Oz tent problems

Submitted: Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 11:15
ThreadID: 35482 Views:39670 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
Gday all

We purchased an Oz tent RV4 last October, The first time we used it we had mild rain overnight and when packing up the next day we discovered water underneath our matress. On closer inspection water was leaking from the top roof seam, To my surprise Oz tent gave us a brand new one no questions asked. The new one leaked in exactly the same position on next use, Oztent took the tent and tested it then replaced with a brand new one again. The third Oztent was from a new batch that had arrived 3 days before our big trip through the centre, which we have just returned from.
To our dismay the velcro tab which holds the framework to the floor ripped on the first night leaving a nice tear in the floor for the next 5 weeks, we also purchased the peak side panels which do not fit correctly, And the condensation on the roof when we were in the simpson was like having a cold shower in the mornings once the sun hit the canvas, This was with the front doors colsed with the vent flaps open.
It has been very dissapointing that such a highly regarded and recomended tent has not performed.
My wife and love the Idea of the RV4 and its versatility but this is getting ridiculous! Oz tent now have our third one back for the repairs on the floor and testing for water entry (condensation?)

After using a touring tent for the pasy 15 years I have never experienced condensation like this, is there any oz tent owners that have experienced this and overcome it?

Any feed back would greatly appreciated.

Reply By: signman - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 11:39

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 11:39
Thanks for your info..
I was going to go and get one later in the week. Had a good look at them at the Sydney 4x4 show, and was impressed. However, if they don't perform 'in the field' we might have to rethink. It was the RV4 model I was looking at too.
Our old touring type tent let us down in Tassie, so it's time to update. However, I note all the new 'touring' type tents don't have the floor wrapping up the wall like our current one. Only about 150mm but enough the keep heavy water out. I think our current one was made in NZ.
Have had a look at Southern Cross...but very pricey!!
AnswerID: 181578

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:33

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:33
I looked at the southern cross as well signman and I found that the Idea of the RV4 seemed more practicle and the awning was great to back the car up to. I dont want to portray that the Oz tent is no good, plenty of people rave about them and I have friends that own them and are 100% happy, but I must admit I am wondering if I would have been better to spend that little bit extra for the southern cross.
FollowupID: 437878

Follow Up By: Member - Clive G (Int) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:43

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:43
Hi signman.
If you are looking for a good replacement for your old NZ made touring tent check out www.kiwicamping.co.nz We have the Resort 129 model and have used it all over Oz both outback and coastal. No leaks or drips in the morning. Because of our climate here those sort of things get sorted very quickly. They dispatch to Aust because I was sent an extra wind break from NZ. Can check out anything you want to know as they are 1 km up road from me though I have no connection to them.
Clive.
FollowupID: 437935

Reply By: marion - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:31

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:31
Hello I am sorry to here about your misfortune.We have had one for 4 years and it has been just wonderful.We did have condensation issue but we bought the fly and have had no worries.Does your side panels zip or velcro? as ours are velcro. We have used ours at least 50 times up Cape York across the Simpson and lots of short and long weekends.
I would contact oztent again and speak to Joe he is the owner designer and he is very helpful I am sure that if he knew about your ordeal he would be upset. Good luck cheers Marion
Talawana
VKS Selcall 2691

AnswerID: 181587

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:46

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:46
Thanks marion

Our side panels have a zip not velcro. The condensation problem we encountered was the roof was wet in the morning when we looked at it, which didnt seem to bad until the sun hit the tent then the water just dripped everywhere. Was your problem similar to this, which the fly that your purchased fixed?
FollowupID: 437880

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:34

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:34
Condensation is a problem in ours too. Sling a light fly over the top to improve things. That also helps with leakage.

They are bulky, but quick and easy. They have their place in the scheme of things.

AnswerID: 181589

Reply By: marion - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:12

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:12
hello again we have the equivalant size to you. We bought the fly to suit our size tent. Yes the problem was the same as you two experienced as soon as the sun came out the drips came down. But!! since the fly we have not had any drips. I found it all on their internet site. www.oztent.com. Hope this helps cheers Marion
Talawana
VKS Selcall 2691

AnswerID: 181607

Reply By: Oz Travellers - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 09:54

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 09:54
We have an OZ tent also. Used it many times and are quite happy with it. I think you will find all tents without a fly will get the condensation problem on the roof at various times.

The only disadvantage we found with the OZ tent is that you need roof racks to carry it. We also have a Coleman tent slightly larger than the Oz tent, but folds up to a smaller lenght to fit inside the wagon. However, the Coleman's awning does not lend itself to easliy attach a side panel.

Now we have 2 tents and a Cavalier Off Road CT.

Sparky
AnswerID: 181732