Warning! Don't try this at home..Drill windscreen
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:39
Member - RockyOne
I want to know how to drill a small hole in a windscreen to terminate a crack..The pros won't do it as they say too long a track..I know,they have to toe the lega line..The crack starts bott l/h corner and rises to the nth-east..About a lousy 300 long..Has no effect at all,and,being somewhere between a "Greenie" & a "Meanie" I refuse to ditch that screen.It has at least one more "rock" in it yet (After all,I have done the 2,800 kms ea way to Orbost for High Country adventures twice, with a much larger crack on my other rigs "drivers" side)..Take more than that that to annoy me.." 'nother Valium tablet please"..As we sell (and love) engineering products,we should be able to source something,if we don't already have it..I love using air tools,so,reckkon I mite try,if you guys don't solve my my dilemma,a 1/8" diomond tip in my magic lil' die-grinder..Jeez! Even if I fail,it will be fun..RockyOne "Over...."
Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:03
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:03
try a .22 calibre winchester
Reply By: John L G - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:25
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:25
Rocky
Not to sure about glass but have had some experience with drilling acrylic as in Lexan etc.
The trick there is to get a standard high speed drill bit and rather than sharpen the edge put a reverse chamfer on
the tip cutting edges so that the bit not so much as cuts but grinds the surface.
If you use a drill bit as is it will tend to catch and bleep ter the materilal.
After that its up to you and don't use too much pressure but apply plenty of patience.
I would think overalls, gloves and enclosed eye protection would be a wise move as
well.
Good Luck
John G
Reply By: Russel & Mary - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:31
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:31
as I often say after a few beers with my mates, "what could possibly go wrong?".
Give it a go but I would suggest to drill a little farther out than you think the crack ends. That way you'll be sure of being at the end of it and no doubt the crack will meet up with the hole. Let us know how you got on.
Your local dentist may have an old diamond tip for nothing if you talk nicely and it may be better quality than those Arlec types. Rus.
Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:11
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:11
Hey 'nRus & Mary,That Dentist Drill bit is brilliant..Would be mean to get a tooth done under medical insurance,put the "bit that bit" onto the total of the bill,would'nt it :-)..This'll be fun..Thks Rockyone
Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:49
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:49
IMHO it will most likely not work cos its laminated!!!
Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:07
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:07
Yeah mate! It does work as my other rig was done years ago and still does'nt need replacement (my opinion,maybe no the law)..I have nothing to lose as,the by "their-the pros" reckoning,I'm due for a new screen anyway (not very enviorn friendly,are they?) In the tanks,we only had episcopes with about 125mm of "screen" still managed,but of course, we had 50 ton of solid steel (no plastic) to back it up..
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:37
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:37
I reckon its a great idea, drill a hole in the screen so it can leak and fog up everytime it rains..
awesome. I want one.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 15:24
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 15:24
So you should only need drill the outer lamination, not the full screen.
Reply By: guzzi - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:01
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:01
Try the diamond tip drill bit or a carbide tipped drill in a hand drill, you know the old mix master type or a variable speed battery drill.
Put the word slow in your dictonary, 200 to 300 rpm max.
Use low pressure , slow speed and use straight turps as the lubricant.
High speed creates heat and will crack/chip the glass and do a damn fine job of blunting the bit.
Its not a fast process so add patience to slow in the dictionary.
Afterwards some of the new superglue type loctites (401,406 )are suitable to fill the crack and the hole.
Reply By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:08
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:08
Get a masonary bit and grind down the end in the shape of an arrow . Dip the end in some kero frequently while drilling . drill on a slow speed . DO NOT PRESS TO HARD.
Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:31
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:31
N o w I reckon your talkin' Glenno,as that makes sense,as,we used to sell tungsten carbide masonary drills to a machine
shop here and he was re-sharpening them (using a "green" grinding wheel) to a different profile then drilling hard steel. (we have glass drills in stock,that no one evere buys anyway,but they are all quite large and shaped rather like you mentioned..I have no idea what they are meant for)..mmm! How do they cut the holes in sliding glass that have the recessed finger cups inserted..I'm waiting..tich tick tick..RockyOne
Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:48
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:48
Cutting a 300mm round hole in a 6mm plate glass for a round vent by hand is fun .
Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:53
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:53
G'day Rocky One, Do you really want to know ...ok then, go to your local glazing factory, ask them to sell you a 3mm glass drill( hollow, diamond impregnated) and a handfull of metal
putty. Then go home, place the
putty around the hole and make a
well to hold
water, now don't forget you are drilling laminated glass and will need to drill it from both sides, you have to be carefull not to drill all the way through, you will probably punch a bigger hole if you do. Ok you've done one side now get on the inside and repeat the process. Sounds easy ehh! I've done it myself but I had access to all the
tools and drill bits, you'll have to allow about $400.00 dollars for the bit you buy and you will not I repeat will not have any luck with a straight solid bit.
Anyway best of luck
andy
Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:57
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:57
mmmm! What are you doing next Saturday Andy Q..This is getting more interesting all the time..But thanks Andy..Have fun RockyOne
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 13:38
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 13:38
Bloody Hell!!! $400????
A new Windscreen is about $140.00
What some people will do to (try) and save a buck:-)
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 13:03
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 13:03
And another method is...
1. Take a small piece of copper tube about 4-5 mm in dia. file or cut a couple of cross slits in the end.
2. Get some
putty or plastecine like gunk and build a small dam arround where you are going to drill the hole.
3. Fill the dam with kero or similar, this acts as a lubricant and coolant.
4. Put the copper tube into the drill chuck and then dip the end into sand or if you have it carbourundum powder (see any rockhound/lapidary person - its what they use in a rock tumbler).
5. As has already been mentioned stay slow so that you do not generate much heat and/or throw all your lubricant/coolant all over the place.
You can put a slurry of the grinding powder into your little dam on the windscreen if you like. The copper is soft enough for grinding particles to embed themselves into the surface of the copper. Caution, the grinding powder will scratch the windscreen if you wipe it across the glass so wash it all away before cleaning the windscreen when you have finnished.
Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 13:37
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 13:37
Well done Kiwi Kia ! 10/10 That sounds like the go..As my sons have about 25+ cars in various stages of wreck/disrepair etc on our 54 acres,I am sure to be able to find heaps of laminated windscreen glass to try it on..Could always use the Left/Right rotation method the natives used to use to lite a fire with the stick vertical between the palms with the paste on the end.. Blisters!.Think I will go for a var speed drill.Slow.Have printed this out,so will let you guys know how it went..Thanks..RockyOne
Follow Up By: kesh - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 14:46
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 14:46
Diamond drill is really the easiest method, quite cheap if you now where (lapidary supplies- around $10 - 1.5mm drill)
Main comment from here is you dont need to drill right through a laminated screen, its usually only the outer lamination is cracked.
Have a few windscreen cracks to prove it!
the kesh
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:28
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:28
let me know how you fill up this
dam and make it retain the fluid?
this has me intrigued.....you gunna jack the front so high it, the wind screen, will be level?
Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 17:01
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 17:01
Of course,we all know that,when we have drilled the tiny hole,we just fill it with 2-part epoxy..We stay inside,the rain stays outside..I mean,I could just get another windscreen,but what would we all lear from that exercise?..All the other guya reckoned the earth was flat or square or something..Had Columbus been around these days,he probably would have posted a question here,then set off in his ship
Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 17:04
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 17:04
Hey! Thgat's a good tip Kish..You ripper..Bet I would have drilled both sides..Have fun..RockyOne......(Glad we dont have those craze type screens I had in my VW beetles for 14 yrs..Changed the screen when I changed the oil))!MPG:8!
Reply By: kev.h - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 17:39
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 17:39
Hi RockyOne
craft stores have glass drills, only drill the outer laminate, slow speed drill -lower heat, big lump of
putty around the hole to absorbe vibrations and have water running over the glass as you drill piece of cake works every time
be patient not too much pressure
Regards Kev
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:41
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:41
Drilling a hole in the windscreen and non load bearing structural panels to stop crack propogation was normal practice on aircraft (non pressurised of course) a few years back. The hole was as small as you could make it to avoid letting the rain or an anoying draft inthough :-))
Reply By: techie - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 21:56
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 21:56
As Kev.h said. Buy a glass bit from the hardware store. Mine only cost $6 approx (bought a year ago).
Laminated glass only has crack on outside (you cannot feel the crack on the inside)
If you can feel crack on inside I'd be worried.
so drill using cordless drill from outside in to centre about 1/4 inch from end of crack.You will feel when it hits the laminate.
You can always practice on bottles (I did).
Fill with epoxy and no prob - did this on my car - worked like a charm.
You can also picked up some broken windscreens from panel beaters and play with them first.
Techie
Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:11
Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:11
Thks Kev.H & Techie, Top info..Reckon we are set now..Thanks so much all you guys..I am,of course,in a "no lose" situation as,in the unlikely chance that I fail,I just get a new screen by insurance (like just about anyone else would..i.e. "normal" people)..Would'nt learn much that way..I have so much good info now,jus can't go wrong..While someone else is sitting in the pub,supporting that cause,I'll be madly drilling my screen,but i won't practice on a bottle,but I may keep a bottle of "red" handy to steady the nerves..My boys have over 20 car wrecks up the back of our 54ac so plenty of scope threr to practise..Will get my supplies for the "mission" today and "roll on the weekend" Report back my success on soon..Nothing ventured,nothing gained..? Have fun..RockyOne
Reply By: Longreach - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:04
Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:04
Doesn't your policy include one replacement windscreen each 12 months without effecting no-claim or excess ?
Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 16:52
Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 16:52
You're right L/R but,that's not the plot..I can always fall back on that..I just want the challenge..Can fix most other things ('cept electronix) if I feel like it,so,got nothing to lose..No use having a good workshop if I don't use it..Gotta be more fun than watching av TV show..I find a lot of the commercials the best part..Like Discovery though..Rgs RockyOne
Follow Up By: Longreach - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 18:05
Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 18:05
Fair enough and good luck. You are certainly right about the telly.
Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 20:22
Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 20:22
This is what makes this website so good. Nice work boys.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 16:21
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 16:21
So how did it go?
Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:59
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:59
Still trying to buy a drill and the paste mate..Will have to go out to the Gem-Fields next w/e for a counter lunch (ain't life cruel?) and one of the gem/lapridy shops should be able to help me..I'm as keen to try it as you are,so Beatit,see how I go next week..Have fun..RockyOne
img src=
http://public.fotki.com/RockyOne/
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 09:18
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 09:18
G'day RockyOne,
I'm starting to think that the window repair is becoming an excuse for a p*ssup. Mate, the amount of money involved (need a drink or 2 with the lunch) in the trip to the gemfields you could buy 6 screens!!! Good plan!
Have a good one.