Cargo Area Protection

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:32
ThreadID: 40931 Views:1477 Replies:2 FollowUps:2
After deciding the rear area of Jack needed a little upgrade I settled on those interlocking foam mats you have no doubt seen about. A pack of six set me back all of $35. With a little judicious pruning with scissors to accomodate the tie down
points, child seat anchorages etc these things make an excellent floor covering, the 12mm depth means no more protruding tie down & anchorage points. The
material prevents stuff sliding around, & I suspect will have a small soundproofing
effect. It may even muffle the sound of my hard earned going out the exhaust pipe.
I suggest the full flat surface ones are better than the half full of holes type as
the dirt etc can be swept out & doesnt accumulate in the holes. I got a charcoal
colour with a chequerplate pattern & i reckon it looks good & will do the job.
While folding down the rear seats I discovered a wonderful secret storage
compartment ideal for the safe & secure storage of my medicinal supplies...
looks perfect for about 4 bottles of Bundy...Oh!! Happy Days....oldbaz.

Reply By: Diver1 - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:44

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:44
Good stuff sounds like you kicked a goal there !!!

we put marine carpet in the back of the 80....made of foam though....spose a bit like the rubber ones in the back of utes 'n' that.....

4 bottles of bundy...im sure that 5 would make it a little more secure....cut the rattles out!! LOL !!

Laura
AnswerID: 213655

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 16:02

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 16:02
Thanks Laura, looks the goods to me. I forgot to mention it only took 4 mats to do rear & have used other two on rear seat floor. They compliment the lovely rubber
bucket type front ones childbride bought me for Chrissy.. I'm off to see if fifth bottle will fit...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 473983

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 11:22

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 11:22
Bundy!

That'd be fuel for the dual-fuel stove wouldn't it Baz?
Surely you wouldn't drink it.

AnswerID: 213806

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 16:36

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 16:36
Sandman, well you are partly correct. I must admit to actually drinking the bundy,
but I have a dual fuel system..it runs well on straight brown ale as well.
cheers....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 474136