the most important thing while camping - <span class="highlight">beer</span> !

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:12
ThreadID: 46594 Views:2871 Replies:15 FollowUps:18
Ok, so in 35 days (not that I'm counting) I go on my two month honeymoon to the kimberleys/nt.

Whilst we're up there, I'll also be celebrating my 30th.

Now, I'm what you'd generally call a beer snob. I rarely drink mass-produced beers but rather whet the whistle with a boutique beer from rarely heard of microbreweries.

I want to celebrate my 30th with some of these fine beers, but as most of them come in bottles, and we'll be tackling the Gibb River Road before I hit 30, I don't want to put the bottles of beer at risk of being damaged.

So, fellow EOzers, please, please, please help me by suggesting how I can protect stubbies of this nectar of the gods !

I have thought about couriering it to Kununurra, but I do believe the cost would be high.

Thanks in advance,

Jason.

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:19

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:19
Try Gullivers in Kununurra. They have a pretty big range of all things alcoholic.

The GRR could be fine for them - then again, it may make a pure mess of them.

It's not rocket science - just detailed attention paid to the packing.
AnswerID: 246435

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:20

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:20
Wrap them in bubblewrap.
AnswerID: 246436

Reply By: Graham & Lynne - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:27

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:27
bubble wrap & in white polystyrene box.
AnswerID: 246439

Reply By: John R (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:36

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:36
1. take whole cartons - avoid loose bottles & too much free movement of said bottles.

2. place them as near to the front of the vehicle as possible.

3. dampen the vibrations if possible - ie swag or something firm but soft underneath + some on top.

4. what are your favourite ~5 beers?
AnswerID: 246444

Follow Up By: uneekwahn - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:42

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:42
Thanks for all the responses so far guys. I guess my main concern is the bottles exploding, so keeping them in a seperate box is a good idea :)

John, my favourite five beers would be:

Equal first: Blanche de Chambly (http://www.unibroue.com/products/blanche.cfm) and Feral White (http://www.feralbrewing.com.au/feral_white_beer.htm)

Second: Weihenstephan Hefe Weizen

Third: Little Creatures Pale Ale

Fourth: Little Creatures Rogers

You could argue that all of them are now mass produced I guess, but their roots all started as microbrewed beers :)

Jason.
FollowupID: 507280

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:11

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:11
This one sells well over Little Creatures when and where you can get it www.redduckbeer.com.au/ . It will only be in Victoria I expect John, but if you want to try some I will have it at Warrawena. Have a few of their differnt styles in the garage fridge
FollowupID: 507287

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:27

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:27
Just put the "B" type beer next to the eggs,I'll bet they are packed nicely.

FollowupID: 507334

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:43

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:43
Leave them home and don't drink for three days.

By the time you get to your first beer, you'll drink anything......Even VB.

OK, so just for that special occasion maybe take a six pack. (Do boutique beers come in six packs?)
Put them in the fridge, or esky packed in ice and they will be ready for consumption at any time. That will test your resolve of how long you can keep them from being opened.

More importantly, you should be thinking of how to protect that bottle of Dom Perignon that you are going to share with the bride, under a zillion stars in the Outback. (You have to start thinking US, not me. Your single days are just about over Jason.)

Have a great trip mate.

AnswerID: 246448

Follow Up By: uneekwahn - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:48

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:48
Believe it or not Sand Man, my future wife is also very partial to the same beers (it was a prerequisite on the wedding application form I had her fill out! ;))

And not, most boutique beers come in 4 packs !

Thanks for the advice.

Jason.
FollowupID: 507281

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 06:22

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 06:22
VB?????? Could never be that thirsty.
FollowupID: 507507

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 09:27

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 09:27
Hey there Stuart,

Notice you have changed from the "full strength name".

Now you are only half the man you used to be:-))

FollowupID: 507533

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 16:17

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 16:17
Hahaha..yeah well there is a lot less of me these days. 18kgs and counting.
FollowupID: 507596

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:57

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:57
Bottles are tough Jason.

Carefully pack your 4 packs in a box, something like a carton. Trucks carry cartons of beer all over Australia all the time. Very few bottles get broken you should be fine.

I attended a truck rollover just west of Broken Hill a few years back. It was the beer truck. The thing that suprised me most was how much survived. The sad part was how much did not. This truck was doing 100km/h when it rolled and fell into a creek about 1.2m below the road. The creek was dry. I suspect that if you manage something similar you will be worried about more than your beer.

AnswerID: 246453

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:59

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:59
When I'm not on tour I walk this country bare foot, I personally hate the idea of stubbies in the bush.

EG: The other day on the top rock pools of Gunlom Waterfall in Kakadu, there were 4 males 2 females bleep , They were drinking Stubbies.

I watched in disbelief as one of them through his bottle on to the bank, Yes half the bottles were broken.

I won't repeat what I said, But you probably get the drift

Take cans as they don't break there easy to carry and they won't cut my feet.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 246454

Follow Up By: uneekwahn - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:01

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:01
Steve, I'm certainly no litterbug, so you won't need to worry about your feet being cut on any bottles from me.

And cans are just so ... uncooth!

As I said, I'm a beer snob and bottles are where its at :)
FollowupID: 507282

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:22

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:22
Well I guess the outcome of this is if your such a beer snob and cans are so uncouth then this dilemma is the price you pay and you'll not be enjoying yourself as much as you could for the sake of COMPROMISE!!

HAVE FUN
FollowupID: 507292

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:46

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:46
Know what you mean Steve.

Actually cans have other advantages.
They cool quicker than glass.
They store better in the fridge or esky.
They crush down to a compact size.
Even then they should obviously not be discarded but be carried back out and disposed of properly.

Any littering in the bush gets my blood on the boil.

Now I'm going to demonstrate MY snobbery.
I love a glass of red wine but prefer the quality of a bottle red rather than a "château cardboard". It's no big deal to carry the empty bottles however, until I find a proper disposal point. Problem is, someone else keeps removing the empty bottles out of the bin. Maybe it's something to do with the Penfolds and Henschke lables........not:-))

FollowupID: 507302

Reply By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:26

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:26
can't think of anything worse than a "boutique beer" on a hot dusty arvo... give me a VB for that anyday! YMMV!

Cheers, Nige
AnswerID: 246476

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 00:44

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 00:44
MMMM I Dunno about the VB, but hey each to their own! Some of those boutique beers are like having sex in a canoe .......... f*cking close to water ! te he

Not all though, don't mind a drop of Beez Neez or Redback if I can afford a carton. Another good one is Nail Ale
FollowupID: 507314

Reply By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 05:36

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 05:36
uneekwahn.
Bloke, if you have just got married you should not have time to drink beer! LOL.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 246482

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 06:26

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 06:26
Hahaha finally some commonsense in this discussion. The others have simply lost the plot :))))))
FollowupID: 507319

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 07:35

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 07:35
LOL I was starting to think times had changed beer was not considered let alone what brand when i was first married lol.

FollowupID: 507321

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:01

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:01
Not only that - because he is on his honeymoon then there is no need to ply his missus with copious amounts of beer either - that will come 12 months down the track!!!!

Karl
FollowupID: 507343

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 12:29

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 12:29
Twas thinking the same! Even to the point of travel????? Would have thought 2 months on a honymoon would have seen you in one place and only coming up for air to fish. Oh well times have changed.

FollowupID: 507382

Follow Up By: Sarg - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:21

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:21
Must have an ugly missus
FollowupID: 507476

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:32

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:32
The duty free shops at airports put an expanded mesh tube made of a soft material over their bottles when sold to travelers. It stops the bottles clinking, rattleing and rolling in the luggage lockers when traveling.
AnswerID: 246531

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:37

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:37
pack them between cans of melbourne bitter :)

AnswerID: 246532

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 10:33

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 10:33
That's about all it's good for ;-) (packing material that is....)
FollowupID: 507538

Reply By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 12:37

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 12:37
Get some cheap stubby holders, put bottle in stubby holder, put second stubby holder over the top of the bottle, tape with gaffer tape to make an enclosed tube with bottle safely inside.

Place in fridge at home, leave there, pack cans of draught Guinness into trusty Engel. Have a nice holiday.

AnswerID: 246552

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 06:25

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 06:25
I do a similar thing. Just use one holder per beer.Oh and use a Waeco of course.
FollowupID: 507508

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:53

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:53
We just roll our glass bottles in our clothes and pack them into a plastic tub. One bottle per item of clothing. It's simple and effective and we haven't had one break yet.

Russ
AnswerID: 246677

Reply By: Godlike Chef - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 02:32

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 02:32
I took my Tooheys Extra dry bottles up the GRR last year in an esky with plenty of ice packed round them, kept them safe and they were cold, not 1 breakage either in or back out although we did come close to running out!!!!! That was scary!!!!!

Have fun and enjoy those cold beers at the end of a long dusty day!

Chef
AnswerID: 246691

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 06:00

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 06:00
Hows it going Jason.

How about a 5lt keg , you can get it before you go for cheapish , then save it for the big day.

Not usually value for money compared to a case at the right price , but will protect your imported ale.

You just have to hunt around for the right flavour , was given a Warsteiner
( spelling ? ) one ,thats pretty good German beer, but there are a few about if you look.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 246692