Re: Cape York by 2wd

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 21:27
ThreadID: 60677 Views:4042 Replies:8 FollowUps:0
A thank you to all who replied to my question to the above topic, there were to many replies to answer individually so I hope this one will suffice.
What a great site this is, as in one click of the button and I've got more info. that my poor old brain can cope with.
It looks like I'm / we, are off to the Cape next year in, believe it or not an open topped Californian Moke, as so many asked what I would be driving. It all started off as a joke and ended up a serious challenge, from the bottom of Tassie to the top of Qld. in my little Moke, why not? hence the question, can it be done in 2wd.
I'm a 62 y.o. reasonably intelligent retired person, [my missus reckons I'm a brain less child] and I reckon that I have about 15 yrs. of active life left in me and I'm going to try to live every minute of it. Thats if I don't freeze to death crossing Tassie and Vic. in the winter that is.

Cheers to all
Terry C.

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 21:49

Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 21:49
Good onya Terry and best of luck, we may even meet up with you up there, my family and I are leaving Adelaide July 09 , not sure of exact dates yet...

Cheers......Borgy
AnswerID: 320175

Reply By: Ford_Rodeo - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 06:42

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 06:42
Why not, indeed!! Your gunna have a ball.

Cheers and good luck

Phill
AnswerID: 320196

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 07:09

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 07:09
Terry

A Moke will make it no problems. Had a mate with one and I could not follow where he went in my 4WD due to entry and exit angles. Great little machine - take spare tyres as I doubt anyone has tyres of that size anywhere near the cape.

AnswerID: 320198

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 07:34

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 07:34
A MOKE!!!!!
I didn't know there were any left LOL

Terry does yours have the Psychodelic Floral roof?

I loved these things but i was too young to own one when they were around.
Good luck with the trip.
AnswerID: 320200

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 09:49

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 09:49
Saw a mob of mini mokes at ElQuestro on the 1st of july , came from all over , mainly from Vic.
AnswerID: 320214

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 11:47

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 11:47
A Moke ? Take a mask for any patches of bulldust LOL
Those things float anyway, don't they ?
Please let us all know how you get on and good luck :))
AnswerID: 320230

Reply By: austastar - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:03

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:03
So moking is not a wealth hazard?
AnswerID: 320242

Reply By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:30

Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:30
I have memories of doing Cape York as a teenager and there was a Moke club litterally floating their mokes across the Jardine...
AnswerID: 320247