Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

camper trailers

Submitted: Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:09

The Rambler( W.A.)

I must be getting "soft" in my old age as I have started looking at camper trailers with the view of getting one within the next year.I think I have boiled it down to three.The Pioneer 4x4, the Kimberly Ultimate, and the Adventure 4x4.The Adventure put me off with toomany poles so it seems down to the Pioneer or Kimberly which seem very similar including the price, but the Pioneer is about 200kg lighter which appeals to me especially as the suspension seems spot on.Anyone with the pros. and cons. or other advice would be appreciated.Istill don't like the idea of towing but maybe the old bones need a bit more comfort .

Click Image to Enlarge
Roper Bar crossing
Advertisement
ThreadID: 38209 Replies: 15
Views: 1053 FollowUps: 1
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 197521   Submitted: Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:37

V8Diesel replied:

Just back from a trip around the Yilgarn towing a Pioneer CT.

Quick to set up, virtually dust free, tows very well, no bugs, flies or mossies, heaps of storage that's easy to get to, comfy bed, OK kitchen.........I'm a convert. My swag on the ground will never be the same I'm afraid.

You can hire them for bugger all these days and you'll always have the latest and greatest with no maintenance worries.

Reply 1 of 15
AnswerID: 197528   Submitted: Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:57

Willem replied:

Hey Rambler

How are the new knees progressing. Is the recovery good? Still on crutches?

I opted for a bush trailer with an Oztent for camping. Can also sleep in the truck if I need to. Can't afford them fancy CT's. Anyway the trailer does me.

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

Reply 2 of 15
AnswerID: 197550   Submitted: Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 23:25

The Rambler( W.A.) replied:

Hi Willem,
My recovery on my knees has been amazing and even the surgeon is suprised.Iwas driving after 4 weeks and gave away the crutches at 6 weeks.It's now just over 8 weeks and Ican walk a fair way now.The only downside is I get a bit of pain at night still and have to take a pain killer but other than that I am almost ready to hit the road.The campertrailer has been on my mind for a while but like you I have been very happy with my setup over the years.

Click Image to Enlarge
Roper Bar crossing
Reply 3 of 15
FollowupID: 456076   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 08:09

Willem posted:

Hi Rambler

That is good news. Just wade through the pain. After about 6 months things start to settle down and you will be a new person. You may also experience swelling of your ankles but that will settle down as well. I still think that you were very courageous having both done at the same time.

We are on our way to the Big Smoke(Melbourne) this morning and driving the Softroader(Xtrail) this time while the GQ takes a rest.

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 197562   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 07:13

Kev M replied:

G'day Rambler,

Have you had a look at the Coota Campers?
site link
www.cootacampers.com.au

They are about the same size as a kimberly camper but come in either single or tandem axle.
I was looking at them at the Wauchope show and they looked pretty good when compared to the Kimberly.
From what I can remember the tandems ball weight was about 100kg for a tare weight of around 1500kgs that with the 250l water tank filled.

I have no affiliation with these campers just adding food for thought.

Reply 4 of 15
Activities Index
10 Day Wilderness Camping Tour from Launceston 10 Day Wilderness Camping Tour from Launcesto
Hobart - TAS
Our tours are unique in Tasmania because not only do we take you to the places you have heard about,
Kangaroo Island Personalized 1-Day Escapade Kangaroo Island Personalized 1-Day Escapade
Kangaroo Island - SA
For Wine or Reason specialize in personalized guided Tours, perfect for corporate clients or the ove
Whitsunday Explorer 4 days/3 nights DORM Whitsunday Explorer 4 days/3 nights DORM
The Whitsundays - QLD
Whitsunday Island holiday package including coach and vessel transfers, backpacker accommodation at
Melbourne Shopping Tour - Lanes and Arcades Melbourne Shopping Tour - Lanes and Arcades
Melbourne - VIC
Shopping is a great way to discover Melbourne's style!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 197563   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 07:25

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

Rambler...
we bought an 11 year old Cavalier two years ago and love it! We have just returned from almost 3 weeks of wandering around NSW, the most nights we stayed in one place was 3, mostly we o/nighted. 10 mins of easy set up, although a little longer to fold up in the morning, but we didn't get tired of it. Matter of fact, we both wish we were still out there doing it!

Towing, not a problem, particularly with a turbo fitted to the diesel. I got used to seeing it in the mirrors real quick.

I can't comment on the brands you mentioned, but I can say trailers are worth their money!
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
Reply 5 of 15
AnswerID: 197588   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 09:29

Member - Ian W (NSW) replied:

Hi Rambler,

If you feel that both Campers are pretty much on a par then go for the lighter, by the time you've towed it a coupla thousand k's the 200 kg weight saving will really make a difference.

Don't worry about going "soft", we all get that that stage, at 60 years of age I'm well there. What's the point of a camping trip if your not comfortable and later can't get a good nights sleep. Anyone can be a macho man and be miserable, then expend more effort trying to convince themselves and everyone else that they're having a good time.

Tents and swags are a great way to camp but unfortunately we all of us get to the point where we move on to better things or give camping away.

Reply 6 of 15
AnswerID: 197591   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 09:36

Sand Man (SA) replied:

Rambler,

Another plus for the Pioneer is that they would be about $10,000+ cheaper than the Kimberley.

Have sussed them out myself. I particularly like the standard Argyle model. Just enough Bells & Whistles.

Good luck with your choice.

Click Image to Enlarge
HooRoo !

Reply 7 of 15
AnswerID: 197593   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 09:49

Jimbo replied:

Have you considered a CUB. Hard floor makes setup a breeze and they are very light.

Can't say I've used one myself, but they do look good.

The thing that really impressed me was this; whilst camped along the Murray last week I was chatting to a bloke who had a CUB. "Had it long?" I asked. "About 30 years, it is number 13", he replied.

ATB,

Reply 8 of 15
AnswerID: 197611   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:28

cam_champion replied:

another one to consider, which we have just bought, is a camprite. the set up design allows for a large undercover area without putting up the awning. It will also sleep up to six people inside the camper which is a plus for those of us with young kids

www.campritecampers.com.au
Reply 9 of 15
AnswerID: 197618   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:47

PatrolBen replied:

Considered a TVAN?
They are expensive but extremely capable. My dad paid $35k for one and in two trips to the cape, simmo and tasmania hasn't had a problem. The advantage of these is that the canvas isn't stored over the bedding or your gear so putting it away wet is a non event. Due to its shape wer call it the 'compactor'!!!!!
Also suspension is independant and he was able to have the shocks and springs matched to the tow truck so all spare parts are interchangable. Also matching wheels and tires so again a bonus.
If you wanted to go all out, then there is the Kimberely Kampervan.

Reply 10 of 15
AnswerID: 197624   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:09

Alan H replied:

Hi Rambler.
We've had a Pioneer Argyle for a few months and think it's great. Good to set up/take down, reasonable kitchen and heaps of storage under the bed and in the front boot.
Fit of the canvas could be better as it tends to bag a bit but nothing really bad.
We sold a pop top Windsor Rapid so that we could go further off road and are pleased with our choice and as someone else said, they're far cheaper than some of the others, yet the build quality is still strong and well done and they look good.
I was at Pioneer not long ago and they had an Onyx, their top of the range model, and they were fitting a microwave in the front box and a fridge in the gull wing box!
(Someone needs all the comforts of home so why bother leaving it?)
Whatever you want they can do it and do it well.
Ring Nigel Fleet and chat with him.
I hasten to add I have no affiliation with Pioneer except as a fairly well satisfied customer and as the cook (wife) likes it, the camper must be OK.
Happy travels.
Alan H.
Reply 11 of 15
AnswerID: 197627   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:21

Boxhead replied:

www.aussieswag.com.au/index.html

Click Image to Enlarge
Box
Reply 12 of 15
Activities Index
Melbourne Shopping Tour - Lanes and Arcades Melbourne Shopping Tour - Lanes and Arcades
Melbourne - VIC
Shopping is a great way to discover Melbourne's style!
Full Day Cruise & Scenic Helicopter Flight Full Day Cruise & Scenic Helicopter Flight
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Spend the day cruising around two reef destinations.
Learn To Surf - 2 hours - QLD Learn To Surf - 2 hours - QLD
Gold Coast - QLD
There's only one way to get started with surfing and that's to get in the water!
Kuranda Rainforest Full Day Tour Kuranda Rainforest Full Day Tour
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Tropical North Queensland rainforest is to experience nature at its finest!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 197644   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:49

Richard & Leonie replied:

We have an Aussie Swag Rover Mk2. They are a bit expensive and a bit heavy but are well made and setup. It was the most popular hard floor CT at a recent campertrailer get together at Copeton Dam. After a lot of investigation and talking to owners we short listed the Aussie Swag, the Ultimate, the Cape York and the Kimberley. A friend of a friend had an Ultimate, the suspension collapsed on not too rough a road, Cape York did not answer emails (a problem a few other people have told me they had), the Aussie Swag won on price being about $2000 cheaper than the Kimberley. Initially we crossed out the Kimberley until they put the gull wing doors over the kitchen. I think that improved them no end. After all the options were added the Aussie swag came out on top though. A friend sold theirs recently for basically the same price they paid for it.
Richard (I am 64 and was finding the ground a bit hard and hard to get up from.)
Richard and Leonie, The grey nomads. The afterburner really upsets tailgaters.
Reply 13 of 15
AnswerID: 197654   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 18:45

Darian (SA) replied:

I use a Campomatic - one of the flip-over/hard floor types - been excellent to date and its done some decent hard working trips - ease of setup, and the slide out top quality kitchen are features - 120L of water, 60L of fuel and 8kg of gas are all handy. As you say, the Adventure seems really big - bit like the Trak Shak - made for numbers. The only other one that I have seen working first hand in the field is the KK - a quality built and designed unit overall (better finish than my Campo) - Campomatic are enjoying a "mixed press" at the moment (that's code of course) - some owners seem "less than enthused" (more code)....... the people from Aussie Swag (Noel and Julia) seem good types when I've come across them at the local show - always happy to spend good time with any enquirers - never heard an iffy word about the AS - only praise - and I've seen quite a few in our travels - the most numerous make seen on recent 10k trip to the top end was far and away the KK - hoards of them ! Think of the advantage you can enjoy in spreading your camping load over 6 wheels - the other 4 will enjoy longer, puncture free lives ! And you can carry firewood on the top....... and the bed is great....... and they are wired for 12V and 240V are good in a caravan park.......... I'm finished now - BOL.

Click Image to Enlarge
By the time I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right !
Reply 14 of 15
AnswerID: 197665   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 19:40

mattie replied:

Hi Rambler
don't know anything about the pioneer other than the bed was smaller than the kk, we bought a kk and we had the choice narrowed between the aussie swag and kk both had great things the other didn't, the 3 things that won me over was a queen size bed, resale value and the most important to be considered is the fact that it can be set up to track the same as most of the popular tow vehicles and for an off road trailer should be a big consideration.

Mattie
Reply 15 of 15