Cooper Tyres.... sidewall ripples ?

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 04:13
ThreadID: 59531 Views:7950 Replies:10 FollowUps:13
Sidewall ripples, not really bulges, on Cooper St's

What causes this ?

One version is that the tyres are stuffed .....

Another from Cooper ( Aust ) themselves..... its the way in which they mould the tyres....

I prefer to believe the tyres are stuffed

Do not shoot me down here.. as I am only the messenger..

By the way The Cooper ATR's on my Navara, have done 112,000 km now....but after tomorow the vehicle is not mine anymore..so I cannot keep up to date... but there is at least 3 mm of tread left to the wear bars....

Reply By: Member - Robert M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 05:48

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 05:48
Hi Bucky

112,000km is an exceptional result from Cooper ATR's. They are stuffed!!!!!
My experience is that about 78,000km about the average for them ynless you flog them to death.
Morto
AnswerID: 314067

Reply By: Skippype - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 06:27

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 06:27
I have a new Toyota V8 ute that I use exclusively in the Cooper basin for work. The tyres that came with the vehicle when it was new lasted 9,500km. I have put a set of Cooper ST-C's on it and so far have got 20,000km. The tyres don't even look worn. It's Coopers from me up here in this terrain from now on.
Skip
AnswerID: 314068

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 06:57

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 06:57
I should have added

That mileage out of my ATR's, have included 2 big trips up into the desert, and I have thrown everything possible at these tyres..
including heaps of off road stuff, and working them a bit in the Victorian High Country..
I do a lot of vermin clearing for farmers, so there is a lot of mud, and paddock work ( but that's relatively easy work )

They are one tough tyre, and hard as hell....hence lots of jarring, on highway use...( my aching, old, bones )
General pressures are 28 rear and 32 front....
15 on sand, ( in the Simpson )
22-25 on most of the dirt and corrugations

But the main reason for the post, is to find out what causes sidewall ripples/mini bolges on Cooper ST's.....

Any comments would be greatly appreciated..

AnswerID: 314069

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 09:05

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 09:05

Sidewall ripples are normally an indication of some of the ply separation inside the wall of the tyre. This in turn may set the tyre off balance and things could go pearshaped from there.

Two sets of Coopers for me and I had nothing but grief from them. I do believe that Cooper ATR's are the better of that tyre brand but I sometimes marvel at the distance claims. It does indicate that the tyres have done mainly easy work troughout their life at a constant tyre presssure.

AnswerID: 314084

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 14:02

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 14:02
Willem,

I haven't had too much to smile about with the ATR's. Initially I had problems with the first set sidewall coming away and punctures then I didn't have any further problems so I gave them another go when I replaced my vehicle. Second set wouldn't have done 600k on gravel, major puncture right in the middle of the tyre and chipping on the others.

Pressures were fine and Coopers agreed their defense was that they were the wrong tyres for the gravel roads I was travelling on...I won't be touching them again.

As a matter of interest I recently returned from touring the west coast of the USA for 4 weeks, so I took the opportunity to see what tyres the yanks preferred on their fourbies and pickups.

The preferred brand from what I observed was clearly Bridgestone D963's, followed by Goodyear Wranglers the number of Coopers I saw you could count on one hand!!

I did speak with several people who obviously were into serious 4x4ing and asked them about Coopers; the responses were not flattering, several laughed. The principal complaints were similar to the complaints over here, sidewall damage, punctures, sidewall ripples and sidewall bubbles.

America's most trusted 4x4 tire?
FollowupID: 580151

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 09:07

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 09:07
You mean something like this??

This was still holding air after 80kms on rough outback and dirt roads and tracks. You can see where its been pushed by someones boot to see it it made a difference, it didnt.

Dunno what caused it though

AnswerID: 314085

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 09:15

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 09:15
Bonz,
kinda looks like low pressure heat damage to side walls with corrugation/impact damage thrown in for luck.

That would be the worst damage I have seen without blowing completely.
Colin.
FollowupID: 580137

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 10:02

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 10:02
Bloody hell Bonz ! That's amazing

Not quiet that bad, but the same thing on all 4 tyres ( early stages

As I said in my original post, I believe it to be tyre shyting itself, but that pic is awesome ...

You should email that to Cooper themselves..........

But they would come up with some feeble excuse !

Cheers and thanks heaps

FollowupID: 580141

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 11:39

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 11:39
"its the way in which they mould the tyres...." Yes completely normal, nothing wrong with those ones ;-))
Cooper's warrenty will give you another set (the same as the ones that failed to do the job for you last time) at a prorata 2/3 the price, yehhh great deal.......NOT!
I keep thinking there must be a quality control issue to on one hand have some people get 100,000km+ yet on the other have so many excessively chip and fail at under 20,000km.
I'd print out a copy of the above photo & show to the dealer then ask him again how the minor rippling on your tyres is any different. The worry is if dealers say minor rippling is OK to avoid a warrenty claim then how many people are heading outback with time bombs on?
As good as they can be I certainly wouldn't risk fitting a set.
Cheers Craig..............
MTR's
FollowupID: 580147

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 17:44

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 17:44
I thought that picture was a Photoshop job!

Mark.
FollowupID: 580164

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 19:14

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 19:14
Hi Bonz, Have you seen the following web site info ?

http://www.whatcar.com/news-article.aspx?NA=219135

Ray
FollowupID: 580185

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 19:45

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 19:45
Looks like major abuse of the tyres to me....too low a pressure for too high a speed causing heat damage to sidewall. No tyre will tolerate that treatment.

My 285/75/16 S/T's are ready to be replaced at 106,000k's. Been run at low pressures on sand (16psi), coastal bush tracks and outback roads (28/30 psi) with not even a hint of damage. Normal road pressure for the Nissan is 40psi...
FollowupID: 580192

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 17:54

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 17:54
Nope not photoshopped and definitely just driven on a track and across some rocky country not abused as far as I was concerned.

FollowupID: 580297

Reply By: Bushtrek - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 18:21

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 18:21
This thread is very reminiscent of the beginning of the major tyre failure problems in America that Cooper and Pro-Comp experienced in 2004/5.

I understand Cooper Tire Inc have had Wrongful death and Personal Injury lawsuits filed against them in California, after tyre bulging leading to failure was experienced.

The lawsuits were filed by the firm Greene, Broillet, Panish, & Wheeler of Santa Monica, California.

AnswerID: 314144

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 21:39

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 21:39
Its the worst Cooper distortion I have ever seen LOL

AnswerID: 314187

Reply By: REV'S - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 22:39

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 22:39
While on this subject of cooper's. I'm planning a trip Flinders Ranges, Simpson Desert crossing to Birdsville. I have a Toyota Cab chassis with a Slide-On camper on back, loaded approx 1500kg. Which cooper tyre would be best STT or ST Travelling approx 2000klm on Bitumen?
Your answers would be great full.
Rev's
AnswerID: 314197

Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 23:04

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 23:04
REV'S I put S/T on my LC100TD in 2002 - Have been everywhere Simpson, GRR, Cape York and others Have done over 100k on them and just purchased another 4 - I have them on the vehicle and also on the Camper - I am not saying I have not had problems - bad chipping on Cape York - but they have had a fairly rough ride and I hammer them fairly hard - watch the pressure - According to Coopers, too much pressure and lugs will be ripped off, too low and overheating can damage side walls
FollowupID: 580221

Follow Up By: Anthony (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 01:55

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 01:55
Hi REVS,
I have only used STT's. We used them towing a 1.5T camper on a 10,000kms trip, where 3,000 was offroad. We travelled the Flinders Rangers, Oodnadatta trk, Meninee loop and the Plenty Hwy without a problem. They have a few cuts but still have all their lugs. The STT is good on tar and grips well in the wet. I reckon I'II get at least 40,000 kms out of ours and that is with 90% driving on tar.
cheers Anthony
FollowupID: 580343

Reply By: andoman - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 04:02

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 04:02
Hey bucky i had a st cooper tyre do the exact same thing two months ago whilst north of port headland i didnt realise it until i got to broome i ended up changing the tyre and the guy from the tyre shop said it was from insufficient air pressure which made sense as i had just come from doing some beach work but the tyre pressure was around 17 psi and the tyre should handle that who knows the tyre had only done 6000 kmhs but all due respects they are good tyres regards.
AnswerID: 314202

Reply By: EscapeArtists - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 18:04

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 18:04
We have just had 4 new Cooper ATR's 235/85/16 fitted to the 100 series..
has anyone experienced probs with these at all?
AnswerID: 314277

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 18:14

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 18:14
Do an archive search, plenty of problems.

FollowupID: 580301

Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 18:51

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 18:51
personally from what i can gather, it really has to do with what conditions and how you drive them... just my 2 bobs worth :-)
FollowupID: 580306

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 18:57

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 18:57
Yes and Cooper have an excuse for every failure,
Reading the posts over the years on here its clear that the brand has severe limitations on every tyre model they produce on every road surface and under every load condition imaginable.

FollowupID: 580307