Windsor rapid

Submitted: Monday, May 07, 2007 at 22:26
ThreadID: 45200 Views:13036 Replies:11 FollowUps:17
reading answers from another post it made me think about the ability of the Windsor rapid off road van (471) i know it is not an alterian van and nor is it marketed as one but i am very interested in how robust these vans are and where people have taken them without damaging them.

Reply By: disco1942 - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 01:19

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 01:19
I think they make rugged road versions - check them out with an agent. If Windsor do not make them, other manufacturers make similar things that are ruggedised.

AnswerID: 238518

Reply By: Old Gold - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 09:37

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 09:37
G'Day Chips. I have a Windsor Rapid but not the off road version, according to the the agent where i purchased it he told me the off road and on road are the same apart from the suspension of course.All fixtures such as cupboards and what not are secured to the main frame of the van and not just bolted,screwed or riveted to the floor.

Cheer's
AnswerID: 238539

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 10:26

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 10:26
Hi chips59

I had a Rapid and proably pushed it to its limits. I eventually sold it after having to re-clad both sides and replace the awning after ripping it off on tracks it was simply to big for. Apart from the cosmetic damage, it handled it really well with no problems to cupboards etc (except where the branch pierced into the van!).

I have had it bogged in dry creeks, sand tracks etc... and taken ot many miles of corrugations ad the only issue was a light fitting unscrewed once and another time I forgot to lock the fridge closed(that was an issue!).
!MPG:3!
I reckon the Rapid Offroad will be able to go weherever you can take it. At the end of the day, it is simply too big for 'real" offroad tracks and is why I changed over to a Camprite camper trailer.

AnswerID: 238541

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 15:32

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 15:32
Hey Captain,

My wife would love one of the Windsor Rapids. Are they the ones with the Solid Wall that makes the Roof, rather then , the Canvas Roof (I think thats the Jayco Expanda)
FollowupID: 499658

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 16:01

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 16:01
Hi flappa,

Yep, thats the one! As far as I know, the Rapid is the only "hard roofed" expanding end bed van. Can thoroughly recommend them.

FollowupID: 499662

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 09:33

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 09:33
Hi Cap,

Yeah, my wife is real keen on one. We have looked at both the Jayco Expanda & Rapid, and like the Rapid more. Having spent a fair amount of time under canvas , I think I would prefer a solid roof when sleeping.

I understand that you can/could use the van comfortably without the need to lower the Beds. Is that correct ?

We are undecided about whether to get a Bed at either end , although there will only be 2 of us , or just a One end bed. If the other bed could be left up , out of the road , and only used when needed , it may be better to have the 2 beds.
FollowupID: 499805

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 09:49

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 09:49
Hi Flappa,

When using the van for lunch stops, we virtually never raised the roof or opened the beds. About the only thing we did was roll out the awning and sit outside when the scenery was nice. You have full access to the table/fridge/sink etc and only have to stoop down if taller than 5'8".

While you only need 1 bed, I would go the 2. Never know when you may want to take along friends and also will help down the track with re-sale. And you don't have to open the other bed up, but it would be handy for a throw down area if you were staying somewhere for a while.

FollowupID: 499809

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 10:56

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 10:56
Hey Cap,

Thanks.

Thats what I was wondering, whether the bed needed to come down , or you could work around it.

Probably go the 2 beds.

FollowupID: 499817

Reply By: colanjen - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 19:34

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 19:34
Hi Chips,
I have an off road Windsor Rapid and have done thousands of ks on corrugated roads and alpine tracks. I have to be careful that i research tracks that the van will make it thruogh due to it's size. I have had to upgrade the springs as the seven leaf ones have collpsed due to the hard work i have done. Overall i am rapt with the van and will be tackling more remote tracks in the future but always being mindful of it's limitations (size and weight)
Regards from Col
AnswerID: 238635

Follow Up By: chips59 - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 20:11

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 20:11
im sorry if i gave the wrong impression but i already have a windsor rapid offroad and am very happy with it, but reading another post where it was said they would not take a van like the rapid over the back track from stuart h/way to chambers pillar as it was to rough. this made me think about the limitations of this van. i have towed this van all the way in and out of davenport creek near ceduna which i thought was a mean feat, (if i say so my self) i was surprised how easy it towed on the sand and over the sand hills.
FollowupID: 499709

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 09:44

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 09:44
I had a 9 leaf pack in my Rapid and it seemed up to the task. The weakest link was the tyres, only had "P" rated and not "LT". But luckily enough I never had a tyre puncture in the 4 years I had it.

FollowupID: 499806

Reply By: colanjen - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 20:39

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 20:39
I was also contemplating taking the van from Oodnadatta through to Mt Dare and then onto Finke and Maryvale. I was then going to leave it there and go into Chambers Pillar, camp overnight and return to the van. I have driven there 8 years ago and the only dificulty i may have with the van from Maryvale was some bulldust holes, but by memory, we would have no other problems towing the rapid in but conditions could be quite different now. I was planning this trip in late August. Previously i went in by approaching the Pillar by the Hugh River Stock Route to Maryvale.
It would be interesting for Windsor Rapid (off road suspension) owners to let people know where they have taken their vans, so others would know where they could possibly go in the future.
I'm willing to say where iv'e been and would be interested in other trip reports as well so i can have confidence in tackling tracks knowing that Rapids have made it through.
Regards from Col
AnswerID: 238662

Follow Up By: chips59 - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 20:54

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 20:54
the Hugh river stock road was the one i was talking about, did you take your rapid on this road/track? i went all the way up the oodnadatta track to fink, Maryvale station then onto Alice two years ago and had no problems. the road from Hamilton station to the springs was a bit rough though. could not go to chambers pillar because the road was closed.
FollowupID: 499727

Reply By: colanjen - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 21:23

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 21:23
I've only had my van 3 years so no i didn't tow my van down the Hugh River Stock Route. My recollections of that track are that we would have no problems in taking our rapids through there, but conditions may have changed. The track from Maryvale into the Pillar was a more dificult one than the Hugh River track but could still be done, towing our Rapids, maybe!
This unknown factor is that we are the only ones who know our vans capabilities but the track conditions are unknown to us and it is dificult to compare to others we may have conquered.
It is good for me to see you have towed from Oodnatta through to the Alice as i was concerned about that track. Was it very sandy and did you have to lower tyre pressures etc.
Regards from Col
AnswerID: 238686

Follow Up By: chips59 - Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 21:50

Tuesday, May 08, 2007 at 21:50
first i never went over 80ks the whole length of the track, the best part was from lyndhurst to maree, then dropped tyres down to30psi. went through from finke to Mary vale one week after the finke races so it was really chopped up. dropped tyres down to 25psi and kept to 60kph or lower in low four. yes very sandy. i think the biggest problem is trying to get to the speed where the car and van kinda float across the sand if you know what i mean. the corragations are a problem.
FollowupID: 499748

Reply By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 07:47

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 07:47
Hi all I have noticed allot of you guys are not mentioning van size and tow vehicles
I'm very interested because I have just bought a new 14.6 rapid ATV ( dealer will not commit to saying off road or 4wd pack ) tow 4b 100 ser T/D I'm keeping an ear out for any minor faults I have been told by another owner that the rear bar is too flimsy for dirt tracks and that his and his mates both gave them trouble his sheared the bolts holding the rim and his mate broke the weld on the u bolt under the van as it was tack welded to the chassis, all that I have done to mine is change from a twin 4 kg gas bottle set up to a single 9 kg even though the dealer said it cant be done because there was no clearance so is there any other mods other than what I have mentioned that we all should watch out for ( oh watch out for the A/C holes in floor under van no protection from stray rocks to radiator thingo)

Regards J,B.
AnswerID: 238752

Follow Up By: chips59 - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:04

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:04
HI JOHNNY BOY, I HAVE THE 14.6 ATV ALSO and tow with 2000 gu 4.2td wagon. i have replaced the rear bar with a new set up that holds the 3kva gen set and extra wheel, this raises and lowers as needed by an electric winch. i have moved the gas bottles to each side and fitted an aluminum box in the centre. changed the jockey wheel to a swing up, added another 80 water tank and water gauge. fitted two 100amp batteries in aluminum boot. fitted 3 stage battery charger, fitted 1000w inverter, replaced water pump with larger one, converted lighting to led, glass partition between stove and bed, fitted sky light, dvd, tv and cd/radio, two 9 inch electric fans over beds done other stuff but just minor. cheers chips.
FollowupID: 499918

Reply By: colanjen - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 18:43

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 18:43
G/day again,
Some details about my rig. I have a 14' 6" Windsor Rapid with off road suspension. Modifications i have done are as follows, 9kg and 4.5 kg gas bottles, twin 60 litre water tanks with an additional 35 lt tube tank fitted between the bumper and van, (bumper eased further out to accommadate tube) I've replaced 7 leaf springs with 8 leaf as 7 collapsed. I've raised by 50mm the two rear stabilizer stays to give greater ground clearance. Solar power system, twin panels and deep cycle batteries. Cooper ATR 265/75x16 tyres These were the same size and stud pattern as my vehicle but as i'm about to upgrade my car in the next month, which will then have 18" tyres. Internal mods are plenty with pot and clothes drawers tv/dvd cd stereo etc etc. I currently have a NP (2003) petrol/gas Pajero which i will be trading in on a NS turbo diesel/gas as the NP was under powered to pull the van in the rugged areas that i go. I'm rapt in the van and internally everything is as new even though i've taken the van to places that most people would not take a off road van of this size.

with regards from Col,
AnswerID: 238857

Follow Up By: chips59 - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:18

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:18
hi colanjen, these solar panels you have are they the 80 watt ones? and with all your mods, what is the wait now and is it still under the 1600kg.
FollowupID: 499924

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:52

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:52
Hi Col
Just a bit confused did you put 16 " wheels under your 14.6 atv as I asked that at the dealers when we we sorting it all out and they said it wont fit ?? so PLEASE !!! tell me more as I want to have all 100 ser rims ??

Regards J.b
FollowupID: 500336

Follow Up By: colanjen - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:04

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:04
Hi J.b
When i ordered my rapid i believe it came with 15" rims and as i had 16" on my pajero i requested 16" and with the same stud pattern etc. They said no worries and just did it. Looking underneath at the wheel arch etc there is heaps of room. There is no reason why they couldn't fit 16s.
Hope this helps,
Kind regards from Col
FollowupID: 500362

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:52

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:52
Hi again Col
sorry to be a pest and ask you all these questions but would you mind telling me if you have an axle or shocks and swing arms with leaves ( independent ) and also what year model is your van as mine is an 06 and I want to ask them if they have changed anything ??

Regards J.B
FollowupID: 501109

Reply By: colanjen - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:43

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:43
I recently had my van weighed on a weigh bridge while it was still hooked up on the car. The car was off the scale so we measured just the weight of the van over the wheels/suspension. Everything was loaded to the hilt (full water tanks etc) and the weight came in at 1600kgs give or take 10 kgs. I then went back to the manufacturer of the chasis who then suggested the 8 leaf spring. Yes i'm probably heavier than the standard Rapid but it gives me the versatility to go bush for longer and some of the other mods keeps the better half happier. The exact size of my solar panels i would have somewhere but by memory they were roughly twin 80s or there abouts. They produce heaps of juice, my sound system has a 300 watt amplifier with a 12 stacker cd with 6 internal and two external speakers and with all the other crap, sorry, gizmo's i always have power to burn even after prolonged overcast conditions.
Regards from Col
AnswerID: 238910

Reply By: colanjen - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 21:35

Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 21:35
Hi chips59, again,
What type of hitch do you have. On previous van i had a tregg hitch but found it a pain to line up on occasions so now have just a standard coupling. I figure the size of our vans will limit access to the really dificult places where the better hitch would be required. Whats your, or any body elses opinion ?
Regards Col.
AnswerID: 238935

Follow Up By: slush - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 16:09

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 16:09
i have the standard hitch but have been testing the 2.5tonne hyland hitch for the last few months. i use four different trailers at work and could change from any one of them to another several times a day so i want to stay with the 50mm ball.
so far am happy with the hyland hitch.
FollowupID: 500112

Follow Up By: chips59 - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:27

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:27
hi colanjen, just have the standard hitch as well, do a search on hyland hitch, it looks the go. slush, is it easy to put on and off and does it come in a 3500kg as that's whats on my van?
FollowupID: 500174

Reply By: colanjen - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 17:35

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 17:35
Hi Slush,
I hope i'm not showing to much ignorance here but what is a hyland hitch ?
Regards Col
AnswerID: 239099

Follow Up By: slush - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:21

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:21
its a hitch like the treg block but uses a 50mm ball instead of a pin and rotates 360deg
FollowupID: 500173