhere you want to go, it just comes down to effort and how much of it your willing to put in. Also a vehicle such as a subaru would sustain more damage on a 'harsh'track than say a Defender, but will still get there in the end.

Cars have been going to all sorts of places since they were first invented, even untracked areas.

Mick
AnswerID: 83631

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:59

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:59
ROTFLMFAO
FollowupID: 342548

Reply By: CHRIS - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:58

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:58
As a ex Regular Army Recovery Mechanic( 1962-68) including Vietnam, I must apologise for the statement of the so called Army Instructor who thinks he is the greatest since canned p-ss. In my time RAASC insructors wouldn't know bog hole from a wet bar judging by the amount of drivers that I have had to extract & recover over my time. Most vehicles I have driven out myself. One driver in Nam drove in to a pond to wash his Rover, drowned it, sat on the bonnet & waited fo me to get him out. Not likely, I drove into the pond( M543 Wrecker) told him where the chain was & guess what he insisted that I do it. I backed out & left him there.( have Photo to prove it)Trained by a RAASC Instructor. As a Recovery Mechanic I have driven every thing the Army had to offer including Tanks & Engineer Equip, but would not be brazen enough to brag or slag anyone about my so called credentials.I have in my time been associated with two of the best Instructor Recovery Warrant Officers in the Army (both now dead) and have never at any time heard them brag in or out of the Mess about there qualifications. There's always a rouge in every camp.
AnswerID: 83637

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:31

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:31
In there own right, the subu performs well in beach and soft road conditions.

I agree with Chris above.

Ultimately, you buy what you require for your personal use, not just because someone says it's great.
AnswerID: 83644

Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:11

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:11
OffRoadSubarus, you can come with us on our next trip. Always love a good laugh.
AnswerID: 83645

Reply By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:30

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:30
At the right time of year you can make it right across the Simpson using 4WD only once or twice. 4WD is generally not the issue. The issue is clearance. I used to drive a Nissan Bluebird to the top of Big Red......Across, no.....No clearance. As for leaving the track.....I would love to see you do the Madigan line......There's a challenge for you. If you make it I would gladly shout you a three course meal when you get to Birdsville!
AnswerID: 83649

Reply By: OffRoadSubarus - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:57

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:57
Ha Ha Ha ha
knew i could wind some up

gents settle down settle down lol lol
even the recovery mech gets me ,onya digger hahaha too bloody funny,
mechanic never seen a good one in the Army yet so he goes slagging the pogos,onya dig your a real bewdy mate.

you guys have too much time on your hands

crank em up crank em up
this was all done to wind these lil big men up,mate i dont give ableepat best

oh and slag means to critisise and its what most of you so called big tough blokes do to anyone that mentions a Subaru or any so called softroader some of you have to be the biggest legends in your own minds i have ever come across.

Follow me i'll show ya,show me what hahaha oh my BIIIIIIIIIG 4be can do it all
still laughing guys still laughing

And the Subaru guys or those with knowledge of them enough said eh we have nothing to prove we know what the cars are capable of even the Patrol that was too big and in too deep for me to snatch out of the mud in Baw Baw N:P on the Dry Gully Trk was amazed i was even in there in a stock brand new forester and embarrest cause i had to go get him some help after i easily drove through the mud around him .

Horses for courses remember that as the lil subee punches on by
cheers mateys
":~)
AnswerID: 83651

Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:09

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:09
So what is the purpose of your posts??
Strange way of getting your kicks......
Sounds to me that you're too big a legend forYOUR own mind.
FollowupID: 342560

Follow Up By: OffRoadSubarus - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:21

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:21
Keep em coming guys

I love reading all the posts belting the poor old softroader guys
good to see a bit of debate eh??????

NO legends here matey got nothing to prove to no one
and dont care about the rest

Not getting too many kicks just sticking up for the little car that can
and a lil old belly laugh is good for me anytime of the day

Stick around maybe you'll learn something

FollowupID: 342561

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:33

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:33
dear oh dear oh dear, you must have had a few bad experiences to be behaving like this. I have never known anyone not to be accepted here because they own a softroader. I think you have the wrong forum.
FollowupID: 342564

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:42

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:42
i had to go get him some help after i easily drove through the mud around him .
What the shallow spot? Mate your post stink's and so do you! Ppfftttt....
FollowupID: 342565

Follow Up By: Howard T - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:54

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:54
Hey Offroadsubaru
you are not one of those turkeys in townsville who blew away thos cats are you
FollowupID: 342604

Follow Up By: CHRIS - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:00

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:00
I don't know how this bloke got into the Army, must have been a Nasho (sorry fellas). But there's no way this bloke would have passed a psyche test and it's obvious he could not have passed a literacy test. I would say he was a weekend cowboy that plays with himself during the week.
FollowupID: 342644

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:20

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:20
Having done considerable research of the English language in all its dialects I can only find one term that might fit the purveyor of this post............wanker be it Aye.
AnswerID: 83656

Follow Up By: OffRoadSubarus - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:25

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:25
well that really hurts dude lol

Wanker hahaha thats the best you got hahahaha
call me anything you like but never late for dinner

keep em coming i'll have a library of posts of expletives before the days out

onya Matey your a classic
FollowupID: 342562

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:45

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:45
I don't know that the term wanker is an expletive...in fact I'm positive it is not. Indeed it is an all-encompassing descriptor that allows an accurate expose without too many words. In other words - absolutely profound and perfect Queen's English.
FollowupID: 342566

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:54

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:54
Patrol 22, by calling him a "Wanker", would be an insult to all "Wanker's"
i think he comes under a different category, one for which i cannot type..
FollowupID: 342568

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:32

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:32
I think your right Paul. But he must have two dicks cause he carn't be that silly wanking one.
FollowupID: 342598

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:25

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:25
Havnt seen too many subarus at fraser island lately . Get a Troopy
AnswerID: 83673

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:05

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:05
If he doesn't get a Troopy Glenno maybe he should just get a life!
FollowupID: 342590

Follow Up By: rb30s - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 16:36

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 16:36
I've seen plenty of bogged troopy's on Fraser Island!!!! Admittedly they were foreign tourists mainly! The only subies bogged are inexperienced owners who dont know to let tyres down.
adrian
FollowupID: 343055

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:15

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:15
You should a search before posting as I don't think you will find that many have been slagging the suby! I'm sure they go many places but at what cost. The damage one would sustain in trying to keep up with a Patro/Cruiser/Hilux etc would be subtantial. As for driving around a bogged Patrol, people have diferent driver skill levels but one wonders why you didn't offer to snatch him out? Probably would of torn the Suby in half!

Leroy
AnswerID: 83685

Follow Up By: OffRoadSubarus - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:23

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:23
Wheres the love!!!!!!!!!

Leroy old cobber read my post it states he was too deep and too heavy
and i went and got help (unwritten law of the bush mate) so shove that up your diff breather

well its been so much fun
i think we should all do it again tomorrow?

i love you guys your clique your clich'es your friendliness your etiquette
your poise your grace and your versatility with the english language

in the words of Jeff Fenich "I lubs ewes all"
go the Subee the Little car that can
hahaha

FollowupID: 342625

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:31

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:31
Love?

Too deep and too heavy? I thought the suby is 'the little car that can?' Looks like it's not up to par and you have just highlighted another reason why a suby is not suitable to play with the big boys.

hahaha
:-p
Leroy
FollowupID: 342626

Reply By: Rob! - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:56

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:56
Mate,

I don't really understand the purpose of this post. It seems like you've hit midlife crisis with an awful thud and the gray matter has not yet recovered.

I always wonder why people laugh at their own stupid jokes (repeatedly) and then feel the need to tell us about it.

I don't know where you have "been reading a few posts over quite a few months where people actually slag the Forester" but it certainly wasn't on this forum.

If you were a regular to this forum you'd realise that people here don't have a problem with softroaders especially the subaru. As to wanting to stir people up about the Subie. I think you failed. It was easy to realise that you were either a trol or just not real smart. So they are infact stirring YOU up.

So put your tail between your legs, curl up into a little ball and go back to that empty hole, you call you life.

R.
AnswerID: 83723

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:39

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:39
Take it easy on him Rob. This person is obviously very upset after discovering their dream vehicle has serious limitations offroad and finds solace in having a go at people with more capable trucks. It's better to ease his worried mind with kind words and invite him to stay rather than further his misery with words of contempt. Who knows, this person may really be nice and an asset to the forum.
FollowupID: 342638

Follow Up By: Rob! - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:58

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:58
Oh, all right.

My parent's have a forester, and I don't mind it at all.

R.
FollowupID: 342643

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:53

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:53
Being the owner of one of your "big ones" and a subie I know which one I'de rather go bush in.
Your comments remind me of the time I was a Nasho and I know you derided us for that, (Deride means to put down for your information) I found most regular army blokes, not all, to be gung ho morons who joined the army cos they couldn't get a job anywhere else.
You help to prove my point.
AnswerID: 83727

Follow Up By: CHRIS - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:24

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:24
I realise that you are directing your answer to the Wanker in the Subie, but after making that statement about Regs you must have been the Nasho I decked in the funny country. As for being a moron (regular) when I got out after 6 years I went into electronics, what's your claim to fame.
FollowupID: 342649

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 11:13

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 11:13
Apologies to you Chris, no offence intended to you as I was really venting my spleen at the Wanker. I did say not all regs were moron's as I'm sure my BIL who was a WO 2 in SAS would have my guts for garters.
I don't have to prove my self to anyone as those who know me are aware of my credentials. Incidently, electronics completely baffles so good on you.
FollowupID: 342720

Follow Up By: OffRoadSubarus - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 15:28

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 15:28
Des speaking of credentials your obviously one of the pillow biters
who got a dirty D whilst i was doing my stint
enough said

FollowupID: 342750

Reply By: harry5 - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:49

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:49
offroadsubbs
Had a outback great car took it ti Fraser it went well on the beach BUUUtttt
It did not have the clearance especially going over headlands or on the deep tracks left by the tour coaches. My army qualifications are i started as a recruit and managed to work my way to private in infantry so i certainly feel qualified to comment on off the beaten track
AnswerID: 83745

Follow Up By: OffRoadSubarus - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:14

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:14
My son inlaw is a grunt and serving OS right now

The subees need the front taken off them and replaced with a decent bar particlarily the outback with the extra overhang on the approach angle,,they usually submarine and plough and rip it off.A 50mm lift kit and some yoko AT+II's and you have more clearance than a standard cruiser
FollowupID: 342658

Reply By: OffRoadSubarus - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:07

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:07
And now the dogs begin to bite each other

Guys you are far too serious
i am not the one who has name called anybody
I havent even called anyone out with the cheap shots

see as soon as your called out about something you bite like a pack of rabid dogs,crawl back in your hole wanker etc doesnt bother me a bit,but shows the intellect of some of the forum members

I sit here and laugh at all this carry on because noone has debated anything
i have never said my car can rock crawl as good as a Defender or blow smoke like a Patrol or cost as much in maintenence that i could pay off the mortgage as a Cruiser and yes there are posts that bag people with there softroaders and now you have vets taking a poke at each other,too bloody sad when it gets to that,i never mentioned if i was reg or nasho,my instructor on my advanced course earned a MM in nam he was a couragous man,my best mate wore rounds up his back he was a driver who put his truck in the way of an ambush to allow the engineers some cover.Drivers took the same risk as anyone else,diggers bagging diggers now thats bloody sad

People i am not the one with any problems or for that matter suffering any delusions of grandeur but the attacks i have witnessed today just proves my point
and was entirely what i expected when i made the post.Ya'll couldnt have been more predictable

Subarus are a great offroad car and unless you've gone the yards in one how can you comment with all this prejudice

Out
AnswerID: 83747

Follow Up By: GeorgeQLD - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 22:37

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 22:37
enough said I think guys, the perfect off road vehicle has not been invented yet. I have owned Toyota Land Cruisers in the past and recently a 2002 Prado. Fantastic vehicles both of them as I am sure the likes of the Nissan Patrol and other "real off roaders" are. They WILL go to places where the Forester could not. That is a fact!! At the time, they did the job I wanted them to do and did it very well. Right now, as I have no plans to do any extreme off road stuff (been there done that already), I have settled for a new 2004 Forester and I am very happy with the way it performs off road. A couple of months ago, I discussed (in this forum) about taking the Forester to Fraser Island as I had never been there before. Most people then advised that it would be ok but to proceed with caution. I can report that I did the trip last September and had no trouble at all with the vehicle. It surprised me in fact as to just how easily it negotiated the dificult parts. I have since been to a couple of other off road destinations including the Bridle Track to Hill end on a wet day. The car IS capable but it has it's limits. The only mods I have made are the adition of an alloy bull bar and a metal protection plate for the sump. (much better approach angle) I intend to fit a 50mm lift kit early in the new year, better A/T tyres and leave it at that.
That is my two bob's woth on the subject, happy motoring everyone!!
George QLD
FollowupID: 343020

Reply By: Member Colin - NSW Bungendore - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:37

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:37
OffRoadSubarus

I agree with all you have said - but it mainly on deaf ears here I'm afraid.

We both know what our vehicles are capable of - so don't bother with all the negative reponses.

Colin
AnswerID: 83759

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:32

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:32
Jeez guys i thought i got heaps for owning an Explorer.

Take that ya baarsturds
AnswerID: 83859

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 18:00

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 18:00
lol, a 2 wheel drive explorer Baz.
FollowupID: 342780