Travelling to WA

Submitted: Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 05:09
ThreadID: 99706 Views:6856 Replies:19 FollowUps:43
I've never been to Australia before. Coming from the US, I plan to fly into Perth, rent a 4wd, and tent camp either for free or in national parks. I don't intend to 'off road' intentionally, but to pull off the main road and drive till I see no one (and no one sees me!) and camp. I don't know how to fix cars, so I'll drive within my means, so to speak. I'll be alone. I like peace and quiet.

My questions are:

1) What sort of insurance do I need? Should I get what the rental offers or some other type?

2) Is there a way to get an idea of where to camp? For example, there are several national parks without camping, but I don't know if in the area I can free camp in the way I explained above. Is there a map that details 'campable' land? I believe this would be public land that's away from towns and not Aboriginal territory?

3) Once I land in Perth, what would be good places to pick up a few camping supplies (propane stove mainly, maybe a canvas shelter), and food for the trip - mainly water and sundried preservative free nuts and fruits and crackers. Is instant oatmeal common? I'm not big on cooking - just want enough calories.

Lots of questions - if you can answer any, much appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 06:50

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 06:50
Hi Cloudseeker. Our larger department stores like K Mart and BigW have the cheaper camping gear you are asking about. They possibly even have your food requests as well. If not, we have Coles, Woolworths and Aldi supermarkets for food. Can't help too much on camping places as such except there are a number of camping books for free camps. Someone will have the name of a WA one I'm sure. Enjoy your stay.Bob
AnswerID: 501291

Follow Up By: Witi Repartee - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:11

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:11
Good reply..but unfortunately no ALDI's in Perth.
Enjoy our big sun burnt land...... which is also a reminder to take plenty of water ALWAYS.
FollowupID: 777405

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 08:19

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 08:19
You will get basic insurance with your car rental..extra is charged to reduce the high
excess. If you have travel insurance your excess may already be covered. Check your
policy. It may be cheaper to buy travel insurance in Aust. than pay the exhorbitant
daily fee to reduce the excess. You can, of course, take the risk, but costs can be high
in the event of an accident. cheers.....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 501297

Reply By: Doc - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 08:34

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 08:34
For insurance I assume you mean insurance on the vehicle. The car's registration fee (paid by the rental company) will cover third party personal insurance - this covers any person who is injured in an accident that is your fault). The rental fee will also include comprehensive insurance (which I think the US calls something else) which will cover you for damage to the rental car, and to any other vehicles or buildings etc that are damaged in an accident. There will be a large excess payable for any claim through the comprehensive insurance ($3,000 - $5,000 or so depending on the company), and the rental company will offer to reduce this if you pay an extra daily amount (called a collision damage waiver (CDW) insurance or similar, and costing an extra $20 - $40 per day). When I travel I make sure that I have travel insurance, and that it includes rental car excess cover - this is much better value than the CDW, and covers much more than the rental car. Your travel insurance should also cover any medical issues you may have - obviously check when signing up.

So basically, as long as you have good travel insurance that also covers rental car excess, you shouldn't need anything else. Make sure you know where you are allowed to go in the rental car - most don't cover you if off-road, and some don't cover you for certain gravel roads.

For camping information, try & get a copy of the Free Camps book - probably available from this site.

Perth has stores such as Annaconda, Rays Camping, BCF & Kathmandu. These are specialist camping / outdoor shops who will have a range of supplies to choose from. You can also (as per the above poster) go to BigW or KMart for a more budget range of equipment. Water & food can be bought from any supermarket, but for preservative free you may need to find a health food shop. I can't help with locations - they are foreign territory to me.

Depending on the time of the year, make sure you understand how hot & dry it is in WA, and know how to protect yourself from this.
AnswerID: 501298

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:28

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:28
Yes, I did mean insurance for the vehicle. Thanks for the reply. It's very helpful :)

I'm coming with camping gear, but after getting a heat stroke in Death Valley and lying around for the rest of the day w/o shade and too ill to find any...I thought about getting some sort of canvas shelter, not to sleep in but to, well, shelter in. I'm very familiar with desert heat but not well acclimated to it.

FollowupID: 777402

Reply By: caseh - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 08:51

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 08:51
Hallo Cloudseeker.

The first question that arises is, why hire a 4x4 when you do not intend to go off road intentionally?
Australia starts where the tarseal finishes!

If you want peace and quiet you have picked the best State but please don't tell everybody :)

As for supermarkets. Aldi ( as named in one of the replies) is only on the East Coast of Australia. The population base in WA is too small to support this type of store. And that's probably what you wanted to hear anyway seeing you appear to like your own company best.

Enjoy your travels.

Cheers, Case, New Zealand.

AnswerID: 501301

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:43

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:43
I reckon a 4x4 is a good option because;

- generally more robust, closer to the specs of a commercial vehicle,
- can safely carry a larger payload,
- have higher clearance if needed, and
- if you need 4x4 you've got it.

Even if you don't intend to go bush bashing, it would be a good idea to have a snatch strap and a couple of rated shackles on board, just in case you, or someone else, might need them.
A basic tool kit can be handy because if you don't know how to use it someone else might come along that does.
A tyre repair (plug type) are cheap and handy, plus a tyre gauge and a small air compressor.

You can probably get the lot for about $150 these days. Not top quality gear but good enough to have just in case you need it.

Hoo roo,
FollowupID: 777387

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:44

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:44
PS,

the Camps Australia Wide book is a great reference book for the type of travelling you have in mind.

FollowupID: 777388

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:00

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:00
Excellent maps, road atlases and camping guides can be purchased online from this site - go to Shop. The Boiling Billy publications and Camps 6 Australia Wide make a good beginning. You will find lots of useful free information about National Parks, local history etc from government Tourist Information Centres in major towns. Carry plenty of water and carry a reliable means of communication. Foreign drivers who are not used to driving on the "wrong" side of the road sometimes get into trouble, especially when dealing with road trains or avoiding sudden hazards on the road like kangaroos. So take it easy at first and don't get overtired. If you post questions about your planned route people on this forum will be able to give more detailed suggestions about places to see and camp. Have a great trip. Lynne
AnswerID: 501302

Follow Up By: Member - Wamuranman - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:36

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:36
Hi Cloudseeker,

I would agree that Camps 6 would be a very good investment for you as it details all available camping sites with a legend to identify what facilities are there...they all vary a lot. Some have a small charge as well. I note that Camps 6 is on special at the Shop on this site at present for $49.95 (probably because Camps 7 is due out soon). It may pay to get one air freighted to you in the US so you can study it before leaving home.
As for hire vehicles... I would ask for a Toyota as they are very reliable and if something does go wrong nearly every mechanic in outback Australia knows how to fix them.
Have a great trip.

FollowupID: 777386

Reply By: Member - Kris E - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 10:32

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 10:32
Have a look at http://www.wikicamps.com.au/ a good cheap alternative to Camps 6.

Have fun on your trip.
Kris
Never forget: cars have owners, Defenders have field service personnel. The other car is my crumple zone.

AnswerID: 501316

Reply By: cloudseeker - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 11:14

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 11:14
Wow, thanks for all the replies!

As for why a 4wd - it does feel better, as someone said, especially in case the road turns bad. I'm used to driving my 98' Jeep Grand Cherokee, with its 170,000 miles (273,588 KM). I need it to get home, LOL, especially in the winter. Also, when I go travelling and camping in the US, roads can turn very iffy, and this way I'm much less worried. I'd rather do the same in Australia. I'm not going to go purposefully on sand dunes, for example, but a rutted dirt road will be much more manageble.

Bottom line is, with the stress of a new place and driving on the other side, it's best to have a car you're comfortable with. A jeep would be best :) but I'll look for a Toyota 4WD at Perth Intl.

Very useful info - I'll study it in depth, of course!

Another question, which I don't think anyone mentioned (if I missed it, sorry) - is there an Australian equivalent of AAA?

AnswerID: 501322

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:15

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:15
Hi Cloudseeker, some of the 4WD vehicle hire companies will hire you the whole package.
Some companies such as Britz, (there are others), will provide a vehicle that is fully self contained for camping in a camper van style or with a roof top tent. With this option you don't have to worry about camping and cooking gear which you then have to either take home or dispose of before you leave.

Food wise Perth's major food outlets are Woolworths, Coles or IGA. With Coles & Woolies they currently (up to 15 April) are offering 8c per litre discount on their fuel if you spend $30 or more in the supermarket. Coles is Shell & Woolies is Caltex.

Yes we have oatmeal and dried fruit in abundance.

Insurance - the hire companies may insist on you using their's and the excess can be exorbitant. As a non-Aussie resident getting domestic vehicle insurance could be hard.
Try HBF, RAC, SGIO, QBA to mention a few.

WRT camping gear as mentioned above there are the major department stores that sell gear and the 4 main camping stores. Ray's Outdoor have member discounts & will permit you to join as a member on the spot which will enable you to get discounts there and then.

Also depending on the time of year you intend to travel will to a degree dictate your camping options.Check out the WA school term/holiday and public holiday periods. During these times the camping spots will be packed.

Pack the sunscreen and the insect repellent and enjoy your travels.

AnswerID: 501327

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:39

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:39
I'm packing titanium-zinc sunscreen, in case it's not easy to find. :)
FollowupID: 777403

Reply By: cloudseeker - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:44

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:44
There's an App Camps Australia Wide. It costs 49.99 and has no reviews.

I think it's brand new.

I have to watch weight with the airlines, so this makes much more sense. I haven't clicked 'purchase' yet, but will, unless anyone raises objections...

http://www.campsaustraliawide.com/content/43-camps-app

AnswerID: 501330

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 17:32

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 17:32
Suggest buy the book Camps Australia after you arrive - it includes comprehensive road maps as well as details of lots of free and low cost camping opportunities.

Enjoy WA. When are you planning on coming and for how long?

FollowupID: 777440

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:51

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:51
Is there some reason not to get the app?

I do wonder if it requires internet access, but I'm guessing not.

It's probably so new no one here has seen it yet...

I haven't got a ticket yet. I was thinking somewhere towards the end of February, for several weeks. No exact dates yet. Depends on work, etc.
FollowupID: 777445

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 08:27

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 08:27
.Why not get the app? The paper version includes good maps that you will need anyway. (You appear to be experienced in remote area travel - certainly in this country you should be carrying good paper maps in addition to any electronic gadgetry if you go remote.) Also the app may rely on web access which will be pretty restricted if you want to explore less populated areas. Can someeone else confirm this?

WA in late February - maybe the locals can advise better than I can, but
It will be HOT, and worse the further north you go. Worth a look at BOM.gov.au for climate details.

FollowupID: 777467

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 17:57

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 17:57
Agreed...February in Western Australia is a bit hectic. Would definitely suggest checking out climate details and setting a later date if you can. Especially as you have experienced heat stroke before.

Shopping: Midlands as suggested is great for outdoor equipment. I head there each time I enter through Perth.

Preservative free foods - Australia is really good in this respect. Plenty of health stores with a wide range of goods. I live on organic dried fruit and nuts etc or at least preservative free as much as possible. The big department stores also have well stock health sections. Cottesloe is an affluent area and therefore a good place to buy luxury/organic foods. Far away from Midlands, but worth a tourist drive and a little shop.
FollowupID: 777515

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 03:13

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 03:13
I discovered the app requires GPS, which I don't have on my iPad, and a connection, which is especially pointless when you only have Wi-Fi, so I'll have to wait till I get to Australia and get the book.

I had a heat stroke in Death Valley, btw, hiking up to Zabriskie point. Yeah, definitely point taken.

That's good to know about fruits and nuts - we have a great co-op here, and I'm often dismayed at the difficulty of finding non-artificial food elsewhere. They prepare little packets of nuts and fruits here and I always grab a few and nibble when I go hiking.
FollowupID: 777541

Reply By: aboutfivebucks (Pilbara) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:13

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:13
Apologies if this is mentioned above.

I've met many international travellers who have hired 4WD vehicles in Australia - yet the rental companies wont allow them offroad (unsealed). ie Softroad vehicles. Beware of this when booking your vehicle.

The Australian equivalent to AAA is RACWA. There are equivalents in each state eg RACQ, NRMA etc. They pretty much offer the same service as AAA and cover you Australia wide. You shouldn't need breakdown cover if your renting a vehicle - the rental company would usually have some type of cover.

Enjoy. Make sue we don't see you on the news. :)

AnswerID: 501334

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:27

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:27
LOL, hope not to be on the news. My hair will be a mess - it would be embarrassing! :) Should lose some weight, though, just in case...

You're right, when you rent in the US you don't need AAA - forgot that. So same for Australia.

How do you get around the 'no softroad' restriction? Do you simply keep mum?
FollowupID: 777406

Follow Up By: Doc - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:06

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:06
You need to be careful with the no offroad restriction - if you break down or have an accident it will cost a lot.

There have been radio ads in Adelaide recently for "Sargent" 4WD rentals, and the crux of the ad is that they let you use them off-road, while other 4WD rental companies don't. Their website is http://www.sargent.com.au/ - may be an option.

Note - I have no involvement with them - have never even used them. I'm just going by their advertising.
FollowupID: 777413

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:17

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:17
Thanks - they seemed geared towards commercial clients, but I e-mailed them, so we'll see. It's comforting that they have a wide network of repair shops in the outback.
FollowupID: 777417

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:21

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:21
"I've met many international travellers who have hired 4WD vehicles in Australia - yet the rental companies wont allow them offroad (unsealed). ie Softroad vehicles. Beware of this when booking your vehicle.

Not entirely true.... from the Britz agreement T&C's....

16.2 Road restrictions apply as follows:
(a) 2WD vehicles must not be used on any
unsealed road (being a road not sealed with a
hard material such as tar, bitumen or concrete).
Off road conditions include, but are not limited
to: fire trails, beaches, sand, tracks, fields or
paddocks. The only exception to this is reasonable
use of access roads limited to a maximum
of twelve kilometres in length to recognised
commercial campgrounds.
(b) 4WD vehicles can be driven on recognised
unsealed tracks.
(c) 4WD vehicles may only travel to the following
areas with the written permission of Britz:
Simpson Desert, Strzelecki Track, Gunbarrel
Highway, Cape York, the Bungle Bungles,
Oodnadatta Track, Birdsville Track, Tanami Track,
the Plenty Highway, Gibb River Road, Burke
Development Road from Chillagoe to Normanton,
Savannah Way from Normanton to Borroloola,
Fraser Island*, Finke Road (between Alice Springs
and Oodnadatta), Central Arnhem Road and
Arnhem Land in general, and
(d) Vehicles are not permitted on the Canning
Stock Route, the Old Gunbarrel Hwy, the Lost
City in Litchfield Park, the Telegraph section of
the road to Cape York, Boggy Hole (Finke Gorge
National Park) and the Old South Road from
Maryvale to Finke at any time. Travel to Cape York
between the months of December to May is not
permitted. The Customer is responsible for all
damage if travelling on these roads as defined in
clause 22.8.
* The Britz Safari 4WD is not permitted to travel
to Fraser Island where any objects are being
stored on the roof of the vehicle. This requirement
is legislated and fines, enforced b
FollowupID: 777442

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:22

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:22
actually worth reading this:

http://www.britz.com.au/CentralLibraryDocuments/Britz/English/AU/AU_Britz_RentalAgreement_Camper-Car_1213_English.pdf
FollowupID: 777443

Follow Up By: aboutfivebucks (Pilbara) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 23:05

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 23:05
Good Call, I never knew Britz rented soft roaders.

Check these Budget T & C's. Just needs some preparation before the trip. I didn't know of this.

WHERE YOU CAN AND CANNOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE
3.2 You and any Authorised Driver must not, unless authorised in writing by Budget, drive or take the Vehicle in Western Australia:
(1) to any parts North of Carnarvon;
(2) beyond 100 kilometres of the Perth city limits between dusk and
dawn; or
(3) otherwise, outside any town or city limits between dusk and dawn;

Budget Terms and Conditions
FollowupID: 777459

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 23:17

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 23:17
Actually, I wouldn't describe either of these as 'soft roaders' ....

http://www.britz.com.au/challenger-4wd-camper
http://www.britz.com.au/campervan-hire
FollowupID: 777460

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 23:26

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 23:26
you probably find those are the standard boilerplate restrictions for 2wd's....

Budget do hire 4wd's kitted for mining and outback ...... bit silly if you can only drive on black-top..........
FollowupID: 777462

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 13:49

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 13:49
Hm. Got the info from Sargent rentals. This is way too expensive. I'm pretty sure the standard companies rent 4WDs at Perth Intl for 100/day (need to look again). What the heck is a bond anyway? It's far too expensive, both the daily cost and this bond. And what's up with the limited mileage? Never heard of such a thing. A bond?? :-( /annoyed.

>
FollowupID: 777703

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 13:50

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 13:50
Oops, message got cut off. Here are their terms:

Prado GX $134 per day including standard damage liability. This comes with 150 free km per day and .28c
After that per km. The bond required for this option is $3300.

Prado GX $134 per day + $55 per day maxi damage liability = $189 per day. This comes with 150 free km per day and .28c after that per km. The bond required for this option if $550.

FollowupID: 777704

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 14:04

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 14:04
Looking at Avis, they too ahve limited miles :(

But it is about 100/day for a 4wd. 'Mistubishi Pajero or similar'.

They don't mention any 'bond'. ? At least as far as I can see.

I'm trying to rent a car, not get someone out of jail.
FollowupID: 777708

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 16:24

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 16:24
cloudseeker, agree.

I had a look at he Seargent rentals, definitely aimed at mining / prospecting rentals, and they charge a premium for the service. Definitely not what you want.

Not sure what your budget / duration is ... the Challenger 4wd in my link above is a good option, however works out at about $130 per day standard agreement.
FollowupID: 777728

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 17:20

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 17:20
Thanks for the link. :) I don't want a camper, though. I like to sleep outdoors, and no point paying extra for something I don't need.

I looked at all the Britz cars and the 4WD SUV is manual. I need an automatic...
FollowupID: 777732

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Saturday, Jan 05, 2013 at 13:17

Saturday, Jan 05, 2013 at 13:17
Budget in Perth doesn't have 4WD, at least not for the dates I plugged in. Avis has a a policy similar to the one cited above. According to this (I think it applies to all vehicles) you can't drive to Broome, for example, or above the snowline (what's a 4WD for?), unless authorized in writing. So...does every renter get written authorization to travel to Broome? Are people denied? What a pain.

I've never had to rent a 4WD in the US, so for all I know they might have similar peculiar restrictions here. 'No getting dirt on your car'.

I'd ask them but I can't find a contact link.

"Where You Can and Cannot Drive The Vehicle
You and any Authorized Driver must not, unless authorized in writing by Avis, drive or take the Vehicle
(a) to Gove Peninsula or any island off the coast of Australia (including, but not limited to, Kangaroo Island,
Bruny Island, Fraser Island, Magnetic Island, Groote Eylandt or the Tiwi Islands);
(b) into or out of the Northern Territory, Western Australia or Tasmania;
(c) in Queensland:
(1) on Highway No.27: beyond Chillagoe in a Westerly direction;
(2) on Highway No.1: beyond Normanton in a Southerly, direction and no further North than Karumba;
(3) if the Vehicle is a passenger vehicle or truck, beyond Cooktown to the North or Lakeland to the
West and no further North than Cape Tribulation on the Coast Road; or
(4) on the Coast Road from Helenvale to Cape Tribulation, or from Laura to Lakeland, unless the
Vehicle is a 4 wheel drive vehicle;
(d) above the snow line in Tasmania, New South Wales and Victoria (being Jindabyne in New South Wales
and Bright in Victoria) from the beginning of June until the end of September;
(e) on beaches or through streams, dams, rivers or flood waters;
(f) in Western Australia, to any parts North of Carnarvon or
(g) in the Northern Territory, on the Jim Jim Falls Road to Jim Jim Falls and Twin Falls."
FollowupID: 777936

Follow Up By: Doc - Saturday, Jan 05, 2013 at 14:37

Saturday, Jan 05, 2013 at 14:37
If you re going to WA, I wouldn't worry about the "above the snowline" restriction - Western Australia doesn't have a snowline.

I was a bit surprised about the "north of Carnarvon" restriction - that rules out the entire top half of WA. Perhaps it's worth sending them an email.
FollowupID: 777948

Follow Up By: Doc - Saturday, Jan 05, 2013 at 14:43

Saturday, Jan 05, 2013 at 14:43
You're right - they don't have an email address listed. You can contact them through their website - https://www.budget.com.au/contact_us/default.aspx or by phone - +61 2 9353 9399 (Reservations, obviously in Sydney) or +61 8 9479 1919 (Perth Airport 4WD Rentals).
FollowupID: 777949

Reply By: get outmore - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:16

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:16
perth Is well serviced with basics for you.
My local area is midland and the main shoping centre has coles, woolworths for food and will pretty much have any sort of food you might want. in that shopping centre is also big W, Target, and kmart which will have most of your camping gear.

also out of the shopping centre but within a km or 2 there are at least 3 or 4 big camping and outdoor centres such as BCF rays outdoors

I havnt been to the US for years but i imagine its the same there - in the city you dont have to go far to find what you want

as for camping most nat parks have campsites for $10 a night, besides that if on the road and you need to pull up, if you find a track that doesnt forbid camping many of us pull up last thing and leave first thing , dont leave a mess and no open fire.
AnswerID: 501335

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 19:13

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 19:13
Hi Cloudseeker

Get Outmore forgot to mention that Midland is also 10 minutes from Perth International Airport.

Good access to the 4WD Hire companies mentioned by others in Belmont/Redcliffe also about 10-15 mins from Midland and is well serviced by public transport to Perth City (25 mins) and other major shopping areas Morley, Cannington etc.

There are also several reasonably priced caravan parks with camping, caravans or on site cabins in the area.

Midland will make a good starting point for your adventures as it is the gateway to the northern and eastern parts of the state with the major highways starting their (Great Eastern, Great Northern-which also leads to he Brand Highway) and quick access to the Coastal routes like the Indian Ocean Drive.

Hope you enjoy your stay when you get here.

Anthony
FollowupID: 777447

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 04:02

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 04:02
Thanks! I'll check out Midland. It's helpful to have some orientation point to start off with.
FollowupID: 777463

Reply By: Member -Shakeejob - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:19

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:19
G'day Cloudseeker,
I dont know where others put it in terms of critcal importance when travelling in the outback, but for mine, its water. Make sure you carry sufficient water.
We had a young lad recently perish on a 4 hour walk because they didnt carry enough water.
Enjoy your stay in WA, its Aus' best kept secret
AnswerID: 501336

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:38

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 13:38
Ha! No worries there! I'm a water maniac. I grew up in the desert and never outgrew the one liter per hour guideline. Water is always my number one priority - completely agree. Not everyone is aware of this - so it's good that you said it.

I'll stock up the car with large water bottles, always do.

For walking, I'm a fan of Platypus bottles. Especially this onehttp://cascadedesigns.com/platypus/water-bottles/plusbottle/product
FollowupID: 777407

Reply By: Member-George (WA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:34

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:34
Hi Cloudseeker, I live in Perth, WA.
Email me, I may be able to help u out locally
admin@nsbc.net.au

AnswerID: 501341

Reply By: 382 - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 17:16

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 17:16
Cloudseeker - Thank you for picking WA for your holiday. Hope you enjoy it. When you go to hire your rental vehicle make sure you take photos of it including all current dents and scratches top and bottom,side to side . If they can hit you up for money when you hand it back in they will. Larry
AnswerID: 501351

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 17:25

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 17:25
Hi CS, you don't say what time of year you will be travelling not much fun here for camping for next 10 weeks unless your next to a beach and even then it's hot, bloody hard work travelling to the fridge for a coldie.
As stated always carry plenty of water, and that's anytime

Its pretty safe here, have a great time
AnswerID: 501352

Reply By: cloudseeker - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 04:38

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 04:38
The Campsite App requires 3G/4G. It's not an offline App. So no good for me. I'll have to wait till I get to Australia and get the actual book.
AnswerID: 501362

Reply By: graham B9 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 10:15

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 10:15
Hi Cloudseeker

I am and Australian that has travelled all around Australia but now live in New Jersey. So I have a good idea of both systems. Shoot me a email to this address and I can email you directly.

carlsp1000@gmail.com
AnswerID: 501369

Reply By: Member - bbbl - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 11:35

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 11:35
Everybody above has pretty much covered it all above but just a few other suggestions not yet mentioned:
1. Don't know how long and when you are coming for but be aware of the wet season and/or cyclone season if travelling up north in WA. Many of the roads become impassable in the wet even in a ''real" 4WD.
2. An extra safe guard in travelling in remote places in WA is an EPIRB or PLB. These work off the satellite network and are not dependent on mobile (cell as you would say) coverage. I have just ordered a 'Spot Connect' from this website to use as a PLB in case of emergency. The other nice feature about this gadjet is that it also allows you to send (but not receive) texts from your smart phone when off the mobile network. I hope this tool lives up to its claims as I have yet to receive it. It will also work in overseas countries including the USA. However, you do have to pay an annual membership for coverage which is ~$A 115-150 or $US99 I believe. Still cheaper than a sat phone though.
3. There used to be a couple of books entitled "Priceless Campsites and Rest Areas in the North/South of WA" by Jan Holland, but I'm not sure if they are still in print? There used to be two books, one for the north and one for the south of the state. These are excellent if still available. Could try somewhere like the RAC shop or maybe someone else will know where to get hem? (PS Just Googled the title and someone has done a review on this forum)
4. Definitely a 4WD is your best option for reasons you already mentioned. I got caught out in Broome last June when I hired a Mitsubishi Outlander (arranged in Perth) to go up to Cape Leveque. WHen I got there and went to pick the vehicle up I had to upgrade to a bigger heavier 4WD at considerable expense as these were the only vehicles allowed on this road or also the Gibb River Rd. As it turned out the road had just been graded and private 2WD sedans were travelling quite comfortably on it but that is just the luck of the draw.
5. The extra crash insurance that rental companies try to sell you is a bit of a rip off if you ask me at $20-40/day if you are on an extended trip. By law all rental contracts are mandatorily covered but you have to pay the first $3500+ yourself in the event of a claim. However, check your travel inurance as this often covers this extra liability anyway and also a number of gold or platinum credit cards will cover it too if used to py for your rental.
Bryan (Perth)
PS. Just heading 'bush' to recover my son who has broken down out 'beyond the black stump'!
AnswerID: 501372

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 03:23

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 03:23
I hope you found your son! :)
FollowupID: 777542

Reply By: Gaynor - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 18:11

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 18:11
Forgot to mention, camping free in Western Australia is pretty much standard, from my experience. It is big country with few people and wide open spaces.

The only time you need go into a caravan park is when you want to base near a town or city. Check out Barn Hill south of Broome. Very informal setting with meandering campsites under trees, lots of birds and a variety of large lizards. The ablutions are rugged but clean open-air showers and toilets. Situated next to the sea, Barn Hill is a friendly place with beautiful beaches, red iron cliffs iron, great swimming and spectacular sunsets.
AnswerID: 501400

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 03:29

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 03:29
That's really what I wanted to hear...

I don't see the point of going to the great outdoors only to be in a dingy and crowded campground with no privacy. I'd like to meet people and if there's a friendly campfire all the better, but I like to be free...
FollowupID: 777543

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 04:53

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 05:14

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 05:14
Thats the one. It is a paying campsite but well worth it. Very different from others. I ended up staying there 6 weeks on my first visit and almost 2 weeks my second. Broome is just a couple of hours away for eggs benedict and cappuccino's :-)
FollowupID: 777545

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 05:56

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 05:56
Sounds great. I like to do exactly that - break up a camping trip once in a while in a nice coffee shop with a good cappuccino (and Wi-Fi if possible).

I'd also like to have the option of motels as back-ups, in case of fatigue or just to clean up (I'm a woman, so my standards are probably higher) and do laundry, but the reviews for the area are dismal and the prices outrageous...same for reviews for hotels in all of Western Australia as far as I could see.

FollowupID: 777546

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 21:45

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 21:45
I am also a woman :-). I have been traveling to Australia since my twenties and intensively around Australia for the past 4 years.

If you are talking about Barn Hill as 'the area'.

Is the glass half full or half empty?

From the link you provided these are the stats of the reviews:

Excellent 8
Very good 4
Average 0
Poor 2
Terrible 2

4 unhappy customers and 12 very happy customers.

One thing Barn Hill Station is not - and that is average. You either like that style of place or you don't.

If you are talking about Broome as being 'the area', yes it can be seen as being over priced, but that is to be expected. It is a tiny spot of civilisation in a very big and rugged landscape with nothing like it for a thousand miles or more. Broome is a major tourist attraction. It is small. Prices will be high because of demand. I would mostly go in for the occasional day visit for shopping and luxury eating. It provides a welcome brief break from rugged outdoor travel.

A word of caution.

A lowering of expectations with regards to hygiene and accommodation cleanliness is imperative when traveling in rural Australia. That does not mean you have to lower your own standards. Just don't expect everyone else to have the same standards. It can be quite a shock. Australians consider me compulsive when it comes to cleaning. In South Africa I am just average. We have cheap labour. Everything is always clean. I know no difference. I maintain my standards as best I can. That means I spend much of my time cleaning where ever I happen to be.

Australian labour is amongst the most expensive in the world. Few people will take a cleaning job. If they do clean, mining snaps them up as they pay really well. Your average person cannot afford a cleaner and it takes a lot of effort to keep things really clean. In order to live with the situation, a great many Australians simply do not see the dirt in their homes, cars or clothes. You need to adjust to that standard, pay for cleanliness or clean up your self.

When you want to stay in something nice, as you have found out, it is available, but expensive. Best to camp in the bush. The view is better.

As you will find out, the strong Australian dollar makes Australia one of the most expensive destinations in the world. Not just accommodation, but food prices are going to give you a fright. The only way I can afford Australia is by traveling in the outback, staying away from shops and pay accommodation. One week in a city will blow an entire three month outback budget. Fortunately, Australians are the amongst the most friendly, caring people in the world. I have a network of friends across the continent, people I call in on and stay with for a day or a week or two each time I am in their area. It helps a lot and you too will make friends easily where ever you go if you are open, accepting and engaging.

What is priceless and worth so much to me, is that as a female traveler, Australia is one of the safest, freest places in the world to roam.
FollowupID: 777629

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 22:05

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 22:05
This sentence is detracted - 'I know no difference.' I do know the difference as I have experienced a range of standards in my travels around the world.

I do not mean to offend anyone with my views on cultural differences, but some may feel offended. Please do not take it personally if it does not apply to you. If it does apply to you, I acknowledge and accept that we all have different priorities that make up our respective cultures and it is why I leave mine behind and keep coming back to yours.
FollowupID: 777632

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 02:58

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 02:58
Excellent info.

I didn't mean the reviews of Barn Hill were bad - I read the two bad reviews and they were about things that didn't bother me.

The US hotels (where I stay for work) are very clean, thanks to the efforts of a crew of immigrant women who don't speak English. Where they come from changes over the years, but it's never Americans. It's a hard and thankless job, though I guess as a first step up it might be a good deal. They do a very good job, though, in part due to hotel chain standards which they have to adhere to and are enforced by their manager. They're also nice and friendly.

I meant reviews for Western Australia in general - the prices are shocking, and the places don't sound very nice in general, so it's a problem for those times when you do want (or need) a break from camping. This is true for Perth too - the prices are outrageous. I know it's a known problem.

In general, yes, I much prefer to camp in the bush. If there's space around, you can walk out a bit and wash.

I think we have the same ideas about travel! Your post was very helpful.

FollowupID: 777657

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 03:26

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 03:26
Now I've read the 2-star reviews for Barn Hill, and they're more convincing, unfortunately.
FollowupID: 777658

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 06:02

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 06:02
Western Australia might be a hard first-time-visit to this country. I am not sure what peaked your interest in the first place? The east coast fringe is easier to adjust to and it is where I first visited in my twenties. I can certainly recommend Tasmania as being very beautiful although I spend most of my time these days in NSW, specifically Manilla and Barraba, for paragliding and country living. It is only in my forties that I have come to really love Australian deserts, appreciate its endless shades of brown, the open, beckoning horisons, the connectedness I feel in the quiet of the Australian bush and the friendliness and diverse nature of its people. You have to learn to look closely to see and appreciate its treasures. And if you take the time to listen closely enough, you can hear the land speak through you ... or so I imagine. Many people come to Australia for different reasons. The most common, I have found, is to heal. This ancient land has magical qualities that cannot be expressed in adequate words ... only felt.
FollowupID: 777659

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 07:12

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 07:12
I love the desert. I love red earth and I love the combination of ocean and desert. I travel in the US and go camping and hiking in a 4WD with what I'd term mild off road, i.e. gravel for sure, sometimes dirt, pull over and camp. In the US you can camp anywhere on public land for free, and some national parks and BLM lands have nice, open campsites, where you pay a bit. I wanted to know if this is feasible in Australia and from the entire thread I gather that it most certainly is! My trips usually last a week, so the difficulty might be in not having a break, that's all.
FollowupID: 777660

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 12:31

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 12:31
Hi Cloudseeker,

Just a few comments from an older female who has travelled and camped in some of the area you are proposing to visit.

Be aware that you do need to pick the time of year for your visit. February will be very hot - Perth has just had a week of temps hovering about 40 degrees Centigrade - thats over 100 degrees Fahrenheit. And the north will still be wet and there could be a cyclone or two so if planning to go north watch out for road closures due to flooding.

WA has plenty of big National Parks, but in many camping is restricted to designated campsites where a modest fee applies. If you have a look through our blogs over the past 4 years you will get a feel for some of these NPs. But there are also a lot of places away from the NPs where you can bush camp for free which is something we like to do wherever possible. But closer to the more populated areas it can be harder to get a free bush camp. The area around The Pinnacles is a case in point. Broome is another area where getting a free camp is problematic. Barn Hill - the best I could say about it is that its an experience!

WA gravel roads are generally very good, even the minor roads are good. In mining areas they may carry heavy traffic but tend to be well maintained.

Cleanliness - what one person thinks is clean may be quite different to what others think! If you are travelling and camping in a hired vehicle then its not much of an issue and its up to you to maintain things as you wish. When we go to caravan parks or established campgrounds we have found that the amenities blocks are usually OK, though an odd one might be a bit suspect. If in doubt wear footwear in the shower. In mining areas the washing machines get hard use and some machines are marked as not to be used for work clothes. (I believe that there is a special way to use the washing machines at Barn Hill). We don't use camp kitchens much but some may need a bit of a clean to pass muster. Just be aware that outback Australia IS dusty, and getting supplies of good quality water can be tricky. Most water is bore water which is a bit hard.

Hope you have a great trip.

Val

FollowupID: 777695

Follow Up By: cloudseeker - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 12:58

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 12:58
Thanks! I did look at the temps but didn't realize it's 40 in Perth! I do Celsius, btw. Ouch.

I can go w/o showers (in fact I always camp primitive) as long as I can go off in private sometimes with some water and biodegradable soap. It's OK except for, y'know, certain times, when camping is a hardship. We're probably in TMI territory here and have turned off our male readership who are now frantically clutching the remote and concentrating on the game (doesn't matter what game). :-)

I'm really glad to learn from this thread that I can do what I do in the US.: decent roads, people do bush camp, etc. Sometimes it's hard to do it on your own but the sense of freedom can't be beat. I just don't like being caged. Only backcountry backpacking is better but alas I'm not fit enough for that. Maybe someday. Good that I have light backpacking gear which means I can take all my camping stuff as a second bag, then I'll just need to get a shelter of some sort, water and food. Just bought some new stuff recently too, so it's all clean for the customs.

I can reciprocate with advice about US camping if anyone has questions.
FollowupID: 777699