Down along the Cooper with the EO Mob

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:07
ThreadID: 59797 Views:5901 Replies:11 FollowUps:18
And a plurry good time was had by all!!!

Arrived home this arvo to the chilly and dank surrounds of the Mid North. Place is looking green however, for a change.

Soooooo….Another successful Exploroz National Gathering!

Stats: 36 vehicles came and went(Yes, Roachie I counted you)
66 adults
22 kids
5 dogs(all well behaved)

We raised $1080 in raffles and donations and sales, which will be donated to the RFDS at Broken Hill.

Better start from the beginning tho………….

Left home on Monday 7th and despite dire warnings by many of impending rain (always take weather forecasts with a pinch of salt) and only speckled clouds drifted by and by nightfall had disappeared from the skies. Blessed with another tailwind we drove at a leisurely pace to the turn-off point at Lyndhurst taking in some tourist sites and visiting and old friend along the way. Dropped tyre pressures when we got to the gravel. Strzelecki Track(Road) is in good condition all the way to Moomba. From Moomba to Innmincka the road is a tad corrugated. Sign outside Lyndhurst states that the Strzelecki is being upgraded and job will be completed by 2010. Heard a rumour that it will be sealed soon after. Road gangs are also working on the road from Innamincka to the Jackson Oil Field in Queensland. We camped at Koortanyianinna Creek just on dusk finding an old fireplace and some timber about 100 metres off the road. Only three vehicles passed during the night. The wind dropped and so did the temperature but we had a good fire going. Pushed on to Innamincka via Moomba and had a squiz at the plant from the allocated Lookout nearby. Innamincka loomed into view by about 2pm and we set up camp.

I am not going to go into all the detail but we all got on very well and lots of laughs were had. We even invited non EO’s camped nearby to join in and they too had a good time.

This time around I did not organise any trips and members and friends grouped together to visit all the places they wished to see.

Tuesday night…………….Fireside get together

Wednesday 3pm-ish…….Horseshoe throwing
7pm-ish…….Silly games
Raffles

Thursday 3pm-ish…………Horseshoe throwing
7pm-ish… Steve’s beard and hair came off
Judith’s Confessions(everyone wins a prize)
Raffles

Friday 3pm-ish…………….Horseshoe throwing
7pm-ish…………….Trivia night
Draw the Chainsaw and Primus raffles

Saturday 3pm-ish………….Horseshoe throwing
7pm-ish…… Movie Burke and Wills
Raffles

Sunday 3pm-ish……………Last of the Horseshoes
Communal dinner with Soup and Damper

Monday………………………..We dispersed in all directions

My sincerest thanks go to the following persons who donated to the event

David and Michelle, Owners of ExplorOz for all the goodies
Kim M (Vic) Chainsaw and Primus thingy
RFDS Broken Hill Book
Barry F $50 for Steve’s beard
Member No 1 Medical kit
John T (NSW) Wine, show bags, sparklers, hooters
Ross H BP Merchandise
Dennis P (Scotland) $20 donation
Member Warfer (Vic) 12 volt trouble light
Kiwi and Grenade Prizes
Sir Kev and Darkie 5 ton of wood(or so it seemed), wine, tyrepliers accessories,
Fred L(NSW) Avon stuff
Mr Bitchie Jungle Juice
Fi and Don Glowlights
Judith Kempen Painting
Dave B (NSW) Book

Many thanks also for equipment provided

John T (NSW) Horseshoes, Generator and fuel,
Sir Kev and Darkie Bringing all the wood and keeping the fire under control
Vince (NSW) The projector to show the film
JohnR (Vic) and Kath etc The movie screen
Scrubcat (Vic) The street light

Attendees by screen name…Members and Visitors
Willem x 2
Gone Bush x 2
Sir Kev and Darkie x 2
Dave B (NSW) x 2
Jeff O (Vic) x 1
Roachie x 5
Pud and Barb x 2
Scrubcat (Vic) x 1
John T (NSW) x 2
Navigator 1 x 2
Krakka x 2
Olcoolone (SA) x 2
Geriatric Gypsies x 5
Fi and Don x 2
Sandman x 2
Adrian L x 2
Kiwi and Grenade x 5
Trevor R (Qld) x 4
Ross H (Qld) x 2
ZukscooterX90 x 1
Burra x 2
Bob and Lorraine x 2
Isuzumu x 2
B&H x 2
Sean and Katherine(Kiwi’s rellies) x 4
JohnR(Vic) and Kath etc x 2
Nick R (VIC) x 4
Fred L (NSW) x 2
Vince (NSW) x 2
MrBitchie (QLD) x 2
Michael (Mossvale) x 3
Des Lexic x 2
RayJen (NSW) x 2
Pesty (SA) x 2
BigKidz x 5
Russnic (NZ) x 1

Yes, Russnic drove in with a brand newbie Troopy V8 Camper Conversion late on Sunday and joined in the farewells…..lol Good on ya for making it!

Apologies from Brian H, Jeff H and Dodger

Special thanks to

Gone Bush for transporting all the EO goodies from Perth

Geriatric Gypsies for bringing the Chainsaw and Primus from Melbourne.

Scrubcat for providing the first ever Innamincka Street light

Kiwi for organising the Trivia night

Sir Kev who cuit all that wood and trnsported at an enormous fuel cost all the way to Innamincka

And Sam for being a trooper and getting involded with everything despite having a bad cold

AND John T for getting us all involved in Horseshoes!!!!

Thanks everyone for being there

If I have forgotten something please remind me...................

We departed Innamincka Monday morning and had a leisurely drive to Wearing Gorge in the Flinders Ranges where we bushcamped and ate the rest of the Marshmallows....lol. The road from Mt Hopeless has now been upgraded and is in good condition.

We came home via Blinman and Hawker

PS The fishermen, fisher boys and fisher girls caught lots of yabbies….Yummmm

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:24

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:24
Willem,

We had a great time and am ready and raring for next years LOL

What was the tyre casuality rate??

I'll start with 1 x Coopers ST needing to be plugged (white writting was inside Signman LOL)

I also hit a 4 foot Kangaroo last night near Bollon and slightly dinted Darkies Drivers side front (pics will be posted later)
Darkie also needs a new windscreen now due to 27 motor bikes thinking they were doing me a favour by getting off the single lane onto the gravel verges only to shower Darkie in stones. The last few got the hint when I stopped on the side of the road ;)

AnswerID: 315474

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:40

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:40
Apart from losing one of my rear window protectors the ole GQ ran faultlessly all the way and I used about 280lts diesel for the trip there and back(abt 1750km).

FollowupID: 581623

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:47

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:47
double the amount of kms and fuel and that is what I used. I'll post the disappointing fuel figures tomorrow (some are 20L+/100km but that was towng the trailer loaded with wood and still doing 105-115 on average)

FollowupID: 581626

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:25

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:25
Kev,

Give it to Pezza when you see him next, he is on a bike tour out that way at the moment, I bet he was amongst them showering you with their love LOL!!

You pair ought to try following Ross H home and your fuel figures would be closer to 30lt/100km. I have a new name for his rig.....you all remember the Bandag Bullet???? well I reckon Ross has the "Baby Bandag Bullet" he left Innaminka an hour later than me, dropped into the Noccundra Hotel (looking for Bob and Lorraine) and still pulled up at the caravan park in Thargomindah as I was......but I went direct without stops apart from calls of nature by the kids and a quick lunch. Blimey that trailer of his must have only touched the ground about every 500mt or so LOL!!!

Good company and a great time by our accounts. Thanks to all involved.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 581639

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:33

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:33
Trevor,

So who has the Flag??

Did it go south as you suggested or is it heading West??

FollowupID: 581642

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 14:26

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 14:26
Hahaha.....Thats a big call Trev..??????
Maybe you should post some fuel figures and times from your last trip up north..LOL

Thanks Willem and Kev and all involved Leigh and I had a great time.

Trevor you seem to forget I work for a fuel company hehehehe.
Thanks to all.

Regards Ross
FollowupID: 581774

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 14:59

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 14:59
Kev,

A little birdee (a magpie to be exact) has indicated that it may be calling the perpertrators and all in contact with the collingwood flag to exact some revenge. Sounds similar to the toad that hassled some forumites whilst they had my flag last year????? If I had the flag, I would be offloading it real quick to be spared these annoying calls and also if it was offered to me, I would not touch it with a barge pole to avoid these calls, just my 2 bobs worth. My guess is the flag went sth but please feel free to correct me as I reckon you would have a better idea on which way it headed than me.

Ross,

Change your screen name mate, "Ross H in the Baby Bandag" really suits you hehehe.

Last trip nth in the wifes petrol Jack, 9 days-4300km best fuel-15.2lt/100km top speed-too scary but 400km in under 3hrs (not telling how much under 3hrs hehehe) gives you an idea....anything else you want to know LOL!!!!

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 581778

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:50

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:50
Trevor,

I thought I saw it flying as a Sand Flag on a maroon coloured vehicle that left the morning that the flag was noted to be missing.

Also I thought John R was a Geelong supporter??

The Baby Bandang LMAO......................he doesn't just work for a fuel company.........................he has shares in it LOL

FollowupID: 581792

Reply By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:30

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:30
Great to hear that Russnic made it... I met him last Friday in Brisbane he was pretty keen to make Innaminka before you all took off.

Sounds like it was a very successful gathering and a lot of fun was had.
AnswerID: 315477

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:40

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:40
We just got home about an hour ago too, after coming down the Old Strez track and through Merty to Camerons Corner and Tibooburra, then down hill to home.
Road conditions coming home were good, with minimal corrugations and bulldust.
Lots of trucks going to Moomba with pipes though. They were going up through Warri Gate to Moomba.
What a great gathering. I endorse Willems comments and thanks to all involved for the staggering amount of money for the RFDS.
Willem mentioned the campfire. I think BHP will get onto Kev to get their blast furnaces going, he is that good at stoking up the fire.
Photos will come soon. Lots to sort through.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 315481

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:44

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:44
The fire made a great charcoal damper as well LOL

I still cant believe I had to leave some of the wood behind and not burn it ;)

Good to see you and Nora again. Hope to see you both next year.

FollowupID: 581625

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:06

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:06
Yes Dave and I left you out of the equation...Sorreeeeeeee!

Many thanks for all you hard work with the raffles and for handling the RFDS donation

FollowupID: 581632

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:13

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:13
Hi Willem & All

Glad to see you all had a good time.

Hey Kev, whats the idea of burning our Queensland Wood out there
lol.

We had our own pretend Gathering last Thursday evening, just for us
poor buggers who couldn't go, we had a few Beers ect, had a Camp
Fire, and a bit of a Yarn, a couple of Guests got out of line, but
sh*t happens, not as good as the real thing.

Daza
AnswerID: 315490

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:16

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:16
I was just letting them get a taste for how good we have it in QUEENSLAND.
They loved it that much they pleaded with me that much that I had to organise next years National Gathering in the best State Aust has LOL

FollowupID: 581634

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:26

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:26
gday DAZA; the ones who were getting uptight were'nt the ones that were having a few coldies like us......... nothing to steady their nerves eh? :-)))))
FollowupID: 581641

Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:37

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:37
What more can I say we had a ball and look forward to the next one. Again thanks for organising this Willem and all the others for the great effort to.

Cheers Bruce and Annie
AnswerID: 315494

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:39

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:39
Hi Willem,

T'was a very good trip.
We drove up through the Gammon Ranges and across to Cameron Corner, where we met John T and Julie. We both planned to travel up the Bore Track and by the time we loaded up with fuel, were some 3/4 hour behind them. (nothing happens quickly in the desert)
A famtastic experience was the Bore Track, especially the last one and a half hours in the dark:-)

Met some new faces at the Gathering and visited all the places we missed last trip, such as Coongie Lakes, the Dig Tree (returning via the more interesting loop circuit after being convinced by Fina & Don to give it a go) and the Ffteen Mile Track.

Had no real dramas at all, except for a misbehaved spot light, complements of the Coongie Track corrugations.

Rang ARB this morning and they had a new housing (in stock) for $57.
I imagine this is an advantage of a "name brand" light - getting spare parts, although I also suspect this may be a weak point in the IPF800 design, seeing where the metal fatigue occured.

I'll fit it tomorrow. The poor Jack looks a bit "unballanced" with only one spotlight.

Bill.

AnswerID: 315512

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:45

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:45
High guys, we made it home about midnight, safe and sound, think i have jet lag tonight though, after having to do another
350k to the big smoke and around today !!! hahaha

It was a rushed trip for us but glad we made the effort to say high to as many as possible.

Thanks to the organizers and helpers, and will hope to have a bit more time at the next one now that its not during the winter months.

Fired up the chainsaw that I won in the raffle this morning to see if it works and it does Hahahaha!
Thanks to Kim for the donation, and all the others who bought raffle tickets to help the total we reached for the Flying Doctor.

Cheers Pesty

AnswerID: 315514

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:03

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:03
G'day Pesty, Willem and everybody......

I'm sorry we missed the main part of the gathering.....perhaps my problems were a punishment "from above" for being a rude pr!ck and nicking off before we should have!!!???

Anyway, glad to read that everybody had a great time and were well behaved.

Now to start planning for 2009 with a strengthened Chevnissan!!! hahaha

FollowupID: 581736

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:54

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:54
Yeah Bill....you might have to leave the kitchen sink at home next time.....hahahahahaha

Geez you have lotsa luck...all BAD!!!!!!

FollowupID: 581743

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 01:30

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 01:30
Hi Willem, sounds like a good time was had by all.

"where we bushcamped and ate the rest of the Marshmallows....lol" What you mean there was Marshmallows over after all that??????????????????????????

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 315546

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:01

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:01
Thanks Willem for the report on the gathering. Sounds like a great time was had by all & it was a pretty good turn up in terms of numbers, hey. We haven't heard of anyone having major problems or mishaps, so that is also good to know that everyone is safe & sound. cheers.
AnswerID: 315615

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:06

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:06
Barry,

Your donation of $50 went a long way to get the total for Steve to shave his beard (and head after Denny got hold of him ) all up we had just over $165 to shave his head LOL
It looked very rough the next morning LOL clumps of hair sticking out everywhere.

I hope to see you at next years Gathering in St George, 2wd vehicles should make it ;)

FollowupID: 581801

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:33

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:33
Thanks Kev. Steve was supposed to have his beard removed by waxing, not shaving LOL
I would like to be able to attend next year at St George. My vehicle, whilst only a 4x2 is a gutsy MANUAL DIESEL UTE, not a bloody car like you are so fond of telling me, so I reckon I would make it.
Of more concern, I have many friends in New South, so if I were to attend, are you able to guarantee that my visit to Cane Toad country would be kept from public knowledge? I guess the fact that you lot still live in the dark ages would help me in that regard?? Cheers & LOL
FollowupID: 581806

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:38

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:38
I meant to add that your "signature" next to the pic of Darkie ref measurement of of a National Gathering etc. is spot on & one that many people should pay heed to for so many things in life. Well done & Cheers.
FollowupID: 581808

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:01

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:01
Barry,

I tried to get Steve to wax it as we had a candle that we used the night before for the silly games but no one could get near him LOL

I am sure that a few of the cockroach attendees of next years gathering could smuggle you and your lovely QLD supporting wife over the border to attend haha

Will you still attend after we win 4 in a Row??

FollowupID: 581820

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:48

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:48
goodday guys
just catching up as we were notified on the way home an aunt in sa had had a massive heart attack arrived home from victor harbor at 4am this am from funeral
anyway the operator of the clippers was rough enough without the bloody wax ,i had chunks out and bits left and she still wont tidy it up
it was all fun and we had an absolute ball and once again thanks to those who helped with the shave and to kev for spruiking the crowd lolololol

we came home through warri gate and tibooburra total damage for trip 1 roo clipped no damage ,1 motorbike rider (near wills grave)no damage to my truck,1 fishing rod/pole carrier on the 4b (broken bracket) and 1 trailer plug on the 4b (rocks on trip to dig tree)
FollowupID: 582138

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 07:11

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 07:11
Great times had Willem....see you next yr....

I forgot to add to my post....we got a flat tyre on grenade too...! Heading into Wanaaring....it was a looooong trip home!
AnswerID: 315710

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:06

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:06
Yes, well done to the people who helped put this together, we had a great time there.

the great times have continued as we are now in coober pedy, will write more when we finish

Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 316042