<span class="highlight">Hiclone</span>

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:04
ThreadID: 85011 Views:5208 Replies:19 FollowUps:17
I have heard a lot lately about a fuel saver called Hiclone.

It is claimed that it increases fuel economy and increase turbo diesel performance.

Any body tried it and does it do what they say?

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:15

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:15
I had one years ago all it seemed to help was to stop the mirrors vibrating on the FIL's 3b powered 73 series at idle. No other benefits for him or me. Don't bother shelling out the coin, save that for a decent exhaust.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 448288

Reply By: Polaris - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:40

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:40
Sold by a snake oil salesman.

Not one uni or motoring body test is available to back up the claims.

Stay away from it.
AnswerID: 448290

Reply By: Shaver - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:43

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:43
If you dig deep enough you will probably find "Bill" is the perpertrator & seller of the product. Don't waste your hard earned dollars on his product, as it doesn't work. Seem to remember his rubbish posting's before trying to scam Members of the Forum on it's virtues.
AnswerID: 448291

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:18

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:18
Probably right Shaver. EO had another one recently but unfortunately for him the wording was exactly the same on every forum. Think you might have spotted that one also?

It's now a common way of pushing products on the web. Someone posing as an 'average' Joe gets on with an apparently innocent question about a product. This is usually followed a little later by another spruiker claiming he had used the product and found it to be very good - with all the usual riders and padding such as 'can't talk for anyone else but have had mine on a Cruiser for 2 years and get 10% better performance blah blah blah'. Has to sound innocent and real.

Hard to pick them in some cases but invariably they are posts from names you don't see regularly and they won't come back after the product has been slammed and say 'thanks I'll steer clear'.

Bottom line is - if claims haven't been independently tested it is invariably nonsense, and DON"T rely one a few 'feedback' comments about any product or service. Common (well not uncommon I should say) practice in the hospitality/tourism industry (OS especially) for competitors to post adverse comments about another hotel or tour, while also talking up their own under the guise of being a very satisfied customer.

The web is full of rubbish (as well as good material), just gotta work hard at weeding the chaff from the hay.
FollowupID: 720614

Follow Up By: Shaver - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:23

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:23
I think before he just went under the screen name of "Bill" & not "Box Hill Bill". Must have a liking for the name !
FollowupID: 720615

Follow Up By: Shaver - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 12:03

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 12:03
There is also a written article at the moment on "caradvice.com.au" in regard to anyone thinking of buying any of these fuel saving deviices. None of them work !
FollowupID: 720618

Follow Up By: Box Hill Bill- Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 21:19

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 21:19
Hi Guys are you smoking something or what. I have a 2004 turbo diesel land cruiser. I am towing a 20 foot Evernew caravan, just been to Tassi and I met a guy who also has a turbo diesel who said that he was getting an extra 50 KM per tank towing a 24foot van.

I am about to travel around oz and if I can get an extra 50 ks per tank it is well worth the cost.

If you have any experience with the product would appreciate you comment???????
FollowupID: 720669

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 22:29

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 22:29
Cynical perhaps but even the above post fits the standard Bill.

What raised the suspicion is that many of the push-ads actually start off with similar wording to that which you used at top: 'heard a lot recently about...'. Apologies if you are genuine, guess we'll have to take your word for it. That said a google would have told you what you wanted to know (not to say you shouldn't ask here also of course).

As far as improvements to performance go I'd take most of what people claim with a grain of salt. Comparing 'pre' and 'post' fuel use is nonsense UNLESS you have driven under exactly the same conditions. Practically this is impossible - and even small changes in topography, temp, wind, driving style, traffic, vehicle weights, tyre pressures, fuel brand etc can deliver a noticeable % change. The only valid test would be to run it on a dyno under a variety of test conditions. As for comments like 'feels like it has more power' etc - let you be the judge of how objective that is.
FollowupID: 720679

Follow Up By: Box Hill Bill- Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 22:59

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 22:59
Hi Bazooka

I have just retired after working as Operation manger (more than 10 years) for a small company in Bayswater Vic, you possibly have heard of them - they make the best portable work and camp lights you can buy.

Not experienced with diesels and was just asking a question!

FollowupID: 720681

Follow Up By: Snoopyone - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 09:58

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 09:58
I would suggest as they claim to give 20% better fuel consumption you install 5 in line and then you will never ever have to buy fuel again.

Make sense????? As much as wasting your money on one.
FollowupID: 720710

Follow Up By: Jarse - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 15:37

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 15:37
I still can't understand how putting an obstruction (which it really is) in your intake system can improve performance - regardless of its shape.
FollowupID: 720819

Reply By: Member - edwin (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:47

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 10:47
i have 1 on my troopy and havent noticed any difference at all,i wouldnt bother next time,as for turbo diesels i cant see it making any difference there either as it is swirling the air that feeds into the turbo,which is already spinning at hi speeds then it is compressed and forced thru an intercooler before entering the engine under pressure,,,,it may work on some cars but i havent noticed any difference on the troopy and wont be fitting 1 to my new colorado turbo diesel.
AnswerID: 448293

Reply By: Time - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:03

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:03
Check this site http://www.fuelsaving.info/turbulence.htm it will convince you to keep your hand in your pocket.

If Bill is indeed the purveyor of this junk perhaps he might like to answer some of these points raised in the above site:

"So in summary:

* Engines already have high levels of turbulence, and the physics is well understood
* Adding more turbulence can give only a tiny fuel economy benefit - this is proved by experiment
* Ignition must be adjusted to suit the faster burn, or the effect will be worse economy
* Increased turbulence at full load will most likely damage the engine unless the ignition is retarded
* Anything in the inlet manifold is extremely unlikely to affect in-cylinder air motion anyway

Also note that a turbulence-increasing device fitted upstream of the air meter may cause the meter to mis-read (they are intended to measure "smooth" flow) and so produce effects similar to manifold air bleed devices. "
AnswerID: 448297

Follow Up By: Box Hill Bill- Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 09:45

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 09:45
Hi time

You appear to know a far bit about how a turbo diesel works, we have until this car owned several different models of petrel powered land cruisers.

The cruiser pulls great but there are times with the van on that a little more would help. Value for money do I fit the exhaust or the chip for best bang for my buck.

FollowupID: 720709

Follow Up By: Snoopyone - Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 11:55

Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 11:55
Fit a bigger exhaust Cheaper and slightly more benefit than a chip.

FollowupID: 720756

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:19

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:19
I had my old Hilux on a dyno many years ago and the people there removed the Hiclone...say no more
AnswerID: 448298

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:41

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 11:41
If they were any good the Major Oil Companies would have given him a Large Cheque to shut him up and kept the patent in a vault.

AnswerID: 448300

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 12:00

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 12:00
Hit the search function for Hiclone , perpetual rippoff , supposed to 'swirl' the air to give better fuel /air mix , how much more can air be 'swirled' after being compressed by a turbo or even just the twists and turns of the intake ,, snake oil ! ps. got a nice money making tunnel for sale in Brisbane if your interested , going cheap and will save you fuel when heading across river.
AnswerID: 448302

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 12:31

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 12:31
It must be lunch time because I smell SPAM!!!
AnswerID: 448305

Follow Up By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 12:48

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 12:48
There was one fitted to my RB30 GQ patrol when I bought it a few years ago.
I didnt like the way it was installed...removed it and fuel economy IMPROVED a bit straight away.
IMO....it makes an excellent frisbie.....!!

Cheers Keith
Nothin is ever the same once I own it ...........

FollowupID: 720624

Reply By: Member - C J- Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 14:09

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 14:09
For what it's worth
Another snake in the grass story, my mate bought a hydrogen gas producer and said it worked so I walked in with a fist full of dollars and bought an upgraded version to put on my 2008 V8 cruiser fitted it up and went for a drive. It produced gas no worries did nothing for the fuel economy,so I took it back (I didn't read the fine print)and was told I would only get a fraction of the purchase price, but if I care to shell out some more dollars and get a computor adjuster I would see real improvement. The computor adjuster was manually operatated while driving to cut the fuel consumption which was supposedly compensated by the gas produced.
that guy left a lasting impression on me
Colin cheers
AnswerID: 448314

Reply By: racinrob - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 15:49

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 15:49
It's been talked about here before, anyway I got suckered a few years ago and put one on a diesel HiAce I had. I kept scrupulous figures before and after fitting on fuel consumption and guess what, absolutely no difference !!!

Rob.
AnswerID: 448328

Reply By: den57 - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 16:19

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 16:19
I believe their claim is correct.
If you listen to their add, it states "UP TO" 25% improvement.
Therefore ,as long as they don't provide more than 25% improvement, their claim is true, even if there was no improvement.
Most of these devices include similar wording and if they were to claim up to a 50% saving, that would also be correct, even if they provide no improvement.
Just a rip off for the gullible.
Den
AnswerID: 448333

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 16:49

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 16:49
Could 'Box Hill Bill' be 'imBill2' take a look at the final post in this thread...apologies if it isn't!!

imBill2

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 448337

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 16:57

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 16:57
I fitted 2 HiClones to my 3l GU and had the same result as imBill2, reduced turbo lag and smoother idle and running.

dead set truth, I did also notice an improvement in fuel economy approx 1l/100km which went away when I put the chip and 3" exhaust on.

FollowupID: 720635

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 18:19

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 18:19
G'day Bill.....They don't work as well as the homemade version old mate...

When ya finish ya next can of VB, just cut it to shape with some tinsnips, stick it in and stand back for the amazing results, dead set mate, it's true :~)))))

Fred
AnswerID: 448349

Reply By: timglobal - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 18:24

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 18:24
This Astroturfing exercise by Hiclone didn't go so well, did it.

Utter snake oil.
AnswerID: 448351

Reply By: Snoopyone - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 19:03

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 19:03
The 100 ser TD already has a similar thing in the air intake.

Its use is to spin the rubbish down into the outlet before it goes into the air cleaner.. Why would you put another one in beats me.

The only thing a HICLOWN does is lighten your wallet thereby marginally

improving your power to weight ratio..ROFLMAO.

AnswerID: 448355

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 21:54

Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 21:54
Snoopy, I took that out of the intake of my 100 Series and it goes a lot better
FollowupID: 720779

Follow Up By: Snoopyone - Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 22:46

Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 22:46
So have I and it doesnt make a scrap of difference.

FollowupID: 720780

Reply By: Members Paul and Mel - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 19:20

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 19:20
we get sucked in to replying to these threads every time. i suspect people are right in saying its who we think it is as he has not replied to anything. i am not commenting on the said product..... waste of breath.
AnswerID: 448358

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 19:53

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 19:53
but you did respond...... LOL LOL
FollowupID: 720654

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Mel - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 20:23

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 20:23
yeah i know,couldnt help meselfs hehe......
FollowupID: 720660

Reply By: Box Hill Bill- Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 21:29

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 21:29
Thanks Guys for your genuine assistance, I must admit it all sounded to good to be true but this what this site is all about, asking questions

It would appear from most of the comments I would be better spending my hard earned on a 3" exhaust. Have also heard that the exhaust is 70% and the chip is 30% of the improvement.

AnswerID: 448371

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 23:36

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 23:36
I asked the fuel injector bloke and he said he put one in and did not improve his fuel economy on his Diesel Toyota. This comes from experts.
Better off buying a larger mandrel made exhaust.
Cheers god luck.
FollowupID: 720686

Reply By: Mark Howlett - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 23:42

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2011 at 23:42
I knew this thread would turn out the way it has so I duck for cover when I say...it worked on my old FJ62 carby 4.2L petrol Landcruiser! I 'thought' it would run smoother (I was expecting it to so maybe my mind made it real???) but it certainly increased my range. This was about 10 years ago and from memory I was getting an extra 40km out of a tank. I can't remember the total km's or size of the tank and no I didn't change my driving style and no I didn't get a research scientist to ensure the driving conditions were replicated before and after...but I always worked out my economy I stand by the fact I immediately got an increased range.

I'm not sure how it would work in an EFI petrol or diesel engine, therefore I've never bought another one in subsequent vehicles.

I haven't helped answer your question Bill but I had to put my experience in.

Mark.
AnswerID: 448384