Cast Iron Camp Ovens

Hi there
Looking at getting a camp oven and just wanting to know what is a good brand .Looked at Furphy which are double the weight and price-not sure of other brands.
HK

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 14:39

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 14:39
I have a couple, they are just your ordinary camping store no name variety and they work just fine. You have to cure them before use and look after them a bit, but ours have had plenty of use and rough travelling with no problems.

Val

AnswerID: 438959

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 14:46

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 14:46
Totally agree with above, think ours cost something like $30+ when we purchased it some years ago.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 710775

Follow Up By: wato35 - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:34

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:34
I agree with this as well. I brought a couple of ovens for about $25 & $30 (different sizes). No problems with either, they travelled all the way around Aust. Still cooking great roasts.
Wato
FollowupID: 710778

Reply By: Member - Richard L (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:12

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:12
Ours came from Ray,s cost very little, we use them all the time together with a frying pan which comes with a stand to swivel the pan over the fire. Don't know what brand they are. We ( the wife ) are starting to get more adventurous with the meals we cook, but still have a few mishaps! The hardest part is judging the temperature. Don't like to cook in the trailler it creates to much of a smell, and mess
AnswerID: 438961

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:28

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 15:28
We used the cast iron ovens for years, then we got the hillbillly spun steel oven. We found them brilliant. Can cook in them with just a few heat beads on top or coals from the fire. They don't use as many coals to cook and weigh hardly anything. Recently we cooked a lamb roast in ours on a wet day by putting it under a piece tin we found in the bush. We had heat beads on top and the roast was perfect. They also have a vegie ring in the top. You can cook heaps of stuff in them, Have a look here...http://www.campingwithhillbilly.com/products.htm
I know some people will only use "real" camp ovens but we found these excellent and reduces weight with no risk of cracking them on bumpy roads.
Just an idea, I don't have many ideas so value this one lol.

Josh
AnswerID: 438963

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 17:23

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 17:23
We did the same, Hillbilly is excellent
FollowupID: 710783

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:21

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:21
Yep, us as well.

The lighter weight, versatility and flexibility of the spun steel Hillbilly leaves all others for dead.

The Hillbilly IS a real camp oven.
I have a Bedourie (spun steel) and a Furphy (cast iron) somewhere in the shed.
Haven't used them since I "discovered" the Hillbilly.

If you choose the Hillbilly, select the Bush King (larger one) and you wont be sorry.

Hillbilly Products

Bill.

FollowupID: 710787

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:42

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:42
Ditto

I have had lots of camp ovens and now have several hillbilly items. At first I thought I needed cast iron to keep the heat in, but they are just heavy pieces of junk.

I love my large Hillbilly and the stand.
FollowupID: 710790

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 20:13

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 20:13
We have the pole with the bbq plate, fry pans and wok plus hooks for the billly. Quik to set up and it is so light compared to the cast iron ovens. We have cooked roasts of nearly every type of meat, damper, chocolate pudding, scones, golden syrup dumplings, and all sorts of meals. Quick to heat up as well.

Josh
FollowupID: 710801

Reply By: racinrob - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 16:01

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 16:01
Although the new Furphy ovens have Shepparton on the lid they are made in China, the only foundry still casting ovens in Oz is Billmans in Castlemaine but they are expensive.
An ordinary "El Cheapo" from any camping shop will do as well as an expensive oven and not cause the angst if it gets dropped and broken.
As another post suggests a new oven must be seasoned and the more you use it the better it will become, after use don't wash it in soapy water, just wipe it out with a paper towel and oil lightly.

Racinrob.
AnswerID: 438965

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:08

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:08
Of course the other advantage of the 'Hillbilly' spun steel unit is there very easy cleaning. Even cooking roasts they require just a wipeout and a light oil to stop them from rusting....used to use thr iron ones but cooky recconds the hillbilly the best.

regardsd................................jeff
AnswerID: 438973

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:31

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:31
My cast iron oven is an unknown brand and is estimated to be about 100years old. I found it in the shed when we bought our first house, covered in dust and wrapped in hesian along with a heavy cast iron skillet.

It has cooked a wide variety of meals over many years. It has cooked roast vegies and damper in the same night. On other occasions it has cooked stews and damper in the same night. The only cleaning it and the skillet ever get is a wipe it out with a damp cloth, always before they get cold.

A properly prepared cast iron camp oven is very easy to clean.

FollowupID: 710789

Reply By: steven1175 - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:41

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 18:41
I have a Lodge and a Billmans, i love using both of them.

AnswerID: 438975

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 12:56

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 12:56
I have similar to these shown above - i got mine from Kmart of all places - even seen them in Bigw once too - but pretty common in most camping stores. i have cobb cooker and other cooking tools - but this is the tried and trusted cooker when only fuel available is what you find on the ground !
FollowupID: 711466

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 19:03

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 19:03
hi hillel
look in the trader section i have a brand new hill billy bushking for sale
AnswerID: 438982

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:10

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:10
hi
well after 16489 views of my hill billy bushking ad in trader
i just sold it at lunch time today but only after i entered this thread yesterday mentioning that i had one for sale
so one just has to wait and miracles do happen???
FollowupID: 710895

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 20:12

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 20:12
I'd recommend picking one that has a lid with high sides to hold the coals & stop them falling into your meal when lifting the lid.

Mrs Serendipity

AnswerID: 438989

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 23:44

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 23:44
Have cooked heaps of roasts and rarely put coals on top....I figure heat rises, so too lazy to put anything on top.....but each to their own !!!!
FollowupID: 710829

Reply By: Member - Hillel K (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 21:01

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 21:01
Hi to all
Thanks for info so far -I will keep looking bearing in mind suggestions
HK
AnswerID: 438997

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 22:00

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 22:00
G`day HK,
Just a tip, if you decide to go for a cast iron one and you are buying from somewhere that you have a choice of more than one.
While the lid is on, go around the edge of the lid pressing down here and there to determine if the lid fits flat on the top of the oven.
This is important if you wish to retain the steam while cooking. You can always place a small clean stick under the edge of the lid to allow the steam to escape if you wish.

If you are not one to worry about cooking in aluminium get a cast aluminium one, works like a cast iron one, very light weight, virtually unbreakable, easily cleaned, won`t rust, no worries about cracking when adding water and mine has a machined base so it can be used on a stove top.

Good luck,

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 439001

Reply By: Sailinghampster - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 08:38

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 08:38
Yet again another interesting thread. I for one really appreciate you all for taking the time to hit the keys.

I have had a 12" thickish aluminium camp oven for well over 20 years. It has had much use but only on a gas burner or a wood stove. Loved it enough to carry it on as cabin baggage from NZ.

But I am looking forward to trying it in the coals of a fire with the smell of a beefy stew combining with the gum tree smoke.. argh the serenity of the aussie bush.

Can anyone forewarn me as to whether it might melt....?
AnswerID: 439022

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 12:22

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 12:22
G`day Mate,
No it won`t melt so long as it has something in it , it would have to be on an extremely hot fire and the contents burnt away, even then I reckon it would have to be buried deep into the red coals of a very large fire for a long while.
I use mine on (near) an open fire most times, it gets blackened on the outside and is no longer "nice and shiny" that's all.

Scrubby

FollowupID: 711204