<span class="highlight">Generator</span> user flag.

Submitted: Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:15
ThreadID: 80903 Views:5547 Replies:25 FollowUps:43
Here is a thought,how many times have you camped near someone not knowing that they had a generator on board and woud be using it where they were camped ?? How about a warning sign like a small flag which could be put out once you arrive on site with your generator to warn other prospective campers.What colour,what design??? What do you think?
Rosco

Reply By: smokie - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:48

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:48
should have one for people with screaming kids or barking dogs
AnswerID: 428211

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:46

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:46
Times ten.
FollowupID: 698925

Follow Up By: smokie - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:57

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:57
yep would rather put up with quiet running genni than screaming fearal kids stealing stuff every time you leave camp
FollowupID: 698929

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:22

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:22
No offense inteneded, sometimes my wife and i like to get away. and there's noisy kids. They are forgiven.
FollowupID: 698960

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 16:53

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 16:53
You would have to be lying to yourself if you believe kids cause anywhere near as much annoyance as generators.
Stop being so ignorant & wake up to yourselves.
FollowupID: 699007

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:13

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:13
Not all kids are noisy.
FollowupID: 699017

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:28

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:28
That's right Old Girl. "Not all kids are noisy."
Mine are grown up, but I still love the sound of kids having fun. Even when they are other peoples kids. It is like listening to the birds.
Generators on the other hand are obnoxious & unnecessary.
FollowupID: 699018

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 18:28

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 18:28
Hey I'm the eldest of 8, i do agree some kids can be noisy, some adullts can be noisy, but at the end of the day, tolerance, not ignorance would be better. Kids are Kids and we should let them be. My childhood has being one of nightmares, with few happy times.

Also too we should have respect, then when we have respect and tolerance and if someone with noisy kids come up to you and apologises for the noisyness accept it at face value and enjoy what you remeber as a kid.

Teen and I went camping with two young couples with 6 kids under the age of 5, and one liked waking up and screaming his head off. We had to show tolerance and respect! When the parents came up to apologise we said it was cool. Training for when Teen and i have our own.

My comment above was said with tongue in cheek. Not to offend, and i relised that i hadn't finished my comment before hitting enter.
FollowupID: 699022

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:02

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:02
Gooday,
Despite the last comment I think your idea has merit.
Would be happy to see it discussed further. Perhaps a generator manufacturer may be happy to sponsor it, EG-: bright yellow colour with words, Have Generator, may use. The makers name would need to be low key.
Cheers, Boroma 604.,
as I sit here 5Km out of Mount Magnet amongst the Mulga as I type this.
AnswerID: 428214

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:31

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:31
Maybe if the makers name was in *large print* they would even go for it as a bit of advertising

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 698961

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:16

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:16
awsome........ i will be putting up a flag every camp site, get a nice quite site as everyone will move away.....
Love it, good thinking, i wont have a gen set by the way...

As for the flag for having kids.... that has merit as i would rather camp next to campers with kids any day ..... if you want nice quite kids when camping stay at home as kids need to have fun to ya know :-)
AnswerID: 428216

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:15

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:15
LOL!!!!!!

Great idea Joe!

FollowupID: 698900

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 16:31

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 16:31
Kids should be seen and not heard .....old adage.......

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 698999

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 16:45

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 16:45
"Kids should be seen and not heard .....old adage....... "

If you seriously believe that, then you should change it to "Old Age!!!!"

;-))

Out camping, I never have a problem with the sound of kids having fun.....

FollowupID: 699001

Follow Up By: skmaint - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:27

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:27
Kids should be seen and not heard .....old adage.......

I agree totally...But in the right places. I was brought up with the same rule... But was I told to be quiet when outside having fun..."NO"... Parent control is a great thing but I would never stop my kids from having fun.
Wasn't we all young once ??? I am sure most of us had some noisy fun at times.
If they get a bit out of hand fair enough pull em up, but general fun i think not.
My 2c worth.

Simon.
FollowupID: 699078

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 01:44

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 01:44
Hi KiwiRoss & Cushla

WE travel with our gen set in the trailer, our grandkids and 2 dogs, so I have all bases covered. Many people are surprised to learn that I have a gen set, as I have set up a muffle box in my trailer, it can be barely heard. It is a Honda 4.5 kW. so not small.

I would carry such a flag, and attach a pair of kids shorts and a dog coallr, that should cover it. Noone is going to tell me that my grandkids cannot play and enjoy themselves, if they make some noise, I know they are not getting into mkischief.

Marc
Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 428221

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:20

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:20
Hi Marc. Grandkids and dogs must get a bumpy ride but at least the muffler keeps them quiet. LOL, Bob
FollowupID: 698903

Follow Up By: Teraa - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:26

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:26
Yes gotta worry about a group of quiet children something going on there
FollowupID: 699036

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:17

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:17
Yeah ,great idea , and why not also have a flag designating that your a wowser , or one for drunks ,or one for richard craniums , or a flag to designate that you pack up camp before sunrise making all the noise possible ,, yeah great idea.
AnswerID: 428225

Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:45

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:45
And maybe one if you DON'T have a gennie too. That would cover anyone else!
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 698902

Follow Up By: Cruiser 2091 - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:29

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:29
Yeh your idea is a good one alloy c/t.

So about 10 flags in all cause you can't have flags without the aussie flag and then we will need the Aboriginal and Torres strait flag.

So should these flags be on a vertical style flagpole which no doubt would need to be very high Or better still strung around camp which could also serve as a barrier to prevent others without such flags entering.

I think I might also put these flags around my house. Thanks go to the original poster for raising such a great idea.
FollowupID: 698904

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:45

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:45
This will fire up some.

I will never recognise the Aboriginal/TI nor the Eureka stockade flags. I put my life on the line for the current Australian flag and no other. Thats the one I want on my coffin. Just remember its what I think the flags represents and I really dont care how you knockers and Johnnys come lately lot interpret it.

Of course, together with my Eels jumper signed by three of the greatest, Price, Cronin and Hindmarsh.

FollowupID: 698914

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:49

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:49
Phil ,
You were saying all the right things,
until you said EELs.

UP the old red rooster and more p--s!
FollowupID: 698965

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:00

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:00
Good one. Hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 698969

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:24

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:24
Rosco - You are kidding - Right?

AnswerID: 428234

Reply By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:41

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:41
ear plugs or an ipod works for me
AnswerID: 428235

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:50

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:50
Funny no one has mentioned the most annoying thing in camping areas ... Kids on Mini Bikes!

AnswerID: 428237

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:44

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:44
funny cause it is kids enjoyin themselfs, cant exactly do it in the middle of the city so where else do they go ....
FollowupID: 699020

Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:07

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:07
You cant get many to put a sand flag when travelling through dunes,how wiill you get them to carry one for gennys
AnswerID: 428241

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:13

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:13
I live on the north coast NSW 25k up from Coffs Harbour.
This morning I was woken up by damn kangaroos fighting in the backyard a crows yarking in the trees and fruit bats sqawbling in the eucalypt flowers.
I NEED A HOLIDAY !!!!
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 428242

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 09:49

Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 09:49
Pinko, that about sums it up!

Very funny but pertinent.

Patrick

FollowupID: 699551

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:32

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:32
What would this really achieve even if it was workable?

We will still having people using generators, and those who want to use them have every right to provided it is allowed in the area they are camped and they are ‘reasonable’ in their approach to its use.

Generally, we have found most people considerate in the way they approach camping, including those using generators, and those whom we have found aren’t considerate (very few) are most unlikely to ‘raise the flag’ to tell you that.

You can control where you camp, and if you are bothered by generators to the extent you need to be advised of their presence, simply assume everyone has one and set your camp far enough away not to be a problem for you, I think this is a far more practical approach........

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 428243

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:19

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:19
How about one for Victorians and Kiwis!
AnswerID: 428251

Follow Up By: smokie - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:37

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:37
haha killer
FollowupID: 698937

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:37

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:37
Or for Nissan Owners, God forbid that we would want to camp next to one of those lot.

FollowupID: 698949

Follow Up By: Cruiser 2091 - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:47

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 12:47
Why not just ban generators, children, Victorians, Kiwis, Nissan owners etc and we could then call the place a National park!
FollowupID: 698964

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:08

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 13:08
Maybe it would be easier to just ban the wowsers?
FollowupID: 698970

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:02

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:02
Leave us Kiwis alone

You need someone to show you how Rugby should be played.

Even got a Kiwi to coach your team and still cant win

But then he's from Christchurch so that explains that.

ROFL

FollowupID: 699029

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 07:17

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 07:17
"Hairs & Fysh posted:
Or for Nissan Owners, God forbid that we would want to camp next to one of those lot. "

Geeeeze.... you need a FLAG to recognize a Nissan????..... You Toyota owners are softer than I thought!!!!

LOL... (of course, I am just kidding here!!)......

FollowupID: 699070

Reply By: garryk - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:18

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:18
G'day
We don't put up a flag but do the next best thing so others know that we have a generator ( a quiet one Yamaha )

Its called a orange 240 volt power cord plugged into side of van and ran to generator location , even if it is still locked in the tow vehicle.

If they cannot work it out from that there is no helping them

Garry
AnswerID: 428296

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:58

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:58
it has been a while since i have been camping but since then it seems that kiwis, victorians, nsw rl supporters, and old pharts now go camping as well, has having a drink at camp sites since been banned ?????
What is SOOO hard about all camping togeather, crack a beer (or rum as i would) and enjoy the company even if it is kids, a gen set hummin, serenity of a little kid havin the time of his life on his first quad ......
If THAT is not why we as aussies go camping then what thhe hell is it NOW cause it has changed ??????

Go and have a good hard look at some really old photos of camping and caravan parks in AUSSIE (NOT yank land please) ..... every one has a drink in hand, all happy as pigs in poo, kids runnin everyware, bikes, boats, things runnin everyware ....... now you cant even FARRT in a park without some one havin a whinge.
WAKE UP AUSSIES, we are startin to lose touch of the real world .. before it all gets handed over to parks and we lose it ...
AnswerID: 428299

Follow Up By: smokie - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 18:17

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 18:17
i know what you mean been camping all my life things were driffrent back then
FollowupID: 699021

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:46

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:46
Joe I find the kids awsome at getting dad another rumbo from the esky. Might have to move my camp chair closer to the esky if they ban kids.
FollowupID: 699038

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:02

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:02
How about a smokers flag - so I can camp upwind of them (even if it is right next to the campers with the generator flag....)
AnswerID: 428307

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:33

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 19:33
How about a 'INTOLERANT' flag ???

Wouldn't want to camp within 'coo-ee' of one o' them....................

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 428314

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:16

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:16
I am getting an antiflag flag
FollowupID: 699032

Reply By: Teraa - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:35

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:35
Well I reckon the noisy kids,will drown out the gen, the drinkers will drown out the kids, the wowsers will chase the smokers,while we are having a beer we will find out race,creed,football side & poltical views, those who don't have a beer you'll know they are leaving early and we will just beat the nissan drivers in cricket.
Don't be so shy - Say Gidday ' mate you got a gen ?'
AnswerID: 428325

Reply By: Roach"ee" - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:44

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:44
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 428328

Reply By: Axle - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:57

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:57
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 428329

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 23:08

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 23:08
We always work on the theory of who ever is there first has the most rights. If we pull into a camp spot and someone else is there already with a gennie then they have a right to run it. If I'm there first and someone else comes in after me with a gennie I expect I have a right to piece and quiet. Same with kids, dogs, tvs, motor bikes, old people and anything else I can't think of. A little bit of respect of other people goes a long way.

Josh
AnswerID: 428353

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 07:56

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 07:56
Good point Josh and I agree. However, the "problem" that the original poster is pointing to is that if you set up camp beside/near someone, it would be nice to know if the bloke you've just parked next to is gunna fire up a gennie at 7.30pm and run it for 5 hours. It would be nice to know this BEFORE you set up camp (hence the flag suggestion), so that you could exercise your democratic right to go and camp somewhere else.
FollowupID: 699074

Follow Up By: smokie - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:55

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:55
yes josh iam with you first in best dressed
FollowupID: 699082

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:00

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:00
I see what your saying.If I'm camping next to someone I have a good look at them before I set up. If they have a gennie you can usually tell cause they have all the bells and whistles to go with it..TV blaring, aircon going, cappuccino machine lol.. I like the idea of a flag but those who are inconsiderate enough to run a gennie at all hours will not bother with a flag.

Josh
FollowupID: 699150

Reply By: Kiwis Ross & Cushla- Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:32

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:32
Thanks for all the posts,certainly got you all going,boy I love this site.
Rosco
AnswerID: 428458

Follow Up By: smokie - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:39

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:39
yes has been a good thread just a pitty about the 2 that thad to bring bad language into it
FollowupID: 699160

Follow Up By: Member - dave e (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 07:55

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 07:55
see you at wowsers church on sunday smokie
FollowupID: 699178

Follow Up By: smokie - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 08:40

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 08:40
hay bleep wit i can swear and abuse people too but think the mods have better thing to do if you want to make personal attacks on people pm them. sorry mods feel free to delete
FollowupID: 699183

Reply By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 22:01

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 22:01
Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!

I am your worst nightmare, I use a generator and have 2 beautiful screaming kids......wouldn't have it any other way...

Take a couple of tea spoons of concrete and toughen up princess!!!
AnswerID: 428461

Follow Up By: Member - dave e (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 07:59

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 07:59
hi jason i havent seen a volvo like yours before
FollowupID: 699179

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 14:33

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 14:33
Its a Holden Dave (allmost the same).

FollowupID: 699330

Reply By: Member - Nathan & Lyndsey (WA) - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 08:17

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 08:17
If you can hear someones Gennie, then you are camped too close and need to move away!!!
AnswerID: 428584

Reply By: Nic I - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 08:41

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 08:41
A couple of camping surveys I've read showed that the noise most disliked is vehicle doors being repeatedly closed late at night or in the early morning. Apparently there's something about the noise and how it travels (low frequency) that makes it really noticeable.

AnswerID: 428586

Follow Up By: Kiwis Ross & Cushla- Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 08:53

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 08:53
Thanks for all the comments,yes door slammers are a curse,especially sliding doors !!! ANYWAY, just for the record......,I have just bought a gennie and did not want to disturb anyone when we use it on odd occassions,I am not a wowser,or dislike kids,all I was trying to say, I did not want to disturb someone,nothing else,ok!!
PS Kiwi's are wonderfull folk,so are the All Blacks.
We are on the road again in 3 weeks having just spent 1 year in Kalgoorlie,we are looking forward to meeting all those great folks you meet on the raod and seeing more of these beautiful country where we now reside.We are heading north to Queensland and some warmth !!
Safe travelling.
FollowupID: 699295

Reply By: The Landy - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 22:54

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 22:54
I visited the four wheel drive show at Eastern Creek in Sydney today and I must say I was impressed by just how little noise the Honda four-stroke generators made.

Whilst there was back ground noise around these things are very quiet to the point that if they were ran during daylight hours it would be hard to imagine anyone being bothered by it. If you were you would be camped far too close.

And I understand that wasn’t the thrust of this post…but this was as observation I made.

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 428786

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 12:26

Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 12:26
The modern four stroke ones are not an issue as they make no more noise than the drinkers and the kids it the older two stroke ones that are the problem.

We recently witnessed a camper on the Birdsville track crank up his old jalopy 2 stoke at 11pm at night, sounded like an old lawn mower...............camping 200 metres away does not help a lot to remedy the situation and I think pretty inconsiderate of him.
Oh and we set our camp up well before he even arrived.
FollowupID: 699568