Dreampot cooker. Any good?

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 09:51
ThreadID: 44226 Views:24794 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
Has anyone used one of the dreampot cooking things? If so what did you think of it?
We are pretty lazy cooks on trips and would only consider one if it really saved time when travelling. Chris.

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 10:58

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 10:58
Haven't used one, but have looked at them and decided against.

You could say that you do "save time" while traveling and when you get to your destination, but you "waste time" before you start traveling in starting the cooking process.

The logic is that the meal will be ready for you at the end of the day, but is that important?

I'm never in a hurry after setting up camp and firing up the Cobb, or the Camp Oven, or the Gas Stove, is no bother to us at all. Only takes a bottle of red while waiting and another one with the meal. (Between the two of us of course)

Just my perspective.

AnswerID: 232916

Reply By: Camoco - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 12:49

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 12:49
We have used a couple of dream pots for years now.

We even use them when camping or vanning :)

They take about ten minutes on the cooker then pack it up and take it away wherever you are going to. We use it not so much to save time, but to slow cook without power.
The food tastes great and is cooked well usually. If not quite cooked when you want to eat it, just heat 'er up for a couple of minutes again then Bob's your uncle.

It is amazing just how much heat is retained from so little cooking time.
We actually would use ours at least once a week on average while in the home.

We tend to share meals a bit and also great for morning preparation for that rushed evening meal. It's great to come home to a well cooked hot meal 2 minutes after getting in the door.

We cook meat, spuds, veges, rice & whatever you think of and haven't had a dud yet.

In general a meal takes about 5-10 minutes to prepare (or less if you're not fussy) then pop it on the stove for 10 minutes. Get dressed or pack up the van or tent (whatever), take it off the stove and pack it somewhere. Don't touch it until the evening and bog in.
If your are cooking using a normal process, you take the same prep time, but stand around for ages while it all cooks. swatting flies and mozzies etc. having a beer or two then burning the chops or peas. I know what I would rather do.

PS I have no affiliation with the dream pot mob. (just a growing belly).

Cheers Cam

They aren't cheap though.
AnswerID: 232932

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 15:46

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 15:46
We have stopped at the display at shows for years and always get interested until they mention the price.

Well last year we plonked down the dollars and bought one.

We use it mostly at home on days when we will be out and about during the day and want to come home to a hot dinner with no messing about.

On balance we would not buy one given the chance again. Most of our camp cooking is done in the bedourie's or in the Cobb. We always take the dreampot with us but usually just use the nice stainless pots as billies.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 232971

Follow Up By: ajchome - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 13:35

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 13:35
Hi Pete,

Could you please advise the difference between the Dream Pot and the Cobb. I am interested in the Cobb and was checking it out yesterday - but have heard the Dream Pots are very good also??

Sounded like you have experience with both, please advise what is better for what. We are only just getting back into camping and have two young boys 6 & 7, so appetites are growing.

Ajchome
FollowupID: 494197

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 08:56

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 08:56
Hi Ajchome,

See further down the thread for some very good descriptions of how the dream pot works. Essentially it is like a crock pot without the power supply.

The Cobb is more like a mini Weber that runs off 8-9 heat beads with this sort of result:

!MPG:3!

We like having both along but if we had to choose only one it would be the Cobb without question. See here for more info.

If you buy a Cobb, get the one with the stainless base - it is more robust.

If funds are limited, buy a Bedourie or Hillbilly camp oven and learn how to cook using a fire - the results are excellent and either can also be used as a frying pan.

Pete

FollowupID: 494581

Reply By: live4theweekends - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 18:42

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 18:42
I havent used one personally but have a friend who has one.

She bought it ready for caravanning for a few months but has been using it at home until they go.

She has 5 children all under 12 years old. Normally at home she would prepare dinner in the morning because generally by evening time after running around after the children, running her own business, the house etc etc the energy levels are fading! She thought that with the dream pot she could still prepare the family meals in the morning while they are travelling and dinner would be ready that night. She figures it saves everyone eating noodles, spag on toast etc every night!!

From her report (and I quote) its 'fantastic'. She has made chicken casseroles, silverside, baked custard and all sorts of other things. She was worried she would wear it out before they even got to go on their holiday!!

I would say if you prefer to be organised of a morning and want to be able to relax of an evening without worrying about what to cook then they sound great. I would buy one myself except for the price!

:-)
AnswerID: 232999

Reply By: Member - Ian P (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:39

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:39
Owned one for years,use it all the time,especially at home.Never leave home without it.Great when on the move,for making lunches.I still use my ovens when camping for dinner.Dollar wise,it doesn't matter what it costs,as long as it does what it's suppose to do, and this pot really works.
AnswerID: 233017

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 01:13

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 01:13
Mate I had one for near on 20 years .....I got divorced

AnswerID: 233048

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:33

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:33
G'day

I have had and used my dreampot for a few years now. Usually used when I am travelling - do the dinner (whatever it might be - lamb cassarole is fav) chuck the pot in the Nissan along with everything else and drive away. get to destination 5 - 6 hours later, set up camp and sit down for drinkies and dinner while the rest of the mob are thinking about what to have for dinner.

i also have a Cobb - gets used heaps (rolled roast and vegs tonight) but different use from the dreampot.
Would not be without either
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 233101

Reply By: li'l rusty - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 18:47

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 18:47
Think of the dreampot as a portable crockpot. It works best as a slow cooker and cooks great stews and corned beef. We don't leave on longer trips without it. After a day's driving we can look forward to an easy meal. Dessert or rice can be cooked at the same time.

It also has multiple uses. We store up to 7 cans that have been chilled in the Engel in the dreampot and it keeps cold for several hours like an esky-frees up the Engel for more cans. Can also be used to keep food hot eg hot BBQ chook or cooked steaks on the BBQ. We have used it to make mulled wine in winter and kept it warm in the dreampot.The saucepans are useful for cooking on the stove and we use the unit like a table to support a plate of nibbles.

We also use a COBB and campoven for roasts and direct cooking, but the dreampot is great in other ways. We are very happy with our purchase.
AnswerID: 233178

Reply By: rossbarb - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:01

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:01
Hi Chris ,
I actually have a dream pot but I also have a thermos brand thermo cooker which i bought because i loved the dream pot but found i was not good at sticking around and stirring so things used to stick on the bottom. The thermo pot has much better quality saucepan thingos and food doesnt stick actually the one i bought has two saucepan/billy thingos and now i only take the thermo cooker as the saucepans are so good i use those for saucepans for everything. I am not related or anything to the people that have the franchise for these but as it is made by thermos i feel the quality is so much superior I have a dream pot now sitting in the cupboard not being used there is a website the address is www.thermalCookware.com ihope this helps barbara
AnswerID: 233308

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 14:05

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 14:05
Sounds like posh variants of the age-old strawbox cooking method.

www.lostvalley.org/haybox1.html

AnswerID: 233333

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 08:45

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 08:45
Exactly Mike, but a strawbox is not nice and shiny!

Pete

FollowupID: 494577