Camping with <span class="highlight">beer</span> or without <span class="highlight">beer</span>

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 19:06
ThreadID: 99124 Views:3777 Replies:25 FollowUps:22
Hello guys,

Just to give you a break from serious topics. I just saw this from my facebook news feed http://on.fb.me/SRXWVr and since it is very interesting as there are lots of comment on the question, I just thought of sharing this to you. Do you want to camp with beer or without beer?

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 19:24

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 19:24
I have seriously considered a brew kit for when we are camped up for a time.
Even bought some PET bottles to brew it in...

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 498943

Follow Up By: Samantha W - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 19:35

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 19:35
That's really incredible Pete as you just want to make sure you can have some wine or beer while camping. Well, lots of guys I guess can't camp without beer. But don't you think it's kind of risky? Perhaps, if you will only drink moderately, then it's going to be fine.
FollowupID: 774962

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 20:12

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 20:12
I have "brewed" beer at one of these brewing factories for camping. Basically you add the yeast and they do everything else. The reason, apart from getting different tastes at reasonable prices, is that I like cans for camping BUT lately the major brands have taken so much aluminium out of the cans and they are so thinn that they puncture easily on bumpy roads. It really peeves me off.
FollowupID: 774964

Follow Up By: Samantha W - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:33

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:33
Yeah, I also agree with the beer in can. Plus, some campers leave their cans and bottles in the campsite which is not really good. It's a nice idea. I will share this one with my husband as he is a beer drinker while camping. By the way, where did you bought your brew kit? I will take a look as well.
FollowupID: 774985

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 15:25

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 15:25
The place I go to is Barleycorn Brewers.

I am sure there are similar places in every city.

The upside is that you can have different style beers ( I like Asahi super dry and they have a copy called "Asabi" or similar - it's pretty darn good). You can do as little as add the yeast ( apparently to make it legal) up to the whole thing including canning. The cans are stronger than say Carlton ones ( and I have press tested them all in Dan Murhpies). The cost is about the same as Carlton Draft when on special.

The downside is that it takes about 3 weeks, you have to make about 6 dozen and they can't be in hot weather for long as there are no preservatives.

I do it when there are a few going away.
FollowupID: 774993

Reply By: Michelle R2 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 20:38

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 20:38
Easy - without- don't drink it!!
AnswerID: 498947

Follow Up By: Samantha W - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:35

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:35
Hi Michelle,

Me too I don't usually drink. Perhaps, this is a normal reaction for women, especially for mothers like me. But some women still drink beer :)
FollowupID: 774986

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:55

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:55
Hi Samantha,

This mature-age woman enjoys one beer most days, especially if its hot. Usually one is the limit though. Habits learned years ago at Uni die hard!!!

We carry one slab of beer (in cans) and a small amount of wine and port when we travel - John also enjoys his beer at the end of the day. But if we run out its no drama - then its onto the black tea. Its amazing how good beer tastes after a break of a few days or even weeks!

Val.

FollowupID: 774990

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 21:14

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 21:14
Sam,
I can feel withdrawal symptoms coming on.

What!!!! no beer.

Have a good one,
RA.
AnswerID: 498949

Reply By: Member - nick b - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 21:21

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 21:21
heath professional state as we get older we should drink less , but I think there is more old drunks than there is old doc !!!!
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 498950

Follow Up By: Samantha W - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:37

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:37
Yeah. Indeed there are lots of beer drinkers :)
FollowupID: 774987

Reply By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 21:26

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 21:26
Yeah I must admit we're quite happy without beer. It certainly reduces your refrigeration requirements hugely. And for a longish trip is a heap less weight to carry.

I have to confess that I substitute the beer I used to drink with billy tea, which I'm amazed to find I can drink all day. At the end of the day, we open a bottle of red, which is generally more than enough for the 2 of us. Often we'll also have a nice little nightcap of port around the fire before turning in.
AnswerID: 498951

Follow Up By: Samantha W - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:39

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:39
Yes another good point Paul. It reduces refrigeration requirements. I haven't tried drinking billy tea as I choose to drink coffee.
FollowupID: 774988

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 21:46

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 21:46
With beer, Is there another option????? Oh yeah spirits. Ok I sometime dont have beer.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 498952

Follow Up By: Samantha W - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:41

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 13:41
This may sound crazy Wilko, but I also read some other post on FB that their another option for beer is wine. Does it make sense? :)
FollowupID: 774989

Follow Up By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 20:46

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 20:46
Hi Sam,

I'm not a wine drinker but each to his (her) own. I have a drink cause I enjoy it but I can go without, You know you got a prob if you cant go without.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 775007

Reply By: Member - Snowstorm - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 22:04

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 22:04
Samantha

We will be taking Beer or some type spirit on our next trip it wouldn't be the same sitting around the fire at night spinning a few yarns and having a few laughs.
AnswerID: 498953

Reply By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 22:11

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 22:11
Nothing better than a nice cold beer before dinner when camping in warm climes but it's not on the must have list.

Years ago a mate and I did a 9 day bushwalk on Tassie's west coast. Oddly enough the one thing we both craved from the 4th or 5th day on - despite not being big drinkers of it - was the sweet fizzy beverage the same colour as many Tasmanian rivers. I guess it was the body reacting to energy loss - or maybe just the constant reminder from the beautiful river water in combination with advertising imprinting.
AnswerID: 498956

Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 23:36

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 23:36
evry one knows its one carton per person per day and if you get home with less than a carton youve underestimated
AnswerID: 498960

Follow Up By: Member - OnYaBike - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 23:51

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 23:51
As my mate used to say when we were doing the beer calculation - "You can always bring them home." Yeah, right.
FollowupID: 774969

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 08:52

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 08:52
It's better to be looking at it than looking for it on the last few days of a camp trip in the middle of nowhere.
FollowupID: 774975

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 08:54

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 08:54
Twenty four cans in a carton,
Twenty four hours in a day.

That can't be coincidencee.
Cheers Dave
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 774976

Reply By: Tim - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 00:47

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 00:47
I thought "Camping" meant beer was included otherwise it's called "roughing it"......
Tim
AnswerID: 498963

Follow Up By: Member - Snowstorm - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 01:00

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 01:00
Tim
Your right there mate why rough it if you don't have too there's know use taking a empty esky now that would roughing it
Cheers.....
FollowupID: 774971

Reply By: Denis H - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 06:26

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 06:26
You can camp without beer but its HELL!
AnswerID: 498965

Reply By: jacent - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 07:30

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 07:30
your all mad! camping without a cold ale just wouldnt be camping or australian!
AnswerID: 498968

Reply By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 07:54

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 07:54
It all right, I've reported this thread to the mods and they'll kill it very soon - hopefully. Madness, just complete madness ;)
AnswerID: 498970

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 08:39

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 08:39
Yes! it boarders on treason.
FollowupID: 774974

Follow Up By: Ross M - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 11:01

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 11:01
Rockape

Boarders are the people who stay at a boarding house.

Australia has a coast line which we call our borders. Borders meaning edge A whole different meaning. "borders on" = on the edge of.
FollowupID: 774980

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 11:11

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 11:11
I think I am boarded now.
FollowupID: 774981

Follow Up By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 12:21

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 12:21
I'd be boarded silly if I had to go camping without BEER!!!!! I'm a bit silly just thinking about it...
FollowupID: 774982

Reply By: Mark T6 - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 09:57

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 09:57
To me going camping without a beer would be sacrilege.

I did a Simpson Desert crossing last year, and at the end of a hard driving day, and after setting up your camp, and then getting the fire going there's nothing like a couple of coldies (even when it's freezing) before dinner.

I limit myself to 2 cans (normally stubbies but we are roughing it here) per night, and then a glass of red wine from a 2 litre cask to have with dinner.

Out of a 30 can XXXX pack I can get 15 days, and need about 2-3 wine casks for the same time.

I do however have a VERY big problem for 2013....am doing the CSR, and it's about 20 days from Willuna to Bililuna, and then another 2 days down the Tanami to the Alice.....can I manage to fit in an extra cask and 14 extra cans....you betcha!!
AnswerID: 498974

Reply By: Dr Hook - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 11:35

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 11:35
It is primarily a food safety issue: you must weigh down your fridge/esky with as much beer as possible, to stop it bouncing arouund and breaking the eggs!
Dr Hook
AnswerID: 498977

Reply By: Lunarite - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 15:09

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 15:09
It's not camping if there's no beer!
AnswerID: 498994

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 16:08

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 16:08
Easy - Without - Cup of Tea or Coffee will suffice

About time they stopped making it :-)

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 498996

Reply By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 16:34

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 16:34
It's pretty simple really

With beer, or spirits or wine = camping

Without beer, or spirits or wine = detox clinic.

Just keep in mind alcoholics go to meetings, common drunks just go to sleep (;-))

AnswerID: 498999

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 16:40

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 16:40
More often without beer. Not being able to afford (I kid you not) such pleasures for many years I just "lost the habit". The only non water/milk drink we had were the cheap soft drinks and cordials, so that the three sons could also have some.

And for the same reason we never acquired the desire to drink wine.

Give me a cuppa any day.

AnswerID: 499000

Reply By: Member - Terra'Mer - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 19:50

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 19:50
There's nothing better than to set up camp after a long day and have someone invite you over to their camp and offer a coldie and a good story. Right now I'm going through a sweet cider phase, I'm in Tassie so it's Mercury Cider of course :)
Have you seen my marbles?

AnswerID: 499009

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 19:56

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 19:56
Just thinking of camping is making me thirsty. There should always be some beers in the rig somewhere. Fridge space is a problem but if you eat some stuff early in the morning you can sneak a few tins in the fridge as you close it up.

Remember to leave a few tins outside overnight with a wet cloth over them - makes them ready for the fridge in the morning. In true camping style I tell Michelle I am using the dish cloth/tea towel for two tasks washing up and pre-cooling the beer overnight. Even the beer follows to two tasks travel requirement, stops the dish cloth/tea towel from blowing away and keeps the driver happy.

Does not get any better than that. Except when the beer runs out.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 499010

Reply By: Gronk - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 21:12

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 21:12
Some people prefer to not drink and some do.......

As most of my camping is weekends......I budget for ( but not always achieve it ) 14 beers a night........and yes, I sleep like a baby...lol

It makes it a lot easier if you allocate heaps of room in the fridge for beer ( 3 six packs plus a cask of wine for the missus ) then whats left is where you squeeze in the food....

Sitting around a campfire for hrs on end...talking dribble......the beers just seem to disappear.....
AnswerID: 499017

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 21:47

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 21:47
How the blody hell is your liver!!!

14 a night is redicuous and may kill you some day.

FollowupID: 775011

Follow Up By: gbc - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 18:26

Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 18:26
When I was younger our Fraser fishing trip allowance was a carton per man per day. 5 blokes 7 days = 35 cartons. Would you believe we used to run out?
FollowupID: 775044

Follow Up By: gbc - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 18:27

Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 18:27
Ps - I have no idea how we did it. Drinking that amount now would no doubt kill me.
FollowupID: 775045

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 21:13

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 21:13
Davids post about placing a wet cloth over the beers reminded me of earlier times.

We would place a couple of long necks in a large canvas water bag hanging from the scrub canopies on the back of the dozers. The main reason for this was you would let a very small amount trickle down your back to stop prickly heat.

On the up side the beers got cold and heaven forbid we would drink them when we had a break.

I think we could have been arrested for drinking while pulling. Better fix that up. Pulling a big chain around the paddock that is.

Never ever go anywhere without a carton of beer and a back up chook in case of an emergency is my motto.

Have a good one and I hope Ross the proof reader gives me a pass in English and spelling.

RA. Having a cold (won) as I write.

AnswerID: 499018

Reply By: beefeater - Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 21:55

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012 at 21:55
We always have to leave home really important equipment just so we can take BEER whenever we go away. When we get stranded and can't find our hand winch, jack or recovery gear, we sit down, rip the top of a beer and............................................... sorry, lost my concentration for a moment.
AnswerID: 499023

Follow Up By: ken m4 - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 07:35

Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 07:35
ladies and gents this is one forum topic I have read with much enjoyment and laughter. thank you
FollowupID: 775021

Reply By: Samantha W - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 12:55

Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 12:55
Thanks everyone for your comment and thoughts. Indeed, this gives us a break from serious topics. I guess each and everyone has different style when camping. One thing is for sure, camping is indeed fun with or without beer :)

Cheers!
AnswerID: 499061