Anyoen up Cape at moment?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 11:34
ThreadID: 25659 Views:2540 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
Man missing after croc tipped canoe
August 17, 2005 - 8:18AM

A search has resumed this morning for a man missing after a crocodile capsized his canoe on Queensland's Cape York Peninsula.

The 60-year-old Townsville man was fishing with his wife at Midway Waterhole on Normanby River, north west of Cooktown, about 5.30pm (AEST) yesterday when a large crocodile overturned their small boat.

The woman swam ashore and drove for 20 minutes to alert staff at Lakefield National Park's ranger station, police said.

National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) rangers combed the area, but there was no sign of the man.

Queensland environment minister Desley Boyle today said it looked like the crocodile had approached the canoe, rocked it and then attacked the man.

"There was some kind of 'interaction' with a paddle and the croc, and then the canoe capsized," Ms Boyle told ABC radio.

"The couple fell into the water, the woman managed to get to the bank but the man hasn't been seen since."

A search of the waterway resumed at first light today, and includes a crocodile expert from the NPWS, Queensland police, a Queensland Rescue helicopter and National Parks boats.

A police spokeswoman said it was impossible to say how long the search would take.

Reply By: Member- Rox (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 12:06

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 12:06
I was Just there July 13- August 5 Now in Katherine after doing the Savannah Way Very interesting contry, & saw heaps of salties.
AnswerID: 125552

Reply By: angler - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 14:09

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 14:09
There are crocs every where in the Cape. You only get to see a VERY SMALL percentage of them. I bet they can see you most of the time.
Fancy going fishing in a canoe in croc country, then fighting the croc for a hooked fish with a paddle. Reminds me of an olds saying about being up a creek etc.

I never go fishing there in anything other than at least a 12 footer with good high sides and good stability. I use a 4.1 topender now and feel even better.

I still wouldn't fight a croc for a fish.

Never ever.
AnswerID: 125564

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 15:58

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 15:58
Freinds mum and stepdad are up there now giving their 79 td ute its maiden voyage - Same demographic but hes not from townsville (unsure how much paddling they do either)
AnswerID: 125577

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 16:22

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 16:22
THEY WERE IN A CANOE?

And they are to destroy the croc?? WHY? Isnt it his waterhole they were in?

-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x

Croc found after attack on fisherman
By Mark Todd in Brisbane
August 17, 2005 - 2:15PM

Searchers believe they have located the crocodile believed to have attacked a man at Cape York Peninsula in far north Queensland.

The man, 60-year-old Barry Jeffries from Townsville, was dragged from a canoe at a waterhole on the Normanby River, north-west of Cooktown, by the crocodile, late yesterday.

He was fishing with his wife, Glenda, on one of their regular holidays to the area.

There is no sign yet of Mr Jeffries.

Queensland Police Superindendent Mike Keating said the man's family was making its way to Cairns to comfort Mrs Jeffries, who had to swim ashore and drive for 20 minutes to raise the alarm at a ranger station.

The crocodile is to be destroyed.

AAP reports: Police told today how Mr and Mrs Jeffries were fishing at the Midway Waterhole at Lakefield National Park.

The couple noticed the crocodile moving towards the canoe.

Mrs Jeffries watched as the animal, which she estimated to be four metres long, grabbed her husband by the arm, capsized their canoe and disappeared with him into the water

Mr Jeffries tried to fend the crocodile off with a paddle but the crocodile lunged and dragged him into the water by the arm.

Mrs Jeffries swam ashore and drove for 20 minutes to alert staff at Lakefield National Park's ranger station, police said.

National Parks and Wildlife Service rangers combed the area, which is well sign-posted with crocodile warnings, but there was no sign of the man.

Cairns police Superintendent Mike Keating said the man had been trying to push the crocodile away from the boat when it grabbed him by the arm.

"They were moving throughout the water hole and at some stage they noticed a crocodile," he told the Nine network.

"It approached the canoe and as a result of that the canoe has turned over and the man is now missing. He was taken out of the canoe by the arm as he tried to fend the crocodile off."

Superintendent Keating said police where working with a crocodile expert from the National Parks and Wildlife Service, a Queensland Rescue helicopter and National Parks boats to find the man.

"We are relying on the expertise of the NPWS rangers to assist us in regard to the crocodile's behaviour and to assist us in the search. We don't want to put anyone else at risk."

Queensland environment minister Desley Boyle said it looked as if the crocodile had approached the canoe, rocked it and then attacked the man.

"There was some kind of 'interaction' with a paddle and the croc, and then the canoe capsized," Ms Boyle told ABC Radio.

"The couple fell into the water, the woman managed to get to the bank but the man hasn't been seen since."

Mrs Jeffries was not injured although she has been badly shaken.

"This lady is understandably pretty traumatised by the experience," Superintendent Keating said.

Local crocodile hunter Mick Pitman said the area where the man disappeared was a known crocodile habitat and well sign-posted with warnings.

"I've never gone up nowhere near an estuarine river where there's crocs because the first thing he'll do is come up and give you a walloping," Mr Pitman told ABC Radio.
AnswerID: 125581

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:30

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:30
I took my canoe up north and didnt take it in any croc areas I figured it was the perfect size to p$%iss of any terriotorial croc weather it was hungry or not
FollowupID: 380330

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:48

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 18:48
I can't fathom people.
When on the Cape I remember two things.
Crocs are everywhere, its their territory not yours and
A croc is a killing machine. To a croc you look like Maccas !
AnswerID: 125613

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:05

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 20:05
Some people are wise
Some people are otherwise
Some people are stupid
AnswerID: 125632

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:31

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 23:31
ya aint kiddin there
FollowupID: 380377

Reply By: Tripp'n Around - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 23:23

Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 23:23
Hi Truckie

And they are to destroy the croc?? WHY? Isnt it his waterhole they were in?

I know it's a bit late in replying.........been busy here and have just read your post.

Just some info some may not know:-
The waterholes are not a waterholes as such, it is a part of the river system that is deeper than the rest of it.
People camping at Midway, Old faithfull etc and likewise other "waterholes" there know the dangers.
It is there for the reading at the Ranger Stations and brochures you get when you check in.

Lakefield as is Kakadu is a reconized and protected breeding program for crocs.
We are in their territory and such stupidity (be it sad for this family and friends) is just that.
I find it sad that the croc was shoot considering that it may not have been the one, there are plenty of them there.

Cya
Tripp'n
AnswerID: 125987