Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

inverters

Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 08:50

Gronk

Why do I need to use an inverter to run a laptop when all you need is the adapter that plugs straight into the cig lighter of the 4wd ??
ThreadID: 28616 Replies: 8
Views: 1050 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 142440   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:10

The Explorer replied:

I suppose you would only really need to go down the inverter path if you wished to use it for other appliances that can not be ran directly off 12V.
Carnabys Black Cockatoo
Click Image to Enlarge
“I was horror–struck to find my poor overseer lying on the ground, weltering in his blood and in the last agonies of death” E Eyre 29 April 1841

Reply 1 of 8
AnswerID: 142452   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:56

brett replied:

The adapter that plugs into your cig lighter is also an inverter, just not to 240V, most laptops run on around 20V DC, so you need to step up the 12V. Also the cost of the 12V adapter can be more than a cheap inverter. I use a 12v adapter as it's easier and less cords.
Reply 2 of 8
FollowupID: 395990   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 14:38

V8troopie posted:

Actually, what you describe is more commonly known as a DC to DC CONVERTER.
Inverters only change DC to AC.
Inverters can be the cheaper option if one already has a mains power pack for the lappy, but there is no reason why an inverter MUST be used. Sometimes a DC to DC converter is kinder to the computer, especially if the computer is 'on' for a long time. Also, it has no lethal voltages.
It all depends on your intended use.

And, steer away from cig lighter style sockets for such an application. They are just not reliable enough, IMO, you want a socket that securely retains the plug while underway.
Klaus
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 396073   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 23:24

Sand Man (SA) posted:

Klaus,

Not necessarily Mate.

For instance, the Dell Adapter does both converting and transforming.

You buy the one adapter which comes with both a 240 volt lead and a 12 volt lead for the supply side and then outputs the correct DC voltage to run the laptop and charge the internal battery. So you can plug it into a 240 volt AC outlet, a car's cigarette socket, or an aeroplane's unique DC supply socket.

Click Image to Enlarge
HooRoo !

FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 142458   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 10:48

Member - Raymond replied:

Hi Gront
I went inverter after finding most of the after market 12 volt adapters for the IBM would not handle the amps required and IBM want my arm and leg for theirs.
Ray
Reply 3 of 8
AnswerID: 142461   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 11:36

Peter McGuckian (Member) replied:

An easy solution for laptops is the power supply you can use on aircraft. also have 12v adaptor. These are the most compact inverters I have found and cost about $90. Great for charging those annoying things that need more than 12v.

New GU IV
Click Image to Enlarge
Kimberley in 2009
VKS Mobile 1906
Reply 4 of 8
FollowupID: 396147   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:26

Moose posted:

G'day Peter
Where would one be able to buy such an inverter?
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 396318   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:55

Peter McGuckian (Member) posted:

Moose,

I got mine from a duty free shop overseas but I know they are available here.

Here's a link to the manufacturer:

For links: APCC

New GU IV
Click Image to Enlarge
Kimberley in 2009
VKS Mobile 1906
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 396320   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:56

Peter McGuckian (Member) posted:

I should have added that the one I have is 240v output. Great for the notebook and battery charging.

New GU IV
Click Image to Enlarge
Kimberley in 2009
VKS Mobile 1906
FollowUp 3 of 3
Activities Index
Rally Driving Intro in Subaru WRX (1/2 Day) - SA Rally Driving Intro in Subaru WRX (1/2 Day) -
Big River Country - SA
Ever wondered where all great rally drivers start?
Vineyard Meander Horse-drawn Wagon Trail Vineyard Meander Horse-drawn Wagon Trail
Perth - WA
Located in Henley Brook only 25 mins from the Perth CBD, the award-winning wagon trails provide a le
Horse Riding On The Beach For Two Horse Riding On The Beach For Two
Great Ocean Road - VIC
Horse riding along the beach with horses that suit everyone's ability.
Seafood BBQ Cooking Class - VIC Seafood BBQ Cooking Class - VIC
Melbourne - VIC
Are shrimps on the BBQ more your style?
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 142465   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 14:24

Member - Rob B (QLD) replied:

I tried this and was caught out by the fact that my HP Tablet PC won't recharge the battery when running off the 12 volt adapter. Due to the vehicle bouncing around the plug fell out of the socket on the computer, the battery flattened, and I was left with no computer for the rest of the weekend..

So whatever arrangement you decide to go with it is best if you can actually charge the laptop battery.

Rob
Reply 5 of 8
AnswerID: 142512   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 19:21

Keith_A (Qld) replied:

I fitted an anderson plug in the ashtray of the Patrol.
Inverter has anderson plug as input.
Inverter sits on floor at back along with the laptop power supply.
Simple.
Fitted an anderson plug in the camper trailer (which has own battery).
Never without the Laptop and digital maps, plus can download photos
and GPS track plots each day during a trip....works for me...
Reply 6 of 8
AnswerID: 142525   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 20:42

Member - Phil G (SA) replied:

But I use an inverter so I can also charge camera batteries etc
Serves more than one use.
Mt Finke
Click Image to Enlarge
LandCruiser HDJ79
Reply 7 of 8
AnswerID: 142719   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:53

techie replied:

Inverters are great for angle grinders - use them to remove clamped wheels on cars.
Techie
Reply 8 of 8

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website