Submitted: Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 10:29
Footloose
Ten metres from where I sit typing this, is a dry
creek bed that’s overgrown. It’s part of my front “yard”. This morning I saw the second snake there that I’ve seen in a week. So what ?
Well I haven’t had many snakes here in years, in fact I can only remember two in twenty years. Mind you, one was a king brown that wanted to
camp on the verandah.
At ten metres my vision isn’t good enough to identify the species, and I leave them alone to do their thing, so I don’t know what type of snake it was.
But there’s definitely more snakes around here at the moment.
Now I’m a noisy camper when by myself in the scrub. And it’s intentional. I haven’t come across too many snakes out there.
So take care when traveling, especially if you have dogs or children with you.
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 10:37
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 10:37
I knew there was a snake around, by the change in a particular bird's "tweeting"...they were alarmed also !
Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 11:00
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 11:00
I have a grass 'perimeterr' around my house- I consider my domain. The rest of the paddock- snakes & other nastys are free to roam.
BUT- as soon as they cross into my domain, I make no apologies about introducing them to the .410.
Mainly Tigers & browns, a few big blacks & the occasional copperhead.
Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 13:16
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 13:16
Signman If you leave the blacks alone, they will keep the tigers and browns away as trhey will eat them if they get the chance. And at lest you can see them
Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:29
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:29
Bloody hell Signman
You live in a very snakey environment. And all friendly varieties! :-)
Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 11:33
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 11:33
Yes I have seen plenty this year. Also plenty of flys around and they bother me more.!
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:18
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:18
snakes wont bother you unless you try and pick them up
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:26
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:26
Or you accidently tread on them, or you accidently disturb them and make quick movements close to them.
That picture is nasteee. Hope it wasn't you in it...
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:26
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:26
Nice one Davoe ( the snake I mean) Take care of the bite. I have one on my toe from a waqter dragon that has taken about 11 mths to heal. I got it infected.
Vince
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:32
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:32
Vince thanks for posting that. I have a few around here, and I'll give em a wide berth too !
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:46
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:46
There was a funny story behind the bite.
We had been swimming in the river and got out to have a beer.
The mate that was with me is a keen photographer and was trying to get a close up of the Dragon. As soon as he got closer than about 1.5 m, the dragon would move another metre away.
I was just sitting at the table with beer in hand watching. When the mate gave up on the close up's, he returned to his beer.
A few min later I asked where the dragon had dissapeared to. His statement was that it was most likely sneaking up on us for a close up. With the words just out of his mouth the &*^@% thing latched on to my toe and heard on.
We both rolled around that much that both beers were knocked off the table.
When I got home a few days later, I was logging the trip on the computer and there on the map were the words "here be Dragons" The mate still reckons he did not enter it.
Vince
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:48
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:48
yes footy that was yesterday i usually take more care because he gets reeely hungry after i come back from work
it wasnt an aggresive bite but rather a food response. he let go straightaway and i handled him afterwards with no worries
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:28
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:28
Davoe, you'd know this. Years ago I was told that snakes don't like to cross a rope as they don't like the feel of it .
Old wives tale or any truth ?
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:00
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:00
Almost certainly old wives tale
- i will try and test it
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:05
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:05
Hmmm now that im thinking about it all small animals will upon reaching a
boundary follow it. this is the basis of pit traps for fauna surveys. A large rope would possibly act as a bit of a barrier and they may not necc go over but rather followthe
boundary
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:14
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:14
Davoe, that sounds right. Old bushie I knew as a kid said he always put a rope right around his tent...may have been something in it I guess.
Follow Up By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 20:32
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 20:32
You will probably find that the rope will need to be an old Hempen rope as the modern poly rope is too slippery, the theory being that the Hempen rope is Hairy and the animals do not like getting there bellies tickled.
Well I think that sounds reasonable!!!
eerfree
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:34
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:34
Footy,
You need to be more prepared mate.
Haven't you got a pair of binoculars and a snake reference manual???
Noisy Camper........You don't suffer from flatulence do you:-))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:12
Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:12
Not unless the baked beans was the last can in the cooks repertoire :))
Naah, walk with stick thumping on ground if the situations sus. Have radios turned on for company. Swear at dill who packed the back (me !)when unloading etc etc .