Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Ahcher river yesterday .

Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 19:41

Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns

Evening all , a mate got back from Mapoon yesterday , sent these pics , the Nissan was 4 days old when they got their capabilities a bit mixed up , both these photo's were taken yesterday ..
Neil ..

img src=" domain.com/image_C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner\My Documents\archer river"

Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
Advertisement
ThreadID: 34549 Replies: 7
Views: 711 FollowUps: 10
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 176430   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 19:42

Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns replied:

Ok that didn't ,, truck driver here ,, no puter wizz !!
Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 176432   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 19:48

Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns replied:

see what happens here !!

Reply 2 of 7
FollowupID: 432501   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 20:57

Scubaroo posted:

Has that been rolled in the river, or had an engine fire, or both?!?
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 432507   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 21:14

Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns posted:

G'day Scubaroo , they tryed to cross when the water was way too deep and fast , i guess this is where experience comes into play !!

Neil ..
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 432508   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 21:18

Toytruck posted:

Must have been a strong curent.....even sucked the blinkers out of the bullbar. Looks like a setup to me. Must have been a strong current to suck the hood off also.

Could be wrong
Toytruck
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 432509   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 21:25

Ever thought it might have alreadt started being raided '

could be wrong but !!

Neil ..
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 176448   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 21:16

jon p qld replied:

You say the patrol is only four days old yet it doesn't look like the current model ?
Reply 3 of 7
FollowupID: 432511   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 21:30

I just posted the pics Jon , i haven't seen it myself but thats what the mate was told up there ,, as for the model , i don't know , maybe they bought it 2nd hand 4 days befor ,, as i said , i just posted the pics ,, maybe i shouldn't of !!

Neil ..
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 432520   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 22:02

Footloose posted:

Neil, anyone who has been around will have seen that sort of damage before...hopefully they got out Ok.
Details aren't that important, you've just reminded us of the perils of water crossings. Thanks.
On a lighter note, I was waiting for the tide to go down in the Bloomfield years ago. I was always wary of salties there. A guy swam across from the other side to tell me that it was shallow enough for me to cross ! He pointed to about a foot of steel hanging out of the river, he'd crossed at the wrong time.
I elected to finish morning tea and watching someone else cross before I did. And even then my better half was not happy.
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 432527   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 22:28

Thanks Footy , more or less just put them up so people could see what it was yesterday ,, as for Bloomfield crossing m was there last July , short wheel base cruiser off the edge ,, same thing ,, too deep !!

Neil ..
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 432530   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 22:35

Footloose posted:

Neil, I know that Archer River crossing slightly. And thats as familiar as I'd like to get with it !
I thought that the Bloomfield had a different crossing now ? Sounds like the one I know too well...the only time I re started a diesel engine in the middle....and got away with it. Saw the rising tide, and the croc sign, had the family with me...so I figured it was worth a try.
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 432549   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 07:12

David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along posted:

This vehicle was washed off the casueway- I can't remember the date, but at the height of the flooding on the cape a few weeks ago. It would have been in the water a fair while.

Footy- the Bloomfield does have a new causeway, which take all the fun out of crossing it unless it is flowing fast and deep.
Olsen's 4WD Tours and TrainingOlsen's 4WD Tours and Training
Business Member: My Profile  My Blog
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 176490   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 07:35

Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics replied:

You mean the car was driving across at 1.2 on easter saturday and has been sitting there through a 13m rise in the water and also the bonnet was left up and got ripped of.

IMG src=http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y198/toychevy/dsc00894.jpg

IMG src=http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y198/toychevy/dsc00896.jpg
Weipa Auto ElectricsWeipa Auto Electrics
Business Member: My Profile
Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
Kitesurfing Course Kitesurfing Course
Peel - WA
Kite surfing is the latest extreme sport that is providing an adrenalin rush to anyone who loves the
Byron Bay Day Tour Byron Bay Day Tour
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Head from Brisbane to the world famous surfing town of Byron Bay!
Skydiving - Accelerated Freefall Skydiving - Accelerated Freefall
The Heartlands - WA
The Accelerated Free fall from 14,000ft is your first skydiving experience.
Circus Taster Workshop Circus Taster Workshop
Sunshine Coast - QLD
Is the circus calling you? Join us for a fun time learning the basics of circus skills.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 176491   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 07:36

IMG src="http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y198/toychevy/dsc00897.jpg"
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 176492   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 07:37

I give up trying to post pictures this forum is usless for why cant we just cut and past this????

Reply 6 of 7
FollowupID: 432553   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 07:59

Gramps (NSW) posted:

Here you go Sam

A lot of us have problems with it now and then

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 176530   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 17:54

Redback replied:

Mmmmmm

Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website