<span class="highlight">Radiator</span> Water Level Sensor

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 10:44
ThreadID: 86831 Views:7556 Replies:7 FollowUps:23
I am looking at a water level sensor for my bus, I read an old thread which I found confusing and wanted some opinions.
I cooked an engine many years ago in Darwin when a hose split, lost the water and temp gauge did not register (I was told this was the result of no water in the system).

The way I understand it these sensors do not look at the temperature just physical water levels.

What are your thoughts.

I know some of the big mining companies fit them to there vehicles

Reply By: Member - Joe T (NT) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 11:22

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 11:22
Hi Noldi
I use to own a 98 model HIACE van with 2.8 diesel, had low water sensor in the top radiator hose
As soon as the water was down just a glassful, the light would come on on acceleration.
It should be standard with all radiators
joe

AnswerID: 456764

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 11:24

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 11:24
Thanks Joe, added benifit as its dificult to check my water level, hence only tend to do it monthly
FollowupID: 729885

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 11:58

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 11:58
Hi Noldi,
I use an Engine Saver. Has a buzzer and light that go off if there is a coolant drop in the system, it also has a temp sensor, for most factory temp gauges are useless.
You can get it with either a digital read out or just a dial.
Yes, there are cheaper ones on eBay, and wouldn't know what kinda of customer service back up you get with them, but the Engine Saver is the one I recommend.

AnswerID: 456767

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:00

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:00
Thanks Hairs & Fysh, they are the ones I have been looking at, some friends have also installed them and the recommend also.

I think I will go for it
FollowupID: 729888

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:07

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:07
I have the Engine Saver TM2 Combo. The water sensor is in the top radiator hose so allows a little drop before it comes on - helps prevent false alarms - the temperature sender reads the temperature of the metal of the engine not the water so still works irrespective of the coolant.

Highly recommended.

Garry
FollowupID: 729889

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:10

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:10
Thanks Garry, not heard of these, will have a look
FollowupID: 729890

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:17

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:17
Garry, I'm confussed went to the web site http://enginewatchdog.com/tm2.html could not see any reference to a water level sensor, have I got the wrong site?
FollowupID: 729892

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 14:20

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 14:20
As per the Engine Saver (not Engine Watchdog) site link above and here http://www.enginesaver.com.au/ Give David a call and ask about the TM2 Combo.

FollowupID: 729904

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 14:38

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 14:38
Tjks Garry, will do
FollowupID: 729906

Follow Up By: Roachie.kadina.sa.au - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 19:48

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 19:48
Yes, I'm another devoted Engine Saver user. Have had them on my last 4 rigs and I'd never own a water cooled vehicle that isn't fitted with one.

As stated earlier, the temperature gauge isn't going to register any change if there is no coolant there in the first place.

Here is something that actually happened to me on my last trip to Cape York....
We spent a night camped at Dulhunty River after a day of toiling up the OTT. In the morning when i started the Patrol, the low water alarm went off it's nut. I stopped the engine and found that the bottom radiator mounting spigots (on a PWR large alloy radiator) had failed and punctured the lower tank...I lost all my coolant. Obviously this gave me the opportunity to make temporary repairs to get me to Seisa where I had it repaired properly.

Without the low water alarm, I would have started up and driven off; would never have known there was a problem until the engine seized I reckon.

To top it all off, the owner (David Jones) seems like a great bloke, judging from the service and discussions I've had with him over the years....he is always willing to have a chat and sort out your needs personally.

I have no affiliation with this product or the firm that sells them...just a great Aussie product that WORKS!!!! ;-)

FollowupID: 729936

Follow Up By: Roachie.kadina.sa.au - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 19:57

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 19:57
PS: Please just be very careful of some like this: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/TEMPERATURE-GAUGE-ALARM-Detects-Low-Water-Coolant-/180667061435?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2a109894bb#ht_6524wt_859

Whilst they mention "low water detection" in their title and associated blurb, I don't believe they actually monitor the low water condition....instead they are just a glorified temperature gauge like the "Engine Watchdog TM2". I have 2 of the latter items as well as the low water alarm.....one is attached to the thermostat housing and the other is for the auto gearbox.

FollowupID: 729939

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 08:48

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 08:48
Tks Roachie, I have heard nothing but good things about the engine saver product and service, spotted that with some of the ebay ones as well
FollowupID: 730064

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 09:35

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 09:35
Hey Roachie,
I believe they use to call it Customer service a few years ago.
Only a few businesses use it these days.

Noldi,
Give David a call, he'll talk to you about your needs and help you with any part of the installation.

Has Roachie said
"I have no affiliation with this product or the firm that sells them...just a great Aussie product that WORKS!!!! ;-) "

FollowupID: 730070

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:54

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:54
G'Day Noldi,

I worked on a station up in the Kimberley & the station owner fitted these to ALL the station vehicles.

He used to get a couple of cooked engines each year but after fitting them with coolant level sensors never had a cooked engine again.

Not sure of the brand but the alarm was so loud that when I burst a hose in the "Bullcatcher" it was pretty uncomfortable on your ears if you chose to keep driving!

Stu
AnswerID: 456775

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:58

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 12:58
Thanks Stu, makes sense I reckon.

I guess swings and roundabouts uncomfortable on your ears but comfortable in the wallet

Rgds
FollowupID: 729893

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:42

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:42
G'day Noldi. I drive buses, and some of our Mercs and MAN's are fitted with low water alarms.

As soon as the level goes below the switch in the header tank we hear about it. Don't have to wait for the temp to climb.

Some of the factory fitted ones in a few new buses were faulty and had to be replaced, as they told fibs.

Fred
AnswerID: 456776

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:45

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:45
Thanks Fred I think the message I'm getting is its well worth a couple of hundred bucks.

I have a Civillian and its a pain to access the engine bay
FollowupID: 729896

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:52

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:52
Too true Ian, can't beat an early warning system, and I hear ya re the access.

Good luck with it mate

Fred.
FollowupID: 729900

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:44

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:44
Hi Noldi,
I have both a low water alarm and a digital temp display fitted to my cruiser.
These are 2 separate units.

I have had a low water alarm on my previous cruiser and the probe was in the top of the tank so that a loss of about a cup, or a glass as the other respondent said, would set the alarm off. Terrific insurance as it is a very early warning of something amiss with the system. My current cruiser is now fitted with one also but a different make.

The first unit I got from Repco and was called an AQUALERT Low Coolant Alarm.

The new unit is called a LOW LEVEL SCREAMER. and works in exactly the same way.

I bought the latest unit from Ebay from a trader calling himself Shadowexile

I paid around $35 for it including postage.

Do a search on ebay for "Low Coolant Alarm" and it will come up .

Note that the Repco unit cost me over a hundred dollars and was virtually the a similar unit. Go the cheaper one.
Cheers, Bruce
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 456777

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:49

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:49
Thanks for the tip Bruce, certainly will check it out

Rgds
FollowupID: 729897

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:49

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:49
Just a word of advice.
If you get one then under no circumstances let the probe wire touch earth as it must have the resistance of the water to work safely. If the probe wire touches earth it will blow the internal circuit of the device.

I know! I did it.
So don't power up the device until all connections are made.

Luckily I bought more than one.

Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 729898

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:50

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 13:50
Tks sounds like something I'd do
FollowupID: 729899

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 14:05

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 14:05
Ian the probe they give you with this kit is a little complicated to fit so I did a modification to mine so if you get one give me a PM and I will send you some pics and details on a much easier way to set it up in the radiator.
Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 729901

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 20:23

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 20:23
Ian,
these work very well and I haven't seen one fail on any of the vehicles they are fitted to. They have saved many of our engines as the engines develop a leak in the fuel coolers and the expansion bottle stays at the correct level, next thing a seized engine.

Since fitting them no more seized engines. Here is the LINK

Have a good one
RA
AnswerID: 456818

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 08:51

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 08:51
Thanks RA, seems like all posatives no negatives.
I'm sold
FollowupID: 730065

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 14:58

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 14:58
Ian and Nola,
here is the installation on my old girl. I had the dash apart today to fit a bracket for my tyre pressure readout so I thought I would send photo's.

The sensor is tapped into the top of the plastic tank on theradiator and sealed with sikaflex.

RA.
FollowupID: 730086

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 15:03

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 15:03
Goodone RA, pics worth a thousand as they say, neat job
FollowupID: 730087

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Jun 09, 2011 at 14:31

Thursday, Jun 09, 2011 at 14:31
Ian & Nola

I have just fitted an Engine Saver to the Pooootrol

Does the job just right
I am only guessing here but here goes

There is a Bright led light, and also a buzzer to alert you if coolant stops flowing..
From what I can gather, it needs the coolant, to complete the electrical curcuit..
No coolant, the curciut is broken, and the alarms go off ..

Cheers, and get one

AnswerID: 456879

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2011 at 16:35

Thursday, Jun 09, 2011 at 16:35
You got it in one Bucky.
If the coolant level falls below the sensor, the alarm will go off.
Try it for yourself..... just disconnect the wire at the sensor and you will see.

FollowupID: 730009

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 08:54

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 08:54
Thanks Bucky, Al, Its on the list (still lots of jobs to do)

Bucky, love the Avtar
FollowupID: 730066