Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

GQ Gearbox Noise

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 05:35

dicko1980

I have a 94 GQ Cab Chassis ute that has now developed a noticble chatter from the gearbox when idling. If I push the clutch in the noise disapears. I am wondering what this problem could be and is going to be a major job?

dicko1980
Advertisement
ThreadID: 31276 Replies: 6
Views: 726 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 157747   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 05:48

Sand Man (SA) replied:

Thrust Bearing?

Click Image to Enlarge
HooRoo !

Reply 1 of 6
AnswerID: 157754   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 06:46

Member - Tony G (ACT) replied:

Thrust Bearing. Gearbox has to come out to replace. Think about doing the clutch as well when its all out.
Tony
Reply 2 of 6
AnswerID: 157765   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 08:22

Bullwinkle replied:

I think it's the input shaft bearing. If it was the thrust bearing it would be noisy with the clutch pedal down, and quiet with it out. I had one the same, probably should have got it fixed, never did and it stayed that way for about 5 years and 240k. Never seemed to get any noisier and after a while you don't notice it. Either way it's a gearbox out job to fix it. Cheers....
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 157771   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 08:55

GUPatrol replied:

If the noise dissapears when you press the clutch, then it is NOT the thrust bearing.

When you press the clutch the gearbox stops.

It is common for these gearbox to cutter when ideling and also at low rpm (driving), what makes the noise worse is when the clutch disk springs become soft and allow vibration to be transmitted from the engine to the gearbox.

Without listening to the noise it is hard to diagnose.

Will
Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 412225   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 18:04

awill4x4 posted:

GU Patrol's got it right, it's a common complaint with TD42 diesels. It's noisy but it doesn't get any worse and I wouldn't be worried about it. Just keep listening and if it growls under load then I'd be concerned but at the moment just live with it.
Regards Andrew.
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Surfers Paradise Roadster Tour Surfers Paradise Roadster Tour
Gold Coast - QLD
Spyder Ryder Tours are tag-along, you ride, half day tours.
Aerobatic Warbird Flight - Vic Aerobatic Warbird Flight - Vic
Melbourne - VIC
This flight is totally unlike any civilian light aircraft.
Luxurious Face/Body/Feet Treatment -  Sth Melb Luxurious Face/Body/Feet Treatment - Sth Mel
Melbourne - VIC
Give yourself a real treat and luxuriate with this gorgeous treatment for face, body and feet at the
Hot Air Ballooning with breakfast - Melbourne Hot Air Ballooning with breakfast - Melbourne
Melbourne - VIC
Enjoy the wonders of flight in a hot air balloon over Melbourne with Australia's oldest and most exp
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 157843   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 13:24

cokeaddict replied:

Dicko,
its all been said above mate.....bottom line is this....

Gearbox needs to come out, so while ur at it..replace the clutch as well as brg. Its common sence to replace the whole lot as those who have done a clutch replacement know..its not a job you wnat to do again..ever. How many kms does the old girl have ?

Ange
I love it when you talk DIRTY !
Reply 5 of 6
FollowupID: 412152   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 13:30

dicko1980 posted:

Yeah I thought the box would be coming out. The ute has only done 202000 and the clutch was replaced at 160000 before I bought the vehicle. I've only just noticed the noise this week so I will have to get onto it pretty quick before the problem develops.

Thanks for the help guys
dicko1980
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 157885   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:19

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

Input Shaft.....

Mine does it too! Has been for ages..... My mechanic isn't too concerned about it at the moment but I might need to get it looked at before our trip this year.... if we can still afford the trip after fixing the input shaft brng.... LOL...
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
Reply 6 of 6