Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

off road trailers

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 15:25

Gossy

I am wanting to have an off road trailer (not camper trailer). This is to simply get some stuff out of the car to make room for other things. I don't need a traditional sized trailer so a half sized would do fine. Needs to be off road tough though (shockers etc).
Anyone in Adelaide who sells this type of trailer (or can make one)? Can't seem to find anyone.

Advertisement
ThreadID: 40801 Replies: 11
Views: 2511 FollowUps: 6
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 212870   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 15:53

Member - Michael J (SA) replied:

G'day Gossy,

Try 'Built Tough' in Gawler (not exactly Adelaide, but close)

85223552, have seen some of his trailers and they seem pretty good.

Have a google and check out his site.

I believe he will make what you want.

Not connected at all.....etc etc etc

Michael
Kidson Track 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Kidson Track 2009
Reply 1 of 11
FollowupID: 473064   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:09

Gossy posted:

thanks for that. Will try and get up there tmw. Looks like they will be able to do what I want (if the price is right). Storage at the house is the other reason for wanting a smaller one.
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 473141   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 22:22

SA_Patrol posted:

A mate of mine had his trailer built by them but wasn't very happy with the service, they took 4 weeks longer, they stuffed up with the wheels on his pathfinder it went back 3 times and cost him $600 more because they fitted accessory's that wasn't suitable for offroad.
The after sales service was shocking.
Stay with the local guys, Arrow, Kessners, Universals.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 473169   Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 08:18

Member - Michael J (SA) posted:

Thanks SA_Patrol,

Interesting to hear, as stated I have no connection at all.

Just going on the trailer that my neighbor has.......that I tend to use a fair bit..lol

When I am in the market for one I will be looking around for sure.

Gossy,

Keep us posted on how you go.

Michael
Kidson Track 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Kidson Track 2009
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 212871   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 15:54

Sand Man (SA) replied:

Gossy,

Most of the trailer manufacturers would have off road trailers, but they would normally make a standard size, eg 6'x4'.

You probably wouldn't save much if anything, in having a smaller size custom made.

In the north eastern suburbs there is Kessner Trailers on Mullers Road Greenacres.

Also Modern trailers at Lonsdale or Pooraka.
www.moderntrailers.com.au/off.htm

Heaps of others too, but these two came to mind.

Click Image to Enlarge
HooRoo !

Reply 2 of 11
FollowupID: 473065   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:10

Gossy posted:

tried Kessner but they are on leave at the moment. Will try the others.

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 473082   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:41

Member No 1 posted:

kessner..why would you bother

Click Image to Enlarge
Make love, not war....Hell, do both...GET MARRIED!
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 212878   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:25

Willem replied:

Gossy

I have a Modern Trailer (you already have the link)...they are in Main North Road.

It is a 7x4 chequer plated with long drawbar. It will come with HiLux rims.

I have no issues with the trailer. It tows well.

It was $1850 in October 2005.

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

Reply 3 of 11
AnswerID: 212938   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 21:07

Teeks replied:

Hi Gossy
I have organised a custom made off road trailer, that had a few extras such as extended draw bar, chequer plate storage box on frame, matching landcrusier rims etc from Modern trailers and was very happy with service and price.
They were able to custom make by adapting from their off road trailer, and I just added what extras I wanted.
Teeks
Reply 4 of 11
Activities Index
2 Day Fraser Island - 4WD Adventure Fully Guided 2 Day Fraser Island - 4WD Adventure Fully Gui
Brisbane - QLD
A 2 day tour of Fraser Island.
2hr Spyder Roadster Thrill Ride 2hr Spyder Roadster Thrill Ride
Gold Coast - QLD
What better way to get the adrenaline pumping than on the back of a 1000cc 106BHP powersport monster
Hunter Valley Wineries Tour (299) Hunter Valley Wineries Tour (299)
Sydney - NSW
Visit world acclaimed Australian wines from the vineyards of the rolling hills and valleys of the Hu
Ultimate Thrill Ride - 3 Hot Laps in a WRX STi Ultimate Thrill Ride - 3 Hot Laps in a WRX ST
Gold Coast - QLD
Guaranteed front seat for you in a WRX STi Rally Car !
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 212944   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 21:50

D-Jack replied:

Considered a roof rack/tray with lugguage sack??
Reply 5 of 11
FollowupID: 473451   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 07:57

Gossy posted:

yep already have that. My wife and I prefer to camp in a tent which is quite a large one. This takes up a fairl bit of room in the back. Like most people our car is full fairly quickly including the roof rack. Planning on having a kid next year which means that I will have to put back at least one of the rear seats and therefore lose space. I now also have a kelpie which I would like to take away which also means loss of storage space.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 212977   Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 07:55

cuffs replied:

All Type Trailers
564 Main North Rd Gepps Cross SA 5094
ph: (08) 8262 9511
Can't go wrong build one for me to my specs, wheels needed to be in line with tow vehicle, Treg coupling complete off road.
Reply 6 of 11
AnswerID: 213117   Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 22:04

mattie replied:

try meigel bros at murray bridge

Reply 7 of 11
AnswerID: 213135   Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 23:28

666toy replied:

Just be careful of some companys "off road" trailors as they are nothing more than the standard trailor with 15" wheels & a six stud pattern instead of a 14" ford type with still the same bearings & light duty axle setup
Reply 8 of 11
AnswerID: 213145   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 05:23

Brew69(SA) replied:

Also have a look at RV Trailers on Peacock Road Para Hills West.
Beer is evil.........And i am an evil man.
Reply 9 of 11
AnswerID: 213160   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 07:59

Gossy replied:

thanks everyone for your advice. Will chase all these connections up as I only have one chance to get it right!
Does anyone have any experience (or know of someone) who has a "backtrak" fibreglass offroad trailer?
www.backtrax.com.au
size wise and weight wise this is perfect but not sure about the structural strength. Stoage space at the house is tight which is one of the reasons why I am looking at a smaller trailer.
Reply 10 of 11
AnswerID: 213169   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 08:38

Gossy replied:

whoops, don't worry, I just saw the price!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply 11 of 11