Cape York Trip Planning - Jul 2009

Submitted: Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:42
ThreadID: 61305 Views:11332 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
G'day all.

Joined back up again in preparation for a trip to Cape York next year.

Its going to be a quick one. 4 Weeks Melbourne - Melbourne.

Initial plan is to drive to Cairns in 5-7 days. Pick up rest of family (who will fly up) 2 Weeks to the tip and back to Cairns then 1 week back to Melbourne.

I'm interested in thoughts from those who have done the trip on what the must sees are.

Also any "wish I'd known that" tip for first time yorkers.

Thanks heaps.

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:52

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:52
G'day Gazza,

Mate, all of that (and some more) at our trip report

Check the slideshow, do's and don'ts, also track files and fuel usage

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

AnswerID: 323340

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:18

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:18
Great read I wont need to go again LOL.
Just and Interesting thing those signs the one of gun shot we did those about 10 years ago.
The sign that reads Sheldon lagoon just after cockatoo is named after peters boy and was put up 13 years ago and now the place is know as Sheldon lagoon.

FollowupID: 590431

Follow Up By: Voxson - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:58

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:58
Yes,, and walk down to the edge and sit down while you eat your morning tea and watch what happens... LOL.....
FollowupID: 590449

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 06:00

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 06:00
Voxson we always stop and have a look there's heaps of them.

FollowupID: 590486

Follow Up By: Voxson - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 11:51

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 11:51
The Cape is just so great...
FollowupID: 590519

Reply By: Member - Mark R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:10

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:10
We did the trip in 2007 with 2 cars with offroad trailers. We left from Brisbane up to up the coast & back through Karumba,Lawn Hill & Mt Isa. Our trip was for 9 weeks with 5 weeks from Cairns to Karumba & still didn't see everything. You just need to work out what you would like to see & go for it. You won't be disappointed. regards Mark R
AnswerID: 323377

Reply By: Ford_Rodeo - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 07:48

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 07:48
We have done Cape last 4 years from Melb and agree that it doesnt matter where you go, you will enjoy it. Heeeeeeeeaps to see. Unfortunate that you only have 4 weeks. We generally take 2-3 months. 5-7 days to Cairns? I drive to Townsville in 2 days, but thats not easy driving, as I've seen all on that trip many times.

Enjoy

Phill
AnswerID: 323398

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 08:41

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 08:41
I hope you use more than one driver.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 590497

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 08:55

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 08:55
Our Melbourne to Melbourne trip via the Tip took 21 nights
and we felt we had a good look at most things and did many of the 4wd tracks - mind you we didn't like some places like chilli beach and only spent 15 minutes there as it was wet and miserable.

Other places like the sixth beach on the five beaches run had us worried about sinking in the sand and all in all it was a very memorable trip.

To make it work though we had to do 3 * 1000km days up and back which were long days as we stick to 100

One of the things we remeber most was jumping into the river at Elliot falls from the bank about 10-15ft above.

NIGHT PLACE ACCOMODATION
1st Goondiwindi 5pm (Unit in caravan park)
2nd Mackay 8pm unit Tropical c/park Gps approx.
3rd Cairns 6pm Unit Mindar caravan park
4th Cairns Still at MINDAR caravan park
5th Ayton Unit-no facilites bloomfield C/Park
6th Starke river Bush tent at dry Stacke river
7th Cooktown Unit caravan park
8th Coen Tent Coen camp area in town ($9)
9th Dulhunty River Bush tent edge of river
10th Elliot Falls Tent @ camp area (honesty box $6)
11th Punsand Bay Tent in Camp ground $9/night
12th Punsand Bay Tent Camp ground $9/night
13th Wenlock River Bush Tent edge of river
14th Pascoe River Bush Tent in River Bed
15th Palmer river Tent in roadhouse camp area
16th Cape tribulation Tent in PKS caravan park $12/nite
17th Cairns Tent in Coconut Resort c/park
18th Cairns Tent in Coconut Resort c/park
19th Emerald Tent in caravan park
20th Goondiwindi again same place VAN-01
21th Narrandra Tent in caravan park
Home @ Melbourne Saturday 5th Oct 2002

AnswerID: 323409

Reply By: Captain Sparkles-Paula D (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 15:36

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 15:36
We've just come back from a scout tour of the cape (a quick trip to see whats up there , next time take our friends) 17 days ,6500 km trip.
Did the OTL northbound, camped at Loyalty Beach, went to the tip had a good look around. Leave all the touristy things til next time eg; Thursday Island, Helicoptor ride to view the cape.
The best time camping on the way up & back at all the campgrounds attached to the roadhouses.
Fruitbat Falls was absolutely beautiful. Bypass road in fairly good condition due to the graders doin some work at that time.
Fellow travellers who we met on the way up said the bypass was in a mess,can change if you strike it at the right time.
We were travelling in a 4wd with roof top tent,made it so much easier than having to tow a trailer.

AnswerID: 323454

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 16:26

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 16:26
I'd be planning 3 days up and 3-4 days back from cairns so you can spend another week up top.

Leroy
AnswerID: 323465

Reply By: Member - OzGazza - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 08:53

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 08:53
Thanks heaps everyone - good info.
AnswerID: 323583

Reply By: Scorcher - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 10:41

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 10:41
Hey OzGazza,

Have a squiz here...http://www.capeyorker.com/

We've got a pretty good little forum happening on this site, chatting about "All Things Cape York" !!

Scorcher
AnswerID: 323601