This will stir some people up

Submitted: Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:00
ThreadID: 86624 Views:5584 Replies:20 FollowUps:23
Just watched a episode of the Leyland Brothers taken in1974, they were in South Australia going to Ayres Rock, via the Oodnadatta Track to Coober Pedy then on to Ayres Rock no bitumen from the Stuart Highway to the Rock in those days, the best part is that they were driving and old Jeep and a VW Kombi Van without any problems, makes you think what wimps we have now days in the latest Land cruisers and Nissan Patrols doing a similar trip wanting to know what tyre pressures to run at, is there any Petrol/Diesel along the way, will I need a Sat phone Etc….makes you think!

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:17

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:17
Yeah mate well I suppose you live in a bark hut with whale oil lamps and cow dung fires. And sleep on a straw palliasse.

AnswerID: 455796

Follow Up By: cobber - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:39

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:39
Hi Notso
Apart from the whale oil lamps (we used Kero) yes I have in my early years
FollowupID: 728736

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:46

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:46
Yep, me too mate, dirt floor, only room that had a floor was the bedroom, Kapok mattress on the floor etc. But I sleep in a proper bed now and do feel much more comfortable.
FollowupID: 728739

Reply By: Member - nick b - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:22

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:22
Hay Cobber : back then there was no bitumen from south of woomera to NT border no marla bore- road rough as guts-. we would do it in average cars , bondwood caravans smashed a long the sides of road old burnt out car etc .they were the days , hay .

cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 455797

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:44

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:44
Bitumen ended at POort Augusta as I recall. bleep , it was a significant event when the tarmac made it to Spuds roadhouse at Pimba lol.

FollowupID: 728738

Reply By: skulldug - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:39

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:39
Cobber,

Brilliant!. Bait on, line down, burley out. Now have a coldie and wait.

Skull
AnswerID: 455801

Follow Up By: cobber - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:42

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:42
Hi Skulldug,
Diden't take long did it, lol
FollowupID: 728737

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:41

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:41
Why would you address the post as a "troll" Cobber/Skull. I reckon it's always a good thing to recall just what the situations were like way back when. You would probably be amazed to realise just what some of the members on this site have seen and done in the 60's, 70's and 80's and I'm talking about more than just Sunbury and kookoo weed.

A couple of our regulars have actually graded more tracks and lines than Len Beadell (and icluding asome of Len's old tracks). Others have driven and hauled the essentials to life in the outback through some amazing country and situations well before he had Santos or BHP hall roads. We even have people who spend an inordinate amount of time and $ relocating places of historical significance that have been long lost due to poor cartography or shoddy timepieces. It's always easy to knock someone like the Leyland’s, Malcolm Douglass and even Saint Len by today’s standards of PC but the realities are, they showed us the hidden splendour of this great country.

If you’re trolling then I'll bite and bite proudly. Good post even if you did mean it otherwise (but I don't think you did ;-) See 10 responses below!

Mick

FollowupID: 728746

Follow Up By: skulldug - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 19:24

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 19:24
MickO,

If there was an element of trolling in Cobber's post, it was about the commercialisation of our fine hobby and the gizmos and gadgets that people rely on these days. I don't think it was about the great trips done pre 70's with no turbos, solar, dual batteries, compressors, Engels, GPS and BFGs .

I did roughly this trip in 1976 in an early LC. I now enjoy all the mod gizmos but will never forget the taste of bulldust with no aircond, the thrill of meeting a road train on the single lane bitumen, and warm Swan Lager cans at Katherine.

I agree, it is a great post, and am enjoying the responses.

Skull
FollowupID: 728753

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 19:39

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 19:39
WARM SWAN LARGER!!! You're a braver man than I skull lol. I agree totally and quite often think that we could always do it without all the frills and packaging (particularly when I see the modern equivalent of the ubiquitous Swiss backpacker chowing down on cold porridge half way along the Gary Junction in an old 2x2 Mitsubishi express van that he's paid $900 for at a hostel in Sydney!).

I often wonder just how far we could get with a 2 wheel drive ute with a decent set of shocks and some credible tyres but at near 50 and with 35+ years of work behind me, the creature comforts we can afford make it the journey so much more comfortable even if not more interesting. The dollars I have invested in the "Tuck Truck" will see me able to cater for most retirement scenarios including a...wait for it....caravan! It is simply amazing to turn back through the pages of old trip journals and see just how different things are today. Perhaps that's why I prefer the less pedestrian routes to return to a time when you relied on your wits and skill to get you through.

Whatever the case, we best live it while we can. We're a long time underground and even in the mean time that ground shifts beneath our feet on a very regular basis.

FollowupID: 728754

Reply By: Member - Michael M (QLD) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:41

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:41
Hi cobber you are not a bad fisherman,hooked one first go
AnswerID: 455802

Reply By: Mick O - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:43

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:43
My family headed off along that track in 1973 all the way to Ayers Rock and then out what is now the Mereenie Loop (We did the half lap to starboard heading up to Darwin then across the gulf to Cairns and down the east coast).Kings Canyon was realtiovely unkown and the Cottrell borthers were running Wallara Ranch (Cattle Station). We stopped there overnight, well it was five days in the end, and Jim Cottrell provided us with a hand drawn mudmap of Kings Canyon and it's features. A far cry from Voyagers resort and dinner under the stars these days.

I have memories of a tall, proud traditional man emerging from the bush with his women at the shop at Ayers rock and after trading spears and other things he'd made for cash, wandering back off, women trailing behind him carrying the spears etc. Gobsmacking stuff for we kids.

We did the entire trip in a Holden Belmont Panel van towing a 15 foot Viscount van. Mum, dad and we three kids. I just thanks the stars I was old enought to remember it. A different time from today. Having said that, I do love my fridges, shower, gps, satphone, computer navigation system, Epirb, beadbreaker and V8 diesel. When we get cheap Satellite internet, I'll have that too lol.

(Yes Michael J, I "blogged" it. Started the journals young lol)

AnswerID: 455803

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 20:01

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 20:01
I remember stopping at Wallara in the late 80’s. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t long before it closed down.

I had a VL Commodore in those days and the road to King’s Canyon was still dirt, but I don’t recall it causing any problems. We then went to Alice Springs via the Ernest Giles Road.

Back then there was a campground a few hundred metres before King’s Canyon. It was basically a fenced off paddock with a few fire places. There were probably only about 15 people camping there that night.

To be camped almost at the base of King’s Canyon, with very few people around was incredible.

Graeme
Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 728757

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 07:50

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 07:50
readys rock hole ?

Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 728791

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 18:28

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 18:28
Hi Nick,

The Kings Canyon campground was just before the current carpark.

Graeme
Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 728862

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 18:54

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 18:54
Hi Graeme,

There's nothing much left now, a few wooden fence posts here and there. If you didn't know if was there you would miss it as there's no signs and all traffic is diverted etc..

Nick - Reedy's is a few kms away at Lila, you'll have to get permission from the locals nowdays - I think they run tours though.

FollowupID: 728867

Reply By: tony&bron - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:43

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:43
yes thoese were the days
tony
AnswerID: 455804

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:53

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 17:53
Hi Cobber,
I can remember seeing the film the Leyland Bros. made called "Wheels Across A wilderness" It was ground breaking stuff at the time in the early 70s.

You are right though, we are spoilt with the equipment we have these days.

Cheers, Bruce
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 455808

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:25

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:25
Hi Bruce

I first saw that great film in 1968 and that kindled my love out the outback. For your information, you can now get the original film on DVD, along with a modern day re-enactment.

Do a google and get hold of them, as to me it is still a great watch over 40 years later.

FollowupID: 728743

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 19:53

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 19:53
Hi Stephen,

I could not recall which year I had seen it but your 1968 seems to be about right.
Thanks for jogging my memory.

I saw it at the Ashfield Town Hall in Sydney way back then.

I watch all this sort of stuff time and time again if i can get my hands on it.

But without a doubt Len Beadell would be the greatest of them all in my opinion. After all he opened those tracks and did it the really hard way. I know he had army backing but that did not stop him nearly buying it a couple of times.

Someone ought to make some movies out of his books. Now wouldn't that be something.

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 728755

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:01

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:01
yes it brings to mind a recent post about the road "conditions" up to Cape Leveque, wanted to know what type of 4WD was best suited for the "big 4WD trip" ............. when we lived up there near One Arm Point all of the "residents" up around there dreaded the day it would be sealed all the way up as it would bring in heaps more tourists, best times were when the road was at it's worst as it slowed up all the tourists ........... but the locals STILL could manage to drive all the way from Broome up with only 2WD cars ......
AnswerID: 455809

Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 22:56

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 22:56
that reminded me way back when my father and I went to Seal Rocks NSW, coming back from Pacific Palms Clubhouse we about 10 clicks from SR when we came upon a group of men, about 9, digging up the road at 2.00am, after the Great Lakes Council just graded that section the previous day.

Dad got out of the LC and asked, To stop the bloody tourists coming in, a spokesman said, weilding shovels, picks,hoes, a bloody good laugh Dad had as he got back in

After all these years the road is slowly being sealed, back then the toilets were two sheds moved around the grounds on top of 60 ft pits, the ice-man came around each morning, and the baker, and the MILKO MILKO he yelled, dishing out milk by the ladle into all and sundry containers

Now its a council-run caravan park, no camping on the beach, proper toilets, fire-hoses, no more fresh warm bread, damn,
FollowupID: 728779

Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:16

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:16
Cob,r
you reckon they had no problems, then they transferred them to me.

Yep we used to drive anything and everything and we could go everywhere we wanted, sometimes we got there and yes sometimes we didn't. Many times you would wreck something and just keep going and pray, other times you would try to repair it with anything you could lay your hands on.

Remember a few died because of this.

Now things have changed and we have electronic vehicles that just stop, so they need help to give them life again, fuel efficient yes (until they get a load on them), owner friendly NO when they stop, unless you have a service agent following you following you.

Have a good one,
RA.
AnswerID: 455811

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:19

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:19
Hi Cobber

Our first two trips to "The Rock" and "The Alice" were also in the early 1970's. The bitumen ended just out of Port Augusta and then started for a short distance before Pimba, which ended the moment that you turned off from Spud's Roadhouse and headed west. From there on it was dirt all the way except for a small strip up the Main Street in Coober Pedy. Back in those days the only places to get fuel were at Port Augusta, Pimba, Kingoonya, Coober Pedy, Welbourn Hill, Kulgera and Alice Springs, or if you were coming in from the now Mulga Park Road, Victory Downs also sold fuel.

Today's fuel stop of Glendambo, Cadney Park, Marla, Erldunda and Jim's Place along the Stuart Highway never existed and would come about 15 years later.

It was the same as to Ayers Rock, dirt track all the way and the only place that sold fuel and still does was Curtin Springs.The camp ground and small motel units were right there at the Rock, where the local Mutitjulu now exists. Another great experience was to try and get out to Kings Canyon. It was a two wheel track goat track and the only place to get fuel was at Wallara Ranch.

Things have change for sure, but back then it was a real challenge to get to the Red Centre and the Rock. I have seen it from both sides of the fence and from one time when the heavens opened up, we thought that were would never get out of the place. Today's traveller do not realise how lucky they are, even when it is wet.

As for people today asking those questions, it may still be a new challenge for them away from the comfort of their city homes and they are just being cautious.

AnswerID: 455812

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:48

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:48
Hi Stephen,

did Mt Willoughby sell fuel as well or is that just the final firings of some of my rapidly departing synapses producing inaccurate memories as early onset dementia creeps in?

Mick

FollowupID: 728748

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 21:36

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 21:36
Hi Mick

That's is a very good question, and to be honest I do not realy know. From what I can remember, fuel was available at most stations, some more willing to sell than others. So on that thought, I would say that if fuel was needed, they would have sold it to you.

I will be able to get an accurate answer when I next see one local here in Clare who's family owned a number of stations up that way when it was still all dirt road. I only spoke with him on Friday and he will be up that way in a few weeks on those very stations.

Just like at Wallara Ranch and Jim's fuel pump. From memory the dollar value did not work, only the litres that was dispensed. Jim would just look at the litres and as quick as a flash, he would rattle out the dollar value that you had to pay him.

We got hopeless bogged on one of the creek crossing going out to Kings Canyon and lucky for us we were pulled out by an old tourist bus that was having a few problems of his own. The next day when we came back with thoughts in our minds of another bogging, the bus driver must have spent countless hours constructing a wooden platform over the creek, with countless small logs laid over the boggy section making it a safer crossing that the one that we met the previous day.

Takes Care

FollowupID: 728767

Follow Up By: S.A. Blaze - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 02:11

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 02:11
Hi Mick & Stephen,

Gunna show my age now, Mt Willoughbycertainly did sell fuel as well, and even had the pleasure of buying it there whilst re-attching the exhaust system to my vehicle.

They were the days.. Didn't need to wait months for permits or permission, we didn't need them/it. It was an unwritten rule that the roads and tracks were for everyone, only the restricted area's in Woomera were out of bounds for good reason :-)
FollowupID: 728787

Reply By: Bigfish - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:43

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:43
Well cobber ya got some bites. Trouble is now we are a nanny nation and behave like spoilt brats ourselves. Expect everything to work for us at the drop of a hat. You have to make the most of what you have now! Because it is not going to get any better. Technology can only take you so far...commonsense and determination gets you further.Why anyone would spend hundreds of thousands on flash cars and caravans to go camping is beyond me. The smallest hint of trouble and many are stuffed as what to do.

Hope ya get more bites...Should be some biggies out there
AnswerID: 455816

Reply By: Member - R and R Troop (NSW) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:51

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 18:51
Oh the memories!
Just back from trip to the Centre ourselves with all the mod cons but still remember a trip I did back in 1963 (a school excursion) derailed by the Ghan in floods near William Creek. A wonderful night with the aboriginals at the outdoor movies at Oodnadatta. Those young stockman really caught the eye of we city girls!
Dirt and dust roads visiting all the sites around Alice - even got out to Palm Valley in a normal bus. Safely wandering the streets of Alice at night.
I believe what we have today is progress - but wow doesn't the country look amazing at present!
AnswerID: 455817

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 19:48

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 19:48
Hi Cobber,

I agree that sometimes by making things safe and taking the risk out of it we also take the fun out of it.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 455820

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 20:37

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 20:37
Cobber, if you were stirring you got a good response;)))

Just like a lot of us here on ExplorOz, we are not all 'armchair explorers"

I first saw Ayers Rock in 1974 when we landed alongside this great monolith in a Dove. Truly magic and no sign of political correctness. I believe it is sad the way that this place has become so commercial.

I have lived, and travelled throughout Darwin/Nhulunbuy/Tennant Creek/Alice Springs/Broken Hill.

The past is past and as technology continues to make inroads into our daily lives so we must accept or deny it.

I love my computer mapping,, fridge/freezer, and what ever makes touring easier.

But cannot deny my enjoyment from taking the family to magic spots no longer available to the average tourist.

We enjoyed what was there for us and made do with what we had.

Fossicking for zircons at Mud tank or camping for the weekend at Boggy Hole or Red Bank Gorge.......no GPS, no electronic maps, no showers.....etc etc.....was it good?
Bloody oath it was.......

However I still love all the 'goodies' that this modern age gives us.

Times change and we must move forward...given a choice
I would move back 20years.......but it aint gonna happen.

(Yes Michael J, I "blogged" it. Started the journals young lol) -Mick O-

That's one bloke that can really call it as it was..

MJ
AnswerID: 455826

Reply By: eighty matey - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 22:34

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 22:34
I used to really enjoy watching the Leylands. They seemed like down to earth people and the adventures they showed the nation were great.

They got me and my mates out there in the HQ, hitting the roads through West Qld and NT. How posh was I when I upgraded to a Fairmont wagon with my wife and baby, travelling across the top to Kunnanurra, but..... I wouldn't swap my Waeco and Landcruiser for all the Fairmonts in Queensland.

Pulling up beside Coopers Creek on a hot afternoon, reaching into the fridge and pulling out a cold VB, setting up the Shippshape and cooking up a cryovaced steak sure beats anything from the old days.

We still have as much fun and adventure as we ever did, and I thank the Leyland's, Greg the Kombi, Harry Butler, Ben Cropp, Malcolm Douglas for setting us on the road.

How good is this country and all the people in it?? For all the whinging that goes on, we've got it pretty good.

eighty matey.

AnswerID: 455837

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 23:18

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 23:18
Hi Cobber
I can recall those days travelling with my Dad in a 1200cc. brown Kombi with Dunlop 'winter tread' tyres. Mixing up the powdered milk in a screwtop glass to have breakfast. Our fridge was great ... It had three compartments, the top compartment we would keep filled with water the middle compartment was where we stored our butter and the lower compartment collected the water as it tracked through the canvas covering made from old fire hose. Cold enough to stop the butter turning to oil.
Fresh meat was an odd kangaroo or two, plain turkey or wild pig.
The Stuart highway was 200 metres wide gravel track to Alice and from Alice to Darwin was single lane bitumen with a crown so high the kombi felt like it was going side ways.
The highway through to Broome went through old Halls Creek with untold steep creek crossings. We once met a man with his wife and young child with a caravan with a single hardwood drawbar being towed by a small preewar singer car. When he could not get out of the steep creek crossings he took out the spark plugs and wound it out with the crank handle.
I kid you not but the engine was a splash feed to the big ends and was never designed to put up with this sort of punishment. When we came across him he had the sump off and was feeling about in the oil for the pounded out white metal. He melted the white metal in a kiwi boot polish tin in a small fire coals and applied the white metal to the big end caps with a soldering iron the reamed them out cracked the caps and refiitted them to the engine and then went on his way.
The police in every settlement along the way would await his arrival.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 455843

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 01:06

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 01:06
We enjoyed the Leyland Brothers, never missed their shows. I never did the trip from Port Augusta to Alice back then, only up the Stuart in recent years, however I did many trips across the Nullabor with my parents after they moved to WA, the first trip was in a 1937 model chev and that was in 1952, I have vivid memories of those trips across there in those times, the detours around detours, the bull dust holes, the wombats, the people who lived out there then, wonderful memories. The old Eucla was always a cup of tea and a chat place, Dad and Mum had got very friendly with the people there and I remember some of the stories that were told, fantastic stuff.
Having said that, as much as I enjoyed all those trips over the Nullabor back then I wouldn't part with the comforts that we take along with us now. Haven't towed the van across yet but that is on my bucket list.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 455848

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 14:14

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 14:14
Hi Dunworkin.
Try these....
Eucla telegraph Station, 1954.

Nullarbor Station homestead, 1954.

:-)
OKA196 Motorhome.
FollowupID: 728827

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 15:15

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 15:15
If you are looking for the item mentioned try "Dstore in Qld" They have most of the oldies that have been made in the past.

Buy Leyland Brothers - Wheels Across The Wilderness (2 Disc Set) on DVD online in Australia. The Leyland Brothers and their journeys across this country ...
dstore.com/.../leyland-brothers-wheels-across-the-wilderness-2-disc-set-dvd-10827285 - Cached

FollowupID: 728835

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 16:50

Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 16:50
Thanks for that Peter-n-Margaret, just what the memory holds. To look at it now you wouldn't believe that all those buildings are under that sand.

Thanks for the memories.

D.

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 728979

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 14:02

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 14:02
We drove a Mini 850 to Darwin and back to Aldelaide for our honeymoon in 1967.

Bull dust, just north of Coober Pedy.

Then in 1974 we drive a Kombi from Alice to Adelaide. You may know that 1974 was a record wet. It took a full 7 days.
This was the road between Curtin Springs and Bulga Park (which was traditionally better than the 'highway' because it carried less traffic).

We love our OKA too :-) but you do what you can with what you have and what you can afford.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 455889

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 19:00

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 19:00
awsome pics.... a mini with a roofrack... it is as wide or probally wider than the mini... and to see the Kombi, some 4wds would not have got that far in that mud ....
FollowupID: 728868

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 23:07

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 23:07
Yes indeed!

Got any more pics? Got enough to start a new thread?

Hmm, maybe a thread with old school offroad pics....
FollowupID: 728904

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 06:08

Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 06:08
We slept on the roof rack on the Mini and the secret with the Kombi in the mud was a set of snow chains.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 728908

Reply By: TTD1 - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 22:36

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 22:36
cobber

I have a copy of the Leyland Brothers book (Where The Dead Men Lie ) 1967
Which is a diary of their west to east crossing of the continent including towing a 4wheel trailer across the Simpson.
A great read and an inspiration to any traveller

TTD1
AnswerID: 455937

Reply By: SDG - Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 00:35

Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 00:35
I noticed yesterday that Big W (Wagga Wagga at least) have a big bin with lots of dvds going for $5.00 each. In amongst these are the Leyland Bros series if anybody wants to relive the series.
AnswerID: 455943