<span class="highlight">Foxwing</span> Awning

Submitted: Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 17:52
ThreadID: 75305 Views:5834 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Was watching some 4wd show on the telly yesterday arvo and it had segment on the Foxwing awning, I thought what a brilliant idea. I see they're in the normal price range for anything 4wd ie $1,000. So who's got one?

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:06

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:06
Looks good but "from $999"!

Ouch

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 400050

Reply By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:06

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:06
G'day Rod,
They are great. I don’t have one but a mate does. I wouldn’t buy one however as I find my Open Sky is adequate and much easier and quicker to set up. Depends on what you need to get under it.
Myles.
AnswerID: 400052

Reply By: Wilk0 - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:11

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:11
Hi Rod
It did look the part, It was on Pat Callinan's show. I'm gonna make an awning for around $140 but itll be no where as good as the Foxwing.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 400053

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:21

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:21
nowhere near as expensive either.....;)

FollowupID: 669168

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:20

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:20
Yeah mines just been delivered will fit it up to the Troopy in the next week or so.

They have been posted about on here before here is a link to about 20 other posts about them.

Previous Foxwing Threads and Pictures

AnswerID: 400055

Reply By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:27

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:27
Hi Rod I have one and they are great. The first time I set it up was on Fraser in sept, pulled up at elli creek must have been 50 4x4 there at the time pulled it around and before I could tie it down a gust of wind blew up and the dam thing was bent over my roof. At the time of sale they promoted it as a one man set up but even there own sales people experienced the same as me. When I got back I spoke to the Foxwing people and they fixed it for free.Can't ask for more than that. Trick is to never set it up by yourself always tie it down and you will have no troubles. Hope you enjoy your foxwing cheers.
AnswerID: 400058

Follow Up By: Topend - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:50

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:50
They now promote a two person setup in windy conditions.
FollowupID: 669180

Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 21:25

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 21:25
About 10yrs ago now I was considering a trip from Perth to Cape York and was thinking of a quick shade/weather protection canopy. I had several ideas like the foxwing but they would have been solid/bulky structures cause that the way I make things. But then I seen the Quickshade instant erection shelters 3m x 3m (aussie made) so I brought one around $1200 and I haven't looked back, its been a fantastic canopy.
AnswerID: 400088