Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Bugs and lights. Arrrrr

Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 09:56

Scoof

We camped at Canarvon Gorge (Takarakka) a month or so back, we were amazed at the camp kitchen there were 4 fluro lights 2 white and 2 yellow.
The yellow lights had no bugs around them.The white fluro's were loaded with every bug known to man kind.(almost)
Also all the campers with gas lights had no bugs.(lucky Buggers)
We all had 12volt lights and were swamped with bugs.
Had to sit around in the dark.(probably a good thing after a couple)
Now can you buy a 12 volt yellow light because we reckon that would be the ant's pants.!!

Happy bug free camping,
Scoof
Back to Forum
Thread Watch Alert Moderator FAQ
ThreadID: 51195 Replies: 9
Views: 927 FollowUps: 8
Thread Summary
AnswerID: 269693   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 10:46

Member - Brian (WA) replied:

I got a can of Yellow spray paint from Bunnings and sprayed the
glass. Worked well enough for me not to moan when cooking and
I have 3 which I take. cheers Brian
Ready to leave
Click Image to Enlarge
camp
Reply 1 of 9
FollowupID: 532577   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 12:14

Johnnotoo posted:

I wrap gasfitters yellow tape around the neon tube in my 12 volt light.

Works very well.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 269712   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 13:06

AdlelaideGeorge replied:

I bought a $2:00 packet of yellow cellophane from Spotlight and wrapped that around the fluro - it seemed to keep the bugs away when we used it in the boat at Goolwa.

Happy days

George
Reply 2 of 9
AnswerID: 269723   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 14:02

madcow replied:

These guys sell them for a versa light at $8 each and work well.

http://www.4x4equip.com.au/listProduct/Camping+Accessories/Yellow+Light+Filters

can vouch for their effectiveness
Reply 3 of 9
FollowupID: 532703   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 22:36

Member - Scoof (SA) posted:

Hey thanks madcow, I'm going to get me a couple, excellent site.

Scoof.. :-)

Click Image to Enlarge
Sometimes I wonder
Why is the frisbee getting bigger and bigger ?
Then it hits me!
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 533483   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 06:45

madcow posted:

I've bought a few things off them now and am happy with their products. They certainly have a few good ideas especially the freestanding pole which i find surprising no one thought of one earlier.

cheers Dave
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 269724   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 14:08

Member - Jeff H (QLD) replied:

Scoof, a piece of yellow rubbish bag works a treat.
(No you silly bugger, don't hang it in a tree; wrap it around your fluoro).
Cheers eh.
Jeff.

Click Image to Enlarge
Nature's extravagance, Holland Track.
Oct '08
Reply 4 of 9
Activities Index
Great Barrier Reef and Introductory Scuba Dive Great Barrier Reef and Introductory Scuba Div
Cairns and Tropical North Queensland - QLD
Experience the marine life of the Great Barrier Reef by joining our Seawalker Helmet Diving adventur
1 Day Kings Canyon Full Day Tour  Y19 1 Day Kings Canyon Full Day Tour Y19
Ayres Rock and Uluru - NT
Travel with AAT Kings from Ayers Rock Resort to Kings Canyon Resort, stopping for breakfast at Kings
Story Bridge Climb - Brisbane Story Bridge Climb - Brisbane
Brisbane - QLD
Join us for the most exciting, new experience in Brisbane.
Boat Hire - Half Cabin - Full day Boat Hire - Half Cabin - Full day
Gold Coast - QLD
Skipper your own half cabin cruiser on the beautiful Gold Coast Broadwater.
Man from Snowy River - luxury 2 day horse ride Man from Snowy River - luxury 2 day horse rid
Mansfield and High Country - VIC
High country horse ride in the Man from Snowy River country with overnight luxury accommodation at t
Island Life Complete Body Treatment for 1 Island Life Complete Body Treatment for 1
Blue Mountains - NSW
Enjoy a full body exfoliation with our wonderful frangipani salt polish followed by a frangipani mud
Flinders Ranges 4 Day Farm Adventure Flinders Ranges 4 Day Farm Adventure
Bourke and Outback NSW - NSW
Why not experience our 4 day tour in a small personalised group with spectacular scenery.
Weekday Tandem Beach Skydive with DVD and photos Weekday Tandem Beach Skydive with DVD and pho
Sydney - NSW
Take a skydiving experience and feel the thrill of the fall - attached to a tandem instructor, all y
Skywalk Experience Skywalk Experience
Sydney - NSW
Experience stunning views for miles as you climb to the top of Sydney Tower, the tallest building in
Pub Lunch Trike Ride for 2 Pub Lunch Trike Ride for 2
Sunshine Coast - QLD
What a great day!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 269750   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 18:33

shepo replied:

we were in the same situation a few years ago at innaminka with our fluro lights, since then we use head torches which are great , your hands are free[ if using hand held torches are not] also the light is directed to where you are looking, the ambience is much better [ better view of the stars] we usually have a fire going so only use the head torches for food prep & eating, less hassel charging lots of batteries the aaa's last forever . it surprises me at times the amount of lighting some camp sites have,[ must be scared of the dark]
cheers shep
Reply 5 of 9
FollowupID: 532666   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 20:39

Member - Duncs posted:

Must be good head lights if you can use them to see the stars :-)

Sorry but I am a dad.

I won't be offended if you don't laugh, my kids wouldn't

Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 269755   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 18:53

Member - Doug T (Qld) replied:

What colour are indicator lights !!!!!
Dusty
Click Image to Enlarge
My sadly Missed Mate
Dusty, 8/6/96 - 20/1/10
Reply 6 of 9
FollowupID: 532633   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 18:55

Member - Doug T (Qld) posted:

What colour are cheap Chinese Fog lights !!!!!
Dusty
Click Image to Enlarge
My sadly Missed Mate
Dusty, 8/6/96 - 20/1/10
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 269766   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 19:43

Sand Man (SA) replied:

Yellow coloured lights to limit the attraction of insects is nothing new.
I'm surprised you are so amazed.

Bear in mind though that the application of a yellow filter, whether it be by paint, cellophane, or any other method, will also reduce the light output.

I discovered by accident that LED lights, even though they are a white colour, do not attract insects to anywhere near the same level.

My 12 volt 60 LED "magic wand" is used near the cooking area of my camper and I have experienced very little problem from insects.

The versalite generally is at the other end of the annex and attracts its fair share of insects, depending on location, conditions, etc.

Oh, and by the way, when I used to use a gas powered lantern, it attracted the same quantity of insects as the vesalite. In the morning it was unbelievable to see the amount of dead carcasses around and on the lantern. So the gas lantern is not the answer.

Yellow filters is one solution.
In my own experience, LED lighting is another very good solution.

I also have a head mounted lamp which I use on occasions. This contains LED's and again I have not experienced a problem with insects being attracted by the light.

Therefore, I have found no need to "disguise" the light output of the versalite fluro.

Click Image to Enlarge
HooRoo !

Reply 7 of 9
FollowupID: 532656   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 19:59

Member - Nutter (QLD) posted:

Totally agree Sand Man, the LEDs do not seem to attract bugs

Nutter
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 532702   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 22:24

Member - Scoof (SA) posted:

I know it's not something new but when the same shed had 2 of each type in it to see the difference so close together was good .

Also we stopped taking gas lanterns years ago because the mantels break and they seam to attracked the bugs just as much, but at Takarakka the gas lanterns were as good as the yellow fluro's.

Might try the LEDs.

Scoof

Click Image to Enlarge
Sometimes I wonder
Why is the frisbee getting bigger and bigger ?
Then it hits me!
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 269795   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 20:43

Member - Duncs replied:

Thanks for that Sand Man,

Another reason to go chasing some LED's.

We were camped years ago near the Palmer River in FNQ. As it started to get dark we lit a citronella candle to help keep the bugs away.

Talk about bees to a honey pot. The bugs were so thick on the candle that they nearly smothered it.

Thankfully we managed to keep them out of the Trak Shak. An early night was the only solution.

Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
Reply 8 of 9
AnswerID: 271468   Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 11:38

Member - Mainey (wa) replied:

Scoof,
Have a good look at the "Energiser" Led light head light ( $39 ?? )

They give you the choice of either white or red coloured leds in the same lamp, the red led is fantastic for cooking because it won't attract the bugs, and then you can just switch to the white for reading etc.
They are small and compact lights and easy to wear, you are always looking where the light is shining, because it's worn on the head.
Old & New Solar technology side by side
Click Image to Enlarge

* To check-out how SÔLAR PÔWER & ¹² Vølt Batteries will work *

click-> "My Profile"
below

Reply 9 of 9
FollowupID: 534510   Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:44

Scoof posted:

Hi Mainy, Yeh I have the same light you are on about but the red light is not that good.
Everything looks under cooked with the red light , LOL.

Did you have a look at the web site some posted a link to, it has yellow filters for the lead lights , thats the way I'am going.

No more *%$#@ BUGS

Cheers Scoof.. :-)
FollowUp 1 of 1